Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • The Old Post Office - Cotswolds - 1003139 - photo 1
close

The Old Post Office

(Ref. 1003139)

Coln St Aldwyns, Gloucestershire Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (12)
  • stay (10)
  • well (10)
  • kitchen (8)
  • property (8)
  • our (7)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "The Old Post Office is a charming little property set in the stunning village of Coln St."

    Aldwyns. Opposite the local shop and just 100 yards from the local pub, it's everything you want. The house has a gorgeous kitchen and dining room, both lit by log burners and decent sized bedrooms. We really enjoyed our stay here!!!

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Oliver4.1Oct 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay at the Old Post Office, the photos absolutely do not do it justice, it is beautiful!"

    We were a group of 8 adults and the bedrooms and living areas were perfectly sized for us (you may need to duck your head for the occasional ceiling beam but that is to be expected in a period property). The village is STUNNING, everything you expect from the Cotswolds; the Village Store is surprisingly well stocked for its size and the New Inn pub just down the lane is glorious. We had an issue with one of the toilets but the maintenance team were very responsive and got it sorted for us the same day (there were two other serviceable toilets in the property so no huge issue)! The only very minor negative is that there is limited fridge space for a house of that size, but it would not stop me recommending the property! Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

    Reviewed by Marianne4.7Sep 2023

  • "We loved the house and especially the big kitchen."

    However, the bed (matrasses)in the main bedroom is not up to 2023 standards. I feel that it lets the rest of the property (and the great garden) down.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We have passed on your comment regarding the mattress. We hope you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edwin4.4Jul 2023

  • "An absolute gem!"

    Definitely an immediate Cotswold feel as soon as you enter. A very comfortable place to stay. And... freshly baked bread opposite at the Coln Community Store, a gorgeous pub down the road, surrounded by stunning trails and nearby to everything we wanted to see and do.

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the local area and the amenities! Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ashley5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay at The Old Post Office with the whole family."

    It was perfect for 7 adults and a child, and a short walk from Hatherop where our close family live. Our thanks to the owners for allowing us to rent their lovely home. All the rooms were spacious, including the well equipped kitchen, and the lovely garden was the perfect size for eating outdoors and relaxing. The small Coln Stores, ideally located across the road, stocked everything we needed, and the staff were really friendly. The management company of the property was very helpful and always responded immediately to our questions. We have suggested a few improvements to the house: better WiFi coverage (there is none in the large kitchen where we spent a lot of time), modification to the family bathroom (inability to shower standing up without being in full view of people in the neighbouring garden ... as we discovered!), and the fridge size (too small for 8 people for 1 week). If these are resolved, we will certainly book again.

    Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. We are very pleased that your family all enjoyed staying at The Old Post Office. We have passed your suggestions onto our Property Management Team. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Micheal4.7Jun 2023

  • "The house was excellent!"

    There was so much space to relax and enjoy. The kitchen was exceptionally well stocked (equipment-wise) - we were able to cook a Sunday roast very easily for example! There were a couple of snags: - The bed in the master bedroom was not the most comfortable (it felt somewhat bent and sloped) - The bath in the mater bedroom was missing a plug so it was unusable - The single beds were not very comfortable - It is not possible to stand up in the shower of the main family bathroom (the shower is handheld), so the only useable shower is in the en suite of the master bedroom. Not a major issue, but not ideal when there could be up to 8 adults staying If these were all fixed, the house would have been 10/10 rather than 8/10.

    . We're delighted that you enjoyed The Old Post Office and had a relaxing stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we will ensure they are looked into. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria4.4Mar 2023

  • "While the property itself is impressive and well located - although we had issues on arrival re heating - unfortunately my experience with Manor Cottages/Sykes (or whoever you end up talking to as you’re passed to and fro) ruined the entire experience and left us very unhappy customers."

    Reviewed by Rachael3.1Dec 2022

  • "We were disappointed to learn that check in wasn't until 6."

    00 pm on the day of arrival and was 10am on day of departure, giving us a very short 'weekend' away. Therefore per hour of stay, it wasn't good value for money. The wi-fi only worked in the lounge, not in dining room or kitchen/diner. I e mailed a request for a cot & high chair a week before (using a link given in a Sykes cottages e mail), but received no reply. I then phoned 3 days before our stay, but on arrival there was no cot or high chair. When we were given these items (at 6.30 pm), it was a travel cot but had no mattress. The website states that cot bedding is required, but doesn't mention a mattress. I did phone Sykes on the Saturday morning, but was told they don't provide mattresses in any of their properties. Had we known this in advance, our son & daughter in law could easily have bought one with them. The house had beds for 8 people, but sofa/ armchair configuration of tv lounge is set up for 4 people.

    Thank you for providing this comprehensive feedback. Since the pandemic, we have been trying to bring forward check in times for most of our properties and we can usually arrange this if the guest calls us on the arrival day.. We're sorry if you encountered an issue with the Wifi as this is normally working efficiently and the problem could have been resolved had you contacted the Property Manager during your stay. We do not provide cot mattresses for hygiene reasons and this is included on our property descriptions. We hope these issues didn't impact your stay too much and that we can welcome you again. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen2.5Oct 2022

  • "Lovely weekend for my mums 60th."

    House was beautiful. Plenty of room for the whole family.. Only snag would be toilet seat on first floor was very loose. Would recommend

    Thank you for providing this feedback and we're delighted that you had such a lovely time celebrating a special occasion. We hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Abbie4.7Sep 2022

  • "Lovely house in a lovely little village - we didn't want to leave!"

    Very much recommend this property, and the area.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful property. We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles5.0May 2022

  • "Wonderful stay in the heart of the Cotswolds."

    Fantastic dog walks straight from the front door. The village shop and cafe have everything you could possibly need. The cottage itself is very comfortable with open fires and super comfy beds and pillows.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we cannot wait to welcome you back to the property any time in the future. Thank you once again for providing us with your lovely feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ella5.0Feb 2022

  • "We had a superb stay at The Old Post Office."

    All of the rooms were of very high standard, well equipped and nicely decorated. We wish we could have stayed longer. Excellent service from Sykes Cottages too. Thank you.

    Thank you for providing us with such lovely feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Old Post Office and we look forward to welcoming you back any time in the future. Thank you once again for providing us with feedback on your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Jan 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay and the property is beautiful and well equipped."

    The logs and food starter pack are a lovely touch. Feels very much a home away from home. We spent most of our evenings in the kitchen with the fire lit. The only slight downside is that there seems to be a issue with the plumbing of the toilet on the first floor, it makes a tremendous noise when the tank is being refilled after it has been flushed, not great in the middle of the night! Also the seat on the same toilet could do with being adjusted as it doesn’t sit on the toilet correctly and shifts when you are sat down. Other than that we had a really enjoyable stay celebrating some big birthdays missed last year due to Covid and would recommend the house to friends and other family.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay and will pass these onto the Housekeeper and Owner for improvement. We would love to welcome you back to The Old Post Office anytime in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0Nov 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at the old post office."

    It was a beautiful house situated in a delightful village. The facilities were very good. The kitchen was well equipped and the house was lovely and warm. The shower over the bath on the middle floor was difficult to use, but this was a minor issue. We liked relaxing in the dining and living areas and loved the interesting artwork.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that the issues you encountered did not effect your retreat at The Old Post Office too much. We would love to welcome you back anytime in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Liz4.4Oct 2021

  • "Incredibly well equiped home in a beautiful village!"

    We’ve stayed in several now, and this one far exceeded our expectations. As always, a flawless experience with Sykes who have become the first place we search! Many thanks!

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Post office and you're loyalty to Sykes is greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you back in The Cotswolds soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by William5.0Jun 2021

  • "This is a good house in a lovely location with an excellent pub & cafe/shop within walking distance."

    However, the cleaning & management of the property were poor. There was no guest information folder & no offer to supply a replacement when we advised they were missing. I appreciate this property welcomes 1 well behaved dog but the cleaning must be on point for the next guests - we had to vacuum the lounge area (and empty the drum twice with dust & dog hair) and clean dog dirt from grandchildrens’ balance bikes in the garden. We enjoyed our stay but the house needs more thorough maintenance (slow draining basins, light bulbs replaced, broken bed slat replaced as examples) and a review of cleaning procedures and performance to match the facilities it offers.

    Reviewed by Geoff3.4Jun 2021

  • "Great family holiday."

    House was perfect. Great location in the valley of Coln. Lots of other famous areas of the Cotswolds in easy driving distance. The house was very well equipped. The kitchen was perfect for us as we love to cook. Fully equipped with everything anyone could need. The village was perfect down to the village store and cafe which were excellent and the New Inn which had pre-booked for a couple of meals inside with the new regulations lifting - perfect!. Couldn't recommend enough. The only thing to be careful of is that mobile reception was very poor and wifi only worked in certain areas of the house which made life a bit difficult for some of us who unfortunately still had to work a bit even though we were meant to be on holiday.

    We are pleased to hear you had a great family holiday and The Old Post Office perfect. Thank you for recommending the New Inn, it is useful for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by J5.0May 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms
  • Second floor Master Suite with super-king size bed, freestanding roll top bath and ensuite. First Floor 3 Bedrooms, 2 Double and 1 Twin room. Family bathroom with bath, hand held shower WC and washbasin. Living room, Dining Room, Kitchen/Diner and Utility Room
  • Large garden with terrace
  • Central heating throughout, 2 woodburning stoves (kitchen and dining room), electric hob and oven, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, downstairs cloakroom, wifi, Smart TV upstairs and downstairs
  • Fuel and starter pack of logs supplied
  • No hand rails on any stairs
  • Bed linen and towels included
  • Large, enclosed rear garden and patio with garden furniture
  • No smoking
  • Shop 50 yards, pub 100 yards
  • 1 well behaved dog welcome.

The property

The Old Post Office is a true Cotswolds’ gem, situated in one of the region’s most attractive villages.

Originally, it won’t surprise you to read, it was the village post office, with living quarters set across the three floors.

Today it has undergone a complete refurbishment and is now presented in a cool and contemporary style with attractive furnishings throughout, whilst retaining a wealth of character and charm.

On the ground floor you will find the large and beautifully appointed lounge, furnished with large, squishy sofas - perfect to enjoy the latest offerings on the large flatscreen tv, or just relax and lose yourself in a good book.

This leads through to large dining room, complete with log-burner, a perfect place to enjoy your latest culinary creation and while away the hours with family or friends.

At the rear of the property, with views across the lovely, enclosed garden you will find the stunning farmhouse style kitchen, with it's lovely vaulted ceiling.

You could also seek a bit of peace and quiet and curl up by yet another log-burner.

The rooms are spacious and it easily accommodates eight people with the four bedrooms set across the two upper floors.

On the first floor you will find 3 of the bedrooms (2 doubles and a twin bedroom) which share the recently refurbished family bathroom.

The master bedroom, a stunning suite on the top floor for a lucky pair enjoys stunning views of the village and surrounding countryside.

Outside is a good sized garden with a grassed area and terrace and ample seating.

As you’d hope with an old post office, the property is right in the heart of the village, with an award winning local shop opposite, selling a wide selection of produce.

There is also an excellent village pub, The New Inn, which is about 100 yards down the lane from your front door.

The village is one of the Cotswolds’ prime locations, set within the Coln Valley, with endless walk and bike rides from your door.

The famous village of Bibury about 2 miles away and other more notable places such as Burford and Cirencester within a short drive.

All in all The Old Post Office is a fabulous place to kick back and relax, and enjoy all that this lovely and unspoiled part of The Cotswolds has to offer.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location

COLN ST ALDWYNS

Bibury 2 miles; Cirencester 8.5 miles; Bourton-on-the-Water 11.5 miles

Set within the Cotswolds AONB is this peaceful and friendly village. Bordered by the River Coln and surrounded by refreshing green countryside, Coln St Aldwyns is a fine base for visitors to the area. You will find a Grade II* listed church as well as a handy shop and a highly-rated gastro pub, the New Inn. The chocolate-box village of Bibury is just a couple of miles away, known for its rows of quaint stone cottages and surrounding greenery. Slightly further afield is the striking market town of Cirencester, laced with attractive buildings and varying attractions. Bourton-on-the-Water, Stow-on-the-Wold and Moreton-in-Marsh are among the most characterful and must-visit locations close by. On the western fringe of the Cotwolds, discover the spectacular city of Gloucester and the town of Cheltenham, home to the famous horse racing festival.

The open fires in the lounge and bedroom are purely decorative and must not be used.
No hand rail on any stairs.
This property requires a Good Housekeeping Bond of £400.00.
Dogs to be kept in the kitchen / diner please.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas