Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Bre Cottage - Cornwall - 1080304 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

1st FloorGround Floor

Ground Floor

Photos

Floorplans

Bre Cottage

(Ref. 1080304)

Port Isaac, Cornwall Show on map

4.4

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (22)
  • location (14)
  • no (13)
  • stay (12)
  • well (12)
  • bre (12)

27 Customer Reviews

  • "Bre Cottage is wonderful - great location, well furnished and equipped and very welcoming."

    Your customer service, however, is lamentable and the fact that you still trade under the John Bray name is a disgrace. Honesty would be appreciated - rebrand as Sykes and be clear that you now offer a commoditised digital-only service?

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by these issues. Your comments have been passed on to the local team here at John Bray Cornish Holidays. We are still very much John Brays with our two local offices. We hope you still managed to enjoy your visit despite these issues and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Apr 2024

  • "We loved Bre Cottage."

    We have stayed in Port Isaac so, so, many times and know the village well. This cottage has been our favourite stay! So clean, so well stocked. Very cosy and comfortable. We will book again for next year for sure!

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased to hear that you found the property comfortable and enjoyed your stay there. We look forward to welcoming you back next year - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Oct 2023

  • "Black mould on lower grouting in shower, this must have been there for some time because we cleaned it easily with a few applications of detergent."

    Kitchen tiles and some counter standing implements extremely dusty/ dirty. Constant drip on kitchen sink tap.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry there were some cleaning issues and these were not picked up on changeover. We will raise this with the cleaning company. We do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Cornwall in the future. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony4.1Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay in the cottage."

    Overall the cottage was clean, however, it would be worth mentioning to the cleaners that under the table in the lounge needs some attention. It was only because we had to retrieve a ball that we noticed the large amount of dust/cobwebs under there. A parasol for the terrace would be nice as it is a great place to sit and relax but also very much a sun trap.

    Reviewed by Carol4.1Aug 2023

  • "We had a fantastic stay."

    The accommodation was great, it suited us well, and the location was lovely.

    Thank you for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rob5.0Aug 2023

  • "The size of the lounge area was a lot smaller than expected, whilst the kitchen and dinning room were as expected, room sizes may be a good idea."

    Very low door frames and ceilings upstairs - I bange my head several times and I'm not particularly tall at 5' 10" - Appreciate this is an old cottage, but would have been nice to have been forewarned. Whilst the "parkign space" was welcome in that it meant not having to struggle to get a space in the public car park, it wasn't what I would call ideal.. parking as close to a wall, opposite other driveways led to some anxiety over my car getting hit, especially as it is a large car over 2.2 metres wide and nerly 5m long. A proper parking space would have been better and the limitations on the space should be made available up front as if I had arrived in a range rover for instance, I would have struggled to fit in the space without causing an obstruction. Otherwise, the cottage was really well situated, a bit of a pain getting luggage and 2 dogs to and from the property, but that was to be expected. Very welcome to have a washing maching and dryer. An enjoyable stay overall..

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by these issues. A large number of the cottages in the heart of Port Isaac are classic in nature and as a result some do have smaller doorframes. Port Isaac as whole does not offer an excess in parking we are afraid but we understand the frustration, especially with a larger car! We hope you still managed to enjoy your visit despite these issues and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.4Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely fabulous week staying in Bre Cottage!"

    Immaculately clean and so cosy, a real ‘chocolate box’ cottage. Loved waking up to the sound of the seagulls (even at 4am!), and could glimpse the sea from the bedroom. It was nice to have the little terrace to sit on with a coffee and our books. Thank you so much for the welcome pack - milk, tea bags, biscuits, scones, jam and clotted cream all in a lovely Port Isaac hessian bag - every time I look at it I’ll remember Bre! Location was perfect - literally one minute walk to the pub (and shops)! Parking space was a real bonus and not too far to walk. It’s only our second stay in Port Isaac, the last one was in the winter and it was great to experience it in the sunshine. Will definitely be booking for next year and Bre would be our first choice of accommodation. Thanks again for a wonderful holiday x

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your stay at Bre Cottage, we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and we do hope to welcome you back to North Cornwall again soon. John Brays Cornish Holiday on behalf of the owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Isobel5.0Jun 2023

  • "The sofas were not very comfortable but everything else was good no other changes needed"

    Thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah4.7May 2023

  • "Bre cottage is well located in Port Isaac, very close to the beach, bread shop and pub!"

    The cottage is really well equipped in the kitchen and is very warm and comfortable. The parking spot is a bonus and thank you for our welcome pack.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back anytime in the future! - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Juliet4.1Apr 2023

  • "Lovely cottage stayed a few times will come back."

    Only one issue the log burner dosnt work, logs dont burn!! This happened 1st time stayed in cottage and did mention. Have log burner and open fire at home so know how to use!

    Reviewed by Tracey4.7Mar 2023

  • "Great cottage just a few things in the listing that’s confusing- Finding the cottage as it has no name displayed on it only a number which unless I missed it isn’t mentioned."

    Parking space is great but a little confusing on where it is May be mention private road down the side of lazy day’s cafe?. Bit disappointing there was not a welcome pack (been using sykes cottages for years and always had one.) no mention on where to find washing machine/tumble drier either in blue folder. Hope this feedback helps other than these little finer details it is a great cottage / location to stay already booked for next year.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Thank you for bringing the directions to our attention we will make sure these are updated and we will suggest to the owner that they put up a name for the property. We really do appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Port Isaac next year. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the Owner. . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steve3.4Feb 2023

  • "Not suitable for elderly with mobility and cardiac issues."

    Proximity of parking for unloading only is at best 50 meters up or down hill. Inventory given was incorrect as there was no freezer. No mobile phone signal in Port Issac. Rose Hill is too narrow for a normal car and you can't turn round.

    Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback following your stay at Bre Cottage, I am really sorry that you didn't feel the property suited you. If you contacted us we would of been more than happy to help you find other alternative properties - John Bray Cornish Holiday's on behalf of the owners. The unloading and parking instructions are pretty clear and avoid any need to attempt to drive down Rose Hill. A Grade 2 listed fisherman’s cottage is unlikely to suit limited mobility although a member of our family holidays there who has a wheelchair following a stroke. Mobile signal varies by carrier, but the Wi-Fi in the cottage allows Wi-Fi calling if you switch to that option on your ‘phone. We have asked the agent to correct the fridge/freezer listing. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Howard3.4Sep 2022

  • "Kitchen tiles looked a little dirtier than usual."

    Noticed some black particles / dust falling from the air vent in LH bathroom. Generally loved the cottage and location. Good comfy bed. Ideally it would be great if a slightly larger TV was available

    Thank you for your comments on Bre Cottage. We will look into the couple of items that you have raised. John Bray Cornish Holidays Thank you. We will monitor cleaning as it has slipped a bit since Sykes took over John Bray. This is a Grade 2 listed fisherman’s cottage in the harbour area. A bigger TV would be oppressive and is not the reason to visit! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony4.4Sep 2022

  • "Only thing missing was a toilet roll in the second bathroom otherwise a very enjoyable stay"

    Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure this does not happen again in the future. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay despite this issue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had lovely stay in Bre Cottage."

    Location is fantastic to enjoy the wonders of beautiful Port Isaac. There were a few things that we a little disappointing unfortunately:- - Only one bin bag provided so we had to purchase more - Only 1 toilet roll provide which meant we had to purchase more on our day of arrival (not ideal) - The main bathroom could benefit from a blind for privacy - The allocated parking space is difficult to find. Luckily the estate agents who own the property were open on our arrival and they very kindly drove us to the parking spot which was a really nice touch. We would suggest offering the location through the app 'what three word' as this would assist greatly - Cottage information pack states that recycling is not available whereas we worked out that it is actually available in the bins provided - It would be helpful if there were clearer instruction as to the the laundry room. It took us a while to work out that it is external room access from a separate outside door - Slightly disappointing that there was no welcome pack i.e. a pint of milk in the fridge would have been nice

    Thank you. We have taken your points up with Sykes/John Bray. We certainly pay enough for cleaning and also for Welcome Packs! We hope to amend the instructions for what three words, but the email pack includes instructions to aid unloading and then finding the space. The property diagram shows the external access to the utility room. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Darren3.8Jul 2022

  • "We had such a lovely holiday at Bre Cottage, as previous reviews have said - it was immaculate, and we really appreciated the little details - Cornish cookery book, Port Isaac history books, decor so chic!"

    Best of all the beds were so comfortable with lovely crisp white bedding. We love Port Isaac and will be back!

    We have been reviewing all of our feedback over last years season, we just wanted to say a massive thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. Your comments were noted by us here at John Bray Cornish Holidays. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future. John Bray on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Jul 2022

  • "Cottage is lovely."

    Stayed in before and the best one out of all cottages stayed in since started having breaks in Port Issac. Could do with a blind in the bathroom instead of net curtain as tall people can see in when walking up the hill!!

    We have been reviewing all of our feedback over last years season, we just wanted to say a massive thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. Your comments were noted by us here at John Bray Cornish Holidays and were raised to rectify. We hope you still managed to enjoy your visit despite these issues and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future. John Bray on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cosy cottage right in the village centre a perfect spot for us Cottage ..."

    Lovely cosy cottage right in the village centre a perfect spot for us Cottage was homely and well equipped rooms light and airy Everything spot on thankyou

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to hear that you had such a fabulous stay at Bre Cottage and had the perfect base to explore the north Cornish coastline from! John Bray on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil4.7May 2022

  • "Issue with the fan in the bathroom next to twin bed room, it stays on for very long time and is much noisier than the other bathroom."

    Before Covid, check out time used to be 10am, some cottages have now reverted back to 10am rather than 9am, will you also be changing back to a 10am check out as this would lessen the pressure on getting out on time

    We have been reviewing all of our feedback over last years season, we just wanted to say a massive thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay. Your comments were noted by us here at John Bray Cornish Holidays and were raised to rectify. We hope you still managed to enjoy your visit despite these issues and would love to welcome you back to North Cornwall in the future. John Bray on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony4.4Apr 2022

  • "We had a fantastic stay at Bre Cottage."

    The location, character and décor of the property was exceptional. I would book again without hesitation.

    What a wonderful review, we truly appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you again soon - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by George4.7Nov 2021

  • "On arrival we had difficulty locating the property as it does not have Bre Cottage only the no."

    9 on the front. I had booked the property and my teenage son was looking for the cottage on our arrival. The location map of both the property location and car park was difficult to understand. (Party our fault as we had not printed out a hard copy, the map provided via e-mail is very small and internet/mobile service is non-existant out side the property). The kitchen and utility were very well equipped and the welcome hamper was a nice touch. Comfy sofas and beds. Lovely to have the use of the garden terrace with views over the harbour. Bath sheets were difficult to dry, our personal preference would be for a normal sized towel, but we did appreciate the quality of both the bedding and the towels. Having owned our own holiday home abroad we appreciate all the extra details you have provided. We hope to return. Many thanks the Spencer-Buckel family. October 2021.

    Reviewed by Jason5.0Oct 2021

  • "Generally all good as expected as we have used john bray for a number of years."

    All I’ll say is that when you live/work somewhere as beautiful as port Issac I can’t understand why you wouldn’t smile at least once . Cottage location great , parking a bonus and I’m gutted to be be back home.

    What a wonderful review, thank you we truly appreciate it. However we do feel for you leaving Cornwall. look forward to seeing you again soon. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin3.8Aug 2021

  • "Bre Cottage was full of character, spotless and comfortable."

    The location was great for immediate access to the port and allowed easy access to fully explore the surrounding areas whilst returning to a location with some life, access to shops and restaurants within walking distance. Upstairs may be a bit of a challenge for tall guests, after the first bump to the head you learned to duck in the places you needed too. Excellent wifi, running hot water, well appointed kitchen, and bathrooms. Access to the cottage was a little challenging, impossible to unload and the hike to the car park a little hard going some mornings and whilst a lover of nature be warned about the constant of the local seagull community. We would use John Bray again and would return to Port Issac but may take a cottage slightly higher up to maximise the stunning sea views.

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to hear that you had such a fabulous stay at Bre Cottage and had the perfect base to explore the north Cornish coastline from! We hope to invite you back to North Cornwall again soon. John Bray on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jul 2021

  • "We found the cottage tastefully presented and comfortable."

    The location was perfect for all the amenities and car parking at the top of the village ideal.The property was well proportioned,2 bathrooms was perfect.To sum it up we loved it and look forward to returning to it in 2019

    Mr. Neil SykesNov 2018

  • "We enjoyed our stay in Bre cottage very much, is is very comfortable with excellent facilities including a fantastic shower."

    It was also nice to sit in the garden with a glass of wine! The parking space is a bonus too as the public car park was incredibly busy until the school holiday ended. We stayed previously when it was Hill cottage as the location in the village is perfect but at that time it was rather outdated and uncomfortable. Regarding places to eat the new Pilchards tapas restaurant in Port Gaverne serves great food in a fabulous location by the beach, well worth a visit. We hope to return to the area next year.

    Mrs. Janet WasleyNov 2018

  • "Thanks for a fabulous holiday, I would really recommend this cottage."

    It is in a lovely spot, close to everything, and is very cosy. And of course it is new and well appointed. We were very happy there

    Mrs. J GomezNov 2018

  • "This is the first time we have ever rented a holiday cottage, always choosing to stay in a hotel."

    Bre Cottage was just perfect, together with everything being fresh and new and the location was great. We would certainly consider staying there again. Also staff at John bray in Port Isaac were lovely and friendly.

    Mrs. Sophia ShawOct 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the John Bray Cornish Holidays collection.
John Bray Cornish Holidays offers some of the best located self catering cottages and holiday homes in North Cornwall’s loveliest locations including Rock and Daymer Bay, on the Camel Estuary, and Polzeath and Port Isaac on the Atlantic coast.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x twin with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Woodburning stove
  • Range oven, microwave, under-counter fridge,washing machine, tumble dryer
  • TV, DVD Player
  • Wi-Fi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Allocated parking short distance away
  • Courtyard garden, patio furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop in 0.1 mile and pub in 0.1 miles

The property

Located in the idyllic fishing village of Port Isaac, on Cornwall’s north coast, is the Grade II listed holiday home, Bre Cottage.

With a private parking space available at the top of the village, two bedrooms sleeping up to four guests, and the option of bringing two pets, Bre Cottage is a perfect choice for a family holiday or a couple looking for a romantic break.

The cottage has been modernised throughout but has carefully retained the original character and in the form of stonewalls, solid slate floors, and exposed beams.

The kitchen has all the amenities you might need during your stay, and the range cooker is ideal for cooking up a gourmet meal.

The dining room is light and bright, with plenty of dining space for four people and after eating you can retire to the sitting room, light the woodburning stove, and relax for the evening.

Upstairs there are two-good sized bedrooms, a double and twin, both with exposed ceiling beams and stylish en-suite bathrooms.

When the sun is shining – or even when it isn’t!

– head outside to the patio terrace and drink in the wonderful views of the village and the coast.

There is plenty to keep you entrained in Port Isaac: quaint shops selling local produce and gifts, cafes serving Cornish cream teas, and pubs and restaurants cooking wonderful local seafood.

There are some fantastic walks along the coastline including the walk to Port Quin, home to Doyden Castle, once used in Poldark and now owned by the National Trust.

Follow the coastline north to the village of Tintagel and explore Tintagel Castle, steeped in myth and legend, and famously associated with King Artur and Merlin.

For a holiday mixed with adventure and relaxation, Bre Cottage is a fabulous choice.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

PORT ISAAC

Polzeath 6.5 miles; Padstow 16 miles

Port Isaac; one of the true Cornish treasures. A beautiful fishing village nestling in a steep sided valley, the old village in the valley remains unchanged from its days of fishing, slate export and smuggling in the previous century. An abundance of small character properties complemented by larger cliff-top retreats, can be found with easy access to the numerous restaurants and shops of the village. The sandy harbour provides an abundance of rock pools as the tide retreats. There is ample parking at the top of the village and the village is a popular tourist destination with plenty of attractions including the dramatic Doyden Castle, the beautiful Lundy Bay and the famous Doc Martin's clinic. There are also plenty of pubs, restaurants, and shops in the village. Just a short drive from the beaches of Polzeath, Daymer and Rock, it is perfect for romantic and family holidays alike.

View more holiday cottages in Port Isaac