Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Murton Cottage - Cotswolds - 1004829 - photo 1

Murton Cottage

(Ref. 1004829)

Burford, Oxfordshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (35)
  • our (18)
  • burford (17)
  • location (16)
  • bed (15)
  • stay (14)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "Comfortable, beautifully furnished cottage."

    Enjoyed the little quirky touches like the old name plates. Well placed for days out. Parking easy. However loft bedroom with thin roof not for lighter sleepers. Lorries rumbled through the night, rush hour began at 6am. Feel this should be mentioned in listing.

    Reviewed by Dawn4.4Jun 2024

  • "Lovely and comfortable cottage centrally located in Burford with free parking."

    Comfy beds. Well equipped and nice outdoor seating area. Stairs are steep though. Close to river and countryside walk. An issue with an appliance very quickly resolved.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're glad you found the cottage to be comfortable and loved the location in Burford too. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by S4.7May 2024

  • "Many times difficulty in parking near to the house."

    Very creaky house. Landing on first floor is not flat and older people would have difficulty. No directions included as to how to modify the times or temperature of the central heating. Otherwise all good.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. The property is advertised as grade II listed building with a long history dating back many hundreds of years, which gives this cottage plenty of character. The welcome folder includes the instructions on how to control the heating and hot water. We will ensure this is up to date following your comments. We hope these issues didn't impact your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8May 2024

  • "Everything was very good great accommodation and town and very friendly host."

    Check in time is a bit of a challenge due to parking but clears by about 18:00. We would happily recommend the cottage to anyone looking to stay in the area.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Murton Cottage. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at Murton Cottage. We hope you managed to enjoy some of the lovely little shops on the High Street and some wonderful meals. We would love to welcome you all again soon. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Apr 2024

  • "Beautiful cottage, great location."

    Had a great time, walks, pubs, shops all in doorstep.

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and loved the location too. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Mar 2024

  • "Very pleased with Murton Cottage overall."

    Cottage was well equipped with all necessities for our family Christmas stay. Location is superb with Burford village with access to many local walks, pubs and restaurants.

    Reviewed by Gregory5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely Grade 2 listed cottage."

    Well equipped kitchen. Powerful shower. Quirky and comfortable living room. Very comfortable bed in the main bedroom and our friends confirmed the same for the 2nd floor ensuite. You have to rely on luck for convenient parking as Burford is very busy during the day although there is a free overspill car park a few minutes walk away

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such lovely feedback on your stay at Murton Cottage. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time away and we hope to welcome you again one day soon. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage, and a lovely location."

    We were worried about parking but it seemed for us each time we came to the cottage there was a spot right out front! Comfortable, clean, and very quiet. Our friends from America loved it and so did we. Will definitely come back

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Aug 2023

  • "The cottage is on the main street but we were able to park outside the cottage on most occasions."

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Murton Cottage. It's lovely to hear your enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by William3.8Aug 2023

  • "We wish we could have stayed longer both because of the comfort of the cottage and the relaxation we had in Burford and the rest of the Cotswolds."

    The beds, sofas, and general vibe of the home was so comfortable. If we had stayed longer we could have enjoyed a meal or two on the patio. It was super convenient to go to restaurants and get meals. Parking wasn't bad either.

    Reviewed by Lance5.0Jun 2023

  • "The property worked well for our group of six."

    The rooms were very comfortable and the space was charming. The kitchen lacked some basic provisions like cooking oil which we found a bit odd as we would not typically go out and buy those kinds of provisions for a short stay at a cottage. We did have a few issues with the property. First, there was no welcome provisions or hamper. We arrived late in the day and had no milk for the next morning. When I went out in the morning to get milk across the road, the woman at Bumbles said she or the person she hired had missed the delivery of our welcome package. Had I not stopped by and mentioned that we had no milk, I don't think we ever would have received anything. This was our primary complaint with the property. In addition, there was a neighbor in the parking area when we arrived who was quite rude to us and unhelpful. That colored our stay quite a bit, as it was our very first experience of the property and town. I understand you can't control your neighbors, but still ... we found it quite off putting. Last, parking was very difficult during the day, given the busy-ness of the high street. That was a challenge. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the location was excellent for exploring the surrounding Cotswold towns.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are sorry to hear that the welcome pack was forgotten, this does not happen often and we are sorry for this human error. Summer months are very busy in Burford and majority of properties do not have parking, we advertise roadside parking which is not allocated. Parking spaces are usually available close to the cottage after 1800 and before 0900. There is also a large free car park a 2 minutes walk from the property. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Jun 2023

  • "This was a wonderful cottage." quaint and lovely. Our stay was just perfect in every way. The couple across the road, Sally and Steve were so helpful and made our stay so enjoyable. We love Burford and hope to return as soon as we can.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2023

  • "We loved Murton Cottage and Burford."

    We had trouble with the key box. tried to contact. you on Monday but got no response...Bank Holiday?

    We're delighted to hear you had a lovely time at Murton Cottage. We're sorry that you had problems with the key safe box on arrival. Please may we check which number you tried as the local office was open until 4pm, however there are a two further out of hours contact numbers provided. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary Lou5.0May 2023

  • "Beautiful place but very busy road, people taking pictures of cottage and very expensive to eat and drink"

    Thank you for your cottage. we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Murton Cottage. It does enjoy a central location in Burford (and looks very picturesque with the wisteria in bloom). As well as the many places to eat and drink there is also a local supermarket for those who like to cook at home. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nikita4.7May 2023

  • "The cottage was in a great location."

    Burford was convenient for exploring the local area and the high street itself, though busy, had everything within easy walking distance. The quaint cottage was very tastefully renovated and nicely decorated, it was clean with a well equipped kitchen and lovely comfy beds with quality bedding. The smart TVs were also great. The low beams and stairs, though characterful, were a bit of a challenge for taller people. In all we enjoyed our first visit to the Cotswolds and the stay in delightful Murton Cottage very much.

    We are very pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to The Cotswolds in Murton Cottage. We hope that we can welcome you back here again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vanessa4.7Apr 2023

  • "Beautiful cottage - cosy and with everything needed for a fabulous stay."

    Excellent location for exploring Burford and for circular walks taking in the gorgeous countryside and villages. We will definitely be returning.

    Thank you for the wonderful feedback, we're so pleased that you had fun exploring the local area and pretty villages. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha4.7Mar 2023

  • "A lovely cottage, very well appointed and equipped, with excellent service from both Sykes and Manor Cottages ( who manage the let)."

    Only two shortcomings. There is no Nespresso/ generic coffee machine. For little more than £100 this could be purchased, unless the owner has a vested interested in the London priced coffee shops in Burford, all of which we tried... The cottage gives on to the main high street which is, inexplicably, very busy throughout the night with traffic. I'd suggest internal secondary glazing as a form of sound proofing. We were EXTREMELY impressed by Sykes and Manor Cottages when, on Sunday night at around 18.00, the front door latch key failed to work and we were locked out of our cottage, clutching our keys. Sykes's all hours help team responded very quickly ( thank you Jackie) and contacted the local agents, Manor Cottages. They were equally as impressive, especially given that it was a Sunday evening, and within 30 minutes had sent around a handyman to gain access to the property. A big thank you to Helen and Stuart. Altogether a great stay and excellent service

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time away and we appreciate your suggestions for improvement. We are glad to hear that you were able to access the property quickly after being locked out and hope it did not leave a lasting impact on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again one day soon! Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Feb 2023

  • "Except for the heating not working properly, perfect."

    We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the lovely Murton Cottage, and are pleased that the maintenance team were able to help with the heating quickly. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Phil4.7Feb 2023

  • "Just the most magical cottage."

    From the welcome cake and milk, to the real Christmas tree and the quirky features of the property. In one of the prettiest villages in the Cotswolds.It really did make for a wonderful Christmas.I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Thank you so much for this wonderful recommendation, we're so pleased that you all had a great Christmas here. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deanna5.0Dec 2022

  • "It wasn’t clear if tea, coffee, condiments etc etc would be at the cottage, so we brought our own."

    But beautiful cottage, quality furnishings in a perfect location.

    Thank you for your comments. We do usually provide a stock of basic of tea and coffee etc in all our properties. We are glad you enjoyed the cottage and location. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Erica5.0Nov 2022

  • "With the 6 pm check in, it would have been nicer if there wAs a welcome package with milk, bread and butter."

    We had been travelling all day and thought there may have been a cup of tea at the end but there was nothing until breakfast. There were toenails in the bath on arrival. Crumbs in one of the beds. Maybe chocolate? It was brown and under the quilt so who knows. Socks from the previous guests on the floor. Having said that, the property itself was beautiful and spacious. the super king bed made me never want to leave. Everything looked like quality and there was nothing we wanted for in terms of facilities. Burford is a real picture postcode type of place.

    Thank you for your feedback, and happy that you enjoyed Burford and the cottage facilities.We are so sorry to hear of the issues related to cleanliness at the cottage. We have investigated this and now have a dedicated housekeeping team to ensure these issues do not happen in the future. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham4.4Oct 2022

  • "Beautiful clean cottage in stunning Burford."

    Would highly recommend

    Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and loved Burford. Thank you for the recommendation. Best Wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Oct 2022

  • "The cottage was as described and very comfortable."

    The location was excellent. A welcome pack would have been appreciated. Happy to leave by 10am but a 6pm arrival felt extremely late. We enjoyed our trip to the Cotswolds.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I can only apologies we do put welcome packs in all our properties so I'm truly so sorry this one was missed. As for the check in time we're trying our best to make it as early as possible. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Jul 2022

  • "Enjoyed our stay in Murton."

    Ideal location. Thoughtful touches on arrival. Communication very good. Did not find the road noise disruptive in the top floor room as quoted in some reviews. Parking not a problem as we usually got a spot right outside the property in the evening. One suggestion is that the addition of a dryer or washer/dryer really is necessary - somewhat inconvenient dealing with laundry with just a washing machine for longer stay guests

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will forward your recommendations to the owner, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Manor cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.7Jun 2022

  • "This is the third time we've stayed at Murton Cottage and we've enjoyed the visit as much as the first time."

    Great cottage, great location.

    We're always happy to welcome you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Apr 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage."

    Good location. Traffic noise from top bedroom was horrendous, I think I slept 2 nights in 5. Needs some noise insulation up there. The small bathroom on top floor smelt of drains. When I used the sink to wash the smell appeared despite us using bleach to help dissipate, we all used the 1st floor bathroom in the end. On the last night the smoke alarm went off and turned itself off again - this needs checking. This was 3.00 am in the morning- I was awake anyway due to road noise! Such a disappointment as my wife and I felt exhausted for a lot of the week. Despite being a lovely cottage we will not visit that particular one again.

    Thank you for takig the time to feedback on your stay at Murton Cottage. I'm so sorry to hear that you had trouble sleeping. The high street does not tends to be very busy at all after 9PM and we're sorry to hear that during your stay you were disturbed. We must apologise for the drain smell you experienced - we have investigated this and could not find any issues. It's very strange that the smoke alarm went off at 3AM - this has never happened before and hasn't since. It's a shame to hear that you won't be returning but we hope you do come back to the Cotswolds in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan3.1Apr 2022

  • "The cottage is beautiful and well placed to see the Cotswolds."

    However, the road outside is noisy and the top bedroom, in particular, hears the noise from the road. It would not put me off staying in Murton Cottage again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the cottage and you were not put off by the few cars that travel down the high street at night. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Apr 2022

  • "The cottage is perfectly located if you want to be within walking distance to pubs, restaurants shops etc."

    However, as it is located on a busy high street there is a lot of traffic noise, and every morning we were woken by traffic! The cottage is well equipped but could benefit from having a coffee machine such as a Nespresso, also a tumble dryer could easily be accommodated in the laundry room, which would mean not having air clothes in the cottage. Also we requested two bath towels each but only received one which meant having to wash and dry them half way through the week.

    Thank you for your feedback. We feel this cottage is also in a perfect location and are sorry you were woken by traffic! We will take on board your comments and appreciate your suggestions. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip4.1Apr 2022

  • "A beautiful cottage in the heart of Burford."

    It exceeded our expectations.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice feedback, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lorna5.0Mar 2022

  • "An absolutely fabulous Cotswold cottage full of character and charm."

    Superbly decorated and furnished with tasteful homewares. Modern kitchen. Super comfy bedroom and a bathroom that the wife could spend all evening in.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Feb 2022

  • "Great location and a lovely cottage in the heart of Burford."

    Great history of the cottage and very quirky. Loved it.

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. It's brilliant to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Murton Cottage. We would love welcome you back to the property in the future and thank you once again for providing us with your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jerry5.0Feb 2022

  • "Lovely little cottage very clean ideal position had a great time thank you"

    Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear that you had a lovely time at Murton Cottage, and we would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.4Jan 2022

  • "We had a delightful stay and very much enjoyed Burford."

    Thank you!

    Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Nov 2021

  • "Murton Cottage is an ideal location on the high street."

    Because there where 4 of us, we had the loft bedroom which is a little noisy from the road and a bit challenging with the height, our friends had the first floor bedroom which was fab, we must come alone next time.

    Reviewed by Roger4.7Oct 2021

  • "No heating/hot water when we arrived, had to phone for help but they did fix it very quickly."

    The sound of traffic is very loud in 2nd floor bedroom. The seating area outside is looking untidy. Some of the radiators make a banging noise. Good location and lovely old property.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues that you encountered during your stay and hope that they did not effect your retreat too much. We would love to welcome you back to the cottage anytime in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by D3.4Sep 2021

  • "If you are not used to traffic noise then this is not the place for you, as we discovered, Burford High Street is a bit of a "rat run" for all sorts of traffic and at all times of the day."

    The other noise we could have done without was the village church clock chiming all through the night.

    Reviewed by Helen3.4Sep 2021

  • "Cottage was excellent."

    Everything was carefully considered and we didn't need anything more to make our stay very enjoyable

    Reviewed by Ivor5.0May 2021

  • "My husband and I just had the loveliest, most relaxing 3 day holiday at Murton Cottage."

    We LOVED it, and it totally exceeded our expectations. This is an incredibly charming and historic cottage that is outfitted to a very high standard. It has everything you need and more. It is so beautifully decorated with the perfect period touches, but doesn't sacrifice comfort in any way. The bed was extremely comfortable and the unseasonably chilly and rainy May weather meant we got to enjoy the woodburner as well. The cottage's perfect location on the High Street in gorgeous Burford was also ideal for us because we do not have a car. You have everything you need right there. This cottage is very special and we will definitely plan another visit there in the future. We thank the owners for sharing their home and Sykes Cottages for their excellent customer service!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave you lovely comments on Murton Cottage, it is great to hear that you loved it and it exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Murton Cottage in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria5.0May 2021

  • "This wasn't a holiday!"

    On Christmas Eve we were flooded out of our home and spent 6 weeks at Murton Cottage whilst arrangements were made for longer term rental by our insurers. Sykes staff were very helpful and the staff of Manor Cottaqes who managed Murton were truly superb. We would recommend you to anybody looking for a good holiday (or refuge from a catastrophe!)

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.7Feb 2021

  • "Murton Cottage was lovely - everything had been thought of and the place was beautifully furnished and well-equipped."

    We found it to be very comfortable with everything we needed for a very pleasant week right on the High Street in Burford, with all its wonderful pubs and walks. We particularly appreciated the handy local tips (the Lamb Inn was a favourite for us), enticing book selection, welcome tea/coffee/biscuits and tasteful, quality decor. The built in single beds in one of the rooms were super cute for kids too. We had our two year old with us - she quickly got used to the steep winding staircase between the floors, and the steep stone steps up to the courtyard - but just to flag for others with young children (there are doors at the bottom of each to keep them a bit contained). We had asked that the cot be left out for our daughter, which it wasn't - that meant a bit of a scurry to find it and set it up when we arrived late on the Friday but was no big issue as it was quick to put up. We found Burford to be a great base with plenty of charming shops and eateries, but also easy to get to other places in the Cotswolds. The High Street itself was a little busier with traffic (heavy goods vehicles as well as the usual tourist traffic) than we'd expected. Thank you for such a lovely place to stay.

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We apologise that the cot was not left out for you and we will be taking this up with the house keepers. We would love to welcome you back to one of our cottages in the future. Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Jul 2020

  • "Overall, our stay was very nice but I clicked, "failed to meet expectations" as there were some items I think need improvement on and the owner would find helpful."

    I would rent it again but would be more prepared. 1. I requested that the two separate beds be pulled together to make one which was an option. This wasn't done and honestly, annoying. I don't want to dress a bed while on vacation especially after arriving all the way from the States. 2. Limited towels. It would be nice to know where extra things are. 3. The highchair was requested but it would be nice that since it was requested to be pulled out of the wet laundry room, cleaned and set up. Again, searching for items. 4. I requested the crib which turned out to be a pack n' play. That is fine, but again, not put out in any way or noted where it could have been found. Not fun with a tired baby. 5. The radiant heater which is downstairs and connects to the room with two beds is extremely loud and continues to be loud until midnight. Not great, especially with jet lag, tired baby and in general sleeping needs. 6. The welcome gift was not there. Not a big deal but then when we went across the street to the shop location that was listed of who was to supply it, the owner of the shop was pretty rude and stated she didn't have time to make one before we arrived. We didn't arrive until 7 pm on check-in the night. We didn't pay for a welcome gift but the cottage a few doors down did when we rented that one and it was pretty amazing. Thought the owner would want to know this. 7. Lack of toilet paper. There was one roll per bathroom. This is kinda silly, a few more should be supplied in general. Nobody wants to realize there is only one roll provided when you are about to finish a roll. Overall, the cottage was clean, cozy, and sweet. Lots of cooking supplies available in the kitchen, pretty back patio, nice sized rooms, and a great location. Note parking is best in the morning and evening but we never had an issue. I really love staying right in town to avoid using the car when wanting to pop out to the shops. The welcome book is very thoughtful and well thought out. While I listed many small items to change, I would stay here again and probably will in the near future.

    Many thanks for your feedback, Firstly, our sincere apologies that your bed make up request was not met, this is clearly an error on our behalf. In all our properties there are 2 towels allocated per guests. If any more are required, all we ask is that our guests get in touch so we can accommodate this request.. Likewise all our properties are stocked with starter supplies, however, as these are self-catering there will be limited stock. It is very upsetting to hear that the staff at Mrs Bumbles was rude as you inquired about the missing welcome pack. We will definitely be putting in processes to ensure that this will not happen again. Regarding the noisy radiator, which has never been an issue before, we always encourage our guests to get in touch if they experience any issues during their stay which will enables us to rectify these asap ensuring you have an pleasurable stay. All our contact details are in the Welcome Folder including outside hours / emergency number. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon and will do our utmost to make it as enjoyable as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Oct 2019

  • "We found both the accommodation and area beautiful."

    The owners of Murton Cottage have done a wonderful job of making Murton Cottage feel like a 'home from home' and seem to have gone the extra mile in regards to facilities within the cottage. One very small point to 'flag' is that the the front door lock was loose thus making it tricky to sometimes open the front door (but this is more an indicator to fix as opposed to a criticism!) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and feel the owners have done a tremendous job! Big 'thumbs up!'

    Thank you for your comments and we will send maintenance to attend to the door lock. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dan5.0Sep 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x first floor twin bedroom , 1 x first floor super king size bedroom (zip/link can be 2 x singles on request), 1 x second floor king size
  • First floor bathroom with bath, separate walk in shower, WC and washbasin
  • Second floor en-suite with walk-in shower, w.c
  • and basin
  • Living / Dining room
  • Kitchen
  • External Utility outside.
  • Heating with open fire
  • induction hob & oven, grill, fridge, microwave, dishwasher
  • Utility with washing machine, and freezer
  • TV, Freeview, DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private courtyard to the rear of the property with table and chairs and outbuilding containing a fridge / freezer
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Roadside parking (not allocated) immediately outside the cottage
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: This property requires a refundable £300.00 Good Housekeeping bond
  • Note: Please contact the housekeeper to discuss how you would like the beds made up.

The property

Murton Cottage is a historic property situated at the bottom of Burford's High Street - truly one of the most iconic Cotswold settings.

The cottage is Grade II listed and has a long history which dates back many hundreds of years.

Internally, the property has been renovated and thoughtfully decorated with your ultimate comfort in mind, while still retaining its original period features that make it a truly exceptional country cottage.

Offering a gorgeous sitting / dining room with two sofas, 43'' Smart Ultra HD TV and a dining table for 6 guests, a place you can curl up after a long day and enjoy the effects of the woodburning stove.

With a cosy bookcase full of books to choose from.

The well equipped kitchen has a range of wall and base units, and everything you could need to create mouth watering dishes.

Venture upstairs for the bedrooms, which consist of one Hypnos super kingsize (or twin - please specify at time of booking your preference) complete with smart 43'' Ultra HD TV and one twin room, as well as a family bathroom, with roll top bath and separate walk-in shower on the first floor.

On the second floor you will find the master suite, with Hypnos king size bed and en-suite shower room.

Outside has a private courtyard area, with a table and chairs (and a fabulous feature - the original well, which is now illuminated and safely blocked) , so you can sit out and enjoy the stunning setting, while your pets run around and play.

Off the courtyard there is a stone built outbuilding, where you will find additional cold storage, in the form of an upright fridge / freezer.

Roadside parking is available in close proximity to the cottage.

This property is ideally located in the centre of this quintessential Cotswold town, with a range of local pubs, restaurants and shops to indulge in literally on your door step.

Further afield, why not visit the equally famous destinations of Stow on the Wold, Bourton on the Water and Chipping Norton - all less than 10 miles away.

If you want something a little more peaceful, then why not visit the stunning Blenheim Palace and stroll around in Winston Churchill's footsteps (about 25 minutes away).

Murton Cottage is an idyllic setting in the centre of this bustling Cotswolds destination.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location


Burford is possibly one of, if not THE most famous of the Cotswolds' locations. With its medieval bridge, old stone houses and attractive Tudor and Georgian frontages, Burford is justifiably one of the most picturesque towns in England. Often referred to as the 'Gateway to the Cotswolds', the town was originally a fortified Anglo-Saxon ford which later grew to be an important regional crossroads and wealthy wool town. Located mid way between Oxford and Cheltenham (25 mins each away) it is a little haven of history and beauty that many come to fall in love with when they visit.

The 16th century Tolsey building, once the meeting place for medieval merchants, now houses The Tolsey Museum, a delightful local museum illustrating the town's social and industrial past. The church is stunning, a real gem architecturally with many interesting memorials charting some of Burford's great families. There is also the signature, on the baptisimal font, of Antony Sedley, one of the Levellers besieged in the church in 1649 - three of the ringleaders were executed by Oliver Cromwell's men in the churchyard. History awaits!

With little changing over the centuries, Burford is now very popular with visitors, both for its beauty and history but also for its shopping and antiques, and for the wide variety of places to eat, with restaurants, pubs and teashops. It is an ideal base for visiting The Cotswolds area as it is within easy driving distance of popular attractions such as Blenheim Palace, Sudley Castle, Warwick Castle and several National Trust Houses and Gardens. Bourton on the Water, Bibury, Cirencester and Stow on the Wold are all with 25 minutes from the property.

Please Note: there is a fully refundable Good House Keeping Bond of £300.00
One dog is welcome and charged @ £25.00.
Due to the age of the the property and the nature of the stairs, this cottage is probably not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Also be aware that this cottage has low beams / doorways - there will be places where you may need to duck!!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas