Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 14 minutes ago

Pugwash Cottage

Falmouth, Cornwall (Ref. 988530)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/By the sea Seaside

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

13 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage with all that we needed, aside from WiFi/mobile data."

    Cottage had all the utensils and items one would need, microwave comfy beds and good heating etc. Nice peaceful location, very well kept small holiday village. Bar was basic and food poor on the night we visited it, but staff were friendly and helpful. Perhaps an off night. Would thoroughly recommend pugwaah cottage

    Reviewed by DebbieOct 2021

  • "The overall first impression of the cottage was lovely."

    Clean, tidy, fresh and inviting. It's only on closer inspection and throughout the duration of our stay little things became somewhat bug bearing. The downstairs bedroom smells very damp. We opened the window and kept the door closed as we weren't actually using to other than to store our cases. The upstairs bathroom needs attention, the bath seal is awful, brown and stained and the sink has a big cracked in it too. The TV in the main bedroom is there but doesn't work and if you didnt know how to survive without any WiFi or mobile phone signal, you're about to find out as there are absolutely no mobile or fixed routers or hotpots to host Internet of any kind (including mobile data / 4G). So whilst we did have a lovely time and the cottage is lovely too, there are a couple of easy fixes to make it a 5 star stay. On a plus though... the cottage is fully equipped with utensils, towels, linen and cleaning goods. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't dwell too much on the negative bits.

    Reviewed by KateSep 2021

  • "I would like to say that if the property sleeps 5 then there should be enough hot water for 5."

    Couple of people shower in the morning, you go to the beach all day and then in the evening everyone wants to shower and it’s just not possible. Bit of a let down. All the facilities on site were not accessible and the bar was shut at least 4 night while we were there.

    Reviewed by StaceyAug 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay thank you."

    The only problem we encountered was that neither of the televisions in the bedrooms worked, which I have read in correspondence from other holiday makers. Also wifi would be really useful. We were advised to take dvd's for the downstairs bedroom but even they didn't work. Didn't spoil our holiday though and these are just gentle observations.

    Reviewed by LindaJul 2021

  • "Lovely & relaxing stay."

    Reviewed by CraigJul 2021

  • "Really enjoyed our stay here and would do it again thank you"

    Reviewed by BrianJul 2021

  • "The cottage is spacious and bed and sofas were comfortable."

    We stayed for a total of 2 weeks with our 4 legged friends. Plenty of kitchen goods, everything we needed. We needed to unblock the hoover and empty it before using. And we were unable to mop the floor as there was no mop. Also had to empty and tidy cupboard under stairs as we could not see what was in there as it had all been thrown in literally. But these were minor gripes as we were very happy with the property and would recommend it. It would have been nice to have WiFi but this didn’t impact on the enjoyment of our stay. Thank you for a lovely holiday

    Reviewed by VictoriaJun 2021

  • "On your site, previous guests described the place as basic."

    . OK, there is no WiFi... But we knew that and didn't care! The hoover is lacking a head and didn't suck too well, but we managed... Time for a new one. Everything else exceeded our expectations. A kitchen with plenty of gadgets, including an electronic whisk. Yes, the cutlery didn't match and there was a collection of mugs.. But they were all more than adequate.. The bedding and towels were great quality and the beds very comfortable. We really couldn't understand some of the reviews. Outside, the landscaping and gardening is beautiful. Not a speck of litter anywhere and wonderful planting. The outside bench/table was a bonus, great for outside eating and bbq. It's a genuine 18 minute walk to Maenporth beach. Another massive bonus. I'm confident we will book again.

    Reviewed by JamesMay 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at pugwash cottage."

    We couldn't find a dustpan and brush and the vacuum nozzle didn't fit into the vacuum cleaner so we weren't able to sweep up and hoover the carpets like we usually would. I'm pretty sure the vacuum was broken. It was a shame about having no WiFi, but we managed ok. Other than that the holiday was lovely and we really liked the house and maen valley park.

    Reviewed by LukeApr 2021

  • "I have brought my family to Pendra for many years now and have rated it highly for previous stays at other cottages."

    I was extremely disappointed with the house facilities. The washer/ dryer did not work at no.9, This has been an ongoing issue reported. by other families. None of the TV’s worked other than a DVD player and no DVD’s.There was also no WiFi to enable our to connect to our devices so that we could watch programmes. Other properties we have stayed at value their customers and have these 21 st century facilities. This was one of the few properties available during the easing of lockdown now I know why. Other properties charged extorniate fees to customers desperate to have a holiday. You should set a cap. Feel really let down this time.

    We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday as you should have done. I am also sorry you did not contact us during your stay when we could have dealt with any issues at the time. We have recently checked the washer/dryer and we found all functions were working, the TVs were also in working order, we will however check again and address any issues as necessary. We have removed some items from the property including DVDs due to recommended advise during the covid epidemic. We have taken on board your comments with regards to adding wifi and will look into getting this facility. Thank you again for your comments, I can assure you we take all feedback very seriously and address any issues as required. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KerryJul 2020

  • "Bed down stairs was broken and needs replacing no wifi so we couldn't get a ..."

    Bed down stairs was broken and needs replacing no wifi so we couldn't get a phone signal on any of our phones while in the cottage so had to drive out to get a signal no can opener and dishes missing have been same place at squirrels leap 4 years and was spotless and had everything we needed never complained 1 never

    ** Owner response Although the bed was not broken, just a soft divan base we appreciate that this might not suit everybody so we have purchased a new double base and mattress with a medium support pocket sprung mattress, we have also ordered a new king sized similar divan for the master bedroom. We have also updated the kitchen inventory, bedside lights and are currently trying to arrange provision of WiFi which we will update on the website as soon as we get this satisfactorily sorted. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BrianOct 2019

  • "No WiFi thought I read there was WiFi?"

    Poor quality TV No Signal on bedroom Tv down stairs

    Reviewed by MargaretAug 2019

  • "The cottage was really spacious and so well equipped and comfortable."

    We have a little dog and the provisions for her stay were exceptional and much better than we anticipated with pet mats and hardwood floors. There is plenty of parking, allocated spaces and unmarked spaces, which we needed as we were two couples in two cars. The lounge/resteraunt had limited opening but we were early in the season and the parc is so convenient for shopping in Falmouth.

    Reviewed by AnnJun 2019

Show more

The property

Pugwash Cottage is a wonderful terraced cottage based in Falmouth, Cornwall, situated on the Pendra Loweth holiday complex.

Take advantage of this open-plan interior, with its spacious sitting room offering a range of seating options to relax and unwind in after a long day sightseeing.

The kitchen has a wonderful set of contemporary fitted units and plenty of worktop space for preparing your meals, plus appliances of the highest order are on-hand to help you cook up a storm for your loved ones.

The dining room is perfect for getting together over a scrumptious meal and discussing the day's activities.

A lovely double bedroom and separate loo with washbasin completes the ground floor layout.

Upstairs has a further two bedrooms, one double and one single, with a separate family bathroom offering a bath and shower over.

Each bedroom has a range of modern furnishings with lovely country views.

This holiday complex offers an on-site bar and restaurant, a plunge pool, Jacuzzi and tennis courts.

Whilst it's tempting to stay on-site, if you venture into the thriving town of Falmouth, you will discover a range of historical sites to be seen.

Pendennis Castle and the National Maritime Museum are within easy reach, with stunning views across the estuary and opportunities for fishing.

Falmouth is home to a number of local beaches, offering plenty of watersports and beach activities to get involved in - a wonderful day trip for families.

Pugwash Cottage is the place to visit for its grand walks and sightseeing opportunities.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double, 1 x king size double and 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath and shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor loo and wash basin
  • Open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, dishwasher, washing machine and TV
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private patio area with furniture and access to communal gardens and plunge pool, Jacuzzi, tennis courts and an on-site restaurant
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • One designated parking space by the property
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 mile and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: TV in downstairs bedroom for DVDs only, please bring your own DVDs
  • Note: Seasonal opening times apply to facilities.

View on map

About the location

FALMOUTH

Mabe 3 miles; Penryn 2 miles; Truro 11 miles.

Falmouth, with its magnificent natural harbour (the third largest in the world), winding streets and beaches, will keep you occupied for hours. The town's old harbour-side pubs, excellent shopping, art gallery and stunning National Maritime Museum simply complete the picture. Pendennis Castle, built by Henry VIII, is Falmouth's most popular attraction, sited on its own peninsula with superb panoramic sea views. Across from Falmouth harbour is the beautiful town of St Mawes, surrounded by the rocky coves, sandy beaches and lush green countryside of the Roseland Peninsula. Go there by car (15 miles) or take the passenger ferry from Falmouth (15 minutes). For nature lovers there is the Swanpool Nature Reserve, a lagoon and site of special scientific interest teeming with a variety of wildlife. Falmouth offers such a rich variety of landscape and attractions for people of all ages, it is sure to tempt you back time and again.

View more holiday cottages in Falmouth

Region Information

Note: Sorry, no sign written vans or commercial vehicles are permitted at Pendra Loweth, Village of Gardens resort.
Note: Bookings for any other reason than holiday/leisure are not permitted on this site
Note: On site laundry facilities
Note: Seasonal opening times apply to the bar, restaurant, pool and Jacuzzi. The season usually runs from the beginning of April to end of October annually. The gym, tennis courts and children’s play area are available year-round.
Note: Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the splash pool and Jacuzzi on site will remain closed until the season recommences in 2022. All other facilities are now open, however please note that appointments need to be made for time slots in the gym.

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it