Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Cotswolds 34 minutes ago

10 people have recently viewed this property

  • Stow Cottage - (Ref. 988649)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 28 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Stow Cottage - Cotswolds - 988649 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Stow Cottage

Stow-On-The-Wold, Gloucestershire (Ref. 988649)

4.7

Excellent

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

47 Customer Reviews

  • "Due to the Government warnings for the over 70's regarding travel and social ..."

    Due to the Government warnings for the over 70's regarding travel and social contact we had to cancel the whole Cottage holiday at very short notice We do not expect a full refund but would appreciate a combined offer from Manor Cottages and the Cottage owner We look forward to a time when normality returns and we can once again enjoy a cottage holiday with manor Cottages

    Thank you very much for your comments we are so pleased to see that you have managed to rebook your stay at Stowe cottage for dates in 2021 Property Owner

    Reviewed by PeterApr 2022

  • "Excellent property with all the facilities you would need."

    Located in a perfect spot to explore the area with lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Would definately return and recommend to family and friends

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we're so glad you enjoyed staying in the property and loved the location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Stow Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulApr 2022

  • "Shower was totally inadequate for main shower-4 people having to share the smallest shower I have ever seen."

    It also leaked onto floor-something other guests commented on last summer but nothing been done. Bedding was appalling-flattest pillows which were not fit for purpose.The duvets were poor quality and very tired and well worn with the stuffing broken down. You talk about ‘COVID safe & clean’ but this bedding hasn’t been replaced for years & years and definitely not since reopened after COVID and is quite simply not acceptable for a rental cottage.

    Reviewed by GillMar 2022

  • "Very cosy, good sized rooms and great location."

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had a lovely stay and would love to welcome you back to Stow Cottage any time in the future. Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnFeb 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in brilliant location."

    We contacted Cat over a problem with the oven. With it being 2 days before Christmas, we didn't expect a brand new oven within the next 2 hours. Cat went above and beyond to sort it out. Welcome tray with cake and a real effort with Christmas decorations. Parking is real bonus. Can't fault it, would highly recommend.

    We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday at Stow Cottage over Christmas. Thank you for this lovely feedback, we hope you decide to holiday in the Cotswolds with us in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HelenaDec 2021

  • "An oven glove would have been very useful plus more than 1 tea towel."

    Otherwise kitchen very well equipped.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your feedback onto the owner for full consideration. We hope to welcome you back to the property soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JudithOct 2021

  • "See COR-228652-CF Some kitchen items had not been washed ie dirty fat in bottom of roasting tin, dried peas stuck on side of saucepan Only winter duvets available on beds - this was during a 30 C heatwave !"

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2021

  • "A well equipped homely cottage that more than met our needs."

    The location is great for walking into Stow and an excellent base for visiting the best parts of the Cotswolds.

    We are pleased to hear Stow Cottage more than met your needs! Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipMay 2021

  • "Nice house the only thing is the bush in front garden when we have 4 in the car ..."

    Nice house the only thing is the bush in front garden when we have 4 in the car we have to stop to let everyone out apart from that would go again

    Thank you for your comments regarding the bush, we will pass it on to the owner. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlieMay 2021

  • "A lovely stay in a very comfortable and clean cottage."

    It had all the facilities and equipment we needed and was in a great location, just a five minute walk from the high street. Has space for one car on the drive but there are a few visitor parking spaces too. Would definitely stay again!

    We would love to welcome you back in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LisaSep 2020

  • "Stow Cottage was absolutely lovely, the perfect base to visit all areas of the Cotswolds."

    The cottage was exactly as described and all amenities provided for. The bottle of wine and biscuits on arrival were a lovely touch. The only issues we had during our stay was the fact that there was no welcome pack in the property so we had no idea of where to put all the various bins on collection day plus we had to sort out the previous occupants rubbish as they had put many items in the wrong bags. I contacted the owner who provided the necessary information. In every cottage we have stayed in previously there has always been a welcome folder for things like Wi-fi passwords etc. Luckily as computer engineers we knew where to look for this sort of thing. I also had to advise the owner that the dishwasher didn’t open without the kick board coming off, I found this out when it landed on my big toe! Again we have had advised the owner who was unaware of this problem. We would definitely use this cottage again and hope to be back in a couple of years.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on Stow Cottage. Due to Covid 19 owners were advised to remove certain items such as welcome folders from the properties, we apologise for the inconvenience this caused you. Thank you for contacting the owner during your stay so they were able to provide you with the information you required. We hope you return to the cottage in the future. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonAug 2020

  • "A wonderful cottage, located in walking distance of all the amenities of Stow village."

    Equipped with all kitchen utensils you could possibly require Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by JillJan 2020

  • "Great location with the benefit of off-road parking, very well equipped accommodation."

    Only slightly frustrating elements were having to put the rubbish out for recycling for the previous occupants as well as our own at the end of our stay. Also a number of switches had black tape over them which obviously shouldn’t be used, but more of why. This is especially on a 3 way switch, were there electrical issues in the property ? There were no notifications to determine this.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry you had to deal with the rubbish. The black tape is on the switches as they need to remain on at all times as they are outside lights or the extractor fan. There is no problem with the electrics at all. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Stow Cottage Property Owner

    Reviewed by WayneDec 2019

  • "Our family had a wonderful Christmas at Stow Cottage."

    The cottage was perfect for our family of 4 with 2 very young boys. The location is amazing - literally a few moments away from all of the pubs, cafes, restaurants as well as access to country walks. We have booked again for Christmas 2020!

    We are glad you had a wonderful family Christmas and we look forward to welcoming again this Christmas! Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaDec 2019

  • "The cottage was really comfortable, clean and cosy."

    It was a pleasure to come back to it after a long tiring walk. It was perfectly placed for everything. Within a Two minute walk we had cafes, pubs, shops and restaurants. Perfect stay we loved it.

    Reviewed by ChristineNov 2019

  • "Lovely cottage, good parking and close to the town centre."

    Stow on the Wold is a beautiful town with excellent pubs, cafes and shops and makes a good base for exploring the Cotswolds.

    Reviewed by LarissaOct 2019

  • "Lovely property in a convenient location for short walk into town."

    Beautiful views over fields at the back. Well equipped kitchen.

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2019

  • "The cottage was well equipped, comfortable and in an ideal location being quietly situated, but only a few minutes walk from the centre of Stow."

    The town is well served with pubs and other eating places, together with a good range of shops, including a Tesco store on the outskirts. It is an ideal base for visiting many of the attractions in the area.

    Reviewed by DavidSep 2019

  • "The accommodation was of a high standard,very well stocked& very generous in what was provided."

    The cottage is very close to Stow,and very central for visiting The Cotswolds.We spent a very enjoyable week& would recommend it to friends&family. Compliments to the owner,Thanks.

    Reviewed by JamesSep 2019

  • "Location was excellent."

    Cottage had everything we needed. Bottle of milk and biscuits was a nice welcoming touch. Thanks!

    Reviewed by BarrieAug 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage, perfect location a 5 minute walk from lovely shops, tea rooms and restaurants."

    Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Reviewed by RebeccaAug 2019

  • "Lovely cottage idealy located only a 2 min walk to the shops."

    The property on the whole was in good order through out, just a couple of small items need some attention, the taps in the on suite shower room need new washers and the hand shower in main bathroom was leaking also the taps were so hot after running a bath we had to put a towel around it to turn it off. There are signs up stating that the water is very hot but i would have thought the boiler temp could be turned down. Just one last thing all the window hinges need a good spray of WD40 as they are hard to open and close. These negative things are only a a couple of hours job but if nobody tells the owner nothing gets done, but saying all of that it was a very quiet area and a lovely cottage and would go there again.

    Reviewed by AllanJun 2019

  • "Good base for touring the area"

    Reviewed by MartinJun 2019

  • "The house is very well-appointed and in a quiet location; access information for spot on."

    The quietness may soon be compromised as the allotments which were behind the house, are no fenced off for building. Parking is tight unless you have a small car. The dishwasher hadn't been emptied, nor had the recycling bins in the kitchen. This was at odds with everything else. Dishwasher tablets were listed but nor there. It is in a very good location for visits to most places in the Cotswolds and regardless of weather, there is plenty to do.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2019

  • "Pretty much everything you would need was provided."

    A great property for easy access in to Stow to sample the numerous eating places and great tea shops.

    Reviewed by P & LApr 2019

  • "Although we found the Cottage fairly easily from the instructions, the reference to The British Legion was confusing at first as it is signed as The Stow Social Club, not per your instructions."

    Reviewed by PeterApr 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely and well situated."

    Having stayed in the cottage previously, the new furniture etc. downstairs is an improvement as is the new smart TV. It was well decorated for the festive season with a beautiful Christmas tree. We had a relaxing time at the cottage. Some small improvements could be made such as replacing the shower head in the en suite, providing larger bath towels and having better quality bed linen but overall it’s a lovely place to stay.

    Reviewed by JeniDec 2018

  • "Lovely cottage - well proportioned for a small group ..."

    Lovely cottage - well proportioned for a small group Not ideal if you plan to do a lot of cooking as very little "prep" space - but so easy to get in and out of Stow Perfect having two bathrooms and a downstairs loo - for two couples who just plan to chill, explore and dine out

    Reviewed by JohnNov 2018

  • "Very clean property in lovely quiet location."

    Mrs. D-T.

  • "The property was well appointed, clean and had a lovely garden overlooking the allotments."

    We did not dislike anything about it. We liked the fact that it is in a quiet position yet close enough to the town to walk to the shops.

    Mrs Wainwright

  • "Very clean and tidy, great location, fully equipped kitchen."

    Mr Avis

  • "Excellent accommodation - and a very good location."

    Mr Walker

  • "It was clean, comfortable, everything was high quality, had everything we needed & more."

    Mr Clapton

  • "Had a lovely Christmas break at the cottage; which looked wonderful with its Christmas decorations."

    S And J.

  • "Cottage was well located, well equipped and very cosy."

    D,G,K,M.

  • "The cottage was lovely, clean, had everything you could want and very well appointed to walk into Stow on the Wold, it literally is only 3 minutes walk and Stow is beautiful with some lovely quaint shops, and some lovely cafés."

    The cottage is located in such a quiet place, you wouldnÂ’t think you were just off the main street. It really is worth the money, and I would recommend this particular cottage to anyone.

    Mrs Smith

  • "The accommodation was lovely and clean and very well presented with good stock of cutlery, plates, pans etc."

    \ \ \ Fantastic location, five minutes walk from the shops and pubs etc. easy access to local villages. Lovely quaint town.\ \ \ Also Manor Cottages website was good, easy to find what we were looking for. Easy to book and excellent service.

    Mrs Frost

  • "Excellent location, superbly equipped and spotlessly presented"

    Mr Beken

  • "The cottage had everything you needed and everything in the right place."

    Couldn't find anything we didn't like.

    Mr. D.

  • "High standard accommodation in excellent location"

    Mr Douglas

  • "The cottage had everything."

    It was just like a home from home, everything had been thought of and supplied and the ambience and decor was just stunning. Location was superb just a short stroll into the town centre and views over the countryside from the terrace outside.We will want to book it again.

    Mr Robinson

  • "Available at the right time and handy for all the events we planned."

    Had two bathrooms. Very handy for town.

    Holden

  • "Clean & comfortable."

    Centrally located.

    Ms Bowen

  • "The cottage was immaculate, home from home, great location, plenty to see & do just what we needed"

    Mrs Wilde

  • "Comfortable furniture, well equipped kitchen and good location."

    Mr Phillips

  • "Spotlessly clean, comfortable, minutes walk from the town and very well furnished."

    Mr Gobey

  • "Very clean, quiet --not on a busy street, parking, well supplied, requested extra towels and got them, shortcut to the town square, Stow is a good location for touring the area."

    Mrs Martin

Show more

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size double with en suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower attachment, basin and WC, ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living room with dining area with gas flame effect fire.
  • Central heating, gas flame effect fire
  • Gas hob, electric oven, large fridge freezer, washing machine, dishwasher and microwave
  • TV with Freeview, WIFI blue ray player , plus CD and radio
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Garden with patio to the rear and table
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles.

The property

Situated at the heart of Stow-on-the-Wold is this delightful mid-terrace cottage.

Stow Cottage is a spacious cottage, resting within a secluded location, making a delightful base for a family getaway to the Cotswolds.

Be greeted into a charming sitting room, where a warming gas flame effect fire fills the room with a welcoming atmosphere, while you lounge on the sofas.

Prepare all of your meals within the well-appointed kitchen, where you will find all the necessities to rustle up an evening meal before gathering the family within the dining area to plan the day’s ahead.

Retire of an evening within one of the three well-appointed bedrooms, comprising of a king-size double bedroom with an en-suite shower, a double bedroom and a single bedroom, each boasting a warm charm.

Outside, you and your loved ones can enjoy a summer’s evening within the rear patio area, complete with table and chairs, perfect for enjoying a well-deserved glass of wine.

If you fancy an evening out, take a leisurely stroll into the centre of Stow-on-the-Wold, where you will find a wealth of pubs and restaurants to suit all, as well as a number of shops to pick up any essentials.

The local area plays host to a number of attractions to keep you busy, such attractions include Chastleton House and grounds, where you can take in the history of the country house or enjoy a leisurely stroll within the lovely grounds.

Also, close by is the village of Bourton-on-the-Water, where you can explore the Model Village or get lost within the Dragonfly Maze.

Make Stow Cottage your Cotswold base for a superb break for you and your family.

View on map

About the location

STOW-ON-THE-WOLD

Bourton-on-the-Water 4 miles; Stratford upon Avon 15 miles.

The highest town in the Cotswolds, Stow-on-the-Wold, originally an Iron Age Fort, epitomises olde worlde England. This ancient market town has played host to many fairs since the 12th century and today holds a biannual Gypsy Horse Fair, craft fairs and monthly Farmers' market. The vast market square boasts an ancient cross at one end and the village stocks at the other, surrounded by an elegant array of Cotswold stone townhouses, antique shops, tea rooms, traditional pubs, award-winning restaurants and its very own cricket museum. Many walks and cycle rides through the beautiful rolling countryside of the Cotswolds can be enjoyed from the centre of Stow, with the Macmillan Way, Heart of England Way, Gloucestershire and Monarch's Way all running close to the town. Bourton-on-the-Water, known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds' as the River Windrush runs through the centre, lies in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is one of the most popular Cotswold villages. The Saxon market town of Moreton-in-Marsh and the quintessential English village of Broadway are all within easy reach and make a great day out. Cheltenham (20 miles away) is, architecturally, the most complete regency town in England. A spa town with an incredible range of shops, cinemas, theatres, restaurants and pubs, it is famous for its horse-racing festival in March, culminating in the Gold Cup steeplechase. At other times of year, it is host to literature, jazz, classical music, science and food and drink festivals. Oxford, the oldest university city in England and sometimes called 'The City of Dreaming Spires’ has an abundance of prestigious attractions, including the 38 colleges of the university (half of which date back before 1600), the oldest university teaching room, the Bodleian Library, Ashmolean and Pitt Rivers Museums, and Botanic Gardens. Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath, Worcester and the waterfront city of Gloucester are also within easy reach, making Stow-on-the-Wold an ideal base.

Region Information

PLEASE NOTE THE STAIRS DON'T HAVE HAND RAILS, STANDARD STAIR CASE.

Please note there is building work taking place near by the back of the property for the next 18 months.


This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it