Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 36 View Image Gallery
  • Petals Patch - Cotswolds - 1097891 - photo 1

Petals Patch

(Ref. 1097891)

Lower Slaughter, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (11)
  • lovely (8)
  • our (6)
  • more (5)
  • property (5)
  • comfortable (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a wonderful tranquil stay in this beautiful property."

    It was so quiet and restful and we enjoyed the comfortable surroundings. The upstairs mezzanine was lovely for working - great place to write a book! We struggled a bit with the heating to start with and had to ring the owner - maybe a short explanation in the guest book would be helpful for guests? No shaver/toothbrush sockets in the bathrooms so that needs to be noted on the property guide. Overall a bit light on crockery and cutlery for 4 people - we probably had to put the dishwasher on more because of that but that shouldn’t detract from a beautiful well-appointed property and the promise that we will be back!

    Reviewed by Lindsey4.7Apr 2024

  • "Our second stay at Petals Patch, everything as lovely as last time."

    We had a minor issue that was promptly sorted out by the owner who couldn’t have been more helpful. The beds are very comfortable and all the furnishings are of a high standard. Location is excellent for all the Cotswolds has to offer. Lovely setting too.

    Thank you very much for choosing us again. And thank you for your feedback too. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Nov 2023

  • "We had a great time at Petals Patch even though the weather wasn't the best."

    We had everything we needed and loved watching the horses in the fields outside. The things I thought could be better :- 1) The keybox which was the most complicated I've ever come across. 2) The toilet roll holder in the downstairs en-suite was loose. 3) A shower caddy would be good to save having to bend down to pick up bottles of shampoo etc. It is quite a small shower tray in an area which could easily have one full width, still that would be a long term project. 4) It took us 5 days to discover the light switch by the downstairs bedroom door to the living area lights. It's hidden by the curtains! By convention all switches should be on the door handle side not the hinge side. 5) We found the large glass table lamps took up a lot of the bedside table which was also small. We have phone chargers, Kindles and various medications etc so it was quite tight. 6) There are also a few snagging items such as missing grout from a tile in the en-suite and no radiator pipe covers to hide the holes in the tiles. It would also be nice to have perhaps some internal drawers in the kitchen units above and below the microwave to allow more food storage area. These units have a lot of wasted space. As it was we ate out most of the time so it didn't matter to us but might to a large family. Also the front door "Stable door" bolt between the lower and upper halves is quite loose causing the door to rattle and we thought on a number of occasions that somebody was knocking on the door. It was quite windy though. All the above are probably a consequence of my career in construction having to look for faults before handing over properties to clients. Overall it was a lovely place & I'd stay again without hesitation.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us review and your professional views and advice. We will endeavour to rectify all the issues you highlighted. The issues that are not straight forward to fix like the light switch on wrong side of door.. we will put visible sign so our guests can find it easily. Ironically, we had to take some shelving out from the unit you mentioned, as previous guests suggested there are unnecessarily too many shelving and storage that have taken space. So maybe we can offer extra shelf option for those who need more storage space. We are very much pleased to know that overall you had a lovely stay. We apologise for those inconveniences occurred. We hope to host you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeffrey4.4Sep 2023

  • "A Beautiful property ideally situated for the most popular places to visit in the Cotswolds."

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us feedback (amazing feedback)! We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. We very much hope to host you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic stay, thank you."

    Only one thing comes to mind, is that the amount if flies when you open the gorgeous windows. We realise it is near horses and you get flies. But a portable fan would would make it a lot more comfortable on warm to hot days. Other than that, our stay was brilliant. So close to so many places, we were split. Thank you

    Thank you very much for taking your time to give us feedback. We are very much pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay. Sincere apologies about flies. Unfortunately we're experiencing higher than normal fly outbreak in some part of Gloucestershire and Oxfordshire last couple of weeks. Thank you for the head up, we will make sure portable fan is available. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Jun 2023

  • "Excellent location."

    Quiet and peaceful. Spacious. Would book again

    Thank you very much for taking your time to give us an amazing review. And we very much look forward to hosting you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2023

  • "Lovely surrounding, very peaceful."

    Convenient for visiting Cotswolds. Perhaps a couple more smaller trays for use in the oven.

    Thank you VERY much for taking the time to give us (amazing) feedback. Very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Apologies if you had short of trays, we will add some more smaller trays, thank you for pointing out. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0May 2023

  • "Stunning property, fabulous location close to all the Cotswolds villages."

    Walking distances of the Slaughters. The Wheatsheaf at Northleach serves fantastic food and Circencester is well worth a visit. The men enjoyed the Hawkstone Brewery Tour which is also within staggering distance. Highly recommend a stay at Petals Patch

    Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for choosing Petals Patch. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsay5.0Apr 2023

  • "We've just returned from a lovely break at petals patch and wanted you to know how much we enjoyed our stay."

    Your barn is really well maintained with high quality fixtures and furnishings. The bedrooms and bathrooms are warm and welcoming, lovely and clean with very comfortable mattresses. I did find the pillows a little hard but thats probably because I use goose feather ones at home. The main living areas have everything we needed for comfort with a lovely view of the horses and the kitchen was well thought out. We've visited this area many times and find petals patch very central for travelling to all the beautiful villages nearby. We would definitely visit your property again and highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in this area. Thank you for a lovely break.

    Thank you so much for taking your time to give us feedback. As a host nothing is more gratifying than knowing that guests had an enjoyable stay, so very pleased to hear it. We will endeavour to source and provide softer/thinner goose like spare pillows as an alternative choice. We will be delighted and look forward to hosting you again. Thank you for choosing Petals Patch! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Apr 2023

  • "Very modern and in a lovely setting."

    Some minor issues. Assuming we were the first visitor's this year. Stale smell of stagnant water in bathroom on arrival. Once shower had been used this went. Floor in living area had been brushed but not moped. Large water like stains around bottom of stairs to the mezzanine floor. Glass on floor next to couch on mezzanine floor,( still there now for you to see ). Therefore, area not cleaned from previous occupants. Bathroom extractor fan rattles constantly when windy, very annoying when trying to sleep, probably not a lot you can do to change this. Television has a very poor reception, maybe due to the Internet or poor WiFi. Also in our opinion on the wrong wall being on an angle to the seating area would be better hung where the picture is. You may think by stating the above we were not happy with our stay. This is not the case as we had a very enjoyable stay, just thought we would highlight some minor points as we would be happy to return. Especially if you added a hot tub!!!!

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. We are mortified to hear the property wasn't cleaned to the standard we normally like to achieve. We sincerely apologise, and we will make sure that doesn't happen again. Unfortunately, the down side of being in rural area the wifi reception is not as fast and good as the urban broadband. We will endeavour to install hot tub in the future. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyable time. And thank you very much for choosing Petals Patch for your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William3.8Mar 2023

  • "This property is fabulous."

    It has everything you could wish for in a self catering holiday: a well equipped kitchen, warmth and comfort , quiet, brilliantly situated for exploring the Cotswolds, easy parking, an amazing welcome pack and accessible and friendly owners if you need to know anything. The only things we might ask if possible is if there could be added a serving dish for salad etc in the kitchen and maybe a small stool to put things on in the upstairs bedroom and information about the bins in the visitor book. These things are not essential but would be nice. We had a great stay there and are looking forward to going again as soon as possible.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback. We’re delighted to know that you had enjoyable stay. Thank you for pointing out.. we have placed extra bowls and serving dishes in the cottage. Bin instructions sorted, and stool ordered. We look forward to hosting you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Feb 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay, warm and toasty in this very cold weather."

    Beds were extremely comfortable. No issues with any appliances. Nice outlook and patio to enjoy in the warmer months. Would recommend and will definitely return as we found the facilities to be suited to someone with reduced mobility. Nespresso machine a huge bonus! The only thing that would enhance further would be some baking trays, foil and kitchen roll! Thank you.

    Very happy to hear that you had a lovely stay. Thank you so much for taking time to give us your feed back.. baking tray, kitchen roll and foil are sorted! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Dec 2022

  • "During our recent stay we had a couple of issues with the heating not coming on regularly which meant it was very cold in the morning and also we couldn’t get the hob to work."

    I tried to contact the owner on 3 separate occasions and had no response, very disappointing. Welcome pack was extremely limited and the cottage would benefit from an information brochure highlighting walks, restaurants etc for guests. The outside area of the barn was full of tiles and rubbish which was quite unsightly. Would not hurry to book again.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that you had uncomfortable stay… The heating is on thermostat with display to increase/decrease temperature to personal comfort. We also live in nearby and believed we’re visible particularly while tending the horses, so we can be approached for any issues. In the future we’ll try our best to be more visible considering we’re in the countryside and phone reception could be in and out at times. The cottage’s matching Cotswold stone (not rubbish) at the corner of the yard.. we thought it’s as far away from the cottage as possible and normally kept covered but the wind would have blown it over. So we sincerely apologise that impacted your stay negatively - we’ll endeavour to find them home very soon. For walk, unfortunately the only two off road footpaths nearby are those ones the information provided in the property, still both connect the villages around. We will gather restaurant information from nearby villages for our guests asap - thank you for the head up on that. We’re also so sorry to hear that you had trouble with the Hob and the manual didn’t sort the issue. Again, thank you and we very much appreciate your feedback! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michele3.1Nov 2022

  • "We had an amazing break in this beautiful cottage."

    It was even better than we expected. The location was perfect and what a lovely surprise to wake up to 3 friendly horses in the field one morning. The only tiny thing that I can give as feedback is slightly bigger drinking glasses in place of the small ones but that is just a minor thing and did not affect our stay in any way. The welcome treats were also very much appreciated. We can’t wait to return.

    It’s absolutely wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay including the company of our 3 cheeky horses (Ronnie, Spyder and Badger). We’ll make sure bigger drinking glasses are available at the property asap. Thank you very much for taking your time to give us review/feedback. We very much look forward to welcoming you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Oct 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x ground-floor king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail, and WC, 1 x king-size with Juliet balcony and en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail, and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Mezzanine snug
  • Gas Central heating
  • Electric oven, induction hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, espresso machine, washing machine, dishwasher
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Private driveway for 2 cars
  • Rear garden with patio, lawn, furniture, and charcoal barbecue
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.8 miles, River Dikler 0.6 miles
  • Note: Guests will pass an industrial entrance to the owner's land, followed by a private entrance onto the grounds of Petals Patch

The property

Resting in Lower Slaughter in Gloucestershire is this two-bedroom barn conversion, Petals Patch.

Enjoying far-reaching countryside views and a tranquil setting, whilst completed with original vaulted ceilings, exposed beams, stone walls, and oak flooring, the cottage is ideal for a family of four, looking to explore the Cotswolds AONB.

Benefit from a sleek kitchen, full of expected culinary appliances, before dining around the formal table or relaxing upon the plush velvet sofa.

For some peace and quiet, venture up to the mezzanine snug, or perhaps discover the outdoor seating area with a barbecue in tow, perfect for alfresco dining.

The ground floor is completed by a king-size bedroom, featuring an en-suite shower room, and a further shower room, whilst the first floor consists of a stylish king-size bedroom with a Juliet balcony, also housing an en-suite.

Travelling into Lower Slaughter, enjoy a stroll alongside River Dikler before benefiting from the village's service station and local pub.

Just a short journey away you'll also find Greystones Farm Nature Reserve, Cotswold Motoring Museum & Toy Collection, The Dragonfly Maze; all family-friendly days out.

By car you'll also reach Birdland Park & Gardens, a wildlife park home to diverse species, Jurassic Journey, perfect for bird watching, and The Model Village, a quaint replica of Burton-on-the-Water.

Heading into the county, the National Waterways Museum Gloucester is a must-visit, along with Pittville Park, featuring a boating lake and playground, whilst Imperial Gardens is a fitting place to enjoy an afternoon picnic and sightsee.

Gather in Gloucestershire at Petals Patch.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Upper Slaughter 1.1 miles; Bourton-on-the-Water 1.7 miles; Cheltenham 16.7 miles.

Lower Slaughter is a village in the Cotswold district of Gloucestershire, England, four miles south west of Stow-on-the-Wold. The village is built on both banks of the River Eye, a slow-moving stream crossed by two footbridges, which also flows through Upper Slaughter. At the west end of the village there is a 19th-century water mill with an undershot waterwheel and a chimney for additional steam power. There is a ford where the river widens in the village and several small stone footbridges join the two sides of the community. Lower Slaughter is home to the pretty church of St Mary. The church and its impressive spire were re-built in 1867 but some arches between the nave and the south aisle date back to the 13th century while the church of St Peter's, in Upper Slaughter, is a historic Norman church with parts dating from the 12th century. The village hosts a service station and a traditional pub, The Slaughters Country Inn, meaning guests are well-catered to during their break here. Bourton-on-the-Water isn't far and makes for a lovely outing, thanks to its Birdland Park & Gardens, the Cotswold Motoring Museum & Toy Collection, and the Greystones Farm Nature Reserve.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas