Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 29 View Image Gallery
  • The Shack - Cornwall - 8036 - photo 1
close
  • The Shack - (Ref. 8036)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

The Shack

(Ref. 8036)

Mawgan Porth near Newquay, Cornwall Show on map

4.1

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (23)
  • shack (17)
  • beach (14)
  • great (12)
  • views (11)
  • bed (10)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "The Shack was exactly as I imagined, reminiscent of our old school chalet holidays but with modern conveniences."

    It was lovely to see the family photos in the folder depicting the history of The Shack. It is in a great location, a 5 minute walk down the hill to the beach, maybe 15 coming back up : ) We loved the garden and the views, the garden being an all day sun trap. I really wouldn't like to see fencing at the end of the garden as another reviewer suggested. You'd think we had never seen rabbits before when we were excitedly taking pics as they were having a nibble just outside the sliding doors. The Shack was well equipped although in need of a deep clean, but that would obviously only be possible when not booked and it is very popular. The beds, I would say, are nearing end of life but I still slept reasonably comfortably. My son did complain about his 'flat pillows', so if you like a big, fluffy pillow, take your own along. We didn't have a problem with hot water, but I guess if you have a larger family just bear in mind it takes a while for the tank to heat up again. No problem with shower tray either. It was a bit slow to drain, but as the owner had said, it is likely blocked with sand and again, can only be investigated once holiday season quietens down. It certainly wasn't flowing over. Mawgan Porth does not have good wifi coverage so it was a bit patchy, but we managed OK. Mawgan Porth is a great place to holiday without a car, being on the Newquay to Padstow bus route. There is a well stocked shop along with great places to eat such as The Catch and Betty's to buy your bucket and spade, or beanie and hoodie in my case. The home made quiche at the Carnewas tea room was delicious. Unfortunately there is currently no access down to the beach at Bedruthan due to a rock fall, but still worth a visit for the view...and quiche. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there, particularly the peace and privacy. My biggest gripe really was with the previous holidaymakers. Who just empties a teapot and puts it back in the cupboard without cleaning it? Evident by the still wet tea bag stuck at the bottom. Clean up after yourselves! Tsk.

    Reviewed by Lorraine3.4Oct 2023

  • "All the past positive comments are correct regarding location, well equipped kitchen etc."

    All the past negatives are also correct regarding uncomfortable beds, shower tray drainage issues, cleanliness etc. A complete freshen up decorating and decor wise is long overdue. This would enable better cleaning. The housekeeper was very efficient and speedy when we had a door lock issue.

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not find the beds to be as comfortable as you would have liked. We have taken on board your other concerns and aim to rectify them during our winter closure period. I’m glad you had prompt service from our housekeeper and have passed on your thanks. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda2.5Sep 2023

  • "The location and privacy you gain from this property is second to none,it’s ..."

    The location and privacy you gain from this property is second to none,it’s only a short walk to the beach,it has lovely views and a nice yard,the yard is spacious and great but as the house is on a hill, at the end of the yard it then slopes down and is just overgrowth and shrubbery all the way down, something like a 4ft fence would suffice at the end of the yard before the drop as you need your eyes in the back of your head when your kids are out there playing,the house in itself is quite spacious for a bungalow but is in need of a refurbishment or some type of modernising,the beds wasn’t as uncomfortable as some customers said, obviously the hot water was a problem which I understood before hand the kids was able to have a bath and me and my wife a shower but you had to wait like 30 mins in between,when having a shower make it quick not because of the hot water but the shower tray doesn’t drain anywhere quick enough it just keeps filling up,the washing machine was a great addition aswell the wife loved it

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the Shack’s wonderful location. I would point out that our garden, or “yard” as you call it, only extends to the end of the flat lawn. The rest of the hillside does not belong to our property. We feel any fence will detract from the amazing view across the valley. We have only ever lost footballs but never children. Your other comments have been noted and will be addressed asap. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart3.8Aug 2023

  • "The biggest positive of The Shack is undoubtedly its location."

    Fantastic position in the stunning Mawgan Porth. It also has outdoor space which is very secluded, peaceful & provides a sea view just about. However the property is very tired, lacks any modern touches, and in general is run down. The hot water system doesn't allow for consecutive showers without waiting 20 minutes! The bedrooms smell very musty & the kitchen cupboards the same. Probably the most disappointing aspect was the cleanliness which wasn't helped when trying to use the already dirty vacuum cleaner. All in all a big let down for the price, not sure how it's graded 4 ticks???

    Thank you for your feedback which I have taken on board. I will look into replacing the hot water system but you will appreciate this is a big job and cannot be done during the 5 hour changeover window in what is a very popular holiday cottage. I aim to provide a clean and comfortable holiday home as per the listing and photos and am sorry if it did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jason1.9Aug 2023

  • "Nice location and view."

    Close to the beach.

    Reviewed by Lynn3.4Jul 2023

  • "Very enjoyable week."

    Sitting on the bench at the front overlooking the hills and farmland across from the nature reserve you would think you were out in the countryside - also nice and sheltered - and not realise the sea was just to the right. Fabulous location. The property was very pleasant and comfortable. Have already booked for next May. Can we have the same weather please.

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am so pleased the Shack and it’s perfect location met your expectations and you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for booking again for next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham4.4May 2023

  • "A fantastic cottage in a great location."

    The lounge catches the sun all day, and it’s great to have the patio doors open and chill out. The beach is a short walk away, and the local shops provide everything you need. Recommend the Merrymoor Inn for breakfast.

    Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad you enjoyed your holiday at The Shack. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Sep 2022

  • "The location of The Shack was all we had hoped it to be."

    We enjoyed our week there and would recommend Mawgan Porth as a beach resort. The surfing is good. The property facilities were OK but some aspects were obviously tired. We found the two double bedrooms rather crampt. We love dogs but found the smell of dogs in the property off putting. This seemed to be more evident in the lounge as the week progressed. The hot water system appears to be inadequate for more than two brief showers. The in cottage guide says it will heat the water in 20 minutes is much too short - it takes at least 30 from cold.

    Reviewed by Brian4.4Sep 2022

  • "Location is fantastic, can't stress that enough."

    Great view, and a 5 min walk from the beach was perfect. We were there 2 days before we decided we wanted to come back, but it would seem that every other person that stays there has the same idea. Sky TV and Internet was really appreciated, only things that I wished were better is the hot water, having to wait 20mins after turning it on for everyone to have something usable, the double bed could really do with a look at and the lack if a dishwasher. I just hate washing up. But really, it's just that good I'd go back just the way it is.

    Reviewed by Mathew4.7Aug 2022

  • "Amazing place in a great location."

    Loved the beach and local pub . Would recommend this holiday home.

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Jul 2022

  • "Our stay at The Shack was fantastic from start to finish."

    The property itself is well-equipped, sensibly priced and spacious making it more than comfortable for a week or two. Highlights for us were the private location, the views and the outside space. A special thank you to the owner and cleaner who really helped out after we accidentally left an item at the property.

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Shack and that we were able to assist in returning your item you left behind. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.7Jul 2022

  • "The Shack was up to its usual high standards."

    This is the fourth family holiday at the shack, but this time with a new Grandson, we will certainly be booking again

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Apr 2022

  • "Beautiful setting and lovely bungalow."

    Just a few things - A dishwasher would be a real asset whilst on holiday. Bathroom needs updating and water heater would not do 3 showers when heated for the recommended 20 mins. All very comfortable except the beds - Double bed needs replacing. We would book again though as loved the position of this holiday home.

    Thankyou for your feedback. Sadly when the kitchen was fitted there was not room for both a dishwasher and a washing machine and we were advised at the time that a washing machine was preferable. We will rethink this and take advice when the present machine needs replacing. The hot water immersion system is normally adequate for the number of guests, it has never been mentioned before. All the mattresses in the bungalow were replaced with brand new ones a year ago. I am sorry if you found them uncomfortable, we always sleep well there but everybody's needs are different. We are glad you loved the location and the bungalow, it is very special. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley3.4Apr 2022

  • "The Shack is in an idyllic spot with a lovely garden overlooking rolling hills and farmland just 5 minutes walk to the beach and coast paths."

    Reviewed by Cf4.4Aug 2021

  • "This property is in a fantastic location and this is our second visit."

    The property is starting to look a little tired and could do with a refresh and some of the furniture could also do with replacing, this would also help with the cleanliness. But saving that I love this place and would definitely revisit

    Reviewed by Lynn4.1Aug 2021

  • "Bungalow location is excellent with lovely views over the valley, easy walk downhill to the beach but obviously harder walk back up the hill."

    Bungalow is well equipped although with staying for 2 weeks a rotary washing line would be great instead of just a airer

    Reviewed by Elaine4.4Jul 2021

  • "This is a beautiful property in a stunning location."

    An ideal base to either stay put and enjoy Mawgan Porth or in which to explore Cornwall. I absolutely loved The Shack, the elevated position of this property makes for the most beautiful and peaceful views. Wonderful.

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0May 2021

  • "Property position semi - secluded which is great for privacy with a lovely lawn, perfect for evening games and drinks."

    We were only 5 mins walk via a short cut to the beach. The beach is absolutely amazing. Internet was really good. Only downside which has nothing to do with the property, is the mobile signal.

    Reviewed by Karen4.4May 2021

  • "Had a wonderful week at the shack, second year running, it is so peaceful and very homely loved it so much did not want to leave, will be booking again."

    Reviewed by Kerrie5.0Sep 2019

  • "We enjoyed our holiday and the views were great!"

    A couple of issues - There was no hoover and the shower was very slow to drain, a problem that previous occupants had commented. The oven and radio could have benefitted from a good clean. The beach was great; very busy!

    Reviewed by Tom3.8Aug 2019

  • "We’ve just returned from a week at The Shack ."

    ... what a gem! An oasis of tranquility describes the location and the general ambience which added to a week of relaxation and enjoyment. The Shack is well located in Mawgan Porth, having everything to hand - with a beautiful garden and amazing view! As a family, we all loved the accommodation - perfect for a family holiday - and Mawgan Porth has a unique balance which makes an ‘impossible’ balance ‘possible’ - very low key yet having vibrant vibes ... having everything you need for an ‘away from it all’ but everything you need to make it an enjoyable holiday too! Breathtaking walks, stunning beaches, great eateries - what more could you ask for? ... just add The Shack to the holiday mix and you’ve got a perfect combination!

    Reviewed by Nigel4.7Jul 2019

  • "Great location and the shack had everything we needed which meant a realy happy and relaxed stay."

    Only down side we didn't want to go home.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jul 2019

  • "We’ve had a lovely family holiday at the Shack , Mawgan Porth, Its in a beautiful location,lovely views , plenty of secure private parking, very clean , well equipped and spacious with everything provided for the perfect escape, nice friendly pub with great food and shops just a very short walk away , lovely beach and the north Cornish coast to explore, a magical area , we will definitely book again very soon , Highly recommended."

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Oct 2018

  • "The location was amazing, couldn’t have asked for better and the weather was amazing."

    The cottage was nice, a bit dated, but had everything we required. It was really cosy and I loved the underfloor heating.

    Reviewed by Jessica4.4Oct 2018

  • "The shack is a wonderful place to stay, peaceful with views you can not get fed up of It has everything you need great location would recommend it to every one."

    Only down side was we had to make a fence to stop our dog from getting up the drive. Will be booking again.

    Reviewed by Kerrie5.0Sep 2018

  • "Had 2weeksin The shack, bungalow is in a fabulous location with views of countryside its a 5-10 mins walk down a hill to the beach, its graded 4 ticks but that's optimistic more like a 3 as inside is tired and needs attention."

    Windows are blown and need replacing. Beds are hard and uncomfortable as mentioned in other reviews we took our mattress topper in a vac bag to ensure we slept well

    Reviewed by Elaine3.8Jul 2018

  • "The Shack is in a fabulous location, just a five minute walk down the hill to the dog friendly beach, and village, where there are shops, pub, restaurants etc."

    Lovely views from the garden. The bungalow itself is suffering a little and could do with a bit of a makeover in places. The kitchen is well equipped, however upon our arrival the washing machine had 2" of stagnant water in it and I had to clean it before I was able to use it (note left for owner). This "puddle" appeared again before the end of the week. The fittings in the bathroom are rusty. The mattresses on the beds are hard and need replacing as they were very uncomfortable. Previous reviews have also mentioned this! In the lounge, the carpet (shown in the online pictures of the property) has been replaced with laminate flooring and was very slippery for our dog, and the fact it showed carpet in the pictures was one of the reasons swaying us to book this property. Throughout the property many of the double glazed windows have blown and are full of condensation blurring views. We couldn't open the patio doors in the lounge. The kitchen window looked like it was about to fall out, so we didn't attempt to open it. The grass hadn't been cut for some time. After showering the first time my husband had to clear the drain at the rear of the premises as it was blocked and water flowing along the path. Having said all the above we were lucky to have good weather and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Not sure how often you grade your properties but you may wish to visit as 4 ticks is a little optimistic compared with other properties we have stayed in.

    Thank you for your feedback. Since this above booking, the patio doors have been replaced as have the few panes of glass that had unfortunately blown. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne-marie3.4May 2018

  • "We first stayed at The Shack 4 years ago and there have been some improvements, eg."

    recently painted outside and the addition of Wi-Fi Broadband. However, the general condition of The Shack had deteriorated considerably. As another reviewer noted, many of the double glazed units have now blown badly reducing the views, adding to a general feeling of neglect. A particular problem was the comfort of the beds, which ultimately led us to leaving a week early! We also noted rusty soap trays in the shower & bath, the room was in a general state of disrepair although the fittings did work, and apart from a couple of toilet rolls which were left for us, we had to provide every single toiletry including fundamentals such as handwash. Although there is a washing machine, drying facilities are minimal. There is no access to an airing cupboard and the small washing line had just one very rusty peg provided. We are only glad that we did not pay the sums expected in high season, and would encourage Sykes Cottages to send their own Secret Reviewer to check our findings. We certainly will not be returning to The Shack!!!

    Reviewed by Eric1.9Apr 2018

  • "Whilst The Shack was in a good location we did find it a bit 'tired' eg."

    Front door sticking , windows appeared 'blown' and the mattresses need replacing. We thought that the garden could do with being fenced off to make it safe for young children and dogs.

    Reviewed by Robin4.0Feb 2018

  • "This was our 2nd visit to The Shack."

    Everything you need for your holiday you will find in the shack. A lovely location, quiet and not overlooked. we will be booking again in the near future

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Jan 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Fitted kitchen with dining area and door to garden
  • Sitting room with dining area.
  • Electric convector heating with underfloor heating in the bathroom and hallway
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with basic Sky, DVD, WiFi, selection of books and DVDs
  • All fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Private secluded garden with panoramic views and furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, pub and beach 5 mins walk
  • Note: This property is not suitable for wheelchairs.

The property

Newquay 5.5 miles. This detached Newquay holiday home is in a secluded position on the hill overlooking Mawgan Porth Beach, a mile from the long stretch of sandy beach at Watergate Bay north of Newquay.

Reached via a long, private driveway off the road, and with spectacular, uninterrupted countryside views from the garden, this Mawgan Porth bungalow is the ideal place to unwind.

Offering comfortable family accommodation with patio doors opening to the secluded private front garden, the safe, sandy beach is just a 5 minute walk from this Newquay holiday home with its range of shops and cafes.

Much of the coastline to the north of Mawgan Porth is owned by the National Trust and there are a host of pretty coves and rocky outcrops to discover on foot from the coast path.

For families, the popular beaches of Booby's Bay, Constantine Bay and Mother Ivey's Bay are all within a 15 minute drive along narrow lanes.

The attractive village of St Mawgan is two miles up the vale from the beach and has a traditional village inn and a 13th century church with one of the finest collections of monumental brasses in the country.

Further afield, the busy resort of Newquay offers many attractions including its aquarium, zoo, Trenance Gardens and plenty of shops, bars and bistros, while the Eden Project is only 14 miles away.

A lovely Newquay holiday home close to one of the most spectacular stretches of Cornish coastline.

View on map

About the location

NEWQUAY

Holywell 6 miles; Perranporth 8.5 miles; Truro 14 miles; Padstow 14 miles.

Newquay is the home of the UK’s surf scene, boasting three major beaches, the National Surf Centre and an endless supply of rolling surf, making it a watersports paradise. The town, with its zoo, sea life centre and varied selection of restaurants and pubs, also promises a holiday to remember. For avid walkers, the South West Coast Path passes in both directions along a stunning coastline of high cliffs, hidden coves and yet more beaches. The quaint harbour and fishing village of Padstow is just 14 miles away, while Truro, with its museums, cathedral, restaurants and cobbled streets, as well as the Eden Project, can be reached within 30 minutes. Picturesque St Ives and the Tate St Ives gallery is under an hour's drive or a train ride away. In fact, because nothing in Cornwall is far from Newquay, it’s the perfect touring base.

View more holiday cottages in Newquay