Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

  • 10 Oceanside - (Ref. 963840)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 12 View Larger Image
  • 10 Oceanside - Devon - 963840 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

10 Oceanside

Ilfracombe, Devon (Ref. 963840)

4.4

(26 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

26 Customer Reviews

  • "This apartment is in a superb location and has amazing views."

    If it had been managed/maintained correctly it would be exceptional. I have already had extensive exchanges with the managing agent, Sandpiper, which is hoping to resolve the issues we encountered. These included: 1. Legal compliance issues. No gas safety certificate displayed (it does exist, they were able to supply it on request), divan bed bases without fire labels (probably because the bases appear to pre-date the introduction of the regulations in 1988!). 2. Several maintenance issues. Missing fridge shelf, broken clocks, insecure worktop in bathroom. 3. Lots of cleaning issues including stained carpets, dirty drawers, dirty window interiors. To their credit, as soon as we notified them Sandpiper offered to come out and attend to things, but as we had already cleaned ourselves we decided not to take them up on their offer.

    Reviewed by SueJun 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay."

    The apartment was clean, comfortable and well equipped, but what really made our holiday was the amazing sea view from the balcony, I don't think you'd ever get tired of it. Ilfracombe itself was a bit of a mixed bag, but provided a good base for some beautiful coastal path walks. We would happily stay in this property again.

    Reviewed by JonMay 2022

  • "Spectacular views in the throes of Storm Eunice."

    Apartment very comfortable and easily one of the best we have stayed in. Very disappointed with check-in times and check out seemed unnecessarily early. Felt local info was poor - for example, no mention of Ringo App for cash free parking and that 24-hour parking was only £2 during low season. However, will definitely return - comfortable, clean, spacious and quiet. Exceeded expectations

    Thank you for your feedback. The check-in/out times have since been amended and a welcome email with useful information is sent directly to guests. - The Cornish Cottage Holidays Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JimFeb 2022

  • "Not a lot of information provided and poor tv access but great wi fi and superb location"

    Thank you for your feedback. We do send a welcome email containing useful information for during your stay, a few days before arrival which we do hope you received. We will arrange for someone to take a look at the issue with the TV's. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GrahamOct 2021

  • "The location of the property is simply amazing."

    . as described. The mezzanine play area is great and beds comfortable. However, the bathrooms are very tired. Cleaning wasn’t great - the sofa had rubbish and mess still under it. The TVs stopped working (although this was Sunday and we decided to leave Monday). This apartment just needs a little TLC. We did call the property manager who was apologetic and if we were staying longer would have tired to help us.

    Thank you for completing your feedback. A schedule of property maintenance and re-decoration is planned for over the forthcoming winter months. We were unaware of any issues with the TV's, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will arrange for someone to check all the TV's in the apartment. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeborahOct 2021

  • "Having read previous reviews, we went prepared for a few minor issues (there's now a storage container in the walk in shower :) ) - but actually, any issues were very minor indeed."

    Yes, the balcony is a bit mucky - but it has been cleaned recently and short of house training the seagulls, there's not much you can do. It can get a bit windy out there so the doors do need the hooks repairing, but propping them open with the chairs worked fine. The shower over the bath does need attention - it's fine as long as you like a hot shower, but the temperature control needs fixing. I used it every day though as that bathroom was so spacious and the other one was very small. I'd have preferred the TV from the mezzanine in the bedroom - but then we didn't have kids with us! That's it - nothing worth mentioning really, except I wanted to update previous reviews. So now to the positives! The view! Breath taking! The photos don't do it justice. I could have just sat and watched the changing colours for the whole week! We put the table just inside the doors to eat - beat any view from a restaurant in town. The flat is well fitted out - clean and everything we could possibly need, including some tea and coffee etc to get us started and even a pair of binoculars and some games. The fan was very welcome as we had a hot week and it was nice to have plenty of coat hangers for a change (I always over pack!).The instructions were all there - but we didn't need them. The location was perfect - literally a 2 minute walk from the harbour and right on the coastal path. There were plenty of shops on the high street - about a 15 minute walk but be prepared for the hills - or stop off at Tesco's on your way into Ilfracombe. There are LOADS of amazing restaurants - everything from Michelin to fish and chips - BUT - most were fully booked up for weeks to come. Book well in advance. We did eat at The Smugglers on the harbour as they weren't taking bookings - we queued at 4pm when they opened but you go on a waiting list and they would call when a table was available - usually about an hour. Well worth the wait. There's also a Wetherspoons 5 minutes away and a Maddy's chippy, virtually outside, is not to be missed. We did the 2.5hr boat trip - fantastic afternoon. On our last day, we got a taxi to the car park for £6 - saved a lot of hassle. All in all a fab week - we'd definitely go back. Beautiful place and a lovely apartment. I'm already missing that view!!! Thank you to the owners for a very special holiday!

    Thank you for taking the time to complete and return your feedback. We will arrange for someone to look at the shower over the bath. We are glad that you had a lovely time in the apartment, were able to make the most of the amazing view, and enjoyed its location and the nearby amenities. We very much look forward to being able to welcome you back to the apartment in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JackySep 2021

  • "We had a great week at 10 Oceanside."

    What a wonderful apartment. The main attribute is the balcony and the wonderful ever changing view. We had to give it a sweep when we arrived ( there are a lot of seagulls) but it was a fantastic place to watch the boats etc. We loved it. There are some poor reviews on here so we were a bit concerned about the apartment but shouldn’t have been. I think some of the criticisms are overly picky and people just need to chill and enjoy their holiday and this lovely apartment. The bedrooms are lovely and spacious and there is a futon on the mezzanine so my daughter slept up there and loved it. The overall experience was great and we’ll definitely be back. Any small issues we had were dealt with expertly and quickly by Richard at Sandpiper who was brilliant. Some instructions have been removed due to COVID so be aware that the bottom oven only works if the time is set ( press and hold the 2nd two buttons from the left and adjust with + & - on the right, or Google it as we did). There is a switch for the dishwasher socket hidden behind the coffee maker ( we rang Sandpiper as we thought it didn’t work)… We bought a parking permit online in advance but we’re able to load and unload outside. Anyway, if you are booked in at 10 Oceanside you’re very lucky. You’ll love it.

    Reviewed by JonathanAug 2021

  • "The location is amazing and the views are fabulous."

    We had a number of issues during our stay: the timber floors downstairs and upstairs were filthy, there was no remote for one of the TVs, the cooker was intermittent, the bath had black mould and the shower in the en-suite to bedroom two was impossible to use. We called Sandpiper and they managed these issues well. I feel asking us to strip beds and empty bins was unreasonable considering the premium amount that we paid - although we went ahead and did it. The apartment itself is quite shabby and needs some attention. The sofa is really uncomfortable and the beds need new pillows. However all that send we would return and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay. The owners checked with with housekeeping regarding the floors and they confirmed they had all been cleaned prior to your stay. It is good to know the maintenance and cleaning company dealt with all issues quickly. The sofa is relatively new as are the pillows: sorry you found them uncomfortable. The stripping of the beds prior to leaving is currently requested due to the Covid situation, and is a requirement at a majority of holiday properties in order to keep staff and guests safe. The apartment is due to be repainted at the end of this season. We do hope you'll choose to return to 10 Oceanside again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SaraJul 2021

  • "Great location and although there is no parking you get 1 hour free to unload."

    Worth getting a weekly visitors parking permit for the car park. Bedrooms are larger than the photos imply and the lounge/kitchen is well equipped. Balcony is not great due to seagulls and pigeons! Walking distance to good restaurants and pubs. Tunnels beaches are well worth a visit.

    Reviewed by LesleyJun 2021

  • "We were very disappointed that the lift broke down the day after we arrived."

    If like us you have individuals with mobility problems do not book this venue. Our elderly parents spent several days refusing to go out because of the effort required to get back up the stairs. Speaking to residents in the building we found that the lift is nearly always out of service and unreliable. Apartment itself is ok. However we found some of the facilities were lacking in what we would expect, for example, only three pans and two of these were large, only 1 beer glass, only small drinking glasses, (plenty of wine glasses) no toilet roll holder in the small en-suite and nowhere to put soap or shampoo in the shower, or wash bags by the sink which was very tiny. Several of the drawers in the twin room were falling apart. Woken up twice by the fire alarm. A welcome to the apartment information sheet would have helped, eg what’s the WiFi code? We think this venue is over priced.

    We are so sorry at your recent review regarding your holiday in Ilfracombe. The lift was repaired as quickly as new parts could be found but unfortunately this was after your stay. The fault was caused by holiday makers jamming the doors open while off loading their luggage. Pans and glasses are inspected and renewed if necessary at the beginning of each season. Unfortunately if something is broken or missing we are reliant on guests letting us know. An information file giving details of parking, Wifi code and other useful information should have been on the kitchen table. To ensure this information is received by guests the owners email these details prior to the holiday. Once again we are sorry you were not completely satisfied and will try and improve on all areas where at all possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NigelJun 2021

  • "We had a fantastic weekend away."

    The apartment was perfectly placed and was exactly as it was advertised. The bed was really comfy so we both slept really well. Just a few minutes walk to the harbour and some really lovely restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by JoannaJun 2021

  • "Location was good The amount of equipment in kitchen was excellent."

    A few mugs/ cups cracked inside need replacing Overall a lovely property and would recommend it to others.

    Reviewed by LindaOct 2020

  • "The view from the apartment"

    Reviewed by LeslieSep 2020

  • "We chose this apartment due to its location and the fact that it had WiFi."

    The location is excellent, everything you could need is walking distance and you’re right in the centre of Ilfracombe. This however was all over shadowed by the fact that I was supposed to be working during our trip and was unable to do so due to lack of WiFi, it was not working before we arrived, we were supposed to be informed of this but were not. So I spent 90% of my time trying to find places with WiFi. We have been refused compensation by the owner, he said it isn’t his fault. But we paid for an apartment with WiFi which both he and Sykes knew was not going to be provided prior to our arrival and we should have been notified. I would not recommend this apartment or Sykes due to these reasons and am currently pursuing this further.

    Reviewed by CharlotteAug 2020

  • "This is a beautiful apartment with stunning views completely let down by poor facilities."

    The wifi was not working (apparently we should have been told about this prior to our arrival) so it's a good thing we did not have work commitments during the week requiring us to access meetings via Zoom. The TV stopped working part way though the week so we had a VERY quiet holiday. The controls for the shower in the twin room ensuite are also not working properly. The maintenance company were very prompt courteous and efficient and delivered a new wifi router for us to install. Unfortunately this didn't work either so the problem had to referred to the owner to contact BT. Apparently BT are due to visit on 15th August. The other issue is the poor state of the balcony with the daily increasing deposits of bird poo. The balcony had been swept around the small table but at both ends the problem has been accumulating for months. We kept a pair of shoes by the french windows as you certainly wouldn't want to go out in bare feet and we didn't want to be treading it inside either. The inside of the the apartment was spotlessly clean. If you are a light sleeper bring some earplugs as the apartment is up in the eaves and the seagulls are active at night as well as during the day.

    Reviewed by SueJul 2020

  • "Absolutely fantastic aparment, with magnificent view."

    Additional points for the lift and pets approval. One small flaw - no parking, but that is rather problem with Ilfracombe, and we had that organized before trip.

    Reviewed by GrzegorzAug 2019

  • "Best place I have stayed in view is breath taking, parking best thing to do is go tourist information and get a week permit for marine drive on the harbour it will cost you £20."

    80. The apartment is much bigger than it looks on the photos very clean and bright and has everything you could need and more whasher/dryer dishwasher and everything else. Ilfracombe is lovely place just to walk around,harbour is 2 minute walk from the apartment everything is on your doorstep try maddy's fish and chips best I have had would definitely go back here.

    Reviewed by JacquelineJul 2019

  • "The situation regarding parking could be made clearer on line as we had to ring up to find out how to get discounted 7 day permit."

    by the time we found out, the tourist information office was closed and we had to pay for overnight parking at premium rate. Had we known we could have obtained parking permit before arriving at apartment. Alternatively the apartment owners could arrange prior parking permit.

    Reviewed by JonathanJul 2019

  • "The flat is beautifully designed to maximise space and give it a light, airy feel."

    Everything was comfortable. It is wonderfully relaxing to be able to sit and gaze at the sea. The kitchen was small but had all the equipment required and it was all of a high standard. The welcoming dish of drink sachets was a nice touch, as was the provision of sufficient dishwasher tablets for the week. Having a large fridge and freezer meant we could shop just once for a week. Just two tiny niggles: the bungee straps for securing the balcony doors were missing and there was no bedside light in the twin bedroom. Otherwise this was a perfect home.

    Reviewed by HelenMay 2019

  • "Lovely apartment."

    Couldn’t get TV to work despite someone coming out to look at it; we had lovely weather & a beautiful view though so we were absolutely fine. Shower in twin room wouldn’t work, slightly inconvenient but not a massive issue because there was another shower & a bath if we needed it. My only gripe really was the balcony......it’s a fantastic feature & the view is stunning but the balcony is scruffy & neglected with a table but no chairs & is covered in bird faeces. It needs a good scrub & some tlc. We will be back.......please sort the balcony out for next time ☺️X

    Reviewed by PaulineMay 2019

  • "The photos of the property didn't do it justice it was much larger than we were expecting this coupled with it being well laid out and well appointed made our stay very enjoyable."

    We had a small issue with a suspected water leak under the sink which was dealt with swiftly and efficiently.

    Reviewed by StephenApr 2019

  • "The apartment was very clean and comfortable and in a fantastic location with a beautiful view."

    However the balcony could do with some TLC it was covered in bird poo and because of this we didn't spend as much time on the balcony as we would have liked.

    Reviewed by RebeccaSep 2018

  • "We had a lovely stay in Ilfracombe at 10 Oceanview."

    The flat was very clean and cosy and well equipped with everything you would need for a family holiday. Our children enjoyed having there own area on the mezzanine floor to play and watch TV and the views from both aspects were fantastic. North Devon itself has a huge amount to offer for entertaining days out and we were busy everyday without getting it ‘all done’. We had a great time, thank you!

    Reviewed by JoAug 2018

  • "The apartment was lovely."

    From the amazing view of the ocean to the facilities it made for a really relaxing experience. Would definitely stop here again.

    Reviewed by AndrewJul 2018

  • "Listing photos and description were true to form - a stunning place and location: clean, well-kept, comfortable."

    Fresh air and views of the ocean were wonderful as were the city views from the bedroom window. All the amenities you might need were provided - perhaps a blow dryer would be nice. We thoroughly enjoyed this place, Illfracombe, and would absolutely return! (The only part that did not match was the balcony - very dirty, moldy, unswept and in need of attention which was disappointing with such amazing weather.)

    Reviewed by ElizabethJun 2018

  • "Whenever we've gone on holiday in the UK it never feels like a real holiday because you're still in this country."

    There's always disappointment with the bed being not as comfortable as your own one back home, or labels everywhere telling you what you can & can't do...& the endless boring instructions about turning on the hot water etc. So due to lack of sleep you're pleased when you arrive back home. However, we didn't want to leave... this apartment at No.10 is simply wonderful...it has a stunning million dollar view. With all the facilities & space you could possibly wish for. The photographs do not do this place justice. We've never been to Ilfracombe, the community spirit & kindness we experienced was genuine & constant. The beaches to explore are beautiful & seem to stretch forever. As a family of 3 with a well behaved dog UK holidays like this are hard to find. Seriously. We would definitely return to this apartment. If it was for sale, we would buy it. For the first time in our lives & we have stayed in places all over the UK, this is the best apartment & location whatever the weather. Congratulations, you've found the best place in Ilfracombe for your holiday. And remember to look after this place during your stay, because we will return! Thank you Sykes Cottages & the owner of No.10. Ben, Claira, Archie & Sky the dog xx.

    Reviewed by BenJun 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • All third floor (lift and stair access)
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • 1 x twin with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining and sitting area with patio doors to balcony
  • Mezzanine snug room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV, CD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Balcony
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, harbour, pub 3 minutes walk
  • Parking in chargeable car park 400 yards away
  • Loading and unloading can be done outside of the property.

The property

This penthouse apartment looks towards the sea and is just a short walk from the amenities of Ilfracombe in North Devon.

Perfect for a traditional seaside holiday with friends or family.

Sitting on the top floor of the Oceanside...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

ILFRACOMBE

Barnstaple 11 miles.

The bustling seaside town of Ilfracombe lies on a beautiful stretch of North Devon coastline, with five beaches, much of it owned by the National Trust. Ilfracombe is only a ten minute drive from Exmoor National Park, with its rolling countryside and quaint villages. Ilfracombe's heritage harbour and quay are spectacular, with many pubs, shops and restaurants and frequent live music, creating a lively, friendly atmosphere. From here, take a wildlife cruise, a fishing trip or a boat trip to magical Lundy Island, a place of natural beauty, which will provide you with an unforgettable experience. Ilfracombe is the centre for some of the finest walking country in England. Whether you enjoy a gentle promenade walk around Capstone Hill, tackling the rugged coastal path or prefer the river valleys and tranquillity of the moorland hills of Exmoor, you will find the scenery spectacular. Ilfracombe also boasts a number of high-quality eateries, with local fish being prominent on their menus. To the east of Ilfracombe are the unique villages of Lynton and Lynmouth with its clifftop railway, and to the west lie the delights of Clovelly and Hartland. Moreover just a short drive away is the 3 mile long golden beach of Woolacombe Bay, which was been voted one of the top 20 beaches in the world, the perfect place to relax in the sun or catch some waves surfing. Ilfracombe is the perfect location for a North Devon holiday, offering you a gateway to an exciting blend of stunning coastal scenery, seaside fun, rural tranquillity and centuries of heritage and style.

View more holiday cottages in Ilfracombe

Region Information

Note: Parking is available at a public car park 400 metres from property. Loading and unloading can be done outside of the property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas