Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cornwall 58 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Image Gallery
  • Secret Garden - Cornwall - 959241 - photo 1

Secret Garden

(Ref. 959241)

St Agnes, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (26)
  • comfortable (24)
  • table (24)
  • garden (20)
  • all (20)
  • clean (19)

60 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely holiday at the secret garden, very peaceful with lovely outlook, we saw deer and all kinds of birds from the window."

    Hosts were lovely and very welcoming, thank you.

    Thank you for your kind feedback Shirley. Very glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Oct 2023

  • "Lovely accommodation, very clean and we'll equipt."

    Very helpful owners. Cottage situated in a good area for lots of superb beaches. St. Agnes has all that you need, from shops and eateries. The out look from the cottage is a rural setting, we saw deer in the field and birds of prey.

    Thank you for your feedback Jane and glad you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane4.7Sep 2023

  • "Very comfortable apartment in a peaceful location with lovely view across countryside."

    Thank you so much for your feedback Deidre., we think it’s peaceful here too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deidre5.0Sep 2023

  • "Secret Garden was a perfect hideaway for me and my husband."

    Lovely quiet outside seating area.

    Thank you Kirsty. Glad you enjoyed Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Aug 2023

  • "This is a lovely spacious apartment with wonderful views over the surrounding countryside."

    It is well-equipped with all mod cons.

    Thank you Christopher, for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Aug 2023

  • "Quiet location, clean, comfortable and well-equipped."

    Thank you for your comments Glenn, much appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Glenn4.7Jul 2023

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Secret Garden."

    Location was perfect to visit local areas, and views were beautiful. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, bed amazing comfortable (I have a bad back so a good bed is important to me) we were lucky with the weather so could enjoy sitting in the garden which was so relaxing and peaceful. Just one thing we would have liked a nonstick frying pan (my eggs were a disaster

    Thank you so much for you kind feedback & so glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry you didn’t find the non stick frying pan - it gets pushed to the back of cupboard Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jun 2023

  • "Secret Garden was an ideal holiday home for us, spacious and fully equiped with everything we needed for the week or so we stayed there, and more."

    The property is fitted out to a high specification, very comfortable and is located in a lovely peaceful setting, with no traffic noise whatsoever and a lovely terrace to sit out and enjoy the views- all very relaxing. It is well situated for travelling to other parts of the county as we wanted to access several parts of the coastal path and also take a day trip over to the Isles of Scilly from Penzance. The local pub, the Miners Arms, is within easy walking distance an we enjoyd several visits there. Jim and Serena, the hosts, were very warm and welcoming, and a great source of information when asked. All in all quite superb and we highly recommend it.

    Thank you so much for you kind and comprehensive review Michael. We are pleased that you and Andrea enjoyed your stay at Secret Garden and were happy to give you a few local tips on places to visit and transport by bus and train. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2023

  • "Always have a pleasant experience."

    Relaxing away from the hustle and bustle of town life. Needed to be recharged. Excellent welcome by owners. Rob and Jean Brown

    Thank you Jean and Rob. Lovely to welcome you again to Secret Garden and glad you had a relaxing time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2023

  • "Ideally positioned within a few minutes walk of the Miners Arms who serve food daily from 12pm - 9pm, and all meals were delicious."

    Well equipped cottage with enough place settings so you could fill the dishwasher if required before needing the plates (though we washed up by hand!). A note to anyone staying in the cooler months - the heating is on a timer set by the people in the main house and the times seemed to be limited, not necessarily ideal for a holidaymaker. Obviously this shouldn't be an issue in the summer months.

    Thank you for your feedback however I can’t understand why you didn’t just ask us (the owners) to alter the heating timer to your individual preferences which we would have gladly done, as we are the “people who live above”. This is especially disappointing as we greeted you upon your arrival and stated that if there was anything we could help you with you only had to tell us and we would do our best to oblige, also stated in our guest information booklet and in a framed note above the sitting room thermostat. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fiona3.8Apr 2023

  • "We did not know that there would be people above us and booked this for peace and quiet."

    You can very clearly hear footsteps and on Sunday morning we were woken by a dog running around and barking at 6.15 am. The pillows need replacing as VERY flat, we went out and bought our own pillows after he first night. We were also disappointed in leaving when we knocked the owners door to say we were leaving early, we were not asked if we had had a good stay or whether everything had been ok. I would have thought something would have been said as we were leaving early. Having said all this, the views are great and it was clean and tidy

    Thank you for your review which is both a surprise and disappointment to us as you did not bring any of your issues to us during your stay so that we could try to resolve them. We met your husband on arrival and at the time invited him to let us know if there was anything we could help with. We only met yourself on the Thursday morning, at which time you advised of your early departure and informed me that you were going to extend your time in Cornwall by staying with a friend who lived nearby. Recollections of this conversation may vary, however, you made no mention of the issues you have raised in your review. The description of Secret Garden on the website clearly states “ground floor apartment forming part of the owners old chapel” and photos of the outside show a two-storey domestic dwelling. It is incumbent upon guests to read descriptions carefully beforehand and if they have any queries to contact the company for clarification. Comprehensive sound insulation has been installed between floors and internal walls of the building to minimise, as far as possible, sound transmission in both directions between the apartment and the owner’s residential accommodation. Complaint about the pillows is something we have not encountered before and it could be considered as a somewhat subjective and personal preference. If, however we had been made aware of this during your stay we would have happily arranged supply of different pillows. Sykes Customer Review Policy clearly states on their website that guests should raise any issues with owners (or representatives) as soon as possible during their stay so that solutions can be found promptly. Our Secret Garden Information folder in the apartment also clearly encourages guests to do this. As owners we are very proud of the many returning guests and overwhelmingly good feedback that we have received over very many years. We would respectfully direct any new potential guests to read our many other reviews. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kay3.4Mar 2023

  • "The cottage was everything we were expecting, and it was a fantastic experience."

    Owners were very welcoming, and nothing was too much.

    Thank you Derek. Great that you enjoyed your holiday even if the weather wasn’t so good. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Oct 2022

  • "We had a very warm welcome from the owners with a welcome pack in the kitchen."

    It was like home from home. It had everything you would possibly need. Couldn’t fault it in anyway. Didn’t want to get out of bed as it was so comfortable

    Thank you so much for the lovely feedback Jean. So glad you enjoyed your holiday even though the weather wasn’t the best. Thank you for staying in Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Sep 2022

  • "As always, Secret Garden didn’t disappoint."

    As lovely as we remembered our previous visits. Would highly recommend for all you need and a nice, relaxed, quiet location.

    Thank you for the review Denise. Great to see you both again and glad you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Sep 2022

  • "Our third year staying a this lovely accommodation."

    No complaints as we still love the area. Need a car to explore other parts of Cornwall as a shame to stay in one area. Cosy and has everything you need.

    Thank you Michelle. Lovely to see you both again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle4.4Sep 2022

  • "It was our second visit and we will probably go again as we were very comfortable."

    Thank you John. Lovely to welcome you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Aug 2022

  • "As always our stay at Secret Garden was wonderful, comfortable & clean accommodation with everything you need, amazing scenery and relaxing."

    We always feel at home when we stay and never want to leave.

    Good to welcome you both back again and thank you for the great feedback Janet. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Aug 2022

  • "Very comfortable property with the most amazing private garden with gorgeous countryside views."

    We drove out every day to a slightly different point and on the coastal path for fantastic walks then had supper outside on the terrace. But the village has a great pub within 5 mins walk if you don't fancy cooking. The apartment has just about everything you could want, better equipped that just about anywhere we have ever stayed. The only addition could potentially be reclining chairs for reading and relaxing in the garden. But that is very picky because the chairs there are plenty comfortable and we enjoyed our post walk cuppa and books in some wonderful sunshine. Would recommend this property and would be very happy to stay again.

    Thank you very much for your kind feedback and very glad you enjoyed your holiday so much. Over the years we have tried hard to give our guests a good experience and it’s lovely to hear we succeeded for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Jul 2022

  • "We made a good choice."

    The owners had thought of everything we could possibly need or want. Delightful garden with beautiful views. Owners were very friendly and helpful. We would thoroughly recommend The Secret Garden.

    Thank you so much for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your stay in Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0May 2022

  • "Excellent location."

    We felt relaxed as soon as we opened the gate to the secret garden. The cottage had everything we needed. We met the owner on the Saturday morning and she couldn't have been more helpful, taking time to explain local walks pubs and shops. Would recommend highly

    Thank you very much for your kind words John. Much appreciated and a pleasure to meet you both. So glad you had a relaxing time in Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2022

  • "Again a very relaxing time."

    Always clean and peaceful. Near beautiful scenery. Time goes so quick. Looking forward to next year.

    Lovely to welcome you both back to Secret Garden. Thank you for your kind comments and glad you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2022

  • "We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Secret Garden."

    From the moment we stepped inside, we felt comfortable and relaxed. Everything you could want or need is here. This place is immaculate. All the fixtures and fittings are of very good quality. The furnishings, carpets, curtains, bedding, towels etc feel as though they are brand new, and the decor is as fresh as it could possibly be. We were also impressed with the kitchen facilities, and again, everything we could possibly have needed, was there. The cottage was very well placed in the village of Mithian, and the garden was a lovely place to relax, with the prettiest of views. We would love to come back again, sometime, It was lovely to meet the owners, and to be able to tell them what a fabulous week we'd had. The welcome pack was a nice touch too. Thank you again, Jim and Selina..... From Karen and Ben

    Thank you so much, Karen & Ben, for taking the time to give us your feedback. It was lovely to meet you both. All your wonderful comments are much appreciated. We are very glad you enjoyed your holiday in Secret Garden as we always strive to give our guests a good holiday experience. Serena & Jim Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ben5.0Apr 2022

  • "This is a lovely, clean, comfortable, well equipped property in a quiet secluded location."

    It is ideal for a quiet break whilst conveniently situated for other facilities, and the coast. You do need to have your own car to stay here, but it is a lovely place. We've been more than once, and may well return again.

    Thank you so much for your great feedback and so glad you enjoyed your return visit to Secret Garden. We will be pleased to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Mar 2022

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay."

    The location was perfect and it was lovely to have some reading material about the area in the cottage. The kitchen was well equipped. The welcome pack was appreciated. The cupboard with all the extra equipment was great. All instructions were well positioned and easy to understand. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was of a great standard. It was an excellent base for exploring the area and walking the coastal path.

    It was great to meet you both. Thank you so much for your comprehensive feedback and we are glad you had a good holiday in Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penny5.0Mar 2022

  • "How deceiving photographs can be!"

    The fixtures and fittings were of basic standard. The mattress was poor. But most disappointing was the inadequate sound insulation between the two floors. We could hear the television, conversations and the barking dog upstairs! Frankly, I did expect a better quality experience for the £400+ figure for just three nights in November! This property was overpriced and a disappointing example of Sykes ability to accurately position this property with their pricing strategy.

    Thank you for your feedback. We would like to reassure that the photos on the website, taken by the company, are an accurate representation of the property. We would point out that your visit took place in early November whilst the photoshoot was carried out in early summer. Since the photoshoot, we have carried out various minor upgrades and improvements as part of ongoing routine maintenance and renewals, including new carpeting throughout in early 2020. Comprehensive acoustic insulation is installed in ceilings and walls between Secret Garden and our own accommodation to minimise any sound transmission and we are sorry if you were disturbed. Shortly after your arrival you were invited to engage with us if there was anything you required, and consequently, we are disappointed that you chose not to let us know at the time when we could have taken steps to resolve the matter immediately. The bed is a king-sized Sealy Posturepedic divan. The mattress is turned regularly and on checking since your feedback we have found it to be evenly supportive and without any sag. We do not accept bookings for short breaks and advertised prices set by the company for Secret Garden are for a weekly stay with no discount for a short break option. The pricing structure is commensurate with the local market. As owners, we continue to be very proud of the overwhelmingly positive reviews that we have received from the many guests at Secret Garden over many years. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jon3.1Nov 2021

  • "Great location and lovely property."

    Provided us with rest we needed and a great base from which to explore so much of Cornwall. The owners made us feel especially welcome and only served to enhance our stay.

    Thank you for your great feedback. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Oct 2021

  • "The location was ideal for touring the whole of Cornwall and the accommodation was perfect."

    Thank you so much for taking the time to submit feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Sep 2021

  • "Lovely accommodation our 3rd year."

    Would recommend this secret garden. Always meets our needs. Thank you

    So lovely to have to two of you stay again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay."

    The location is marvellous and the property is very comfortable and well maintained with a nice view; very quiet and restful. A few comments: - Other Sykes properties we have stayed at had a folder of useful local information, and this would have been helpful eg. suggested local eateries/takeaways with comments; local beaches and their strengths/weaknesses; hand-drawn map of the Mithian village with amenities marked; perhaps also for St Agnes. - We were woken each morning at 7 am by the sound upstairs of the dogs waking and running about; we are early risers so not a problem for us, but some visitors might not be satisfied!

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday. We are sorry that we have found it necessary to remove our hard copies of booklets of local information at this time. Due to Covid owners were advised by Sykes to remove all items from their properties that could not be effectively disinfected during changeover cleaning. These included such items as guidance folders, books, maps, etc (of which we have many) and we complied with this advice. As Covid cases remain worryingly high in Cornwall before, during and after your visit we thought it wise to continue to follow the company advice. If you had asked we would have gladly helped and suggested suitable internet sites and local apps. We apologise if you were disturbed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jon4.7Aug 2021

  • "Comfortable clean and secluded accommodation."

    Nearby pub The Miners Arms superb for good food. Central for travelling in all directions.

    Thank you for the great feedback. So glad you found Secret Garden comfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bernard5.0Aug 2021

  • "Enjoyed watching the wildlife in the delightful garden."

    Very friendly owners.

    Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kim5.0Jul 2021

  • "What a little gem !"

    ! Ideal cottage for a couple very well equipped and ideally situated near the lovely St Agnes and for exploring all of Cornwall. A 2 minute walk to the fab Miners Arms pub which provides beautiful food which is appreciated after a full day out. Would highly recommend for a relaxing week in Cornwall

    Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give feedback and so glad you enjoyed our “little gem”. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jul 2021

  • "Spacious, well equipped accommodation."

    Very peaceful country setting, with nice outside areas. Owners very friendly and helpful. Lovely location away from the crowds,but in easy reach of beaches and coastal walks . jenny and peter

    Thank you very much for your feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Jul 2021

  • "Secret Garden is a lovely cottage in a beautiful location."

    The cottage is well equipped with everything that you would want to use whilst on holiday. We were lucky with the weather, which meant that we were able to sit out in the lovely sun trap garden for breakfast every day. The garden was especially wonderful as the roses were in full bloom whilst we were there and the local birdlife were really enjoying the feeders, providing endless entertainment. Mithian is a fantastic location, the local pub (Miner's Arms) is brilliant, and you are within walking distance of Healey's Cyder Farm and the Callestick Ice Cream Farm. Slightly longer walks can take you to the sea at St Agnes, Porthtowan, Chapel Porth and Perranporth, and there is easy access to the A30 to get around the rest of Cornwall. This was our first visit to Secret Garden, but we hope to be back.

    Great to have met you both and so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Jun 2021

  • "Secret Garden was perfect for us after shielding for almost 15 months."

    The accommodation was exactly as stated and owners very friendly. Convenient for both St Agnes and Perranporth, as well as for access to main roads and A30 for other destinations. Views from there were outstanding and property itself warm, comfy and clean with everything needed to enjoy your holiday. Just a shame we were unable to walk to pub as it was up and down hills and my partner having emphasymia couldnt manage the climb there and back. Still it was lovely just enjoying the views from the outside area while enjoying a glass of wine in the evening. Will certainly try to return soon. Our thanks to Sherina and Jim for providing everything to enable us to have a great holiday Pauline and Garry

    So glad Secret Garden lived up to your expectations. We will be delighted to welcome you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Jun 2021

  • "Very relaxing."

    Always look forward to going back next year.

    So glad you enjoyed your holiday Robert. Always a pleasure to welcome you both back to Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2021

  • "In a pleasant quiet area."

    The local pub was lovely and only a few minutes walk away. The apartment was clean and well appointed (a television in the bedroom would have been nice!). Look out for the local lanes. They are very narrow and difficult to pass on.

    Thank you for the great feedback. We will consider the point you raised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2020

  • "It was a lovely place."

    We thought that the Covid protection measures were sensible and effective so we could relax and enjoy this quiet part of Cornwall. The coastpath with the wind blowing off the sea felt like one of the safest places in England! Mr and Mrs Hughes are very welcoming and manage the apartment professionally.

    Thank you for the great feedback. So glad you were able to relax after the awful times we have endured this year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Oct 2020

  • "Existing reviews were generally very good so our expectations were quite high."

    Lots of thought has gone into this place. It was well laid out and well equipped. We loved the huge window ledges which added useful space to the bathroom for toiletries, kitchen for work surface and bedroom for spreading out books, makeup etc. It was a mix of the practical and style with the gorgeous views out of the bedroom and living rooms, plus the nod to the past with the arched window in the bathroom. It was clean and in good repair and there was a de-humidifier in the hall to be left on during the day to keep condensation at bay. There are 4 rooms and it is laid out from a long corridor. The living room, bedroom and kitchen all have sunlight streaming in in the mornings if you are lucky with the weather! With Covid prevention in mind, we decided we would avoid pubs (although we did go in 2 for all of about 15 minutes) and restaurants, and bought up 6 days worth of meals from M&S on the way down. We took most provisions and enough to make sandwiches for every day we were there. We went out during every day and loved coming back to this base, heating up our M&S meal and watching Netflix which is available on their television. Wifi worked fine. There was hand gel at the entrance to the property. There is a bar code for the Covid App in the doorway. The owners made contact via text although we did see them a couple of times at a distance during the week. Very friendly. We were asked to take our own pillows, we took pillow cases which were actually provided but we didn't use them. Towels were provided - again we took our own. The only slight issue for us is that me and my husband are used to a super-king bed at home (both of us are 6ft tall) and although this is a king size and comfortable, if you move without consideration for your partner it does bounce them around a little. We visited many places. We had mixed weather and tailored our trips to it. Cornwall is beautiful in autumn and we went 2 weeks prior to half-term so there weren't children around. The only disappointment was St Ives' streets. They were very busy and people generally passed much too close and weren't wearing masks. We chose to wear ours for this reason.

    What comprehensive feedback which we are glad to read and think over. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to compose. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Oct 2020

  • "Secret Garden apartment is well maintained, clean and very comfortable and the views are excellent."

    Jim and Serena (the owners) keep good communication if you need them, all in all a very pleasant holiday

    Reviewed by Terrry4.7Sep 2020

  • "Our 6th visit to Secret garden."

    We absolutely love it. Always a perfect holiday, rain or shine. So quiet and relaxing. We feel like it's our second home.

    It’s always a pleasure to welcome you both back to Secret Garden. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jul 2020

  • "Sumer in such a beautiful and tranquil location."

    Jim and Serena were the perfect hosts and made sure we were safe and comfortable following relaxing of lockdown Measures We were so surprised when we opened the gate to the secret garden! I wasn’t expecting to have the garden as well as the terraced patio. Spent breakfast and dinner eating outside in the fresh Cornish air - just what was needed The apartment was very well equipped and spacious with dishwasher and washing machine included Easy to visit the beach and coastal path walks etc within minutes drive. Would definitely recommend John Earl the fishmonger in Chapel Porth who collects the days catch from Mevagissy (He’s located on the road to the beach- don’t follow your satnav!!)) early each morning All in all aN extremely comfortable, welcoming and relaxing week in a fabulous place

    Lovely to meet you Carole and so glad you enjoyed your holiday after the taxing start to the year that we have all endured. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Jul 2020

  • "This cottage is exceptional, it has every comfort you could wish for and is in an idyllic location."

    The cottage surroundings are peaceful and beautiful, the owners are very kind and helpful people and are more than happy to offer advice when needed. When we arrived at the cottage the lights were on, it was warm and there was a welcoming message from the owners, along with complimentary goodies. The milk for a cup of tea is a lovely touch along with biscuits. There are no negatives regarding this property …. If we were to offer a negative the only thing that is negative is that we had to leave and come home, we will definitely be back. Amazing holiday lovely cottage in glorious and pretty village, we love it.

    Thank you for the lovely words on your feedback. It’s always a pleasure to welcome you both back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Derek5.0Dec 2019

  • "Spotlessly clean,cosy warm,cottage friendly owners,stones throw to brilliant friendly pub,what more could you ask for."

    Thank you so much for your kind words Stephen. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Nov 2019

  • "The cottage was dated with old fashioned furniture, very damp, the dehumidifier was on constantly and needed to be emptied."

    There was condensation everywhere and the place smelt musty and affected your clothing. Hot water took ages to come through, water pressure for the shower was poor. The wifi signal was erratic. Every room had a continual appearance of woodlice. Your photos of the cottage were very misleading with regards to the layout and appearance of the property. We were disappointed with the cottage.

    Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay as you should have. We are a little surprised at your comments as previous customers have been very positive giving 10/10 and top scores with regards to the areas you mention; cleanliness and comfort. Following your review we arranged to visit and inspect the property and having done so would confirm that we found it to be in good order throughout, with no evidence of either damp or condensation. We would always recommend in future if you have any problems to let us know at the time as we and the owners would have done our utmost to assist. Finally, we would like to reassure other visitors that the photographs displayed are up to date and accurate. Should anyone have any further queries, please don't hesitate to ask us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elizabeth2.8Oct 2019

  • "We found the apartment to be located in a beautiful setting."

    It was comfortable and welcoming, with everything needed for our stay... including welcoming milk and local cake! The village of Mithian is lovely. The pub, the Miners Arms came highly recommended, and was wonderful. oh, how I wish we had a gem of a pub like this at home! This property’s location makes it a fabulous base for visiting all that’s on offer in beautiful Cornwall. Even the furthest away was only about an hours drive. We had a wonderful two weeks break. The rain did not deter us! Cornish pasties deserve their protected status. Many thanks Sykes. The Secret Garden was a great success!

    Thank you so much for the great feedback. So glad you enjoyed your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Oct 2019

  • "**** and **** were most helpful, telling us best local routes etc."

    Nearby pub Miners Arms was a 5 minute walk away, with good friendly service.

    We are thrilled to hear that your enjoyed your stay at Secret Garden. We have removed the names of the owners for security reasons. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean4.7Sep 2019

  • "Our 5th time staying at this lovely holiday flat."

    So comfortable, clean and everything you need for a wonderful break away in the most beautiful surroundings. Hope to go back again soon.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Aug 2019

  • "Very comfortable apartment and a beautiful garden with a marvellous view."

    Great facilities in the garden so we could eat outside.

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Aug 2019

  • "Location and accommodation was brilliant, very close to some brilliant beaches, plenty of places to visit even on wet days."

    Could not fault the holiday in any way!

    Reviewed by Tina5.0Jun 2019

  • "The accomadation was top notch, comfortable, clean, peaceful, and set in beautiful surroundings."

    Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Hilary5.0May 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage in amazing surroundings!"

    Beware the fruit loaf - will cause family arguments!

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Apr 2019

  • "The peace and quiet,the perfect location,the lovely view but most of all the superb apartment."

    We think you might say we loved The Secret Garden.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Mar 2019

  • "The accommodation was very comfortable and clean with everything you would need, even down to a dishwasher and washing machine."

    The apartment did smell musty, maybe due to it being a converted old chapel. The owners did provide a dehumidifier and we bought an air freshener but we were hardly there for it to be a problem. The area was very quiet, overlooking the countryside, within walking distance to a local pub and small shop only. Lots of footpaths around if you are a walker but within travelling distance by car to some lovely places of interest. The owners provided a starter pack of tea, coffee, milk and a homemade cake which was most welcomed after a long journey.

    Thank you for your positive comments. What a shame that you didn't tell us of your concerns regarding any smell during your stay. We are always ready to address any issues and find remedies where possible. In our opinion, any perception of a musty smell would have been more likely caused by the extremely heavy rain and strong winds from Storm Callum that unfortunately coincided with the first part of your holiday here. Only the external walls of the Chapel remain, all internal walls and fixtures are modern. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey5.0Oct 2018

  • "This was a very well equipped and welll furnished holiday flat with the friendly and helpful owners resident in the same building."

    The house was siuated in a rural private road and therefore peaceful and free of traffic.Our stay was very enjoyable. We had no difficulty in finding the property; your directions were spot on.

    Reviewed by Geoffrey5.0Sep 2018

  • "Fantastic place to stay lovely and clean and had everything you needed."

    Beautiful view from patio with easy access to all beaches .Great pub just 3 minutes down the lane with good food and they were happy to do us takeaway if we wanted it would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Aug 2018

  • "Fourth visit to this wonderful place and hopefully not the last."

    Everything clean, comfortable and all you need for a fabulous holiday is there on your doorstep. All the little added extras make it even more special.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jul 2018

  • "Very peaceful."

    A place this recharges your battery in the busyness of life. Local attractions like St. Agnes were outstanding

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2018

  • "The cottage was in an excellent location with a very friendly village pub just a 10 minute walk away."

    Could get on the coastal path very easily. Comfortable and very clean cottage with all amenities. Lovely touch of homemade cake, tea/coffee milk to welcome us. No trouble for the owner that we'd been stuck in traffic and arrived later than planned. All in all a superb holiday.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0May 2018

  • "Everything was perfect."

    The owners have really provided all you could want for a comfortable break.On arrival there was milk in the fridge flowers in the lounge and an home made cake.just going that extra mile was really appreciated.

    Reviewed by Lilian5.0Oct 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • All ground floor
  • One bedroom: King size double
  • Bathroom with shower over bath, bidet, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room and dining area (with sofa bed available on request).
  • Oil fired central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washer dryer, dishwasher
  • Fuel and power included in rent
  • Bed linen and towels included in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • There is a smart TV
  • Off road parking for one car
  • Garden with furniture
  • It is not possible/permitted to charge electric or plug in hybrid cars by any method at the property.

The property

The Secret Garden is a comfortable ground floor apartment forming part of the Owner's converted old chapel set on the fringe of the peaceful village of Mithian, just two miles from the picturesque Trevaunance Cove and the village of St Agnes and less than ten minutes by car to the golden sands at Perranporth.

It has a southerly outlook, country views, generous and contemporary accommodation and a sunny garden making it a perfect spot for a restful stay.

From the fabulous balcony, making the most of the views, enter the property through french doors where a spacious and comfortable living room greets guests, there is a sofa bed that can accommodate an additional guest, if required (linen provided on request at time of booking).

A light and airy apartment which is completed with a double bedroom, modern kitchen and bathroom.

Meals can be enjoyed on the patio by the garden entrance, or on the balcony making the most of the countryside views and the varied wild birds who visit.

Mithian is a small ancient Cornish Village, is just under two miles from St Agnes, where there are over 70 footpaths and bridleways as well as direct access to the coastal path, a haven for walkers.

After a day exploring why not enjoy a meal at the 16th century Miners Arms, just three minutes walk from Secret Garden.

Centrally located with easy access along the North coast from Padstow to St Ives as well as other attractions such as The Eden Project, The Lost Gardens of Heligan and Trerice Manor, to name but a few.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


  • Perranporth 5 miles
  • Truro 9.5 miles

St Agnes is a thriving picturesque village on the Cornish coast, with four beaches on the doorstep and surrounded by wonderful countryside. Swim or surf in the clear waters, walk the footpaths and bridleways or hop onto the South West Coast Path. Coasteering, kayaking and horse riding are all available locally, and St Agnes has a regular programme of events and gigs for all the family to enjoy. The local shops offer an interesting selection of produce, from tasty treats to one-off pieces of art as a unique souvenir of your Cornish holiday, and there is a superb range of dining choices with two Great Cornish Food Awards in 2015. St Agnes also has a rich mining heritage which can be explored with a visit to the St Agnes Museum. Head out of St Agnes and you will find plenty of Cornwall’s attractions within easy reach, from the beaches at Newquay to the Tate at St Ives or the cathedral at Truro and of course, the world-famous Eden Project. St Agnes is also in the heart of Poldark Country, the landscapes made famous by the novels and TV series’, the most recent of which was broadcast in Spring 2018. So explore this beautiful region or stay close to home in a friendly bustling village; either way you are assured of a memorable Cornish vacation.

View more holiday cottages in St Agnes

Note: it is not possible/permitted to charge electric or plug in hybrid cars by any method at the property.

Note: Owner happy to receive children under 4 but there should be mention that the garden is not enclosed and that there is a drop down into the lane below, therefore children must be supervised in the garden.