Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 72 View Image Gallery
  • 6 Albany Terrace - Cornwall - 1052796 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

2nd Floor1st FloorGround Floor

Ground Floor

Photos

Floorplans

6 Albany Terrace

(Ref. 1052796)

St Ives, Cornwall Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 12 Guests

  • 6 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (13)
  • great (11)
  • all (9)
  • bed (9)
  • stay (7)
  • location (6)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "This is a fantastic home for a family get together or holiday."

    It is in a great location with an amazing view. It is equipped with everything you’d ever need! The host Sue was incredibly helpful and accommodating to our group. Altogether a beautiful house. Would definitely recommend.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave Albany such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you had an enjoyable family gathering and enjoyed the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne5.0Mar 2024

  • "The owner was very quick to rectify a fault with the cooker, even though it was a Sunday - so thank you very much."

    We still found the cooker a pain, all the markings had been rubbed/cleaned off, so difficult to see when the oven or grill was on! Games room was a boon with a multi generational family. Bedrooms and ensuites wonderful a 5 minute walk to the beach was great with the dogs. The detatched back garden was not used, too inconvient with the dogs - one of them escaped through the cat flap too. We tended to let the dogs out in the shared front garden and made sure all the poo was picked up. bar b que had been put away for the winter, which was a shame. A big welcome basket of logs was appreciated too.

    Thank you for your constructive feedback. We have recently become aware of the worn markings on the cooker having just visited Albany ourselves. Unfortunately we did not have time to sort a new unit, but the cooker will be replaced with a new one shortly. With the summer at an end and the weather deteriorating, we decided to put the barbecue away for the winter. We have found that most previous guests have not wanted to use it so late in the season. In future however, we will ask our guests if they require it left out. Garden space in St.Ives is quite rare, but we are aware that the rear garden could be made more accessible and plans are in place to improve this. Thank you for being considerate dog owners in the front garden and picking up the poo. The back gate with cat flap is going to be replaced before next spring, so that should deter the escapologists! We are glad that our other facilities met your expectations and that you particularly enjoyed the bedrooms, en-suites and the very popular games room. Update - a new cooker has been installed (December 2023). A new back gate has been fitted to the courtyard (November 2023), and the other gate into the rear garden has been removed altogether to make the garden more visible (February 2024). Neither the front or rear gardens are dog proof though. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bryan4.1Oct 2023

  • "We were a group of 12 consisting of 2 families with young adult/teenage children and partners, and the house accommodated us all perfectly."

    We mainly cooked in the house and the kitchen had everything we needed and the kitchen table sat us all comfortably The position of the house was fantastic and it meant we didn’t have to use our cars, which we parked in the generous parking the property offers. Having an en-suite bathroom for 5 out of the 6 bedrooms was brilliant and the bedrooms were all lovely with very comfortable beds. We all slept well. The games table was well used and kept everyone entertained. I would definitely recommend this property to large groups. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Anna4.4Aug 2023

  • "Great house."

    Garden and yard area need some attention but on the whole very and close to town.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Aug 2023

  • "Great location and house."

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased that our house and its location continue to provide great facilities for our guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Aug 2023

  • "Amazing house."

    Perfect for 10 of us. Great games room. Beds were all super comfortable. Really well equipped. Great location right by the beach and top of town. Highly recommend if you want a comfortable and warm stay in St Ives.

    Thank you so much for your great review. We are very glad that Albany met your expectations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Jul 2023

  • "As a family of four adults we had a delightful stay at Albany Terrace in St Ives."

    The house is beautifully presented and the kitchen very well equipped.

    We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Albany and found the kitchen well equipped. Thank you for your lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful house, spacious with great facilities."

    Perfect location for town and beach. Would stay again.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0May 2023

  • "Second time we have stayed at 6 Albany Terrace Brilliant accommodation Be back again soon"

    We are so glad that you enjoyed your return visit to Albany and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Howard5.0Apr 2023

  • "The location is very convenient."

    All bedrooms are of decent size. There are plenty of cookwares and tablewares in the kitchen and we did a lot of cooking there.

    We are so glad that you found the kitchen well equipped, it is important to us that guests have what they need in the kitchen. Thank you for leaving a review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shen3.4Aug 2022

  • "This is a lovely, spacious house."

    The games room was a hit with the younger and older guests! Beds are comfortable and linen and towels provided are all of great quality. No, it’s not an ideal spot for anyone with mobility issues, but we knew that before we arrived. The kitchen is really well stocked with everything needed to cook for a large number of guests. 3 parking spaces available were fine for our 3 large vehicles too. Only hiccup for us during our stay was to do with the dogs. Still puppies and over eager, one ventured through plants into a neighbours garden. The neighbour was less than impressed (we were profusely apologetic) but he was fairly rude. Lesson learnt and dogs only went in the front garden when on leads. A lovely house that I’m sure we would venture back to ( with older more obedient dogs !).

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Jul 2022

  • "Hi The place was spotless on arrival but not very child friendly for the under fives or a good spot for the elderly with mobility issues."

    Could do with clearer instructions on how to leave the bedding and the contractors did not deal with clearing all the rubbish as had been advised. A few more games in the games room would also be helpful. Overall our family had a great time apart from the above relatively minor issues.

    Thank you for leaving your review. We always like to know what we are doing well, but also what we can improve upon. As soon as you let me know about the refuse collection I chased the company and they did come the next day, but this was after you had checked out. I have asked our housekeeper to leave more precise instructions as to what to do with the bedding on the day of departure. In accordance with Covid guidelines, we removed all books and board games for hygiene issues. Maybe we should think about returning them to the games room again. The house is a traditional Victorian terraced town house and does have steps and different levels. We have tried to child proof where possible. Although we do have a stair gate to stop adventurous toddlers exploring the 2nd floor we have yet to find one that is fit for purpose on the 1st floor. This is something that I will rectify during the winter months as it may have to be bespoke due to the bannister configuration .It is not wheelchair friendly and maybe this is something we need to make clearer. Finally we are very glad to hear that you and your family had a great holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony3.8May 2022

  • "All the bedrooms were a decent size with all but one having en-suites."

    The rooms on the ground floor were beautifully proportioned and the house is a stone’s throw from central St Ives. It is definitely somewhere we’d recommend.

    Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad that the house met expectations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katie5.0Dec 2021

  • "We had lovely stay."

    Owner was incredibly welcoming & helpful. More hooks would be great in the bedrooms & a pastry brush & few bits missing in the kitchen but we were doing a lot of cooking over xmas!! Otherwise fabulous. Thank you

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. A pastry brush will be put in the kitchen. It’s always nice to know what people need. Also we will add more hooks in the bedrooms. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Dec 2021

  • "This is a lovely house with fabulous views; en-suite in every room except the bunks - and all great."

    Lovely to have a wood burner. Owner was very responsive and helpful. One thing perhaps helpful for people to know is that it’s fairly steep down to beach and if you have more than three cars or big cars / then parking is tricky. We would stay again but perhaps with elderly relatives who struggle with walking would find somewhere flatter. That isn’t the fault of the house though.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review Albany in such a positive way. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.4Sep 2021

  • "House had everything we needed facilities wise everything catered for but just seemed the furniture and bedding of a “cheap poor quality” Lovely view !"

    !

    Thank you for leaving your review. We feel that your comments about "cheap poor quality" bedding /furniture to be harsh and a little unfair. The bed suppliers are those used by hotels and recommended by Sykes. We are aware that it is important for people to have comfortable beds to sleep in and we are sorry that you did not find this to be the case. All pillows and duvets are manmade, as we have to be careful with allergies, and with Covid concerns it makes the bedding far more hygienic and easy to clean. The furniture came from many different shops. We have tried to blend new with old so that the house feels more of a home and less like a hotel. This maybe is not to everyone's taste perhaps. We are mindful of all reviews given and we are sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion, but we will look again at the bedding and furniture and endeavour to improve where necessary. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicky3.4Sep 2021

  • "Fantastic property with all amenities you will need ,just a short walk to town and the beautiful beach Would thoroughly recommend 6 Albany Terrace Look forward to returning again soon…."

    Thank you so much for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Howard5.0Jul 2021

  • "This house is absolutely fantastic."

    Exceptionally clean and has every amenity you need. Beautiful views over the bay. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in St Ives highly recommended

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed the house and had a good holiday in St Ives. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Jun 2021

  • "The house is amazing."

    Beautifully finished and perfect for families or friends travelling together. Facilities were awesome and a great location. Loved it.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Freya5.0Jun 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Six bedrooms: First floor has 2 x double bedroom (zip/link, can be twins on request) with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x double bedroom (zip/link, can be twins on request), 1 x bunk bed, with another shared (family bathroom)
  • Second floor has 2 x En-suite double bedrooms (zip/link, can be twins on request)
  • First floor main bathroom with bath, shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Second-floor sitting room and study area
  • Games room.
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Range cooker, microwave, American fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, two dishwashers, 1 x 55” Smart OLED TV, 1 x 65” Smart OLED TV, WiFi and multi-games table
  • Welcome goodies
  • Fire starter pack inc. Fuel and power inc. 1 travel cot and one standing cot, stair gate and highchair
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for three cars
  • Front and back gardens with table, chairs and barbecue
  • Two pets welcome (3rd on request)
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Please note: there is a £50 charge per pet
  • Note: No stag/hen parties, or similar.

The property

Elevated above the award-winning Porthminster Beach in St. Ives, one of the most beautiful and most sought-after locations in Cornwall is 6 Albany Terrace, an exceptional Victorian house with sensational sea views, coupled with an opulent interior making it an heavenly retreat throughout the year.

Enjoying three floors of tradition and style, as well as being within striking distance of a number of beaches and great activities and attractions, 6 Albany Terrace is the ultimate base large groups of families and friends to call home as they explore Cornwall.

Inside, the grand entrance hallway gives an immediate sense of the history of this Victorian home and grants access to the principal rooms.

Enter into the sitting room, which boasts a warming woodburning stove, a 55” Smart OLED TV and a characterful tall bay window, yet the pièce de résistance is the view over St. Ives Bay and towards Godrevy Lighthouse.

Beyond here is the well-appointed kitchen/diner, spy the wonderful welcome pack before making use of the superb range of quality appliances with the advantage of a range cooker.

From here, slip through into the utility, which works in synergy with the kitchen, boasting another dishwasher for keeping the kitchen clutter free for the chef of the group and laundry equipment for freshening up any belongings and a downstairs WC.

Return to the hallway to find the well-stocked games room, boasting a 65” Smart OLED TV and multi games table, promising hours of family-fun.

For a moment's peace and serenity, sneak away to the second-floor sitting room, a stylish space where the sea views continue to captivate!

As the evening draws to a close, retire one of the six elegantly appointed bedrooms, comprising of four double beds with en-suite shower rooms, a double bedroom and a bunk bedroom, offering a flexible sleeping arrangement to suit a range of party make ups.

The garden at 6 Albany Terrace has been designed to be an extension of the house itself, with a long lawned front garden with sun terrace, featuring a seating area for basking in the sunshine with a cooling beverage in hand, listening to the soundtrack of the nearby coast, bliss!

For the evenings where you do not feel like cooking, head into the centre of St. Ives, where you are in for a foodie treat, with a superb collection of fine restaurants serving the catch of the day, beachside cafés and country pubs, with plenty of opportunities to sample the mighty Cornish pasty and a traditional Cornish cream tea.

Things to do in St. Ives includes marvelling at the local art work at Tate St Ives and the Barabara Hepworth Museum or dipping your toes in the azure waters of the collection of beaches here, with great swimming and surfing opportunities to be had.

Avid ramblers can don their walking boots and set off along the South West Coast Path, taking the path west to visit the Gurnard's Head, Pendeen Watch Lighthouse and the Bronze Age site of Mên-an-Tol or strolling east to find the beaches of Porthminster, Carbis Bay and Porthkidney.

Penzance is slightly further afield, but is well-worth a visit, home to a pretty promenade, Tremenheere Sculpture Gardens and Trengwainton Garden, offering something for all ages.

The Lizard heritage coast is also within striking distance and is considered to be the most scenic stretch of coastline in Britain, where you will find the legendary Land’s End and the incredible Minack Theatre.

With all this and much more awaiting to be enjoyed, secure your stay at 6 Albany Terrace to explore this part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £750.

View on map

About the location

ST IVES

Penzance 6 miles.

One of Cornwall's prettiest harbour towns, St Ives offers narrow streets, tight-packed cottages nestling around the quayside, the Tate Gallery and Barbara Hepworth museum, fabulous beaches, superb shops, a thriving community of artists, great pubs and restaurants and much more. With its semi Bohemian lifestyle and romantic air, it's easy to see why this is the county's premier holiday resort. The surrounding area has much for the visitor to see and do with abundant wildlife, fabulous coastal walks, top quality surfing and the Celtic mysteries of the Land's End Peninsula are all within easy reach. A superb destination!

View more holiday cottages in St Ives

Note: No stag/hen parties, or similar.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute