Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Beachside - Cornwall - 1101007 - photo 1
close

Beachside

(Ref. 1101007)

Polzeath, Cornwall Show on map

3.9

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (11)
  • no (11)
  • beach (11)
  • location (10)
  • great (8)
  • our (8)

16 Customer Reviews

  • "The house is lovely and in a great location ."

    So much parking. It would be lovely to have better furniture on the balcony as that’s where we spent most of our time and had to use our beach chairs. The freezer in the shed didn’t work so we only had the small section on the fridge to use. The tv reception was very bad and unusable most of the time. Every room could do with a good clean . I was in the twin and there were cobwebs between the bedside cabinets and beds. The window sills behind the blinds hadn’t been cleaned. The double divan base was stained on the sides. The bedside lamp shades were broken. The washing machine drawer has black mould in it. There is also no storage cupboard for food in the kitchen. We had a great week thanks just things that maybe other guests haven’t reported.

    Reviewed by Sharon3.1Jun 2024

  • "We love this quirky house with unrivalled access to Polzeath beach and a magnificent view."

    The very small shower rooms and mini-kitchen might make the house tricky for older people and children, but for everyone else this is a great-value option!

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back anytime in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carolyn4.4Jun 2024

  • "Stayed here last year and had a good time so booked again."

    We love the property and proximity to the beach. It has everything we need. A welcome addition were the two new sun loungers which we put to good use when the weather was hot. It was also appreciated that the outdoor shower canopy had been replaced and extended over the entrance door. It was disappointing that the BT Internet and TV did not work on arrival. However John Bray responded to my call on the Saturday morning. They sent a man round to check who came back later to check the voltage on the tv and brought a dongle so we could connect to the Internet. The tv still did not work so they provided a replacement. Can't fault John Brays response at all. The issue was deemed to be a BT issue but after we had watched Eurovision we didn't really need the TV. The owner's collection of DVD's kept us entertained. The house was warm and had everything we needed. Even a washing machine and tumble dryer out in the shed. Both of the bathrooms could do with a paint update, but in the bigger ofvthe two the shower cubicle had been updated since our last visit. In some rooms the cleaners could pay a bit more attention to dusting the skirting boards and the louvre doors as they were thick eith dust in the room with 2 single beds. The rooms could do with some shelves for storing things like hair dryer and make up as the one unit with two drawers is not big enough. Both bathrooms need more shelves as there is not enough room to put anything. The wet room also gets wet from the shower and leaks under the door into the hall so a towel has to be put down in the hall and it definitely needs more storage in there. As I said at the start this is our second stay abd despite the small niggles we love it and hope to return again next year.

    Reviewed by Sheena4.4May 2024

  • "Great location, good use of internal space to give as much comfort as possible but I am not sure the bathroom doors / size of bathrooms are accessible for those with mobility restrictions."

    I also think the damp /Mold in bedrooms needs to be dealt with or declared in the listing. I have chronic asthma, luckily I have it under control but anyone with a young asthmatic or someone with immune / breathing issues would find this problematic and possible cause of a deterioration in health. Kitchen and house was well equipped, especially compared to latitude 50 houses in the area. But dishwasher is awful - better to get my teenager to do it badly but quicker… Would have been nice to have a washing line and a few more tumblers / water glasses in ratio to wine glasses! I know from having lived near the sea, windows are problematic but they desperately need a clean.

    Reviewed by Andrew3.1Aug 2023

  • "-excellent location/ proximity to beach -Good parking space -Good outside garden ..."

    -excellent location/ proximity to beach -Good parking space -Good outside garden space -great outside shower to rinse off wet suits -Loads of wine glasses -Lovely clean comfy beds -Great to have ben linen and house towels included -Needs new drying rack for wet clothes and swim suits -old style Windows in lounge area not placed low enough to appreciate view from sofa -old style Windows in downstairs bedrooms can’t be left open at night for safety and security reasons so not adequate for ventilation especially when hot weather -Heater in twin bedroom is on permanently which is a big problem in very hot weather -Old Leather sofas really need replacing -No cleaning products or equipment to clean up properly when leaving -Not much kitchen equipment -no clear instructions on how to leave linens and towels on exit - totally unnecessary and aggressive tone in documentation regarding failure to comply with cleaning and breakage etc especially as there was no further instruction or cleaning products or broom/ washing up sponge etc or what to do with bed linen and towels Overall good but probably could be cheaper Mid and High season price are way too high

    Email sent Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.4Jun 2023

  • "When we arrived there was no running hot water - we discovered that the boiler fuse was turned off."

    Once it was on every time we turned on the hot tap there was a loud reverberating noise throughout the house. There was also a bedroom radiator that we could not turn off in the heat. The main light overhead of the steep stairs was not working (I have an 88 year old husband) and we had to ring for an electrician. All of these should have been checked and sorted before we arrived. Much of the china was really dirty and we had to rewash it before use. There was only 1 dishwasher tablet (maybe why everything was so grubby), no vegetable peeler, washing up brush, recycling bags as demanded by the green recyling bin outside etc. There were less cereal bowls than the house accommodates - odd mismatching selection of tired china. No House instructions on what was required pre leaving We put on a dvd (great selection) but it would only show black and white so we gave up. Opposite the enticing looking balcony is an extremely loud extractor fan running all hours from the restaurant in front of the property. Under the sofas etc there was dust everywhere. Sadly someone had gone to some trouble to design the place and decorate it and its central position with a sea view is great. The parking and little garden too was a bonus. It needed proper maintenance and care.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have asked the maintenance and housekeeping department to look at the issues stated. We do hope to welcome you back very soon John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ursula2.5Jun 2023

  • "We had a great stay."

    Admittedly the property is looking a bit tired in places, the walls and skirting boards need a paint and some of the windows have broken handles. The downstairs small bathroom has a dodgy toilet roll holder as it fell off the bracket. Overall the quality of the crockery and cutlery were high, there were ample of each and the pots and pans were clean and plenty of them. The appliances were all good and clean. The only criticism I had with the kitchen was a lack of cupboard space to store our food, but a bit of juggling I made some room. The sofas are also tired and do sag a bit but I understand it is rented out to dog owners as well and dogs will climb on even though they shouldn't. The bedding was all crisp and clean as were the towels and the beds were comfortable. Wardrobes were a bit small and not enough hangers. Although I did make use of anns cottage for their free ones to use. It was a bonus having the utility area with washer and dryer that came in useful. The garden was a good size and a real suntrap we enjoyed sitting out in. The supply of tea towels and washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets was appreciated. It wasn't quite a home from home but close and certainly better than our two previous rentals. Would definitely stay again. Location was fantastic being so close to the beach. A little bit of tlc with decorating would make it perfect. I again had issues with the cleaning as hair was left in the plughole in the white shower and dust bunnies in the corners and as per the last rental we stayed in no-one bothers to move the beds to vacuum but that is on the cleaners not the owners. Another review from March 2023 really gave this property a bad review but after staying I disagree with that review. The noisy extractor fan of the waterfront restaurant that she complained about had me worried as I am a light sleeper, but honestly it is noisy in the day but only if our door open or you are outside but it switches off about 10-11pm and only starts again when they open in the morning so wasn't an issue. Just goes to show people react differently to things.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, which have all be noted. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sheena4.1May 2023

  • "Lovely position, close to beach, shops and restaurants with nice view from lounge."

    Behind Waterfront restaurant so some extractor noise from restaurant but not a problem. The settees were extremely uncomfortable. The double bed felt small, no hanging space for clothes in bedrooms. Initially internet did not work but established it was not plugged in, good when fixed. Central heating came on overnight and required a call out to fix it. Could do with a smart TV. Impressed with the 47 wine glasses, enough for everyone. Overall we had a good time and the property with the location it had was well priced. Good value for money.

    Thank you for your comments, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beachside. Your comments have been noted and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cornwall very soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrian3.4Apr 2023

  • "Location of property for the beach is great and that’s about it."

    It took me a couple of days to realize that what I thought was the sound of the sea was in fact the giant extractors from restaurant in front of the property. Property is really tired and needs care i would have expected this to be air b&b at a lowe price as it felt an extension of someone’s home and not to the standard I was expecting. Cleanliness was on the lower end - Blinds were showing mold The kitchen window seem to be welded shut slung with some other windows no ventilation when cooking No control of heating set to a timer and was to hot There was no Wi-Fi pick up of what was detailed in the notes The cooker would randomly start to beeb The sofa was torn and when sat on seem to be broken or very sunken / worn with the cushions that looked and felt dirty the toilet / showers were tiny Your clothes couldn’t hang correctly in the wardrobe as they were so small. I’m really sorry to give this feedback but for the price i was so disappointed when you work hard and pay a decent price for a holiday cottage I would expect a better standard . I definitely will not be using Sykes again.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. We're very sorry that you had to experience these issues during your visit! All of your comments have been passed on to the team here at John Bray Cornish Holidays to investigate and sort. We hope we can welcome you back to north Cornwall in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zowie1.6Mar 2023

  • "My husband and I had a wonderful stay at beachside with our dogs."

    We will definitely be back! Thank you so much xx

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so glad you and your husband enjoyed the property and we do look forward to welcoming you back to North Cornwall. John Brays on Behalf of the Owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Mar 2023

  • "What a fantastic position this property is in."

    It is exactly as named, a beach house. Cosy and compact downstairs, quirky with a bit of a view upstairs. We love Polzeath and being so close to the beach elevates this for us.

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to hear that you had such a fabulous stay at Beachside and had the perfect base to explore the north Cornish coastline from! We hope to invite you back to North Cornwall very soon. John Bray on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Oct 2022

  • "This house was perfect."

    Direct access to the beach and an outdoor shower to rinse off before going inside. However, we found that some of the crockery was dirty and needed rewashing. Underneath the sofa needed dusting and the bulbs didn't work in the dining area. This did not impact our visit as it was August. Dust I can live with but I would have loved clean crockery. Absolutely gorgeous house, slept really well. Would definitely recommend. Jackie

    Many thanks for your feedback. We appreciate you bring to our attention the lack of cleanliness in the property, I will bring this up with the housekeeping team ASAP. We look forward to inviting you back to North Cornwall soon. John Bray on behalf of the owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denis4.4Aug 2022

  • "Lovely house, fantastic location."

    Well equipped.

    Many thanks for your feedback and kind words on the property Beachside. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely holiday in one of our properties. John Bray on behalf of the owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jason4.7Aug 2022

  • "This property is in a great location near the beach & village."

    Good points: Location Parking; ample parking for 4 cars. Upside down layout with living area upstairs. Garden space. Plenty of DVD’s supplied. Bad points: Second (non electric) shower never got hot. Garden areas scruffy & needs weeding. Quite a lot of furnishings warn & needs replacing, including string needs replacing on most blinds, shower with electric shower needs grouting as mouldy in places, not enough glasses & relying on glasses ‘pinched from the pub’, but plenty of champagne flutes(!), mismatched/old crockery & pans eg 6 pan lids & 3 small pans, saucers with no cups, dishwasher needs replacing as does not clean as evidenced by dirty crockery when we arrived & fridge in kitchen needs replacing as old & worn out. In summary someone needs to spend a couple of days in the property fixing & checking. John Bray holidays feedback. We phoned on first morning to advise no pans big enough to cook for family of four. Chased next day, pans eventually arrived 4 days into our week. In reality this property is blocked solid so will always do well, but for the money just needs a bit of smartening up.

    Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Beachside. We are very sorry that you had to experience these issues during your stay but thank you for your patience and understanding whilst we sorted the pans. Your comments have been passed onto the team at John Bray Cornish holidays. We hope to welcome you back to north Cornwall in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.1Jul 2022

  • "The location of this property was perfect for us."

    The outside shower for our wetsuits was a great asset. It was remarkably quiet. The house itself was lovely with the living room upstairs. We would love to return next year but cannot see any availability.

    Thank you for this lovely feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Beachside. We hope you do return in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Jun 2022

  • "Our third visit and coming back in August as we love this house, for its quirkiness and location."

    If we were picky we would say the grass needed cutting but everything else was perfect thank you.

    Thank you for your helpful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in August! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0May 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the John Bray Cornish Holidays collection.
John Bray Cornish Holidays offers some of the best located self catering cottages and holiday homes in North Cornwall’s loveliest locations including Rock and Daymer Bay, on the Camel Estuary, and Polzeath and Port Isaac on the Atlantic coast.

Summary

  • Reverse-level
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor double, 1 x ground-floor twin, 1 x ground-floor single
  • 2 x ground-floor shower rooms with walk-in showers, basins and WCs
  • First-floor cloakroom with WC
  • First-floor open-plan kitchen, dining area and sitting area with balcony
  • Central heating
  • Oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • TV, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars on private driveway
  • Enclosed rear garden with lawn, decking, barbecue and furniture
  • One well-behaved pet welcome by arrangement
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 mile, beach 0.5 miles
  • Note: Check-in is from 4:30pm, check-out by 9am

The property

Settled by the coast in Polzeath, Cornwall is this inviting, reverse-level holiday home of Beachside.

Enjoying sea views and resting near the coast so you can easily enjoy days out at the beach, this is the ideal dwelling for a family of five's seaside holiday.

Upon arrival, you will be happy to find space for four cars on the private driveway, allowing for easy unloading of your belongings.

Make your way inside the and upstairs to the tastefully decorated open-plan living space which enjoys the sea vista whilst also featuring coastal accents throughout.

Grab a seat on one of the leather sofas in the sitting area and put on a DVD for all to enjoy on the TV, or head out to the balcony where you can really soak up those views as you sip a glass of wine.

When you're feeling peckish, venture to the well-appointed kitchen which is fitted with pristine white units and glossy worktops, whilst boasting ample appliances, including laundry facilities!

When the foodie of the group has made a tasty meal here, enjoy it as a light bite at the breakfast bar or as a sit-down meal with the family at the five-seater table.

When night falls, head downstairs to find three well-presented bedrooms, the first being a double enjoying neutral tones throughout, a twin room and a single enjoying a coastal feel.

Two shower rooms can be found nearby, both of which feature walk-in showers, so you can freshen up in the mornings.

During the warmer months, be sure to make the most of the spacious, enclosed lawn, where your canine companion can stretch their legs.

The charming village of Polzeath not only hosts a great range of eateries, including The Waterfront, which has a great deck for overlooking the ocean, whilst also being next to a stunning beach with a surf school and within reach of the renowned Pentire Point, which can be reached via the South West Coastal Path.

Why not spend the day in Wadebridge, a town with access to the famed Camel Trail, ideal for cycling enthusiasts, as well as housing the fascinating Wadebridge and District Museum?

Travel to Padstow, where the intriguing National Lobster Hatchery awaits, as well as access to Hawker's Cove and a ferry which travels to Rock.

The surfing hub of Newquay, the historic town of Bodmin with its access to Bodmin Moor, along with a range of picturesque coastal towns await; enhance your break by exploring them!

Choose Beachside for your next Cornwall adventure.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

POLZEATH

Wadebridge 7.5 miles; Padstow 16 miles.

The seaside village of Polzeath boasts a sandy beach, which is bordered by rock pools and is acclaimed to be one of the best surfing beaches in the country. Polzeath itself has a number of small shops, cafes and restaurants, and the South West Coast Path, a 630-mile route, runs through the village. Just over seven miles away is the popular market town of Wadebridge, which is set alongside the River Camel and offers an array of shops, pubs and restaurants, as well as North Cornwall's only family-owned cinema. There’s wonderful countryside in the area, with the renowned Camel Trail passing through the town, and the nearby town of Padstow, with its harbour, pastel-washed medieval houses and celebrated restaurants is well worth exploring. Within driving distance is the UK surfing capital of Newquay, with over 11 miles of golden sandy beaches. Polzeath is an excellent base for exploring this part of Cornwall.

View more holiday cottages in Polzeath

Please note, this property is within fantastic distance to Polzeath Beach. It is located behind the Waterfront Restaurant which is useful to know before your visit.