Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Trevose

St Ives, Cornwall (Ref. 1012513)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

15 Customer Reviews

  • "I have made a formal complaint regarding this property and evidenced the uncleanliness and lack of hygiene"

    We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the property. Constructive reviews are always welcome, as we always take these on board and try to improve our guests holiday experience where possible, Our Housekeeper is meticulous in his preparation of the apartment with 18 of the last 23 reviews giving cleanliness 100%. We tried many times to make contact but received no response.Trying to resolve an issue can be difficult if there is no response or communication. Again I am truly sorry that you feel Trevose did not meet your expectations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RakhiMay 2022

  • "The pictures of the accommodation made it seem much more spacious than it was."

    The heating system was very fancy but took a long time to heat up. One of the beds in the twin room was very soft and uncomfortable, but the other was okay when I moved over. On the positive side the place was very clean, the kitchen was well provided, the view was glorious, the shower and bath were excellent and we had a very good week.

    Thank you for leaving your review and we are glad that you had a good weeks holiday. It is always very difficult to gauge the size of a property through pictures and without room dimensions, but the apartment is very popular and size has not previously been an issue for our guests. The infrared heating system is just as efficient (if not more so) than conventional radiators, but all systems require time to heat up including infrared. One of the single beds being soft and uncomfortable has not been mentioned before, but we will of course take this into consideration. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JudithApr 2022

  • "A lovely apartment with the most amazing views over St Ives."

    Comfy sofa and bed which makes such a difference and all decorated to a high standard. One thing to point put is there are a number of flights of stairs ( this is advised in the information) to the apartment but this all helps to burn off the fish and chips eaten in the harbour and also you get the wonderful view so worth it.

    Reviewed by AndreaDec 2021

  • "Thankyou for the wonderful opportunity to stay in your beautiful apt."

    The views were magical! We enjoyed the cosy luxury very much. We wouldn't hesitate to come again!

    We are so glad that you had a lovely break in Trevose. Thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by FionaDec 2021

  • "Had a brilliant stay, the apartment was beautiful, very well equipped and in a great location!"

    Thank you for your lovely comments about Trevose. We always appreciate our guests feedback especially when they are so positive! Property Owner

    Reviewed by JoelNov 2021

  • "Fantastic view!"

    Great location for St Ives and to wander along to Carbis Bay. Owner Sue very helpful during our stay. Highly recommend this property.

    We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Trevose, Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IOct 2021

  • "The location was outstanding with a wonderful view of the beach, and access to it within minutes."

    The facilities were good and premises very clean. The door lock gave us a problem trying to get in, with the key not fitting into the lock. We sought help from the local rep, but could not get an answer on his phone. After 2 hours of waiting for a reply to our phone messages, we engaged with Sykes head office who were extremely helpful in trying to locate the local rep. After around 3 hours of waiting for the rep, he appeared, pushed the key very hard into the lock and opened the door. We had some later difficulties in trying to insert the key, but did succeed in getting the key into the lock. However, the exercise was not good for our nerves. Other guests have reported the challenges of entering and leaving the road outside. It was very narrow but we had no difficulty in getting a parking slot, and it was possible to do a turn around (not a 3 point turn but something nearer 20!) This would not put us off return to the venue but we would be concerned if the lock issue was not addressed. Overall it was a lovely holiday venue, with a fantastic location and wonderful sea view view

    Thank you for leaving a review. The lock into the apartment has been renewed so hopefully the access problem you had will not happen again Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolSep 2021

  • "The location of the apartment is perfect for access to the beach; walks along the coastal path; a walk in to St Ives Centre/harbour and driving in and out of town."

    The view from the living room and master bedroom are worth the cost of the holiday alone.

    Thank you so much for writing such a glowing review. We are so glad that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the views! Property Owner

    Reviewed by SimonSep 2021

  • "We booked Trevose as a little mini moon following our wedding."

    We love St Ives so wanted something within walking distance, which this certainly is. It is located up a large hill but you can get the bus back up from St Ives. The apartment is beautiful, and has the most incredible view. The kitchen is fully equipped and we were provided with tea, coffee, sugar and milk! (Thankyou!) We had no issues with parking, we drive a large 4x4 which was hard to turn around however it is possible! It is all unreserved permit only but we were provided with a permit for each day of our stay. We visited as a couple, there are two bedrooms with room for 4. I think 4 adults would be a squeeze but possible! however, perfect for a family! Beautiful apartment, stunning views. Thankyou.

    Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your mini moon in our apartment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NeilSep 2021

  • "The apartment provides fantastic views from the main bedroom and living area."

    The apartment is equipped with everything you need and the location is ideal a 10 to 15 minute walk into town and only a couple of minutes to the beach.

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback on Trevose. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our flat. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisAug 2021

  • "Great location, with fantastic views and easy access to the beach."

    Portminster beach is lovely and the facilities and beach restaurant itself is very good if you do manage to get a table. Parking can be hard work due to the narrow street but we always found a spot. Flat was clean and the host was very responsive to questions. They allowed an earlier check in as flat was cleaned ahead of schedule which was good of them to communicate. Flat is small however, especially for a family of 4, with no dishwasher and kitchen could do with an upgrade. It wasn't that comfortable for a night in cooking dinner for the family. The bathroom is more functional and kids enjoy the jet bath. The views and location is main benefit of the flat in our opinion. Overall a pleasant stay with great access to the beach but given the price for a weeks stay would have liked a bit more room and smarter facilities. I guess that's what you get in St Ives for August prices especially in 2021 though.

    Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the supply and demand of properties this summer has affected the price that people have been paying. I believe this has been across the board. The kitchen was new 4 years ago and as can be seen in the pictures of the flat is white and clean. The kitchen flooring was new last year. There is no mention of a dishwasher in the flat description. I am truly sorry that you feel that the flat did not meet your expectations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NickAug 2021

  • "We all really enjoyed our stay at Trevose, the views over Portminster beach/harbour are amazing!"

    Parking was great, a little narrow heading down along the terrace but thats Cornwall for you. Apartment was clean, airy, and light but could do with shutters/blackout blinds though (we forgot ours and paid the price of having to wrap a t-shirt around eyes from 4am onwards). There is limited room for cooking as the kitchen area is quite small, that said it was large enough for 3 on a couple of occasions. Also dining was tight (pull out table and chairs) but you can get round this with moving the sofa (its light enough). Review may sound negative, it shouldn’t be read that way, we really enjoyed it here, just a couple of small comments thats all. Perfect location also, close to beach and to edge of St Ives for a quick drive off. We would defo come back again

    Reviewed by ChrisMay 2021

  • "Absolutely fabulous apartment."

    Beautiful views. Just one grievance! You really do need to add that the road is very steep and narrow. You either have to reverse down or back up as there is no room to turn a car around unless you have a small car! I had to pay and park in the Leisure Centre car park as you have very little chance of parking in the train station.

    Reviewed by AlisonSep 2020

  • "The apartment location was fantastic, but there is a lack of attention to detail and the customer service is really poor."

    There was no bathmat, the TV doesn't work (or if it does, you need to give much clearer instructions), and the shower makes a really loud drilling noise whenever it's used. Plus there were instructions for a non-existent dishwasher (??). On the last night, we rang you with an issue around the hot water, and were told we'd be rung back (which didn't happen). Instead we were contacted by email by the owner and texted by 'Dave' asking us to check the heating, check the fuse box, etc. etc. About 90 mins into the rigmarole of checking everything, they both said that the plumber couldn't come out and it was our last night anyway so what did we want to do. By the way, last time I checked we paid as much for the last night as we did any other, so I wouldn't recommend you say that to other people because it's really annoying to hear. The next day I missed a call so I rang back, was on hold for an hour only to be told that you rep would talk to the owner and get back to me. Since then I've not heard anything, so you've obviously decided it's not worth it because you've got our money and that's that, hopefully I'll just go away. It's a real shame because St Ives is a wonderful place and we managed to overlook the weird stuff at the beginning and have a lovely holiday still, but you really let yourselves down with your customer service. I'm going to try to avoid you in the future because it really didn't strike me as value for money.

    We are sorry that you appear to have had a few issues with your stay at Trevose and therefore we feel that an owner's response is necessary. But firstly thank you for giving us full marks for cleanliness and praising the location. Our housekeeper Dan is meticulous in his work and takes great pride in presenting our apartment at its best for each and every guest. Firstly Dan found the bath mat rolled up in the bathroom ready for use when he did the change over deep clean. As we have already said Dan is meticulous in preparing the flat for our guests and always checks to make sure everything works. He did check the TV before your arrival and after your departure as he always does and found no issue with it. The only thing that perhaps could have affected it, was perhaps an intermittent poor signal, which can sometimes happens in poor weather conditions. The new power shower is a wonderful facility, but the pump does make a sound that is perhaps similar to the drilling sound that you describe.We have never found the noise excessive and we have not received any other complaints since it was installed. We do not have a dishwasher in the apartment, so find it strange that you appear to have found instructions for one. There is no mention of a dishwasher in our guest instructions that were emailed to you ahead of your trip. It was Dan that you communicated with about the lack of hot water. We have installed a new power shower and updated the heating in the apartment earlier this year, so everything should be working correctly. There is no boiler and all hot water comes from the storage tank in the hall cupboard, heated by an immersion heater. If all the water had been used up, it would have taken perhaps an hour or so for the tank to reheat. For more hot water at the time of use, all that is needed is one press of the boost button on the digital control panel in the hall for an additional 30 minutes of heating, two presses for 60 minutes and so on. Operating instructions were emailed to you. The next morning when Dan arrived to clean the apartment following your departure, he found no lack of hot water, so we assume that all was working again and that you were able to have a hot shower in the morning before you left. We did communicate with you via email to try and resolve the hot water issue, but at no time did we suggest that a plumber should be called. My housekeeper Dan did mention it, we believe, but said that considering it was late on a Friday night and not an emergency, it was highly unlikely one would come out at short notice. He did try several timess to make contact with you. In spite of these issues, we hope it did not spoil your holiday and thank you for taking the time to raise these matters. Sykes Cottages Customer relations- We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the customer service received from Sykes Cottages, we have taken your comments on board to improve the service we provide to customers when calling our out of hours emergency number. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EdenSep 2020

  • "Totally brilliant Flawless"

    Reviewed by JanesAug 2020

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with TV and 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and Power shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with electric fire.
  • Internal heating and electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV, DVD and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Permit parking for 1 car on private road outside the property
  • Shop and pub within 0.4 miles
  • Note: The property is accessed via four flights of stairs

The property

Positioned within the honey pot location of the coast of St Ives, this enchanting apartment is the ideal holiday home for a small family or group of friends looking for a beachfront adventure in Cornwall.

Step inside to uncover the contemporary wonder of the dwelling; the social hub of the holiday home consists of the open-plan living space, offering spectacular views of the beach below, the window seat makes a great spot to spend an afternoon with a good book, with the windows open to let in the fresh coastal breeze.

Enjoy a relaxed evening indoors and sink into the sofa with all of your favourite treats prepared in the amply-equipped kitchen, with the fire on for that extra bit of winter warmth.

End your evening in one of the two bright and airy bedrooms.

Take a stroll to the seaside itself, with St Ives being in reach by car or foot, you’re perfectly positioned for a wide array of wonder.

St Ives plays host to an abundance of beachfront eateries and quaint shops, as well as boasting historic delights, museums and glorious gardens to explore when you’re not soaking in the sun at the beach.

Enjoy a day exploring the natural beauty of the Penwith Heritage Coast, or take a trip to the popular port town of Penzance offering even more excitement for all ages.

In a prime location for uncovering the best of Cornwall, Trevose is a grand base for your holiday in the south of England.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

ST IVES

Penzance 6 miles.

One of Cornwall's prettiest harbour towns, St Ives offers narrow streets, tight-packed cottages nestling around the quayside, the Tate Gallery and Barbara Hepworth museum, fabulous beaches, superb shops, a thriving community of artists, great pubs and restaurants and much more. With its semi Bohemian lifestyle and romantic air, it's easy to see why this is the county's premier holiday resort. The surrounding area has much for the visitor to see and do with abundant wildlife, fabulous coastal walks, top quality surfing and the Celtic mysteries of the Land's End Peninsula are all within easy reach. A superb destination!

View more holiday cottages in St Ives

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it