Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Larger Image
  • Gannet Watch - Cornwall - 959733 - photo 1
close

Gannet Watch

Coverack, Cornwall (Ref. 959733)

4.8

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

28 Customer Reviews

  • "We have just got back from a lovely stay at Gannet Watch - We drove down from up north and were not disappointed!"

    The views from this apartment are stunning! The apartment itself is spacious and had alot included - the cream tea on arrival and small milk in the fridge was a welcoming touch and there were books to read and lots of information of places to go which was all great and insightful. Our seagull friend "Stevie" added some comedy to our day and they made sure we didn't sleep in

    Reviewed by EmmaJul 2022

  • "Don't often go back to same place twice but this is our 3rd time at Headland and 2nd time in this lovely apartment."

    Highly recommended. Oh and nice touch with welcome flowers, jams, milk, buns etc.

    Reviewed by AdrianJul 2022

  • "A comfortable apartment with a fantastic sea view."

    The welcome pack of a cream tea was much appreciated! The seagull made a friendly daily appearance at the window. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by JanaJun 2022

  • "Accommodation was great - clean, spacious and ideally located next to the beach and near the village."

    Reviewed by RichardMay 2022

  • "It stated it offered a great view, it did not disappoint."

    We had a great weeks holiday and it was a pleasure to return to the apartment after a day of sight seeing.

    Reviewed by CliffordMay 2022

  • "Toilet seat needs a bleach or replacement stains on underside that’s all it needs to be perfect Everything else was spotless clean."

    And we will return loved it

    Paul, thank you for your review. We delighted you loved your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back! Regarding your observation about the toilet seat, I have been in touch with the cleaning company to ensure this is addressed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulApr 2022

  • "Lovely well equipped flat, with fabulous views."

    Reviewed by RuthMar 2022

  • "Gannet Watch is such an amazing property to stay in."

    It’s comfortable, well equipped, close to amenities and in a beautiful location. I throughly enjoyed my stay and throughly recommend it.

    Reviewed by JoyNov 2021

  • "Amazing flat to stay in, out of this world views, with sunshine in the rooms all day."

    Very comfortable accommodation with easy access to the cliff walks and Coverack village. Everyone friendly and helpful, and would thoroughly recommend to everyone.

    Reviewed by JoyOct 2021

  • "Great location with amazing views."

    Good location for exploring the fantastic coast path locally and the Lizard as a whole. Perfect weather and seeing choughs was a bonus. The flat was very well equipped and comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by YvonneOct 2021

  • "This is the third time we’ve stayed in a flat at the Headland but the first in this flat."

    We love the location with the headland and the quiet beach just below, not to mention the lovely view and the easy walk into Coverack. It is extremely well kitted out and has everything you might need. Everything is in good condition, the bed and the pillows are very comfortable, there is really nothing more to say! The only downside was that we had problems with the locking mechanism on the main living area window. The local handyman came the same day but was unable to fix it so it had to remain locked for most of our stay. As the flat got rather stuffy on warm days this was a major nuisance although there are two other windows admittedly.

    The Owner of Gannet Watch has supplied the following response: Thank you for your lovely review Mr Payne, and I'm so glad you had a good stay. However, I'm sorry this was marred by the locking mechanism on one of the windows not working properly. A window specialist has now visited and adjusted the window and replaced the handle, but I must apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2021

  • "Lovely apartment."

    Seagulls banging on the window were annoying at first but we grew to love them by the end! Communal area was a bit dirty the the apartment was immaculate, no pet hair, no one smoking nearby, just perfect! Thankyou for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by JamieAug 2021

  • "The property was extremely well equipped with everything you could need."

    Loved our stay.

    Reviewed by CoralAug 2021

  • "Great accommodation - very well equipped and comfortable with amazing views."

    Good walks from the doorstep.

    Reviewed by AlisonJul 2021

  • "Comfortable, spacious apartment in a great location."

    We enjoyed our stay. Thanks

    Reviewed by RichardMay 2021

  • "It was a lovely one bedroomed appartment with great sea views."

    The only downside was that it was up 2 flights of stairs but we knew that when we booked. Bed and sofas were very comfortable. Great to have a few DVDs to choose from on a rainy afternoon. We enjoyed the scones with jam and cream which were provided with the tea, coffee and milk on the welcome tray. The roses in the vase wilted within a couple of days -so I think they should have been trimmed or had their stems bashed to help them take up water, so it might be best to buy a different type which would last better eg a few carnations. But it was a lovely thought and looked good on arrival. We enjoyed the holiday walks along the coast and being so near the Terrance Coventry sculpture garden was a real bonus for an evening stroll.

    Reviewed by AnnMay 2021

  • "Excellent apartment, particularly for the views."

    It was clean and tidy and a very comfortable stay. Two flights of stairs were a bind at times but then you looked out the window and all was forgiven. If I was being being picky there would be three things I would mention. No welcome pack - the shop shuts early and it wouldn't cost much to leave a pint of milk so a cup of tea could be had on arrival, all we got were some half dead flowers no doubt left by the previous occupants. The second point would be the dirty windows on the outside, and thirdly the size of the bathroom. They are very picky points and they wouldn't stop me staying again.

    Your feedback is very much appreciated and after speaking with the owner, please see her reply "Thank you for your review, and I am glad you had a comfortable stay. I must say you are not being at all picky to mention the lack of a welcome tray, as in fact one is supposed to be provided, and I am upset that it wasn’t. Our housekeeping company has apologised for the oversight and explained that they had had to use a stand-in agency on a couple of occasions recently. They have reiterated our requirements to them." Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonSep 2020

  • "Fantastic apartment, well furnished, a real hidden gem, with fantastic views out to the sea and great small local beach."

    Nice and quiet, a remote part of Cornwall and a great location with Coverack harbour (with cafe, pub and chippie) a few mins stroll along the coastal path. Very clean and tidy. The only minor criticisms are that more than one roll of toilet roll provided for a week would be nice, and a new shower curtain (the current one is mouldy). Fab stay though, highly recommended! We'll be back!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We have spoken with the owner who has replied as follows. "Thank you very much for your review and I am so glad you had a lovely holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back! You did mention a couple of very valid points for us to address. Two toilet rolls are in fact supposed to be provided in our apartment, and also the cleaning company are provided with spare shower curtains so that these can be changed when needed. I have fed your comments back to our housekeeping company and they have thanked me for letting them know and assured me they will address these points. Thank you again." Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoeAug 2020

  • "We absolutely loved this apartment would give it 10 out of 10 it was perfect."

    Also i would like to thank Sykes for the very prompt action when i accidentally lost the keys to the apartment . Already looking at dates for a return visit.

    Reviewed by RussellAug 2020

  • "The apartment at Gannet Watch was absolutely superb."

    It was extremely clean and the apartment was spacious and bright. It was on the top floor of the block with no lift but the views were breathtaking over the sea and there is a binocular set up for the occupants to use. We saw a pod of dolphins on our first morning which we have never seen before in Cornwall. The whole holiday was fantastic.

    Reviewed by RomaJul 2020

  • "The apartment was very clean, homely and felt welcoming."

    We could not think of anything we required or wished for which was not provided. The addition of the telescope and guides to the area was something that we thoroughly enjoyed using. Instructions and help was clearly left- not that we required them. The walks around the area and stunning views just topped our week. We were also very lucky with the wildlife we saw. We would like to return to this apartment in the future.

    Reviewed by Joanne ElizabethJul 2020

  • "The apartment was entered during our stay whilst weren’t there, I would like to know why!"

    The immersion heater wasn’t on when we arrived so we had to wait for hot water. The TV signal broke up on day 2 so we weren’t able to watch anything thereafter!

    Thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback. The owners were very concerned to read that someone had entered the apartment whilst you were out, for which they apologise wholeheartedly, as this should never have happened. This has been investigated and due to a recent change to the block management procedures, whereby regular inspections of the apartments are now undertaken during the winter months (an insurance requirement). On entering the apartment, as soon as the inspector realised that someone was staying there, she left immediately. The property is normally closed over the winter months (except for Christmas & New Year), so the inspections normally wouldn't affect guests, and no inspection was scheduled for during your stay it was due to the bank holiday that the inspection day that week was changed. The owners have spoken with their housekeeper regarding the immersion heater, this was an oversight on her behalf as this is normally checked when the welcome tray is delivered, for which she offers her sincere apologies. We can only assume that the poor TV reception was related to atmospheric conditions. As the owners stayed in the apartment immediately after yourselves and experienced no problem with the reception. It isn’t generally a problem, however we do realise that this is of no comfort to yourselves and do apologise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolynDec 2019

  • "Perfect location for our short break to explore this part of Cornwall."

    Apartment was also perfect. Beautiful views all around and although appearing to be remote, not far from Coverack or other wonderful places around the Lizard and further afield. Next time we’ll be staying longer!

    Reviewed by RobertOct 2019

  • "We had a great holiday and will be back again soon to see the beautiful views again!"

    Reviewed by RebecaAug 2019

  • "Gannets Watch is a very well equipped and clean apartment in a wonderful location with gorgeous views."

    The tennis court was a bonus and being able to get to the lovely beach within 5 minutes was ideal for us.

    Reviewed by LeynaJul 2019

  • "I was only a bit stressed about the main door sorry."

    The keypad to enter the code is extremely low down and buttons not very easy when you have luggage and if you're tall!! Coupled with the fact I had the wrong no for some reason meant I was outside struggling for about an hour before someone came to rescue me. But it's such a beautiful and peaceful place to stay it made up for it! It was a shame I couldn't use the washing machine to replenish my muddy walking gear. The workmen were there and had it all taped off and dug up? Thank you ***Owner Response*** Dear Ms Davies, I am glad you enjoyed the beauty and peace of the place, which we still love after many years. I am sorry though that the keypad was low for you. I have been in touch with the managing company, who intend to refurbish the porch area after the holiday season, and they have said that they will address this as part of the work. They have also informed us that the work that was being carried out on the communal laundry area during your stay is expected to be finished by early June 2019. I do apologise that it was not accessible for you though. I’m sorry you had a problem with the number: I did check the code that the holiday company sent out, but this was correct.

    Reviewed by AlisonMay 2019

  • "This property is well furnished and has everything you need for a comfortable stay."

    And we saw plenty of gannets! Only two things that detract: the bathroom is very bijou and we think it would be more comfortable to install a shower cubicle and do away with the bath. Who would take a bath facing a blank wall in a box room with no natural light.....? Secondly it’s a superb view but there is nowhere to sit comfortably to admire it within the property. Difficult to do anything about this with the fabric of the hotel conversion, so the viewing chairs provided are good, but if the weather had not been so good, this would have been less of an attractive property. Also on the positive side, the location is really out of the way and the coast path and sculpture park are a bonus.

    - Owner's response - We are so glad you enjoyed the views from Gannet Watch and saw some gannets of course! On having a shower cubicle rather than our current bath plus a shower over it, we have found that many people like to have a bath, perhaps at the end of a lovely day’s walk, and so we felt it would be nice to keep one. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PeterApr 2019

  • "Beautiful location, fantastic views."

    The flat was comfortable, well equipped, quiet. The perfect place to have a peaceful holiday.

    Reviewed by LizSep 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Secure communal entrance with four flights of stairs to second floor
  • All on one level
  • 1 x king bedroom
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, TV, DVD, WiFi
  • Electricity inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Shared payphone and laundry room with metered automatic washing machine and tumble dryer
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Shared garden and tennis court
  • Sorry, no pets, and no smoking
  • Shops, pubs and restaurants 15 min walk
  • Beach 2 min walk
  • Note: children are not accepted at this property.

The property

A sensational clifftop setting with stunning sea views from all windows, this second floor apartment is within the former Coverack Headland Hotel, built in the Edwardian era.

It is situated on Chynhalls Point on the unspoilt Lizard peninsula close to the fishing village of Coverack, on the south coast of Cornwall.

Couples will love a stroll through the attractive gardens and grounds, a game or two on the outdoor tennis court and a meander down the footpath access to a private sandy beach.

This romantic getaway has a lovely bedroom where you can wake to the wonderful views then wander into the open plan kitchen and lounge area and rustle up a culinary delight whilst overlooking the turquoise waters below.

Gannet Watch is a great nature watching spot, see if you can find the seals in the waters below or watch the gannets feeding.

View the stunning night time vistas (there is very little light pollution) from the sitting room through the telescope or sit back on the comfortable sofas and simply unwind with an evening tipple.

Coverack is just half a mile away with its art gallery, shops, local pub and eateries.

Here you can enjoy sandy and shingle beaches – why not try your hand at windsurfing lessons, a deep-sea fishing trip or just relax in the sunshine.

Well placed from which to explore all that this very special location has to offer, a day out to Kynance Cove, recently voted one of the best beaches in the world, is within easy driving distance and well worth the trip.

Or why not visit Trebah Gardens and admire manicured grounds and the many exotic plants on show.

View on map

About the location

COVERACK

St Keverne 2 miles; Helston 12 miles; Falmouth 18 miles.

Coverack is a small fishing village on the Lizard Peninsula, a few miles from Lizard Point in Cornwall, the most southerly point on mainland Britain. Coverack is a beautiful and peaceful place to escape the main tourist routes and offers a beach in the sheltered bay, which is ideal for swimming, windsurfing and kayaking, as well as shops, pub and restaurants. St Keverne (4 miles from Poldowrian) has a Post Office, shops and 2 pubs. The Lizard Peninsula has many spectacular coves and beaches and is noted for its rare geology and plants. From Lizard Point there are wonderful sea views from the windswept cliffs, which provide fabulous walking opportunities along this stretch of the South West Coast Path. Inland is the market town of Helston, known for its Flora Day Festival, and in Gweek is The Cornish Seal Sanctuary. Flambards theme park is just 20 minutes' drive away and just over ten miles away is the Culdrose Airfield, where once a year the public are welcome to come and meet the Fleet Air Arm, the Royal Navy’s flying force. Coverack is ideally located for exploring The Lizard Peninsula, as well as the lovely seaside towns of St Ives and Falmouth and many other beaches and pretty villages.

Region Information

Note: Regretfully children are not accepted at this property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute
  • Christmas