Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 18 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 13 View Image Gallery
  • Flat 1 - Cornwall - 987529 - photo 1
close
  • Flat 1 - (Ref. 987529)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Flat 1

(Ref. 987529)

Penzance, Cornwall Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • flat (14)
  • our (11)
  • great (9)
  • well (8)
  • comfortable (8)
  • bed (8)

26 Customer Reviews

  • "Very noisy in the bedroom, could do with new windows or something to cut the road noise."

    Other than that was great.

    Reviewed by Rachael4.7Sep 2023

  • "The flat itself was perfect, spacious, comfortable well supplied and clean."

    We chose it for its nearness to the trains and buses and also enjoyed the quirkey shops, pub and restaurants nearby . The only problems were that the instructions and directions didn't match the reality. Eg getting into the flat was difficult, both finding the key safe and using it. ( although the Sykes lady was very helpful) Such a long flight of concrete stairs weren't mentioned, (although some were) . And the clearing up instructions were irrelevant to this property. (.no bins)

    Reviewed by Joy4.4Sep 2023

  • "Dangerous plug out of date pap tests on electrical goods dirty patio unable to shower or wash properly due to water pressure no instructions for anything."

    After my son getting shock from dangerous plug and leaving early due to we had had enough I thing you should reimburse some of the price of the stay and I certainly wouldn't recommend anyone staying here.

    Hi There, We are sorry to hear you left a day early. We inspected the plug and found no faults, we are sorry your son has a shock but this was an isolated incident. In regards to the issue with the water, we found that following your stay the leaver for the pressure (under the sink) was knocked off. This was quickly rectified and the water is back to running as normal. This must have been accidently knocked as we had no complaints from the guests previous to yourselves. We hope that you manged to enjoy your time away, issues aside. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane1.6Apr 2023

  • "Lovely flat in a great location that could be made even better with just a few small tweaks."

    The entrance way could do with better signage on the main doorway to enable renters to locate easier. Also better info given to Sykes and all booking portals. The dingy entrance stairway could do with a good pressure wash and a coat of paint to make it look more appealing. The flat itself. A welcome/information pack would be helpful. Where does the rubbish go etc. Dish drainer for the sink. Better crockery, most is chipped and may be because there’s no dish drainer, a selection of odd glasses that look as if they have come from the pub, not really what you expect on holiday. The shower. Oh gosh that was the main let down for us. Bathroom is lovely and modern but the shower is very temperamental, it either runs scolding hot ( very dangerous) or freezing cold without touching the temperature controls. Maybe it’s due to the water pressure as sometimes there was only a trickle coming from the taps? Overall the flat offers a clean and comfortable base in a great location to explore this part of Cornwall. Not sure if this flat comes with the advertised parking? There’s spaces to the side that seems to always be occupied by cars from neighbouring residents.

    Thank you for your feedback and recommendations, we have now improved our welcome pack in the property but if anyone struggles, we are always available for any additional support required. Off road parking is available behind the shop. Sorry to hear you had some issues with the water, it will set to the correct temperature, but will need to sit for a few moments to adjust. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Cornwall and hope to see you return again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane Marie3.4Sep 2022

  • "Went on Sykes Holiday site & found flat in Penzance, photos looked good 4star & ..."

    Went on Sykes Holiday site & found flat in Penzance, photos looked good 4star & Sykes 3 ticks, On arrival outside terrible looked nothing like the photo decking terrible,outside furniture not fit for purpose &overgrown & they say the camera never lies,Inside shower, kitchen & bed good,bedroom furniture &seater looked like it had come from a 2nd hand shop,Quite disappointing,1st time with Sykes& our last

    Very disappointed to hear your experience wasn’t what you expected. I do think inside decor is personal choice, however I do believe the flat has all you need for a week away in the centre of Penzance for example, washing machine, fridge and freezer, tv,internet access, a super king bed with fresh linen and towels and reasonably priced. Not sure what is overgrown on the decking but please consider I have no control over other residents property, apologies. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol2.8Jul 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay, thought the flat was situated in a great spot for getting around Penzance and surrounding villages."

    The flat is well equipped, wi-fi works well and it is a perfect size for a couple and one small child. Any visitors who have problems walking should be aware that the flat is situated at the top of steep stairs. Paying more attention to detail in cleaning (eg dusting and cleaning the shower door) and changing the patio furniture would have given full points to this stay. Also a booklet with information of where to discard of rubbish would have been a welcome addition!

    Reviewed by Mimosa4.1Jun 2022

  • "A comfortable flat at a reasonable price, we spent 7 days here in June."

    The previously reported noise problem with a neighbour seems to have gone away and we slept well in the very comfortable bed. An issue arose with the electrics and the owner was with us in less than 30 minutes. The problem was fully resolved the next morning. For parking we used the Harbour Car Park which is minutes away. Cost was very reasonable and with planning you could park there for virtually nothing. Some previously mentioned issues remain unsorted but we would return to this property as a handy base for exploring the town and general area. Thank you!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey3.8Jun 2022

  • "The key is not in the lobby it's near to the shop front of the adjacent shop."

    It's in a key safe, punch the number and it opens. The flat smelt musty when we arrived, but that got better. All the facilities work well and it is well equipped.

    Reviewed by Maire3.8May 2022

  • "This was my first stay with Sykes cottages and it was not a good experience."

    The flat inside was fine and but l had to clean it as light switches etc and all touch points were sticky and finger marks from the last tenants. Not what l call a Covid clean which l deal with every day with my work. Bench outside paint all coming off and could not use it. Decking paint pealing and moss all over.the flat has neighbours on both sides and their outdoor are is an eyesore. Had to pay £60 to park in station car park as no free parking at rear of the building which it does say in the advert. Street at the rear to narrow and double yellow lines. Entrance to flat is the maindoor to second hand shop. Entrance and stairs dirty. Neighbours are hourendous. One side dog barking and arguing in early hours of morning which kept us awake. The other side playing music until 4 am twice during our stay no respect for people trying to sleep. What was meant to be a relaxing holiday turned into a bit of a nightmare. We left a day early as had enough of the noise. Would not recommend this property.

    We are sorry to hear about the issues during yoru stay. We do have off road parking by teh shop as well as a reasonally priced car park just minutes away. We wished you would have advised us of any problems on your booking, we are close by and would have been happy to attend to resolve any issues. We have now made great improvements to the property and hope future guests will enjoy the changes we have made. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia2.8Sep 2021

  • "*The outside photo needs updating, decking is badly worn & table is too rough to sit at in shorts."

    *Owner wasn't told it was to be twin beds, so after a 4hr drive myself & 18yr old son had to move a bedroom around, owner was apologetic but for the price I paid lack of communication needs to be addressed between the owner & Skye's. *Also while I'm aware leaving "extras" is optional but please state this in the ad so other users come prepared, as all we had were our own snacks & tap water. Iceland is a 3 min walk away but we arrived after 6pm & I was too tired to go out again - more lack of info * Nowhere to put the rubbish! I do cook so there was waste. *No info booklet AT ALL. The owner was pleasant enough on the phone & helpful but it's just easier to put in a book. These are very simple things that can be corrected. Imo not up to Skye cottage standards or any of the other let's I've stayed in.

    Reviewed by Judith4.4Aug 2021

  • "Great little flat right in the heart of Penzance."

    It was the perfect spot for us to walk the Coastal path - it's just a few minutes away from the bus station and easy access to all other towns in the area. The flat is small but cozy, and the bed is incredibly comfortable. Great experience and we'd recommend this flat to our friends!

    Reviewed by Garima4.1Apr 2021

  • "The location was perfect for exploring the area of Cornwall we wanted to."

    Easy train link for St Ives. Great for easy walking to Mousehole, St Michaels and also for joining the coastal path. Easy road link for Lizard Point.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2020

  • "Very nice flat and very close to the town."

    Bright airy spacious bedroom with lots of hanging space and a very comfortable bed. Well equipped kitchen (not that we cooked!) with nice sitting area with tv and dvd player. Modern clean bathroom with a roomy shower and a fab light up mirror with a clock. If anyone is concerned by lack of parking, the harbour car park was very close by and as we used Penzance as a base to explore Cornwall often only parked in there during the free time (4pm to 9am) so cost was minimal. I would highly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Oct 2020

  • "Conveniently located in Penzance town centre, providing us with easy access to the shops and also very close to the train station, allowing hassle free travel to other parts of Cornwall."

    An extremely clean and comfortable property which appears as though it has been recently updated. It took a few minutes to realise that the property is accessed via the Fair Deals shop entrance, going up the stairs between the two halves of the Fair Deals shop. We would thoroughly recommend this property. We also would like to thank you for accommodating us at short notice, due to our other booked property in Penzance being removed, due to Covid 19.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Sep 2020

  • "No parking provided — despite it being listed spoke to agent from Sykes cottages on 30/9 as I gave feedback of our first night."

    Agent rang us to discuss my concerns and insisted there was at rear of property — narrow road with double yellow lines!! Also stated you could park at railway car park only able to do that if travelling on a train — which leaves only harbour car park. No dustbin provided for rubbish -agent said she would get back to us about this—but never did— only pedal bins provided in property — full bin bags were piled up — left by others at bottom of stairs blocking stairway —fire hazard! Access through foyer to second hand shops — never open??? Lock on foyer door not very good — struggled one night to get in. Property situated in a run down area — lots of noise into early hours from drunks walking past the property—not at all the holiday experience we hoped for - we actually came home 3 days early something I have never done before.

    Reviewed by Susan2.8Aug 2020

  • "Lovely flat perfect for our stay as we were visiting family and obviously couldn’t stay with them in these strange times."

    Ideal location for us, we will definitely be using this place again.

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Aug 2020

  • "Good location"

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Dec 2019

  • "Holiday let was as described, very clean and comfortable."

    Very central location in the centre of town. Steep steps up to the flat accessed through shop front door. Parking difficult but we used the towns central car park which was free between 4pm and 9am. Would recommend for a stay in Penzance.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Sep 2019

  • "We enjoyed our stay"

    Reviewed by Glen3.8Jun 2019

  • "Brilliant accommodation, well equipped and furnished."

    Reviewed by Ben4.7Jun 2019

  • "Very comfortable stay."

    It is on the main road, so great location to EVERYTHING, but some road noise. Window on the right in the bedroom would not close completely. It had the small gap at the bottom, letting in noise and draft from the time I arrived. Black out curtains helped. Very nicely finished property. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Arrived by train and travelled around every day on train, bus, or both. Penzance, and this property in particular, are an excellent base for making the most of this area of Cornwall.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. There are no problems with the windows at the cottage & they do close fully. The owner provides instructions for this in the cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvette5.0Apr 2019

  • "Lovely flat in the centre of Penzance, surprisingly quiet."

    Penzance is full of interest and a great place to visit. The flat is well equipped and is nicely decorated and furnished. Parking in the town centre is, as you can imagine, an issue but you can park on local streets. The flat is very near the railway station and bus station so it is easy to travel round once you are there. It was a little cold to use the deck at the back of the flat but this is a a great feature for the warmer months. We really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend the apartment.

    Reviewed by David4.7Apr 2019

  • "Well situated flat central to everything in the town."

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Feb 2019

  • "Very nice apartment in a very convenient location."

    Helpful owner, thanks.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Feb 2019

  • "We go down to visit family at least twice a year."

    .stayed at the "Spyglass" before ,also great place.. Flat 1 suited our needs Exactly.. would recommend 100%.(although would also like to keep these places secret do we can book them again easier lol

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Oct 2018

  • "Great location."

    High standard accommodation. Great custemer services. Since facing to the street, traffic can be noisy, if have windows open.

    Reviewed by Chunrong5.0Aug 2018

Show more

Summary

  • All first floor
  • One bedroom: 1 x super king size (zip/link can be twin on request)
  • Shower room with basin and WC
  • Open-plan kitchen, dining and sitting area and 2 x single sofa beds with electric fire
  • Small alcove off of bedroom with chest of drawers and a small desk - ideal for using laptops
  • Electric heating, electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Decking with furniture
  • Offroad parking behind the shop, first come first served basis
  • Sorry, no pets, no smoking
  • Shop 1 minute walk, pub 3 minute walk
  • 100 yards from train station and bus station
  • 5 minutes walk to Isles of Silly ferry Co
  • 100 yards from coastal path walk to Marizion and St Michael's Mount
  • Note: Stairs up to the flat lead from a foyer, which also is the entrance to the owners 2 shops.

The property

This sumptuous flat rests above a quirky row of shops in the heart of fabulous Penzance, Cornwall.

The stylish, open-plan living and excellent location for discovering this magnificent region make the property a welcoming getaway for couples seeking that much-needed break from everyday life.

Step through the owner's shops foyer and head up the stairs straight in front to this first floor flat on the left, be greeted by a tasteful open-plan living area.

One side of this inviting setup is laced with slick, white units hosting a useful range of appliances to make your stay that bit easier.

To let your hair down, put your feet up on the snug sofa and turn on the alluring electric fire, the setup concludes with a TV and a romantic dining table for two.

Just off of the living area, discover a slickly tiled shower room, compact yet exquisite in style.

A spacious bedroom tops this property off wonderfully, this spot enjoys a stunning layout just perfect for catching your rest after an exhausting day of exploring.

Step outside to discover a relaxing decking area, you may want to treat yourself to an alfresco meal among the refreshing sea breeze.

The charming attractions of Penzance rest just downstairs, where a network of colourful streets host a delightful range of fine eateries, bars and more.

Be sure to take some time to appreciate the stunning harbour.

From here, the breath-taking South West Coast Path leads you towards the Penwith Heritage Coast where you can find the famous Land's End and a number of glorious beaches, coves and more.

Ever-popular St Ives is easy to reach and is most certainly worth a day of exploration.

A stunning apartment placed fabulously for discovering all that this spectacular region has to offer.

View on map

About the location

PENZANCE

St Ives 8 miles. Helicopter to Isles of Scilly - 30 minutes

Penzance hosts Golowan, the Midsummer Carnival, and The Literary Festival. There are also The Exchange, Newlyn and Penlee Art Galleries. One of Cornwall’s most popular holiday areas is the spectacular sweep of Mount’s Bay, from the cliffside fishing village of Mousehole through Penzance and around to beautiful Marazion, the coastline hides a wealth of sandy beaches, rocky coves as well as winding village streets and other places to visit and explore. Connected by a causeway to the shore at Marazion is the National Trust’s stunningly beautiful St Michael’s Mount with its hilltop castle and Mediterranean gardens. Walk across at low water and take one of the ferry boats back when the tide is up. Penzance with its winding streets, shops, clubs, restaurants and harbour is a must as it is the jumping-off point for day trips to the Isles of Scilly as well as being the harbor. The South West Coast Path passing through Penzance winds its way along the clifftops towards Land’s End. On the way, stop off for a coffee and a rest at beautiful Lamorna Cove, explore the open air Minack Theatre and marvel at the cliffs as you approach Gwennap Head. A stunning walk for those seeking solitude, exercise and some of the UK’s best coastal scenery. Penzance is the perfect holiday base. Ideally placed for exploring this land of Celtic myth and legend and with enough to do and see in the immediate area to keep all the family occupied.

View more holiday cottages in Penzance

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas