Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 38 View Image Gallery
  • Vi’s Valley View - Cornwall - 1109979 - photo 1

Vi’s Valley View

(Ref. 1109979)

Pentewan, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (5)
  • bedroom (4)
  • been (4)
  • our (4)
  • bed (4)
  • dog (3)

6 Customer Reviews

  • "Property was lovely."

    Very disappointed our dog was not allowed on the beach. Having reread the listing it is my error and I should have realised but if I’m booking a pet friendly cottage it would have been nice to know explicitly that your pet is not not allowed on the beach in the village between April and November

    We're sorry to hear you were disappointed - we also wish that dogs were allowed on the beach all year round! Hopefully you were able to enjoy the riverside walk in the village with your dog, as well as many other dog-friendly beaches within a short drive away. We provide alternative suggestions for dog-friendly days out in our cottage information pack and hope you found this information useful. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lance3.4May 2024

  • "My husband and I have visited Cornwall every year for the last 18 years."

    We have stayed in a variety of accommodation on each visit, so we generally have an idea of what to look for in a cottage. We were happy with the cleanliness of the cottage, however we did find that the grill pan still had fat in it and we were somewhat disappointed with the state of the outside space. There were lots of weeds (we're aware there has been a lot of rain) it was apparent that the outside areas hadn't been attended to for quite a while. The cottage is called Vi's Valley View, sadly the view was obscured as the double glazed windows in the lounge and the bedroom have blown along with two smaller windows, so looking out of them was a little dreary. In the welcome pack it stated there were dog bowls and treats in the study, neither were found. Not the end of the world I know. We had a query about the access to the outhouse where we could find fuel for the open fire, it said in the Information pack that the contact number for any queries was at the front of the Information pack, it wasn't. Thankfully I was able to find this on the email from our booking with Sykes. We made contact asking how we could access the outhouse and they got back to us 2-3 days later. In our experience the majority of holiday cottages leave a 'Welcome Pack', in these we have had items such as Milk, biscuits, and even a bottle of wine on a couple of occasions. At Vi's cottage we got a welcome pack but on opening it there was 2 dishwasher tab, 2 washing capsules, a cloth, sponge and washing up liquid. Sorry to say we were a little stunned the fact it was called a 'Welcome Pack'!! We found the bed in the main bedroom a too firm for us. On a positive note, we enjoyed our time in Cornwall. The cottage kitchen is well equipped, the lounge very comfortable, great location, good parking 'The Ship' served great food and the locals were very welcoming.

    We are glad you enjoyed your time in Cornwall overall, but we apologise that our cottage was not up to standard. We are sorry that there was no welcome pack left out for you - there should have been some tea, coffee, biscuits, and some treats/bowls for your dog. We have contacted our cleaning and management company to ensure that this doesn't happen again (likewise, to ensure the grill pan is properly cleaned/inspected). They should have left their contact details out for you, so we will also chase this (we never recommend guests contact Sykes during their stay, as this is not the quickest way to get help). We've been informed that your issue with the coalshed door was resolved and that the wood had expanded in the wet weather. Thank you for informing us about the garden - as you rightly say, there has been a lot of rain recently and we are due a gardener to spruce the place up. We will see to this! Our back yard does not receive much sunlight, so we hope you enjoyed sitting outside the front instead. We're sorry if the obscured windows ruined your experience - the double glazing is high on our list of renovations. Whilst our cottage is called 'valley view' (a name it was given over a century ago), the view further down the lane is less obscured by trees and houses, so I hope you were still able to enjoy the beautiful scenery. Thank you for your honest review and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.1Apr 2024

  • "Lovely cottage tucked away in a quiet village."

    5* a real home from home, fully equipped with everything you need, warm & comfortable. Beach, shop, pubs, takeaways, kids playground on the beach all in a few minutes walk. Drive to Mevagissey 10mins Charlestown 15mins Recommended

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - and such a lovely review it is too! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and it sounds like you really made the most of the local area too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2024

  • "What a wonderful place the cottage is just beautiful."

    Everything has been thought about kitchen very well stocked, lounge super cozy, Bedrooms very comfortable with lovely bathrooms. Even thought about our pooches with dog biscuits and pooh bags, even down to supplying some old towels in case they needed them. Would highly recommend and will definitely go back.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a fabulous review, we really appreciate it.We are super dog friendly and can't wait to host you and your pooch again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mandy5.0Nov 2023

  • "We arrived an hour early (3 pm) to see if we could drop some bags off, the cleaner was just leaving and he was happy for us to enter the property."

    He stated that another cleaner would be arriving within the hour to make the second bed up with linen and drop off clean towels, however, we did not get the bedding until 21:45 that night after pestering someone called Chris via WhatsApp who told us that there had been issues all day with stock, we then had to make the bed up ourselves. We had a long tiring drive and all we wanted was to get some sleep. The clean towels did not arrive until the next day, so we had to use old towels we found in one of the bedrooms that were labeled for emergency and use with dogs... this is not really acceptable, but we did eventually enjoy our stay.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We cannot apologise enough for the mix up with the linen, which is provided by the cleaning company - as you rightly say, it is not acceptable. Please be reassured that we followed this up with Chris (the manager of the cleaning company) as soon as we were notified. We have also parted ways with Chris and now use an alternative cleaning company to avoid this happening again. Once again, we are sorry for any inconvenience that this caused and we hope that it did not impact significantly on the rest of your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dale3.8Oct 2022

  • "We had a great stay at the cottage."

    It is in a quiet yet convenient location for the coast, shops and nice local pub. We loved the quirky feel of the cottage and attention to detail. We loved having both a living room and dining room plus separate kitchen and the spacious bedrooms, there was ample storage space. The stair to the bedrooms is a bit tight but we got used to it. We would consider returning to this special place!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate it. We are so glad that you enjoyed our quiet corner of Cornwall as much as we do (and the local pub!). As our first ever guests, it makes us very happy knowing you had a great time in Pentewan and would considering coming back. Thank you for your kind words and for such a lovely review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha4.7Aug 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x double
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground-floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Electric central heating with open fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi, selection of boardgames, books, and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Courtyard and paved garden
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop approx 7 min walk, pub and beach approx 6 min walk
  • Note: Walking times indicated to local amenities are estimated, shop 0.3 miles, pub and beach 0.2 miles
  • Note: This is a traditional Cornish cottage with a narrow open tread staircase with slightly reduced headroom
  • Note: Dogs are only permitted on the beach between the first Sunday in November and the end of February, but dog walkers can enjoy the stunning woodland of the Pentewan Valley Trail, along with other beaches a short drive away

The property

Nestled down a quiet lane in the hamlet of Pentewan is this spacious, converted cottage, Vi’s Valley View.

Set over two floors, this welcoming abode is suitable for a family or group of friends looking to experience this peaceful corner of Cornwall.

After a day of rambling the coastline, look forward to catching up on some TV in the sitting room, accompanied with an open fire for a calming ambiance.

Allow the designated chef to get to know the kitchen, home to a range of appliances, while the separate dining room offers a lovely setting for mealtimes.

If the weather is nice, why not head out into the courtyard with a disposable barbecue?

After toasting to a long-awaited break and tucking into supper, load up the dishwasher before catching the last of the evening sun in the peaceful front garden overlooking the valley.

As the night falls, move upstairs to find two double bedrooms; the master features a spacious en-suite bathroom with bath and walk-in shower.

When you’re ready to explore, about a 6-minute walk away lies the wonderful Pentewan beach, an adventure playground among bathers and a firm favourite among watersport enthusiasts since it is so large that it rarely gets crowded.

You can find spectacular dog-friendly beaches nearby, including Gorran Haven, Vault Beach and Par Sands.

Be sure to explore the Pentewan Valley Trail, a 4 km in land road-free path through the stunning woodland, and the scenic coastal footpath which spans in either direction over rugged cliff tops and secret coves.

Hop in the car and head to St Austell, a bustling town home to many attractions including the Shipwreck Treasure Museum, where you may learn about the town’s past, the Pinetum Gardens and many glorious beaches; slightly further afield lies the famous Eden Project!

There’s plenty to enjoy while holidaying at Vi's Valley View whatever time of year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


St Austell 4 miles; Mevagissey 2 miles.

Pentewan is a delightful coastal village set back from the sandy expanse of Pentewan Beach. The village shop and pub draw visitors from far and wide, while the beach is good for children and a favourite with water sport enthusiasts. Dogs are only permitted on the beach between the first Sunday in November and the end of February, but dog walkers can enjoy the stunning woodland of the Pentewan Valley Trail, along with other beaches a short drive away. The coastal path passes through the village and as it climbs up the cliffside towards Mevagissey, the views across the bay toward Devon in the far distance are breath-taking. Good cycle paths pass close by and there is cycle hire available in the village. The nearby fishing village of Mevagissey offers many restaurants and fresh local fish. The Lost Gardens of Heligan and Pinetum Gardens are both just a short drive away, while the Eden Project is within easy reach and well worth a visit.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas