4.3★ Sykes rating 6 Guests 3 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Pets No Features Ground floor accommodation Ground floor bedroom Garden / Patio Washing machine Dishwasher Games Room Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews recommend (8) lovely (8) pebble (7) all (7) views (7) property (6) 19 Customer Reviews "Lovely property, fabulous view of Paignton." Kitchen well equipped. Beds are very comfy. Very clean and tidy. Steps up to the property could do with hand rails though. A home from home. Would definitely recommend if you can manage 10 to 12 steps without needing to hold on to rails. Reviewed by Lisa5.0★Sep 2023 "Very impressed" Thankyou so much really appreciate your feedback thank you for leaving it so tidy Property Owner Reviewed by Sally5.0★Sep 2023 "The house was clean except we found odd bits of clothing under units/bed presumably from a previous guest ." The games room was good and useful for the 8 year old in our group . The kitchen could be better equipped, for example there were no kitchen scales, measuring jug or sieve. Also only 6 dinner, side plates and bowls, okay for one meal but we were trying to only put the dishwasher on once a day. Information about rubbish day would have been helpful. Great views from the property due to its position up the hill. Too far (and hilly) for us to walk to the beach but Paignton is a great place and near so many places. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks for your feedback! We will relay your comments to the cleaner. If you had let us know at the time we would have asked them to do a full clean. We ensured that that kitchen was well equipped every season and unfortunately there were plates missing - we will get these replaced asap. We are also given a check list from Sykes on kitchen equipment - scales unfortunately are not on there but we will look at putting them in next season. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Owner Property Owner Reviewed by Russell4.4★Aug 2023 "On arriving at Pebble Lodge, parking was difficult due to how neighbouring cars had parked and the parking space provided was not great." On entering the property, initial impressions were ok, however the inner patio door atvthe entrance had no locking mechanism which was a bit concerning and when we sat on the sofa we could see thick dust, crumbs and rubbish under the arm chairs, under the sofa and the beds were the same. The drain next to the back door was blocked which had caused a large puddle, I unblocked the drain, as it was full of moss. The stairs at the front and rear of the property were very wet due to the rain which made them very slippery as they have been painted in a glossy paint with no gritty texture or grip strip's to make them slip proof, some interior bathroom grab rails had been put up in some places at the rear, this looked very bodged and put us off using the rear garden if the weather had have allowed it. The games room was not worth the effort or risk of climbing the stairs, the xbox controller wasn't working, so we couldn't use the xbox, the air hockey machine didn't keep score, which was frustrating so we only used this room once. The kitchen hob was dirty and needed cleaning before I could cook, there were not enough pans and trays for me to cook a meal as I would at home, which was a minor inconvenience , the owner should consider a few extra pans and cooking trays, especially as the oven is such a big one. The oven was fantastic though and made the perfect roast potatoes and pot roasted lamb. The upper kitchen cupboards on one side of the kitchen stuck out as far as the worksurface and we did hit our heads on them a few times when using that surface. The kitchen did look very nice and had everything else that we needed. The worst thing for us was that only some of the radiators were working and as it rained everyday we needed to dry our washing, there was only one airer provided at the property and when we turned the heating up to help dry the washing, the boiler stopped working leaving us with no hot water or heating. The handy man came out and switched the heating off and the water on so we had hot water but no heating, but we weren't told the heating was switched off with mo way of us being able to turn it back on until I contacted the property manager and sykes which was very upsetting for us after being out in the rain all day. Our washing was not drying and stunk of damp so we decided to leave a day early to take our damp washing home to re wash and dry. I only just finished the loads of washing yesterday afternoon, luckily the stink of damp has gone. The neighbouring property was having roofing works done, something we had not be informed of, this spoilt our stay, the noise was awful, there was dust from disc cutting blowing all over us when we walked out of the property, and the tiles had been dangerously stacked on the scaffolding with some falling onto the walkway that we had to use to access the property, other building debris had fallen onto the walkway too. After talking to sykes and the property manager, the boiler was finally properly fixed by a plumber more than 24 hours after we initially contacted them, however the owner feels that turning the heating off the previous day to allow us hot water was reasonable. The boiler was fixed on the Friday morning and we were due to leave the next day, so no way would our washing have dried, and the smell of damp was awful, we would have opened the windows to air the property and help with drying the washing but the windows were locked. My children are asthmatic so the damp washing was not good for them nor was the builders dust, I had explained this but I was told there was nothing anyone could do as the heating was now switched back on, we had waitedvforvthe plumber to come before we left, to ebsure the next guests didn't encounter the same problems tgat we did. The owner apparently wasn't happy that we had turned the heating up in the first place! The owner also said that the building works being carried out were not on his property so not his problem, even though these works were affecting his property. We sent photos of the fallen tiles etc and we explained it was highly likely more tiles would fall, which was another factor in us ending our holiday a day early, as we were not prepared to risk one of us to being injured , yet the owner insisted it wasn't his problem. I found the owners response incredibly unsympathetic, extremely rude and very arrogant as when I asked for a refund for the last two days due to the issues caused, which were certainly not any fault of myself or my family, the response was NO, it wasn't his problem and he wouldn't consider any form of compensation, and if we wanted compensating then we would have to take him to court! The owner didn't even apologise for the issues or try to empathise in anyway. I was so shocked at this rude attitude, we paid good money for our week at his property, we didn't complain about any of the issues until the boiler broke and the slates etc started falling. Sykes and the property manager were very polite and helpful as much as they could be,but ultimately they can only relay what the owner says and have no powers to do anymore. This was an awful end to our holiday and we wouldn't recommend staying at this property to anyone, to the owner I would suggest some lessons in common decency, and trying to see things from your guests view point, how you treat your guests is so important to your future business, word of mouth and honest reviews like this one are what help people decide to stay at your property or not. Reviewed by Kelly1.6★Jul 2023 "Pebble Lodge was fantastic the view's amazing Everything you could ask for for a lovely holiday away with family or friends Personally I couldn't get the heating to our liking even though easy to adjust I found either to hot or to cold but I'm sure that was me being silly The games room was amazing and my wife and I would escape the kids and their phones on several occasions as view was spectacular plus lovely heater and big TV even a drinks fridge what more can you ask." Overall we would love to stay there again. This house had everything however a few issues which didn't effect us like games room door needs adjustment as does not close properly the air hockey table works but has seen better days does not score both sides and legs properly need adjustment and dinning chairs 1 was looking dangerous as looked like had collapsed and someone had tried to glue but had a piece placed upside down didn't effect our visit as we were a five and had 6 chairs that being said the other chairs were looking like probably could do with a little attention. These to me are trivial as whole house is amazing had I had my tools would have done myself as wouldn't have taken anytime at all. The win and believe me we had a Hugh car fit on driveway yes plenty of stairs but we walked several times to seafront you really don't notice stairs after the hills. It's a great house in a fantastic location with superb views well worth a visit Lee thanks for your feedback We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Apologies on the heating - we had shut down for the winter this year and you were the first guests - so the heating kicked in on your arrival ! It was not you being silly Thanks for leaving the property tidy and clean! Property Owner Reviewed by Lee4.4★Feb 2023 "Disappointed that 1." Two big boxes of rubbish were left outside the front door 2. Ten of the fourteen light bulbs in the lounge/dining ares were missing or not working 3. Toilet seat was loose in the general toilet 4. Towel rail was broken in general toilet 5, Pipe to shower head was hanging off the wall 6. Shower head actually fell off when my wife was using the shower These were reported to the housekeeper who sent a handyman round. The property owner might like to consider a hand-rail on the lower part of the steps leading up to the property. The steps are steep and it is difficult when carrying a case. Thanks for the review. I’m so sorry that you had an issue with one of the showers and the towel rail, as we expected, a prompt reply was given by our housekeeper who managed to get a handyman to you straight away to sort the issues out. Also regarding the bins, they were left there as the wind was blowing them up the road so it was deemed the safest place to leave them. Property Owner Reviewed by John3.1★Sep 2022 "We had a lovely Holiday at Pebble Lodge, the owners warned us about the amount of steps to reach the house, they were very steep and will be difficult for anyone with mobility problems." The house had everything we needed except a Fridge Freezer or Dishwasher. Pebble Lodge is in a good position for visiting places of interest, we visited Torquay, Totnes, Babbacombe, Brixham, Teignmouth, Bygones, and also went on the Steam Train Thank you for your feedback and glad that you enjoyed your stay Pebble lodge does have a fridge freezer and a dishwasher located in the kitchen which fully works on last inspection. The property does have steps unfortunately but we don't consider them very steep but we are glad the property is elevated so the views can be enjoyed. Property Owner Reviewed by David4.4★Sep 2022 "Overall excellent facility." Needed some directions on how heating system and washing machine works - especially being from USA. We felt the experience would have been enhanced if there had been a greater selection of "regularly used" spices / cooking ingredients provided. It's expensive to furnish every "spice" item yourself for just one week. However if this has been tried and people remove them ...understood. Thanks for your feedback! im glad you had a great stay in Devon and you rated us as excellent! Its noted about the instructions for the washing machine - we will put more info in the book left at the property. The heating controls are quite easy however during the summer months are not usually used - but we will also put more instruction in the Book. On the spices, we usually leave Cooking Oil, Mixed herbs, Salt and Pepper as per the Sykes guidelines. Many thanks for your input - Owners of Pebble Lodge Property Owner Reviewed by John4.7★Jul 2022 "This was a lovely home from home with wonderful views." We had everything we needed and we would recommend this as a base for exploring the English Riviera. It is great for walkers. The property has many steps, which is a small price to pay for the views from both the front door and the, further elevated, summerhouse. Thank you for your feedback - much appreciated Property Owner Reviewed by David4.7★Jun 2022 "A very comfortable stay at Pebble Lodge." Comfortable settees and chairs, no complaints with the mattresses, we slept very well. Fabulous views from the sun room where we sat every evening watching the lights come on over Paignton. Easy access to all the nearby towns and places of interest, although the climb back up the hill from Paignton town centre is quite stiff and not for the faint hearted (there is also a bus available to get you back up to the top)! Our only complaint was the fridge, barely big enough for two let alone six, but this could be because we do one big shop at the beginning of the holiday and tend not to visit a supermarket again. Hi Pamela So please you enjoyed your stay We totally get where you are coming from with the fridge situation so we have put an extra one in Thank you for leaving it so clean and tidy when you left Barry and Sarah Property Owner Reviewed by Pamela5.0★Mar 2022 "Fantastic Base for Walking the SWCP, providing you have a car." Thankyou for your feedback Much appreciated Property Owner Reviewed by Andrew5.0★Mar 2022 "Easy to book." Easy details. Easy access. 3 bathrooms so great for families sharing too. Spotless and lovely furnishings Thanks Caroline - we love it there too ! Property Owner Reviewed by Caroline5.0★Feb 2022 "We have just had a very enjoyable week with friends at Pebble Lodge." It really is a home from home with amazing views of Paingnton . We would definitely recommend. Thankyou for your feedback Much appreciated Property Owner Reviewed by Ian4.7★Sep 2021 "On arrival disappointed with one of bedrooms, no wardrobe or hanging space at all." There was a pull out bed which when pulled out revealed lots of dust, clothing labels and a dirty sock. More clothing was found in a drawer in another bedroom and another dirty sock in the final bedroom in a drawer. Kitchen was not really good, 2 drawers (cutlery) both couldn’t be opened easily, both need serious attention. Parking was advertised as parking for 2 cars, when we arrived there was definitely not room for 2 cars. The waste bins and boxes were on the drive so no way could 2 vehicles park. The location of the property was poor, there was no description provided of the area, which we found poor. All things considered we would not be returning and would not recommend. We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at pebble lodge.Please accept or sincere apologies that the cleanliness of the property was not up to standard. As you can see by other reviews it has always been a high standard. We have spoken to our housekeeper about this and had you of informed us during your stay we could have rectified this immediately along with the sticking draw- please note as it is an older kitchen it has a safety catch on them so the drawers do not fly out. With regard to the lack of hanging rail in one of the rooms we will look at rectifying this for future guests. please note the property description clearly states off road parking for 1 car with on street parking on a first come first serve basis for other vehicles. We usually park our car behind the car parked on the drive with no problem. Lastly, as with regard to the location of the property it is shown on the map on Sykes website along with distances to local amenities including beach etc. We have also included loads of information in the welcome pack at the property. We personally have stayed there many times and find the area peaceful as it is a cul de sac with no through traffic along with great views of the bay and ideally placed for touring the local Torbay area. Once again we appreciate your feed back Regards Barry and Sarah. Property Owner Reviewed by Michael2.5★Aug 2021 "Pebble lodge is a fantastic holiday home, close to the amenities the English Riveria has to offer and with stunning views of the coastline." We thoroughly enjoyed sitting up at the top outside and just taking in the view! We were lucky to have fantastic weather all week too. Recommend days out on the Dartmouth steam train and cruise, cockington village and country park and visiting picturesque babbacombe and their model village. Goodrington sands beach was our favourite. Lots of amenities there for the family but less busy and commercialized than Paignton itself. The cottage was lovely and clean and the perfect base for this area of Devon. Thankyou for your feedback ! Much appreciated Property Owner Reviewed by Lisa5.0★Aug 2021 "The bed in the dormer bedroom was uncomfortable." The sprung wooden slats did not give good support. So sorry you thought mattress was uncomfortable - we have many people stay and they said that it was vey comfortable- one thing we invested in was good mattresses for the property Property Owner Reviewed by Michael4.1★Jul 2021 "Fantastic accommodation that ticked all the boxes for myself, my wife and a very excitable 4 year old apprentice pirate!" !! Highly recommend Thanks for your feedback Much appreciated- I’m glad you enjoyed the place Property Owner Reviewed by Daniel5.0★Jun 2021 "Pebble Cottage is well equipped and spacious with lovely far reaching sea and countryside views." A perfect getaway for couples or families. Thankyou for your feedback much appreciated Property Owner Reviewed by Ronald5.0★May 2021 "Cottage was superb and clean, lovely welcome pack on arrival." Could not fault cottage. Parking was ok if got one car, but may cause an issue if other cars are needed in party. Would not say it was suitable for individuals that have trouble with steps as front and back garden have them. Lastly walk to Paignton is all down hill, so up hill on way back, and I mean up hill. But there is a good bus service with a stop not too far from the cottage. Overall good base, would definitely recommend. Thankyou for your feedback much appreciated Property Owner Reviewed by Mandy4.7★May 2021 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more Hide all Summary Three bedrooms with TVs: 1 x king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x ground-floor twin with en-suite corner bath, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x ground-floor day bed with pull out bed Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC Kitchen Living/dining room Conservatory External lodge with games room Gas central heating Gas range cooker with 6-ring hob, electric oven and grill, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV, 4 x TVs, WiFi, air hockey table Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Off-road parking for one car and roadside parking on a first-come, first-served basis Front terrace garden with seating Multi-level garden with Astroturf, swing seat, dining seating and external lodge Sorry, no pets and no smoking Shop 0.2 miles, pub 1.1 miles, beach 1.9 miles Note: There are around 20 stone steps to the exterior and more towards the entrance and garden Please note: This property only takes bookings of 7 days or more. The property Enjoying far-reaching seaside views is this amazing semi-detached property, accessed via several stone steps to the gorgeous exterior. Pebble Lodge is the perfect base for families and friends alike; boasting a feel of Grecian architecture, you'll be transported to the Santorini strip, with the Paignton beachfront in sight. Climb the flight of stairs up to your very own private front garden, a gorgeous balcony area where you'll catch your first glimpse of the amazing views this property has to offer, a few steps up take you over to a delightful entrance conservatory where you can relax with your morning coffee as you admire the Devonshire seaside. Continuing to impress is the spacious living/dining room, a sociable space to gather with your loved ones for film nights in front of the TV and dinner parties around the dining table, accompanied by a bottle of wine on special occasions. Prepare heart-warming meals in the well-stocked kitchen, equipped with all the amenities to fulfil your culinary needs, as well as access to the fabulous rear garden. Explore this unique multi-level outdoor space, featuring a tiered landscape with steps up to quaint areas including a lovely swing chair section, to a sociable seating area for alfresco dining, and the pièce de résistance at the very top, boasting a fun-filled lodge which features an air hockey table, TV and sofa, a great space for entertaining. When you're ready to call it a night, the ground-floor houses two well-presented bedrooms which benefit from their own TVs, comprising a twin room with an en-suite corner bath, and a day bed with an additional pull out bed, served by a ground-floor shower room for a brisk wake up call. The master bedroom rests on the first floor, providing a king-size bed with a TV and en-suite walk-in shower, the room features a refreshing ambiance from the pretty décor and exceptional sea views. Explore the local area and head into the bustling centre of Paignton to stock up on your favourite treats and browse through the wide selection of shopping facilities. Sample local delicacies as you take a tour around the plethora of dining options around, taking your pick between an afternoon bite at one of beachside cafés, a romantic evening meal out at an intimate restaurant, or enjoy a traditional fish and chips along the harbour before stopping into a local pub for a tasty pint. Other family-friendly attractions here include the picturesque Paignton Pier, Torquay's Dinosaur World, Paignton Zoo Environmental Park, and Splashdown Quaywest Waterpark. Those feeling energetic will delight in an adventurous day out along the awe-inspiring South West Coastline, enjoying a challenging hike throughout rugged clifftops, sandy beaches, and charming villages. A wealth of knowledge can be discovered at the abundance of historic buildings such as the Torre Abbey Museum and Old Way Mansion tour, the medieval Kirkham House, or National Trust owned Compton Castle further afield. The Dartmoor National Park is just a car journey away for nature lovers and ramblers, with the chance to embark on a journey throughout Wistman's Wood and Red Lake Spoil Tip. With so much to see and do, you'll never want to leave Pebble Lodge. Please note: This property only takes bookings of 7 days or more. View on map About the location PAIGNTON Torquay 3 miles Brixham 5.5 miles Totnes 6 miles Dartmouth 8 miles Situated in the centre of Torbay between Brixham and Torquay, Paignton is one of South Devon's premier seaside resorts. Boasting long sandy beaches and a picturesque harbour, this bustling town also plays host to a wonderful selection of shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants. The town makes a fantastic base from which to explore the English Riviera and its surrounding attractions, also featuring a renowned zoo and sea life centre. Nearby, Torquay is equally as vibrant with an array of excellent shopping opportunities, fascinating museums, and numerous parks and gardens. The nearby stunning coastline offers great walking and cycling opportunities along beautiful stretches of beach and rugged cliff tops, while the rolling meadows of South Devon provide an idyllic setting for afternoon strolls and an abundance of picturesque picnic spots. Paignton is a fabulous holiday location for all the family, all year round. View more holiday cottages in Paignton Please note: This property only takes bookings of 7 days or more.