Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • No 3 The Hinges - Cornwall - 1066936 - photo 1
close

No 3 The Hinges

(Ref. 1066936)

Crantock, Cornwall Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (16)
  • comfortable (16)
  • property (16)
  • beach (15)
  • location (15)
  • great (14)

35 Customer Reviews

  • "Great property in a great location."

    Short walk to the beach and even shorter walk to two pubs

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2024

  • "We have just returned from an amazing week at The Hinges, helped by the incredible weather."

    This property was so comfortable for us - we were a party of 6 adults, two babies under 2 and a dog. There is plenty of living space and there was enough room on the settees for all of us. The location is excellent for anyone with little ones, as you can nip back from the beach very quickly, it is also very close to the village shop if you need anything. Feedback to the owner would be - the squeaky internal doors could do with some WD40, it would be good to have coasters for the lounge table as we were concerned about damaging it, and the seal is not great on the dishwasher so we had a leak at one point. This is a beautiful property and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

    Reviewed by Helen4.1May 2024

  • "Comfortable place ideally suited for coastal walks and beaches."

    Crantock is a lovely village with two great pubs serving good food and The Cornishman has a great quiz on a Thursday evening. The dishwasher was broke on arrival we did message Tom the owner who said he would get it sorted but we heard nothing all week. The bus stop is just outside and has a very good service to Newquay and Truro were you can travel onwards to different places which is great if you don’t want to drive everywhere. Would definitely stay again

    I am very sorry you had problems with the dishwasher. I did send someone to look at this, but due to a miscommunication on my part they visited the wrong property. I can only apologise for any inconvenience this has caused. We want all of our guests to enjoy their stay as much as possible, and would hate it if you thought we didn't care. We would love it if you were to book again, and we'll try and make up for this issue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel3.4Feb 2024

  • "Loved our stay in No 3."

    Great attention to detail, especially in the welcome pack (a huge help when you arrive weary after a long drive). We couldn't get one of the keys to lock the door from the outside but it wasn't a huge problem, just to let you know. We love your place. I hope we'll be back soon.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jan 2024

  • "Lovely property, comfortable and well equipped."

    Secure garden for our dog too. Beds very comfortable and parking ok for our two vehicles. First time staying in this property. We are regular visitors to the village and have stayed in many of the lovely holiday let’s. The only down side would be the “Cosy wood burner to snuggle up to” This is situated in the kitchen/diner and is the only heating in this room. There are two outside entrance doors into the kitchen/diner, quite a bit of draft comes through these doors, so the room was cold if the wood burner wasn’t fired up. Fortunately the sitting room has double doors that we could close to keep the living room snug. Warmth wouldn’t be an issue in the warmer months. Tom was helpful when we needed him. His number is the only one available, we had a message from the other number saying they were no longer a contact number for the property. We stayed for the New Year, unfortunately the weather was very winding and wet but we still managed to get out and about and enjoy the walks in and around the village and wider area. We all enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Amanda4.1Dec 2023

  • "Lovely property , there was even a real Christmas tree dressed beautifully."

    The beds were so comfy I never wanted to get up. I couldn't fault this place absolutely beautiful

    Reviewed by Stacie5.0Dec 2023

  • "Fantastic week at No 3 The Hinges."

    Beautiful cottage in a superb location. Shop and pubs just a few minutes walk away. Lots of interesting and varied dog walks straight from the door, from the coast path to Cubert Common. Cottage is very clean and well equipped. Lovely touch in the welcome pack including Cornish biscuits. The 3 bedrooms all have comfortable double beds and own bathrooms, ideal for people who like their own space and privacy. Plenty of hot water for the showers and lots of choice of TV channels. Having Wi-Fi in Cornwall is also a bonus. Off street parking is ideal as the village does have narrow streets. Crantock is a charming little village. All the locals were exceptionally friendly and I have to say they made a huge effort with the Christmas decorations, really put us in a festive mood. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Diana5.0Nov 2023

  • "Second time visiting the hinges and definetely will be back again!"

    Thankyou for another wonderful stay

    Reviewed by Danielle5.0Nov 2023

  • "Great location in heart of village."

    Crantock is absolutely delightful with an amazing beach and pubs. Great property, beautifully furnished; very comfortable bed and we loved the bath upstairs. We never bothered with the Woodburner as it was located in the kitchen. The kitchen was a little impractical as every time we washed up water went everywhere as the drainer was on the wrong side. We felt that 4.30pm was rather late to access the property and certainly was the latest for any holiday cottage we had stayed in and it was unfortunate that due to cleaning issues it wasn’t ready for us even then…walking through a wet kitchen floor with all our unpacking to do wasn’t ideal. Parking is tight and at the rear of the property; we were really fortunate in that we had lovely next door neighbours who were obliging whenever we needed to get out.

    We’re very pleased you enjoyed the cottage and hope you had a great time. With regards to check-in, the time is clearly stated on the the property description and is typical of many properties. Often we are able to accommodate people earlier, but unfortunately on the day of your arrival this was not possible. It’s true that cleaning was completed just in time, and we apologise that the floor was drying when you arrived. The placement of the drainer comes down to personal preference - this hasn’t caused any issues in the past. We’re sorry that you felt there were issues with parking, but there is sufficient room for two cars in front of the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Licia3.8Oct 2023

  • "One thing I would have liked was a mat in the shower."

    Other than that, the property was extremely well stocked with products and we were very comfortable during our stay. Great location, and fantastic property.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely property in the centre of the village and only a short walk from the beach, shop and pubs."

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Jul 2023

  • "Unfortunately the holiday began with a phone call a week before from Skyescottages to let us know repair work was to be completed on the drive of Cottage therefore for two full days of holiday we could only have one car on drive, other car could go in garage; and we would have to go out due to drilling."

    It was the worst weather we have had in Cornwall, wet, windy and cold. There were 6 in party and two dogs so having to stay out in-bad weather was very difficult. We also had problems with hot water for washing and showering whereby it went off after two people had a shower! Manager tried to fix but still had no hot water. The cottage was comfortable and contained everything we would need for a relaxing holiday. However the village has changed we have been coming to this part of Cornwall since the 80’s and the village is now so busy with traffic it is a hazard. Congestion on one day resulting in bus driver and car owner having heated argument and “stand off”. This lasted 30 minutes with back up on the roads. We decided to leave Friday very disappointed! I love West Pentire so it’s the first holiday in Cornwall I’ve arrived home and completed such a poor review; it makes me feel very sad!

    It's a shame that you didn't enjoy your holiday as much as we would have liked. We work hard to make our guests as happy as possible, and try to resolve any issues that arise. However, I feel here that we need to address some of your points. Unfortunately some urgent maintenance needed to be done on the pipework beneath the drive. On two days between the hours of 9am and 5pm we requested that your cars were moved from the driveway. Our records show we contacted you two weeks before the start of the holiday and gave a substantial refund for the days when disruption occurred. We also offered our personal garage for car parking of one car, and at no point did anyone say that you would have to vacate the property. I believe that the showers in all three bathrooms were used simultaneously on the Sunday afternoon. As soon as we received a call that hot water had run out we paid a visit and adjusted the thermostat to increase the volumes produced. We asked that you give us a call should the problem persist. As we didn't hear anything we believed the problem had been rectified. I am sorry that you feel that Crantock has changed since your visit in the 80s. From my perspective, it remains a pleasant village with a charming Cornish rural character. It is true that all Cornish coastal destinations receive an influx of traffic over the summer months, but as a Crantock resident, I have never found it overwhelming. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol3.8Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a lovely location."

    We have stayed in Crantock many times and this was the nicest cottage we have stayed in. It was clean and welcoming with very comfortable beds and lovely white sheets. The ambiance is just right with a mixture of original features and modern accessories. The village is lovely and the food in the Old Albion is delicious but visitors should be warned it is better to book ahead as space is at premium. Crantock beach has lots to offer, in walking distance is the end of the beach with access to the river Gannel where you can hire paddle boards. If you walk to the far side or drive to the Bowgie Inn and park there, you can access the rocky part of the beach with rock pools and see fish swimming in the shallow water when the tide is out. The only thing we found to be lacking in the property was a full length mirror, with none in the property and mirrors in general in short supply. The other suggestion which would improve the experience is a light for the dressing tables and cushions for the outdoor furniture. Thank you for a lovely week

    Reviewed by Sonia5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic stay at a beutiful property in a wonderful village setting."

    For us Crantock beach is one of the best beaches in cornwall only a 15 minute leisurely downhill walk away from the cottage ,x2 carparks down the hill one has a cafe ,coffee and ice cream sold at the beach hut not forgetting two nice pubs draw you back up to the village after a hard day on the beach village shop 1 minute walk away from the property too. The owners were very appoachable and friendly. We loved it ❤️ we definitely recomend people to stay here. Just a couple of small improvements in our view that would improve peoples stay would be blackout blinds for the bedrooms as current ones let in too much light in and some comfortable outside seating. All in all these minor things didnt spoil our holiday and are just to highlight small improvements from a guest prospective thankyou

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jun 2023

  • "Absolutely beautiful property everything we could need was provided - each bedroom had its own bathroom as well as an additional one downstairs."

    A lovely touch was that when we arrived there was a pack of biscuits along with tea, coffee and some milk in the fridge they even included tassimo pods for the coffee machine.

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0May 2023

  • "We went to number 3 for a week, 4 adults and a dog."

    We were very comfortable and pleased with the property and couldn't fault the location. We all said we would use this property again. The only thing we thought the owners could improve would be the bed in the smallest room, it was very hard and uncomfortable. The beds in the other rooms were lovely. Overall great property.

    Reviewed by John4.7Apr 2023

  • "Stayed here many times before, brilliant as ever."

    Very clean and comfortable. New living room settee also.

    Reviewed by Ryan5.0Mar 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our holiday to 3, The Hinges, Crantock."

    A lovely place to stay that was very clean and the owners were great hosts. A great location, right in town, close to the Cornishman pub and the beach. I would recommend staying here and I would stay here again. Many thanks.

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Feb 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay in this stylish property."

    It was good value in the off season and well placed for the beach and coastal walks.

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Nov 2022

  • "Super property, we have stayed several times."

    Comfortable and stylish, well equipped and in an ideal position in the village and close proximity to beautiful Crantock beach. We love having 3 double bedrooms all with their own bathrooms too. Unfortunately, already booked when we tried to re book for October half term 2023 but will be back another year !

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2022

  • "Beautiful house in a fabulous village ."

    Beds were so comfortable & sofa was lovely . Decor was so nice. Showers all great & we had no issues with hot water . We will be back to enjoy again . Thank you

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in our favourite place."

    Very clean and compfy.

    Reviewed by Alex5.0Aug 2022

  • "Exactly what we hoped for: a comfortable home-from-home."

    There was plenty of space for us to bring along our adult daughters and their friends without tripping over each other. The owners had thought of everything we might need, and the house is furnished more like a home and less like a holiday let. We have been to Crantock many times but this is the first time we have stayed in the village. It was great to be able to walk to a beach we love. The village shop has just enough to top up the fridge, and there are places to eat and drink. Such a relaxing break. I only wish we had booked for two weeks.

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Aug 2022

  • "We were so delighted with No."

    3 The Hinges, the decor was beautiful and the cottage was lovely and clean and very well equipped, with everything we needed and more. Fabulous location too! Many thanks for the welcome goodies, such a nice touch. We will most definitely be booking this cottage again. X

    Reviewed by Charmaine5.0Jul 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at No."

    3 The Hinges. We have stayed there now three times and our last visit the first with grandchildren, son, daughter-in-law and the dog. The accommodation had everything we needed to ensure the children were safe and happy. We too were all really comfortable. We owned up to a couple of breakages caused by small hands and were willing to cover the cost but told not to worry. We found the accommodation in a clean condition with some lovely welcome additions in the kitchen - thankyou. We holidayed with a super hairy/malty dog, he was well behaved and hope we left the premises in a clean acceptable condition . We were not ready to leave and could have stayed longer. Apologies, my husband packed what he thought was our washing up liquid but was a supply left under the sink for general use. Didn't discover this until we got home. Thankyou once again for a super chilled out holiday in the perfect location.

    Reviewed by Lance5.0Jun 2022

  • "We stayed in Crantock before, but it was first time at 3 the Hinges."

    Fantastic cottage! So clean, welcoming and cosy . We had everything we needed and more. Already booked next year!

    Reviewed by Lina5.0May 2022

  • "We stayed at No."

    3 The Hinges in May 2022 and found the cottage very well appointed and spacious for us (4 adults and 2 dogs). The parking for 2 cars that other reviews mention was not a problem, even with guests staying next door. The showers are excellent and the garden secure for the dogs. It was a minutes walk to Crantock centre and a 10 minute walk to the beach. Magda was very helpful with anything we needed to ask.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0May 2022

  • "Generally OK, but parking arrangements were a bit haphazard."

    We were at No. 3, which is the back property and we came to an arrangement with our neighbours at No. 1 as to how we could position our cars to prevent blocking access when driving out. Apparently, this was changed by the owners because they needed access to the end garage. Therefore, on 2 occasions we were blocked in due to occupants of No 1 being out for a walk or on foot. I can imagine with less reasonable holiday neighbours, this could cause quite a problem. There were 3 cars in total for our week and due to the co-operation of the occupants of both cottages, we managed on most occasions.

    Reviewed by Frank3.4May 2022

  • "The Hinges was a fabulous stay for February half term, perfect location for the beach."

    A lovely spacious property with great bedrooms with en-suites, a real treat. Our teenage girls had the upstairs space which was perfect. The only comment would be on house keeping, a few lamps didn’t work and the microwave wasn’t the easiest to use. Apart from that a fabulous week in Crantock.

    Reviewed by Jayne4.4Feb 2022

  • "The cottage was lovely but a wee bit tired."

    The carpet in the lounge had seen better days and looked quite grubby, the cottage was very cold due to the weather and very difficult to keep warm, some logs were left for the log burner but we spent over £30.00 in logs to keep the place warm. The Christmas tree was a lovely touch and the dog biscuits, milk mince pies and the clotted cream was a great gesture if the cream had been in date as that expired the day before we arrived and the pies expired the day after we arrived..all in all the cottage was fine

    Reviewed by Lynn3.4Dec 2021

  • "The property was perfect for us."

    Spacious,comfortable and really well equipped for a family. The outside space exceeded expectations and despite a very busy Cornwall year enjoyed crantock and it’s beautiful beaches. Well done Sykes. Pam mason

    Reviewed by Brian4.7Aug 2021

  • "Brilliant house, fab location."

    Everything was just perfect. Exactly as we hoped for from the listing and even better!

    Reviewed by Nicky5.0Jul 2021

  • "Well presented house in a fantastic location, we had a great stay thanks"

    Reviewed by Chris And Helen5.0Jul 2021

  • "Aside from a few minor maintenance issues, of which we left a polite note, (shower head doesn’t stay up in large d/s ensuite, battery required for clock in kitchen and bulb needed replacing in a lounge lamp), the house was in the most perfect location, with everything on your doorstep!"

    Based in the heart of the village, walking distance to the shop, pub, beach and multiple walks further afield from the doorstep. Despite mixed weather we had an amazing time. Beds were super comfy and fresh. Plenty of hand wash in bathrooms and a few essentials like washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, coffee pods, milk and a cream tea were a nice touch. Under the corner sofa needs a clean and could do with a few less cobwebs, but it wouldn’t stop us from booking again.

    Reviewed by Claire3.8May 2021

  • "Perfect accommodation in a perfect location."

    Cottage is decorated and finished to a high standard and great customer care from the owners

    Reviewed by Jo5.0May 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor super-king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x super-king (zip/link, can be a twin on request), 1 x ground-floor double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, separate walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner with woodburning stove
  • Sitting room
  • heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric double oven and ceramic hob, microwave, washing machine, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, TV and WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Courtyard with barbecue and outdoor dining area
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • No smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Note: There is a £40 charge per pet
  • Note: Sorry, no hen, stag parties or similar
  • Note: The gardener may need to visit during your stay

The property

Nestled deep within the traditional Cornish village of Crantock, you will find No 3 The Hinges.

A light and contemporary holiday home with a modern feel, this beautiful abode is ideal for families or groups of six who seek a relaxing coastal retreat with their four-legged friends.

Be welcomed into a restful sitting room, wonderfully decorated with calming blue hues that complement its seaside setting.

Continue through to the pretty kitchen/diner and uncover a wealth of appliances that sit peacefully within the traditional oak cabinets, sure to inspire many home-cooked meals.

Choose to stay in one of the two well-appointed bedrooms resting on the ground floor; a spacious super-king-size and a homely double, both benefitting from their very own en-suite.

Up on the first floor, an additional super-king-size can be transformed into a twin upon request, providing flexible sleeping arrangements for guests.

Spend warm summer evenings out in the garden with a chilled glass of wine, as the chef of the group takes to the barbecue to prepare a mouth-watering feast.

Make many happy memories with your loved ones on a stay at No 3 The Hinges.

Note: This property can be booked with 1066935, together sleeping four guests.

The Hinges Cottages

Situated just a short walk away from Crantock Beach are The Hinges Cottages, two beautiful barn conversions, ideal for a group seeking a tranquil getaway in Cornwall. Centrally located, the properties are beautifully presented to an exceptional standard with contemporary fittings alongside original stained flooring, sloped ceilings and beams. Everything the village has to offer is just a short walk away, with Crantock home to a wide selection of shopping facilities, welcoming pubs, pleasant cafés, and the golden sands of Crantock Beach where guests can spend the day sunbathing, dolphin spotting or attempting thrilling watersports including surfing, snorkeling, swimming and canoeing. Venture out on the challenging South West Coast Path, a gem of Cornwall's legacy, boasting breath-taking views out to sea and spanning towards Perranporth and St Agnes Heritage Coast. Newquay is nearby, featuring popular attractions such as Fistral Beach, the Blue Reef Aquarium, Jungle Jack's and Oasis Fun Pools, Newquay Zoo, or adult-based evenings at the Lighthouse Cinema, which offers a choice of delicious cocktails at their bars. Due to its central location, these stunning properties will appeal to those who like to be within a close walking distance from Crantock village’s facilities, as well as being just a short drive from all of Cornwall’s sporting, leisure and other attractions, making The Hinges Cottages an excellent base for surfers and beach lovers alike.

View on map

About the location

CRANTOCK

Newquay 4.5 miles.

Crantock is a small Cornish village, just a short walk from the beach, close to the popular resort of Newquay. If you want to escape the crowds, yet still be close to the action, this is the place to be. There's stunning countryside all around and lots of pretty villages to explore; however, it is the coast that dominates. Enjoy superb walks along the coastal path over dramatic cliff-tops, or magnificent surfing on beaches stretching from Watergate Bay in the North to Fistral beach in the centre of Newquay and on down the coast. There are a number of golf courses in the area, as well as National Trust properties, traditional pubs and outstanding restaurants. Newquay itself is a visitor's paradise with a wide variety of shops, pubs and restaurants, plus attractions such as the Sea Life Centre, Newquay Zoo and nearby Dairyland and Eden Project.

View more holiday cottages in Crantock