Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • The Linhay - Cotswolds - 988824 - photo 1
close
  • The Linhay - (Ref. 988824)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

The Linhay

(Ref. 988824)

Little Coxwell near Faringdon, Oxfordshire Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (18)
  • lovely (18)
  • property (16)
  • great (15)
  • cottage (15)
  • our (14)

48 Customer Reviews

  • "Positives - lovely location, spacious lounge area, nice bedrooms & plenty of off road parking Negatives - the microwave should be thrown out, it is not hygienic, the base around the turntable & where the door fits, are covered in flakey paint & rust - considering the quality of the other kitchen items - I don’t know how you think this is acceptable in a high cost rental property!"

    Both showers had issues- the en-suite, the vertical rail holding up the shower head had been previously ‘bodged up” with super glue and just fell apart after several uses & you just had to keep pushing the bar back in, the floor drain was also partially blocked.The main bathroom the shower head, had hardly any flow. The low level sofa set up is tired, extremely uncomfortable & very low to the ground ( lots of people have noted this in the comments book) We cut short our stay in the property because of the sofa issue. You have a lovely property and if you fixed these simple issues it would make it a great place to stay and fully justify the price that you charge

    Reviewed by David2.8Apr 2024

  • "Lovely tranquil cottage , nice and spacious we loved staying here it was great ..."

    Lovely tranquil cottage , nice and spacious we loved staying here it was great for us as was near to family would definitely use again thank you x

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at The Linhay. We would love to welcome you back in the future for another stay. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Apr 2024

  • "The property did have a few bulbs out and some of the radiators didn’t work ."

    . there were some chipped glasses .I did leave a message to say about the problems also the dishwasher wasn’t working.. but overall we had a decent stay.the beds and bedding was really good towels good quality.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at The Linhay. I'm sorry to hear you had a few issues at the property, I'm sure if you had mentioned them during your stay, the Owner would have been happy to have addressed them for you. We will make sure this feedback is passed onto the Owner to review. I'ts lovely to hear you had a wonderful time and we hope you managed to enjoy the Cotswolds. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher4.4Nov 2023

  • "We had the king bed which was lovely and comfortable with high quality bedding."

    Beautiful setting and nice space to relax in. Gorgeous real fire. No information regarding getting the keys upon arrival which caused a fair amount of stress. No replies to text messages and phone calls went unanswered. We worked it out fine in the end. Be aware that the only shower is in the en-suite which was quite a big problem although I’m sure won’t be for everyone. There is a bath with hand held shower head in the main bathroom. Kitchen well stocked for cooking. Plenty of seating although the sofa has seen better days. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the surrounding area.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at The Linhay. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed the cottage and thank you for providing feedback. We will pass on your comments to the Owner for review and to ensure future guests do not have same issues you experienced. We hope you managed to enjoy the area and some wonderful meals. We would love to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Olivia4.4Nov 2023

  • "We loved our long weekend at The Linhay."

    Many thanks for the bottle of Prosecco and chocolates from us, and a woof from Rollo for the little chews. We were lucky with the weather for November and got in some walks along the Ridgeway to Uffington White Horse and Weyland's Smithy and in the woods at Badbury (Rollo’s favourite). And then came back to a cosy warm cottage with wood burner (husband’s favourite) and supper (kitchen well supplied with the equipment I needed) The beds were very comfortable, I particularly liked the upstairs bedroom with the sloping eaves. The cottage was beautifully decorated with some special touches, Rollo was a bit puzzled by the dog he kept seeing in the massive mirror in the living room! There was a Waitrose, Aldi and Esso just a mile up the road towards Faringdon which was very handy. And the cottage was easy to get to from the M4. A very pleasant retreat away from the fireworks for our dog, just a few moos in the morning from nearby cattle and I’m sure I heard some owls too

    Thank you for your kind comments. We are so glad that you liked everything and had a comfortable stay. We hope we can welcome you back again. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Nov 2023

  • "On booking the property no warning no visitors allowed on the property."

    found out after paying the non refundable fee. booked for 10 nights for 6 adults. when i was able to speak to the owner I made it clear as i booked the property for my family visiting from cyprus I would be visiting. I also informed her that they would be arriving very late early morning and I would be waiting for them the owner assured me that was no problem. Originally I was expecting 7 of them I would wait for them to take one of them to my house. 6 arrived plus my son who helped them to find their way from the airport. He had his own car and left shortly to go to his own house. They arrived later than expected due to bad weather at about 2am that is 6 adults with 12 suitcases. Next day a text from the owner complaining that the quests next door were awaken and complained. Also a rude reminder that only 6 quest sleep on the property. I assumed that they have cameras on the driveway and saw me leaving on my own. I answered to her texts when i spoke to her she said it was the noise when they arrived not any noise when in the property. 6 adults, 12 suitcases gravel driveway and the 2 properties very close together. The property on first glance is very beautiful and very clean. The log burner one of the reasons I booked it, some wood ready to use when I asked for more I was told I could buy it locally I foolishly assumed that was included to the price. Despite our best efforts not all radiators were working the main one in the lounge they came and repaired it when I told them but in my opinion that should have been checked before my family's arrival. Very low water pressure in both bathrooms shower in the ensuite in need of repair as shower head is floppy. I had informed the owner that my family would not be in the property for 2 nights on return we found out she had come into the house and turned down the heading my family returned again to a cold house. Some extra wood would have been nice for the savings she made as no use of power and water. No instructions were left in the property. My family all adults very respectful of the property. They left no rubbish, tidy up did not strip the beds. I will not be booking again this property,

    Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate that all the guests arrived late and a certain amount of noise was to be expected. We also ensured that the radiator was fixed within an hour of being informed and the heating was only turned down because you were away from the property for 2 days. We did our best to accommodate your requirements and generally gained the impression that you were all enjoying your stay together and having a lovely time. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea3.4Oct 2023

  • "Absolutely stunning property."

    Hidden down a drive and so quiet. The property is spacious and welcoming, with everything catered for. So much attention to detail. Ideally situated for lovely walks and plenty of places to eat and drink. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Sep 2023

  • "Perfect for the purpose of our family get-together and explored as much of the area as we could in the time we had."

    Clean and comfortable. We made use of the BBQ and even brought the dog along. Would stay again.

    Reviewed by Pieter5.0Aug 2023

  • "The Linhay is a great cosy cottage in a great location."

    Pubs and supermarkets near by and a short drive into Faringdon. All the Cotswold’s pretty towns are in easy driving distance. Cosy beds, and a well equipped kitchen make the stay at the Linhay a really pleasant time.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Linhay. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wayne4.7Jul 2023

  • "Booked for my wife’s 60th birthday celebrations with friends, really enjoyed the time and the area lots of walks great pub nearby The Eagle Tavern."

    The barn itself was warm well equipped and spacious, a bit quirky which we liked

    We're delighted that you had fun celebrating your wife's birthday and exploring the beautiful local area. We'd love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Graham4.4Feb 2023

  • "Fantastic property, really happy with it all."

    Thank you Sonia for being so welcoming.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back. Best wishes, Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles5.0Dec 2022

  • "This was one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in."

    Well done! Treve and Maureen

    Thank you for your great feedback. We are so glad that you loved The Linhay. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Nov 2022

  • "Great property for a friends reunion."

    All the facilities were great, kitchen was well-equipped, beds were comfortable, lounge was so cosy with the wood burner. If I had to pick something as a "suggestion for future change": could have done with another shower (over the bath), but for a weekend it was not a problem. The local pub was such a find! Not having to faff for the first nights' meal made all the difference. Amazing food - would definitely recommend. The host left a thoughtful gift of wine and chocolate (and local eggs!) for our arrival - which was very well received. Thanks Sonia.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at The Linhay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property and took full advantage of the local pub! We appreciate your suggestions for improvement and will take these into full consideration. Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christy4.1Sep 2022

  • "An utterly peaceful 2 weeks at The Linhay with just the sound of birds, cows, and rustling leaves."

    A quirky property but containing everything you need whether eating out or coking at the cottage. Sonia is the perfect host, just a call or text away should you need anything. We thoroughly recommend this property.

    Thank you for this lovely feedback and we're delighted you had a peaceful and relaxing stay at The Linhay. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dickon5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in a beautiful area of the country."

    Plenty to do and facilities were very good.

    Thank you for your feedback. It's fantastic to hear that you had such a lovely stay at The Linhay and took full advantage of the beautiful area! We hope to welcome you back to the cottage in the future and thank you once again for providing us with your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Apr 2022

  • "The property was as expected - very clean and comfortable."

    It was perfect for us (4 adults and 2 babies). The king size bed was a little soft for my liking, hence rated a bit lower on comfort. We didn't meet the property owner but they seemed lovely. Would definitely recommend and would like stay again if in that part of the country again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back any time in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kelly4.7Nov 2021

  • "Lovely little escape in the country, perfect get away with friends"

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Oct 2021

  • "Wonderful place to stay- lots of character and space - totally charming Sonia ..."

    Wonderful place to stay- lots of character and space - totally charming Sonia the host is very helpful recommending walks and such in the area - highly recommend

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2021

  • "The Linhay is the third holiday property we have rented from Manor Cottages and as on previous occasions, we were pleased with our choice."

    The Linhay is a characterful and unusual property, pretty well equipped and in a great location; set in quiet and very pleasant countryside but just a few minutes walk to the nearest village.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay at The Linhay. We always love to get feedback from our owners and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil4.7May 2021

  • "Lovely stay very comfortable and beautiful position ."

    Thank you .

    Reviewed by Donna5.0May 2021

  • "Absolutely lovely break, couldn't have wished for anywhere better."

    So many things in the surrounding area to see or the perfect place to kick off ur shoes, light the log burner & just chillax!!!!! We will Definitely be back... We all thoroughly enjoyed it Thank you x

    Reviewed by Liz5.0Sep 2020

  • "It was such a treat to stay at the Linhay."

    The barn was spacious and quirky but the real highlight was the decor. Such an eclectic and stylish selection. There is a little courtyard with fantastic walks on the doorstep so don’t let the lack of a big garden out you off. We will be back.

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0Sep 2020

  • "Linhay is a beautiful and comfortable cottage, with great walks from your door, highly recommended."

    Thank you for highly recommending The Linhay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Seamus5.0Aug 2020

  • "Lovely property, spotlessly clean and super comfortable - the owner was so friendly and welcoming."

    Little touches - fresh eggs, a bottle of bubbly, toiletries etc - were much appreciated and really made a difference. Could use a little more kitchen equipment - a salad bowl for example.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on The Linhay and we will pass your comments to the owner regarding the kitchen equipment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anna4.7Aug 2020

  • "This was a lovely place to stay-- accommodation excellent in every way."

    Reviewed by Fiona5.0Jul 2020

  • "A superb stay in this property, everything worked well, location is great and our host most helpful with our many queries."

    Would not hesitate to recommend and we will rebook next time we return to the UK if available. All in all a great experience Thank you

    We are glad you had a superb stay in The Linhay on your vacation to the UK. We hope you return to the UK and stay with us again in the future. Manor Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Dec 2019

  • "Stay was lovely and owner very helpful."

    The local pub was very nice great food and only 5min walk. The only thing I would say is that the main electric shower was rubbish and hardly gets hot enough to stand under, also the cottage takes a few days to get up to temperature with the heating running flat out and the log burner running pretty much all evening. However beds were extremely comfortable and had a very relaxed stay would recommend just get that shower changed.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for The Linhay. The shower has been replaced with Smart Mira shower. We are pleased you had a very relaxing stay. Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Nov 2019

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the barn."

    We loved the log burner and the open plan layout. Plenty of room for the 6 of us. Great location for visiting Oxford and surrounding area. Accommodation was quiet and peaceful. Listing doesn’t make it clear that the only proper shower is in the twin room en-suite. Barn could do with a bit of TLC and a more thorough clean but overall we were happy and would return.

    Thank you for your feedback on Linhay Cottage, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have amended the property description for the shower, so it is clearer for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victor3.8Oct 2019

  • "It was all lovely - and we were welcomed with Prosecco and chocolate."

    We were lucky with the weather and had beautiful walks and great food at local pubs. The only thing that could have helped would have been if there had been a recycling bin on the premises (although we found a facility locally). Very happy with our stay.

    Reviewed by K5.0Aug 2019

  • "Tidy and clean, but cheap furnishings inside, and out, floors in poor repair and a shower with only one heat setting (boil) detract enormously from what could be a cosy and pleasant experience."

    Reviewed by Lawrence3.4Jul 2019

  • "Property in lovely location and stylishly decorated but in need of some TLC."

    The quality of fitments were of a high standard, however due to the overall cleanliness and lack of maintenance the overall effect was let down. No real garden as such and not really ideal for a small dog due to shingle yard and gaps in boundary. Overall the stay was satisfactory.

    Reviewed by Alison3.4Jun 2019

  • "Very nice place, comfortable beds, everything worked fine and local pub was great on Saturday night."

    Can recommend

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jun 2019

  • "Great place - lots of character and hosts are very welcoming."

    Reviewed by Lars4.4Apr 2019

  • "The property was quaint and unassuming from the outside, fitting perfectly with its surroundings, inside was stylish and cosy, a perfect blend of comfort and old world charm."

    Sonia the owner has an impecible eye for detail and every single fixture and fitting is well thought out. There is a fabulous kitchen but if you dont want to cook, the Eagle is walking distance and the food is superb. You can also order takeaway, so it feels rural but you have all modern conveniences. We hope to visit again.

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Apr 2019

  • "Lovely cottage, very clean and well equipped."

    We did have a few problems, and unfortunately the owner was away, she was very helpful via text though, and we have sent a private message regarding a few issues but this definitely wouldn’t stop us staying at this cottage again as it was perfect for families or friends travelling together and in a good position to discover the Cotswolds.

    Reviewed by Lynne4.7Apr 2019

  • "This was a very nice and extremely comfortable cottage of a very high specification."

    The owners were friendly and happy to provide extra logs for the wood burner but also discreet and made it feel extremely private. All in all a wonderful place to take a break.

    Reviewed by Barbera5.0Oct 2018

  • "The cottage was enjoyable but felt that it could have been slightly better in the following respects: Lack of information and operational instructions."

    Could have done with an information book rather than all piled into a draw with loads of attraction leaflets. Oven and fridge could have been better cleaned. The washbasin in the downstairs bathroom was leaking. These are not terribly negative things and are meant to be constructive. They didn't spoil our stay which, as I say, was thoroughly enjoyable . Richard Utting

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Oct 2018

  • "Likes Nice property in excellent location Impressive range of equipment and ..."

    Likes Nice property in excellent location Impressive range of equipment and appliances - (no chopping board) Good enclosed small garden for the dogs and off-road parking right outside the property Niggles Shower was broken – (not the right head for the shower (not enough pressure)) Toilet seats need tightening Gate needs adjusting as very heavy to keep lifting up to shut No internet available for our whole stay – connected to wifi - but no internet We found the sofas uncomfortable

    3.4Sep 2018

  • "We stayed at the Linhay from 19th to 26th August."

    We were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the cottage was. It was a very comfortable cottage, hence a relaxing week away from work. It is on a farm so our children enjoyed spending time with the animals, which was the highlight of the week for them.

    Monique N

  • "A very enjoyable week; we have already recommended the property to our friends, and hope to maybe visit again ourselves!"

    Mrs Derry

  • "A very well looked after cottage and very helpful owner."

    Mrs Horwood

  • "We had an enjoyable stay at the Linhay which is in a great rural location."

    Communication with the owner was great and Sonia was very helpful. The interior of the property is beautiful, as per the pictures. The property is also very well heated/insulated, perfect for the winter months.

    Skeldon

  • "The Linhay."

    ..Little Coxwell...lovely converted barn.dog friendly.lovely walks.very relaxing week...owner nearby...not intrusive but available and very helpful when needed...would definately recommend to others...

    Ackrill-Smith

  • "The Linhay is a beautiful, spacious, warm and cozy cottage in a great place."

    We used it as a base from which to have a party in the local pub. The landlady is lovely - very relaxed, and just left us to it. \ \

    Mrs Kelly

  • "The house was beautifully laid out and appointed."

    Sonia was a very accommodating host. There was a clothes washing machine in the cottage and she let us hang things out on her clothes line.\ The location was central to the things we were visiting: family in Wantage, the Vale of the White Horse, and Avebury Circle. We walked down to The Eagle one night for.drinks and another night for a very nice restaurant meal. Mrs Van Zuyle, July 2017.\

    Van Zuyle

  • "Very nice open plan living space with cosy bedrooms."

    Mr Wright, April 2017.

    Wright

  • "Excellent quality, so good to be dog friendly also."

    The only improvements would be regular cleaning of the roof windows to increase appeal and outdoor space.

    Brandon

  • "Beautiful location; well furnished cottage; lovely bed linen!"

    Futong

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor super king size double, 1 x ground floor twin, 1 x first floor double (is located in the old barn, connected to the new barn via a small walkway) Bathroom with bath, hand held shower, basin and WC, en suite shower room with shower, basin and WC (en suite in twin bedroom)
  • Kitchen
  • Living area with woodburner.
  • Central heating, woodburner
  • Large 5 ring electric range cooker, triple oven-grill, large American style fridge/freezer, microwave, washing machine and dishwasher
  • TV, DVD, WIFI, iPod dock
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Small courtyard with BBQ
  • Ample off road parking
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 mile, pub 0.3 mile
  • Note: The third bedroom is upstairs in the old barn, which is connected via small walkway to the new barn
  • Note: This property has steep stairs and is not suitable for wheelchair users or walking frames.

The property

Where do we start...

historic, contemporary, cool, inviting, warm - you're almost walking into a magazine shoot!!

This barn has everything.

Located in a quiet corner of Oxfordshire and on the edge of a classic country village,The Linhay is one of a kind.

History suggests the old barn (there are two barns) originally dates back to Tudor times.

Built and perched, literally, on a number of staddlestones it stands tall and proud in the grounds of the owner's beautiful cottage it's filled with classic character, so much that you have to admire at how barns were built all those years ago.

Today, the owner, who is a creative and passionate tour de force, has used all her experience to bring the barns to life with beautiful furniture and now is simply an exceptional choice, ideal for families or couples looking for a break in an attractive location.

Three good size bedrooms, plus two super-smart bathrooms make it ideal for all party sizes.

There is a good pub about 5 mins walk away and a range of super walks literally from your door.

With Oxford about 20 mins drive away and the shoppers paradise of MacArthur Glen 25 mins away, you have got everything for a great break in a superb self catering home.

We absolutely love it! If additional accommodation is required, The Linhay can be booked along with The Hemmel (1015264) to give enough space for 10 guests in 5 bedrooms.

View on map

About the location

FARINGDON

Bibury 14.5 miles; Oxford 18 miles; Cirencester 18.5 miles

This historic market town rests within the wonderful countryside of the Vale of White Horse in Oxfordshire. The Cotswolds lie to the north and the North Wessex Downs AONB to the south. Its characterful streets play host to a vast array of restaurants, shops and cafés making for delightful stop-off points during your visit. Also find Faringdon Folly, a striking tower surrounded by woodland, from which you can enjoy far-reaching views of the area nearby. Faringdon's Olf Town Hall is Grade II* listed. Buscot Park is home to an 18th century National Trust-owned mansion as well as some immaculate water gardens. Find the market town of Cirencester on the fringes of the Cotswolds, with the idyllic village of Bibury also close by, noted for its quaint cottages. Something different can be enjoyed in the city of Oxford, displaying many fine examples of dramatic architecture.

Note: The third bedroom is upstairs in the old barn, which is connected via small walkway to the new barn.
£25 Pet Charge per pet per week
If additional accommodation is required this property can be booked along with The Hemmel (1015264) giving space for 10 guests in 5 bedrooms.
The owner also offers to cook a 3 course meal, which you can eat in her home or in the garden, weather permitting. Please ask us for more details.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas