Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • Sennen Heights - Cornwall - 964508 - photo 1

Sennen Heights

(Ref. 964508)

Sennen Cove near Penzance, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • steps (19)
  • apartment (18)
  • views (17)
  • stay (12)
  • our (12)
  • holiday (11)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "One thing that really needs to be pointed out is the property only gets the sun from about 7pm in the evening."

    Also we did not discover outside tap for washing sand off until later in week, this could do with been pointed out better. Regards Jon.

    Thank you for your completing your feedback. Unfortunately, we are not able to do anything about the timings of the sun. We are sorry that you had difficulties in locating the outside tap, this has been addressed. We do hope that you had an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jon4.1Jun 2023

  • "Hi, Had a really lovely stay at 9 Sennen Heights and thought the property was excellent."

    Stunning views as promised, Very well appointed and clean. A few (very) small points to share from our stay: 1) Main lounge lightbulb not working. 2) Small sharp knife in cutlery drawer has broken handle and not really useable. 3) Couldn’t find refuse bin behind property as described. Looked everywhere but definitely not obvious. None of these points are complaints at all, just had such a nice stay and felt it only right to pass on for future stays. Thank you for a fantastic short break holiday. Best Regards, Mark

    Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of our apartment. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sennen Heights. The small issues you point out are very useful to know and will make sure housekeeping are aware. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Apr 2023

  • "We loved our stay everything was like in the pictures."

    The views we epic, it was lovely and quite and peaceful. We did a lot of walking the dog was enjoying herself too, down the harbour beach. I would recommend the tour bus ride. The only very small thing was the fan extractor did not work but we could hàve called mainternace but did not want to interuped or stay. (This was our choice). We would come again.

    Thank you for your lovely review of our apartment. So pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and would return. The views are as you say epic!! We will get the extractor looked at thank you for making us aware there is an issue with it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Aug 2022

  • "Hi we expected the steep steps to the front of the property as described which are well worth the climb/decent for the stunning view but I think the steep and uneven steps to the rear for off loading should be emphasised."

    Also couldn’t find the metal rubbish bin which should have been located at the top of the steps to the rear or the key? Neither of which put us off because the property and view were lovely but then again we did have gorgeous weather.

    Thank you for your feedback,we have taken your comments on board.We would hope to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue4.4Jun 2022

  • "Amazing property."

    The stay was truly memorable, the view was everything. There are some stairs up to the property so be mindful of that, but the view is worth it! The locality had everything, so we hardly left the property- an amazing hike to lands end, Sennen cove beach, surfing facilities, sennen cove cafe, old success pub, beach bar, roundhouse gallery.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such lovely feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Sennen Heights. That bay window view is definitely worth the steps, you're right. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neetha5.0Apr 2022

  • "We absolutely love staying here, the views are breathtaking."

    We’ve just returned from our third stay at Sennen Heights, and have already booked for next year. Couldn’t quite give it 5 stars, but it’s a good 4.99. Great location, for those who are fit and mobile - there are steps up to the property, but to get such fabulous views it’s to be expected. Bed was super comfy and the general condition of the property was good. Sennen is a lovely little beach town and the walks around the coast and proximity to other coastal destinations is very good. Didn’t quite get 5 stars as a few things need attention - knobs falling off kitchen cupboards, shower head not secure, hoover attachment broken (needed to give the apartment a quick clean when we arrived) but these things certainly didn’t bother us. Would love an oven too (during COVID), as the combi microwave doesn’t produce great oven cooked food… made a little more difficult as there were no instructions. Thank you for another great stay. We’re looking forward to coming back next year.

    Thank you for a lovely review, good to hear you have rebooked for a 4th time. We agree it is a lovely place to stay!! Taken on board what you say about an oven and plan to put one in place this week. Apologies if the apartment wasn't cleaned to a standard you'd expect, this is out of our hands as it is fully managed for us. We will make sure the appropriate persons are made aware of this and the issue with knobs. on kitchen cupboards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tara4.4Dec 2021

  • "The floor was very wet when we arrived, the kitchen cupboards have a door handle that falls off and will not stay secure if you put it back on."

    Other than the above every thing was good and as per your listing you need to be physically fit to get luggage up or down the steps. The views were worth it they were amazing.

    Reviewed by Tom4.4Aug 2021

  • "The holiday apartment overall was good and comfortable and matched the description and pictures on the listing."

    Unfortunately, I had to go out and buy cleaning supplies and spend some time cleaning the apartment on the first day. When we arrived the apartment was stuffy and smelt like food. I have stayed in many other holiday homes and I have never felt the need to clean straight away like this before. The main facilities such as the kitchen, bed, and bathroom were clean. However, it is clear that some corners are cut in the cleaning regime as there was dust still on some of the surfaces. The underneath of the sofa and inside cupboards are obviously seldom cleaned. This resulted in an overall unclean stench to the air that was hard to place and harder to get ride of, which overall resulted in me being less comfortable in the apartment for the duration of the stay. Disappointing as if the apartment had been thoroughly cleaned this would have been a 5 star stay.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we take all comments seriously and are sorry to hear this. Had you contacted us during your stay we would have sent our housekeeper to rectify these issues immediately. Please be assured that we will be following this up Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bryanni3.4Aug 2021

  • "Access to the property is horrendous once we actually found it."

    The amount of steps made the holiday disappointing, no lighting for the entry keypad. Not dog friendly as no grass!

    Thank you for taking the time to get back to us with your comments regarding your stay. We state in the marketing that there are 70-80 steps up to the property, this is to make sure that guests are aware before booking so as not to be disappointed. Once at the property we think the views make this worth while. There is also another way to get to the property from the back, which is also noted in the marketing, it still has steps but not as many, we also say to bring a torch. There are lots of amazing walks straight from the property to sennen and along the cliffpath in either direction. Thank you again for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen2.8Jul 2021

  • "Absolutely wonderful accommodation."

    Very well presented with amazing views over the cove. The steps up to the accommodation certainly keep you fit! Would absolutely go back again.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Jun 2021

  • "We enjoyed the location but felt the apartment was dusty which is unacceptable even if not in a pandemic."

    I took the bed sheets off as directed and the mattress cover was stained from previous client. There was a container under a unit which if cleaned properly would have been spotted and removed. The toilet brush holder should have been binned a long time ago. Cushions were left on the sofa which we moved. Several wooden ornaments should have been removed or damp dusted. The floor mat in the bedroom was old and “smelt”! The towels were of good quality and the glasses and cutlery were clean .

    Reviewed by Stephen3.1Oct 2020

  • "We loved our holiday at Sennen Heights and thought the modern apartment was very good value."

    The description of the access up the coast path/steps is accurate and you will need a sense of humour if you arrive in a storm and after dark like we did!! The view though! This really made our holiday whatever the weather the view of the waves and cove was stunning. We will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Oct 2020

  • "We booked to stay at Sennen Heights for 1 week."

    Prior to our arrival we had been advised that check in/ out times had been amended to allow extra time for cleaning. We had a very disappointing arrival to find that the apartment had not been cleaned to a good enough standard. Our holiday began with cleaning the apartment ourselves! I had to brush up, wipe down the kitchen, polish the coffee table, clean the extractor fan (as there was grease dripping from it). There was mould & mildew from dampness on the blinds throughout the apartment and around the window in the toilet. I even found to mop that I can only assume is used by the cleaners, in the cupboard in the bathroom, it smelt of stagnant water and was black. The more I looked the more it appeared this apartment had not been deep cleaned in a while, leading to zero faith that the apartment was even ‘covid’ safe. During our stay the shower broke, not ideal after a full day on the beach. However I have to admit that Sykes Cottages had this repaired swiftly. The apartment overall was equipped to a fairly good enough standard, but not what is expected when paying over £800 for 1 week. There was no oven (just a microwave), the WiFi never worked, the tv lacked channels, minimal lighting in the bedroom (stick on nightlights on the wall with batteries in that did not work) and only 1 bath towel given each for an entire week. There was some lovely complimentary scones, jam, clotted cream and milk on arrival, and fresh flowers on the dining table. However I feel efforts should have been concentrated more on cleaning and ensuring the apartment overall was comfortable. The apartment had stunning views of the beach and Sennen itself is beautiful. We will 100% return to Sennen however opting for different accommodation.

    Reviewed by Adam2.5Aug 2020

  • "A recommendation; working batteries in the bedroom lights would be useful."

    Internet connection was intermittent and perhaps shared with other flats; that meant the internet was unusable in the evening.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Aug 2020

  • "The accomodation was not as clean as expected and we had to spent an hour cleaning when we arrived."

    The windows were dirty on the inside and the shower head was disgusting. Not what you'd expect especially during the current pandemic. Two off the light fittings did not work even when the lamps were changed. The microwave is in need of attention as the internal door mesh is damaged which could lead to hotspots and door failure. Clearly the place needed a little TLC. Other than these items the apartment was very nice and we enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you very much for your feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry the property wasn't up to the expected standard but if you had let us know during your stay we would have arrange the issue immediately and sent someone to check. We confirm all the problems have now been resolved and we hope you will choose Sennen Heights again in the future for more lovely vacations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter3.4Jul 2020

  • "We stayed there over Christmas and we had amazing holiday!"

    The apartment was very nice, very clean and spacious, and the views were beautiful. The location was perfect - walking distance to the beach, the pub, the shop, even the Land’s End. oh and thank you for the minced pies on our arrival- it was lovely

    Reviewed by Adriana5.0Dec 2019

  • "The apartment was excellent and met all our needs and was extremely comfortable."

    However future guests need to be made aware that access to the property is extremely difficult. The photographs show only half the steps that have to be negotiated to get to the property and would be only be suitable for able bodied people and would not be recommended for the elderly or anyone with a disability. This is not made absolutely clear in the property description. This is our only criticism from what was a lovely time and is only bettered by the views from the dining table.

    Reviewed by Stephen4.7Sep 2019

  • "Sennen Heights is splendid; however, our advice would be to take as little stuff with you as possible!"

    Unloading and packing up is VERY HARD WORK. Even when you enjoy a good level of fitness the steps are very 'challenging'. The flat itself is neat and functional, with most things you need, though the WIFI is RUBBISH and constantly dropping out, which is quite frustrating, especially for those of us who have to check in on work etc, so be warned. All in all we loved it. It's a breathtaking spot...and the sunsets are to die for...once you've negotiated those extreme steps! Great for wonderful coastal walks and we'd recommend the open top 'Coaster' bus (in good weather!) along the coast via St Ives and Penzance; AMAZING views. Regarding Sennen itself: pub not bad and beach bar OK but on the expensive side. Little Bo Cafe was good and the fish and chip shop is excellent and it can get a bit busy, but at the end of the day, it's all about the views!

    Reviewed by Philip Andrew3.4Aug 2019

  • "Amazing holiday and apartment."

    Perfect for relaxing as you can sit and watch the waves roll in. Great place to enjoy walking, can walk to lands end.

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Jul 2019

  • "Lovely place as described."

    Going to book again for next year.

    Reviewed by David5.0Jun 2019

  • "Fabulous scenery and location for all ."

    ... the steps up to the appartment are not for the fainthearted though, and the step down to the appartment could do with some lighting.....

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0May 2019

  • "Need to tell about steps to holiday"

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Apr 2019

  • "The steps down from Marias Lane were useful for unloading but still lots of them and steep!"

    We parked at the bottom when packing up so the ferrying of cases, dog bed and boxes etc was down (but these are pretty steep going up)! Fab views though and a lovely position to relax and people and bird watch :). Comfy bed but it filled the space - managed to pull it away a few inches from the far wall to get in and out at night! Lovely hot water for washing up and shower and very effective heating when needed on a cold wet day. Although advertised as having WiFi it was very intermittent - more off than on. I was glad that I'd bought a meal that could be easily heated up in the combi oven or cooked on the hob, but we mostly ate out. Brilliantly located for coastal path walking! We walked miles and spotted seals and a Cornish Chough and incoming swallows and martins!

    Reviewed by Penny4.1Apr 2019

  • "Our second stay this year at Sennen Heights, enjoyed our stay over Christmas as much as the first time."

    ..thank you. As many reviewers have stated there are a number of steps to ascend / descend to reach this property, so definitely only for the fit / able bodied. However, if you do decide to book this apartment you won’t be disappointed, the views are outstanding...they have to be one of the best in Sennen Cove. Loved our stay in this modern, clean, tidy apartment. My only grip would be that there is no oven, only a combination microwave and grill and a halogen oven...not great for cooking a meal. Also, there is nowhere to put your things next to the bed, as there are no bedside tables / shelves. But these are really small things and wouldn't stop me coming back and stay here year after year. Thank you for another great stay, so peaceful and relaxing. Perfect.

    Reviewed by Tara4.7Dec 2018

  • "Great views from the property - worth the effort of the climb!"

    Reviewed by Julie3.8Oct 2018

  • "Holiday was lovely but more clarity is needed on how steep the steps are."

    They are one of the reasons we are put off visiting again, along with the parking situation. However, the view was stunning and the apartment itself was lovely.

    Reviewed by Charlotte3.4Sep 2018

  • "The description about the stairs needs to be more accurate."

    There are 76 steps and they are not easy. There is an odour of bad damp in hall way but once in Apartment it makes up for bad odour. Outstanding views. clean, comfortable .. The instructions for keys needs to be more accurate. Had a very peaceful week and Sennen is amazing...

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Aug 2018

  • "It would of been nice if we had been more aware of the steep steps we had to climb to get to our apartment."

    We really did not go out at night as we didn't have the energy to climb those steps twice a day !!. The views were absolutely amazing and we had a wonderful time, but if we had known how difficult it would be to access the apartments we may not have booked that particular apartment. The parking was also bad. There was not enough allocated parking spaces for all the holiday homes.

    Reviewed by Janine4.4Jul 2018

  • "One problem we had was with the instructions for getting into the apartment."

    There needs to be an indication that the code entered for the door of the apartment itself opens a key box from which one can get the key to open the door. We had to get help from residents of another apartment to get access to a phone and call the contact number for the apartment to find this out. The second problem we had was in locating the residents parking. I was told by the person I spoke to at Sykes cottages that the the parking lot for residents was on the opposite side of the parking area from Sennen Heights. The parking lot for residents was actually right at the base of the steps leading to Sennen Heights. Once we found out where to park and got in the apartment, the apartment itself, we saw the same wonderful 180 degree ocean view that we saw in your online photo. It was everything we could have wished. The view is amazing and we hope one day we can return.

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Jun 2018

  • "The 76 steps were a shock."

    My poor husband had to struggle with our luggage, we had to navigate the steps several times a day, I would not have booked this apartment if I had beeb more aware of three difficulty accessingredients the property. It was a shame, Pauline Flanagan

    Reviewed by Pauline4.4May 2018

  • "Entrance hall was damp and really unpleasant, although the apartment itself was good, and the views were superb."

    The cooking pans were in a shocking state and desperately need replacing.

    Reviewed by Stephen3.4Apr 2018

  • "This is a great place to stay but I think it should be plainer told about the steps up to the apartment and the parking."

    Best views we have had on holiday.

    Reviewed by Ray5.0Feb 2018

  • "Just back from a fabulous short break staying at apartment 9 Sennen Heights."

    The apartment was exactly what we wanted and expected...fabulous views, quite and cosy. Really easy to find when you park in the Harbour car park, Sennen Heights is just behind the car park. It’s a steep climb up to the apartment, so we would only recommend staying here if you are able bodied and fit enough to climb approximately 30-40 steep steps up to the apartment from the sea. The apartment itself is kitted out with everything you need and looks like it has been decorated fairly recently. The views from every room (including the loo) were just wonderful. Sennen Heights is a short walk down to the cove where you will find a pub, restaurant, cafe, shop and fish and chip outlet. We went to the pub for dinner and tried out the fish and chip shop, both were excellent. NB: Shop and cafe closed for the winter months. Staying here you are right on the coastal path, which offers wonderful walks in both directions. It’s a nice easy walk to Lands End and would highly recommend it. Would we stay here again...YES...already booked for later in the year.

    Reviewed by Tara4.2Jan 2018

  • "I needed to find some where quiet where I could rest my mind but it needed to be near the sea."

    I found Sennen Heights on the web site, the price for a 7 night stay was very reasonable, plus it was next to the sea. The pictures on the site were pretty good so I booked it. One thing the directions could have used a little improvement as it was really hard to find the flat. In the end I was lucky enough to come across a couple of locals who showed m where it was. Loved the flat, had everything I needed, except a washing/drying machine. But then this was not listed on the site so no complaints, I hand washed the clothes I needed to. I would also say that the site needs to make it very clear that the stairs are quite a climb and this is definitely not for the non able bodied in my opinion. Sennen cove itself is a beautiful place but it does shut down in the winter months, only the Pub is open, the local shop is not. So you have to nip across the Sennen to the CostCutter shop which is open 7 days a week, 8am-8pm. It is only a 10 minute walk once you find the local path to it! The walks are amazing along the cliff tops in both directions, the cove beach itself is stunning. The weather can be a little strong there to as it is on the Western Coast, the wind can be immensely strong, and it can get cld in the winter months. Although in Summer I can imagine it being rammed with beach goers. I went for peace and quiet and that is exactly what I got! One final recommendation is to gram some supplies before you arrive, bead, butter, perhaps some microwave meals. It has cooking facilities, including a combination grill/microwave. There is a TV but the channels are limited, for me this was not an issue as I was not there to sit in and watch the telly! All in all for me it was perfect and I will definitely go there again when I need a break. But if you are looking for a lively vacation, then bear in mind this is a quiet costal village. Jules

    Reviewed by Julian4.6Dec 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • All ground floor
  • One bedroom: 1 x super king-size bed (zip and link to twin beds on request and at time of booking)
  • Open plan living room with kitchen and dining area
  • WC
  • Shower room with basin.
  • Electric heating
  • Combination microwave oven with grill, halogen oven, electric hob, fridge, TV with Freeview, WiFi, DVD
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • One small, well behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Note: Max two adults
  • Infants and children are not accepted
  • Note:Unsuitable for those with limited mobility due to a large number of steps (approx 70 - 80) leading up to the property from the parking - the view and apartment itself are well worth the walk
  • Note: You can unload luggage from Maria's Lane which is behind the property, there are a lesser number of steps then to the front, these steps are set into the hillside which lead down to the rear of the property
  • Bring a torch
  • Note: There is no allocated parking space for the apartment but you can use the residents parking area beyond the harbour car park, however, there is no guarantee of a space during peak times
  • Parking is otherwise in the harbour car park and can be paid for via an app.

The property

This coastal bolthole for couples has jaw-dropping 180 degree views over Sennen Cove and the sea is right in front of you, just stunning!

It's takes just minutes to decend on foot from the lofty Sennen Heights to the long stretch of sandy beach and the charming harbour.

This is a magical setting, perched aloft and set into the rugged hillside and facing seaward, guests will admire the views over Whitesands Bay to Cape Cornwall on the horizon and as far as the Isles of Scilly on clear days.

Ample for two, the accommodation includes an open plan living room with a fitted kitchen, a double bedroom with a super king size bed (zip and link to twin on request), a walk in shower that is large enough for two and a separate WC.

All rooms have sea views (even the loo)!

Sit in the bay window in the open plan living room and gaze out to sea.

Watch the fishing boats come and go.

Spot sea birds, seals and dolphins.

Marvel at big skies and golden sunsets, this modern apartment is sublime at any time of year.

Sennen is a traditional fishing village with a pub, cafe, beachside restaurant, fish and chip shop, art gallery, ice cream parlour and convenience store but Whitsands Bay beach is the main attraction.

Book a surf lesson, swim off the white sands or hire a boat and explore the coast from the water.

It is a great escape for long walks and dogs are welcome too!

Access onto the south west coast path is within moments.

Head along soaring cliff tops to Land's End, Porthcurno and The Minack, Cornwall's famous open-air cliff-top theatre.

Buzzing St Ives, St Just and Penzance with more galleries, shops, restaurants and pubs are within a short drive.

View on map

About the location


St Just 5 miles; Penzance 9 miles.

The small fishing village of Sennen Cove is situated close to Land’s End in Cornwall. The village has a lifeboat station, church, a couple of shops, a café plus two popular gastropubs. The town of St Just is the nearest town to Land’s End and has several monument and prehistoric antiquities, including a Bronze Age settlement at Cape Cornwall. The town also has a town hall, a church, shops and pubs, and Plain-an-Gwarry, a theatre used for miracle plays in medieval times. Porthcorno, which has the outdoor Minack Theatre is situated 5 miles away. The village of Mousehole is within a short drive where stargazy pie can be sampled. Also within reach is the town of Penzance, which boasts winding streets, shops, clubs, restaurants and a harbour, from where day trips to the Scilly Isles can be enjoyed. A lovely base for your Cornwall adventure.

Note: Max two adults. Infants and children are not accepted.
Note: Unsuitable for those with limited mobility due to a large number of steps (approx 70 - 80) leading to the property from the car park. You can drive to the property and unload and then park in the Harbour car park, the car park states no overnight stays, this relates to camper van occupancy not general parking. The view and apartment itself are well worth the walk.
Note: Dogs must not be left unattended in the apartment.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas