Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 56 View Image Gallery
  • Cola's Tonne - Devon - 995333 - photo 1
close

Cola's Tonne

(Ref. 995333)

Malborough, Devon Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (24)
  • our (18)
  • lovely (16)
  • no (14)
  • location (14)
  • property (13)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "Very welcoming cottage which was spacious clean and comfortable."

    Loved the open plan upstairs with doors out onto small patio area. The beds were comfy and both bedrooms have an en suite. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, plates and cutlery etc. Would definitely stay here again. Our dog loved it too.

    Reviewed by Avril5.0Dec 2023

  • "Our stay at Colas Tonne is always so enjoyable, this was our 5th stay and will return I’m sure!"

    Love it.

    Reviewed by Adrian4.7Nov 2023

  • "Fabulous cottage!"

    Really enjoyed our time there. Loved the fact that it was bedrooms downstairs and living area upstairs with the lovely views. It was a good location for seeing different places and a very good bus service from Marlborough so not always necessary to drive.

    Reviewed by Daniel4.7Sep 2023

  • "Perfect in every way!"

    A lovely quiet location with walks to beaches and into Salcombe, Beautiful accommodation - someone has put a great deal of thought into creating a top quality holiday home - bright, clean, user friendly and homely - the nicest holiday let we have ever booked. We had a really fantastic break, thank you.

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Sep 2023

  • "This was our second time at this cottage, it’s a home from home."

    Has everything you need for a wonderful week in South Devon. A suggestion would be to provide fans for each bedroom as tbd rooms got very hot and we didn’t want to leave the doors open with it being on the ground floor

    Reviewed by Sally-anne5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely, modern, comfortable property, quiet location in countryside with nice walks, yet not far from Salcombe and great beaches around the area, ideal for us (retired couple in their sixties with an energetic Cocker Spaniel)."

    Highly recommend

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Jun 2023

  • "I think you do with a child gate at the top of the stairs."

    We took our small dog with us and he wanted to keep going down the stairs.

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely property in a beautiful peaceful setting."

    The property was very well equipped for our first holiday with our 6 month old baby. Had a great time exploring the local area around South Devon.

    Reviewed by Megan5.0Jun 2023

  • "The cottage was very clean and to the highest of standards."

    The beds are amazing for a good nights sleep. It was in a very quiet location but close to the beautiful areas of Devon, Salcome was beautiful as well as Dartmouth. There are so many beautiful places to visit. Would highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Jun 2023

  • "Bit underwhelmed by this property."

    Television didn't work no band width. Came next day to repair and improve. However whole media system needs a rethink. Password for Wifi not our devices indicated weak password and device would be insecure. The caretaker Charles came straight away and was helpful. Barbeque dirty no Barbeque tools tried to light just poured black smoke as so much fat on burners. Really needs new barbeque. Some of the equipment in kitchen needs updating i.e. dishwasher front panel loose from inner panel. Lovely new non stick frying pan etc but no non stick tools only metal!!! Had to go out and buy some. No welcome pack I know some cottages don't, but can' help but compare to our last Sykes Cottage which was friendly comfortable and great welcome pack. Also have stayed at a number of places where welcome packs etc have been provided. These people couldnt even be bothered putting a pint of milk in the fridge. Property inside very modern but impersonal. Sofas not in a good position to watch television. We were ok with drive, but had the two other cottages adjacent to us been occupied there would have been severe problem getting in and out overall the access to the road would have been difficult due to narrowness of gate. The front would then look a bit like a car park and not somewhere you would like to sit. The area around the cottage is beautiful but no real view from the small back patio. We have never in all the properties we have stayed at been requested to strip all bed linen and put into bags, plus towels etc into separate bags. This may be a left over from covid but not relevant now. Would not return to this property and I certainly wouldn't call it luxury not value for money.

    Reviewed by Susan2.2Apr 2023

  • "Our second stay at Colas Tonne and won’t be our last."

    Fabulous accommodation in lovely quiet rural location and yet an easy walk to Salcombe and easy to reach many other locations.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay, beautiful cottage would highly recommend."

    Reviewed by Bill5.0Oct 2022

  • "We love Colas Tonne."

    We've been here before and love the position and layout and our latest visit was just as good. We'll be back again.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Sep 2022

  • "Second stay here."

    Great location and facilities. Had a flat tyre the day of departure and the cleaning team were really helpful in accommodating us as we had to wait for the emergency call out in extreme heat! Highly recommend. Also easy to get hold of the team to let them know of our predicament on departure

    Reviewed by Ammara5.0Jul 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay, very well equipped cottage, not too far from the coast."

    Only slight niggle was that there was no gas left for the BBQ

    Reviewed by Adam5.0May 2022

  • "Absolutely loved our stay at Cola’s Tonne."

    By far the best UK cottage we’ve stayed in. We enjoyed the rural location, but still within walking distance of Salcombe. Everything was perfect and look forward to booking again.

    Reviewed by Emily5.0May 2022

  • "A delightful cottage, beautifully presented with everything you could need."

    Reviewed by Ray5.0May 2022

  • "I would highly recommend this holiday cottage, it was very clean and well equipped for a comfortable stay."

    The property is as advertised. It is centrally located to all the coves and beaches. We particularly enjoyed having the gas BBQ, the coffee machine, the football table and en-suites to both bedrooms and look forward to visiting again. Thanks very much!

    Reviewed by Phil4.7Apr 2022

  • "The sofa was a lovely size but not as comfy as some, and would of been nice facing the tv …."

    We were not so keen on memory foam mattress either this is our opinion but nothing wrong with the items ! Other wise we loved the space and set up just what we needed.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Cola’s Tonne. Thank you for bringing the comfort of the property to our attention, whilst we recognise that this is a matter of preference, we know this is important and have passed this onto the owner. We do hope you still enjoyed your break and would love to welcome you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stewart4.7Nov 2021

  • "Great cottage but hated the small roads leading to it, perhaps worth mentioning for less confident drivers."

    Super comfy beds, and lovely layout but sound system needs updating.

    Reviewed by Alison4.4Jul 2021

  • "We’ve rebooked for next year!"

    It’s a lovely cottage and perfect for us and the dog. Looking forward to coming back.

    Reviewed by Ammara5.0Jul 2021

  • "Well equipped cottage and perfect for what we required."

    Excellent response to the 2 issues we had early in the stay.

    Thank you for leaving us your comments. We were really pleased to read that you found the cottage comfortable and that it provided you with everything you required during your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jun 2021

  • "Really good well equipped cottage, great location for walkers with Salcombe and the village easily within reach."

    WiFi connection was very poor otherwise it would have been 5 star!

    Reviewed by Robert4.1May 2021

  • "The Cottage was well appointed ,Clean, In a great location for us."

    It is tastily decorated and well furnished throughout.

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Oct 2020

  • "Perfect retreat with superb walking access To beach and Salcombe."

    It was immaculately kitted out and the log fire a nice touch. Can’t fault the property.

    Reviewed by Adrian5.0Sep 2020

  • "The property location is a little remote."

    Malborough village is not really within walking distance especially at night. There are no pavements on the very narrow road which leads in the direction of the village which in any case hasn't got a lot to recommend it. The property itself is comfortable and the bathrooms are well designed and attractive. The patio is a good place to chill out on a nice sunny afternoon. But there are no views. We both wished there had been some technical advice about the full capacity of the TV/audio. There appeared to be a Sky box but we never worked out how to access it . Likewise Netflix. I think the other place in Devon that we have rented a few times from Sykes ( Cabins on Tedburn St Mary golf course) is much more comfortable and better value for money. Doing business with Sykes has always been a well organised and satisfactory experience.

    Reviewed by Anthony3.8Aug 2020

  • "We found the location of the cottage good."

    On the downside the extractor fan on the cooker and the light did not work. It was disappointing that the cottage was not very clean especially as we had to wait until 5pm to gain access to the cottage due to Covid 19 and the extra cleaning which is required, window sills were dirty, glasses dirty the cafeteria was broken and cutlery smeared. We also found a dirty sock under the the sink in our bathroom. We have no strong feelings about our feedback being published we will leave it up to yourselves.

    Reviewed by Jayne3.1Aug 2020

  • "Enjoyed our stay at Colas Tonne."

    The location is very peaceful and the patio at the rear is really beautiful. A revamp of the crockery wouldn’t go amiss. A few items were chipped and/or cracked. I was surprised the cottage wasn’t more thoroughly cleaned (given more time had been allowed for this) and that the games and books weren’t cleaned or removed. The coffee table had a previous guests tweezers on the bottom.

    Reviewed by Robert3.1Jul 2020

  • "Lovely cottage with very good amenities, in a very peaceful area close to coastal footpaths."

    A very relaxing stay and lovely patio at the rear to sit out during warm evenings.

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Jul 2020

  • "The cottage needed a good clean, especially under beds, in corners and behind books on shelf in lounge."

    The grout in shower is dirty and mouldy. The seating area on upstairs patio is full of weeds and the outside furñiture could do with a coat of paint. No oven gloves or colander supplied and no hand wash in either of the bathrooms, just empty containers.. Definitely Not 5*. Don't think the owner bothers to check his property and wonder if Sykes has checked it recently! We have to raise the question Why no visitor's book??

    We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding you stay at Cola's Tonne. We are so disappointed to hear that the property was not presented satisfactorily on your arrival. We work very hard with our housekeeping team to ensure that properties clean, tidy and well maintained, and we apologise that on this occasion we appear to have fallen short. Should you have contacted our local office on arrival we could have most certainly rectified all the issues that you mentioned, by sending out a member of the team, and a gardener. Once again thank you for your comments, and despite these issues, we look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marion2.2Sep 2019

  • "The house was perfect for us and had all the facilities we needed."

    It was very well furnished and perfectly located. We had a lovely holiday here and all felt very at home. Thank you!

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Aug 2019

  • "Problem with tv prior to our arrival - we were advised on day of arrival sorted ..."

    Problem with tv prior to our arrival - we were advised on day of arrival sorted next day but failed again leaving us with no tv ( not able to watch Glastonbury or womens ladies world cup final) sky dish finally replaced did not spoil our holiday

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Jun 2019

  • "Comfortable accommodation with quality fittings."

    Pretty location but no views from inside the property or garden.Problem with the dishwasher promptly dealt with. Cleanliness disappointing, dust on light fittings, grubby glass tables, table mats worn and not very clean, dining chairs worn. We have stayed in many self catering accommodations and have always been provided with basics. To be asked to take our own tea towels was strange. The only item left was some oil, pepper and a tin of tomatoes. Rural Retreats who we usually book with provide an amazing welcome hamper and the cost of this accommodation was on a par with some of their properties. How much would it cost to provide some milk, hand wash etc? The instructions to work the TV were inadequate and after a couple of days we enlisted the help of the younger couple renting next door who helped us out. The TV’s in the bedroom would only play the channel selected upstairs and whilst this was stated on the screen we were not aware of it before booking. If anyone wanted to watch a different channel from upstairs they were unable to do so. Garden needed weeding. In conclusion we felt the the cottage was not worth the money.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We are glad you found the property comfortable and we were able to rectify the issue with the dishwasher quickly. However, we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner. We are sorry you were disappointed that there was no welcome hamper on your arrival, unfortunately due to allergies and dietary requirements we do not supply hampers. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised and look forward to welcoming you back to the area in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marjorie Joan3.1Jun 2019

  • "Very nice cottage in a great setting but it was supposed to be dog friendly but in reality it wasn't."

    There was no area for the dog to do its business because the patio was a very small decked area and the front drive was shared and the gate was left open by other guests even though we shut it. No other problems at all.

    Reviewed by Steven4.1May 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    Everything was clean & well looked after. Quiet area with lots of walks. Parking was good. The patio area upstairs is a bit snug but we didn’t use is too much because of the weather. We had a lovely week, thanks. We met the owners while they were staying next door and they were very keen to make sure we were pleased with everything and if there were any problems they would address them. They are apparently extending the patio at some point and getting a gas barbecue. While they were decorating the house next door there was scaffolding so we couldn’t get to the key cupboard when we arrived. Luckily the owners showed us the key was under the mat. Coast & Country cottages hadn't told us this, so could have been a problem when we arrived.

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Apr 2019

  • "There were a few things missing that I would expect to be in a house of this standard."

    E.g. there were no ovengloves, which is a fairly basic need for a self catering property. No nice touches at this house - no milk, tea and coffee left, which are usually there (we use at least 5 holiday cottages per year). I also think it should clearly state that the garden is just a paved terrace. Makes a difference when you have a dog! The house is really comfortable, and nicely furnished.

    Reviewed by Jenny4.7Apr 2019

  • "A lovely place to be based for good walking and within easy reach of estuary and sea."

    We had a great time and would recommend again and again.

    Reviewed by Jacquelyn4.7Oct 2018

  • "A well equipped and comfortable property but the external terrace and garden tom the rear were in need of maintenance and some replacement."

    One small tree managed to block all afternoon sun.

    Mr John EatwellOct 2018

  • "Lovely cottage in a tranquil area,condition of property excellent."

    Only downside was condition of small garden....needed updating of furniture and a parasol would have been helpful in this current hot spell.

    Mrs Sheila WestwoodJul 2018

  • "Beautiful location, excellently appointed property."

    Our only slight disappointment was the garden furniture and patio which both needed a thorough clean. The furniture was covered in bird mess.

    Jul 2018

  • "A wonderful property."

    Comfortably and tastefully furnished.

    Mr G JamesJan 2018

  • "Wonderful little cottage."

    Very homely. Lovely setting & clean. We had a small issue with spiders at the cottage & my hubby was on spider alert all holiday! But I guess we were in the countryside. The shower in the ensuite seemed to leak onto the rest of the floor which was a pain. Only thing I found very unusual was being asked to strip the beds at the end of the holiday. It IS a holiday, and having paid over a £1000 for the week I didnt expect to be asked to strip the beds to help the cleaners out?! Whatever next? Pushing the hoover round?

    Mrs Sally DaltonAug 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two en suite bedrooms: 1 x Double with en suite shower room with large walk in shower, w.c, wash hand basin and heated towel rail
  • 1 x Twin with en suite bathroom with bath, shower (over), w.c, wash hand basin and heated towel rail
  • Open plan living/dining and kitchen
  • Terrace area with table and two chairs
  • Electric underfloor heating - hot water via an immersion
  • Fridge with freezer compartment, washing machine, tumble dryer, electric oven, four ring halogen hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave
  • Nespresso machine (pods not provided) TV with freeview, DVD player and CD player
  • Both bedrooms have TV with Freeview/DVD player
  • Parking for 1-2 cars on private gravel drive - shared with property next door. Terrace area with table and chairs, Gas BBQ
  • High Chair provided Bed linen and towels supplied
  • Wifi available
  • One well behaved dog permitted
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

This fantastic detached property in the small hamlet of Collaton, only five minutes’ drive from the wonderful town of Salcombe is a real Devon Gem, perfectly positioned for exploring the surrounding coastline.

Cola’s Tonne has an upside down layout with its two beautifully well done bedrooms being on the ground floor.

Both the double and the twin room have their own en-suite’s, plenty of storage and TV’s with Freeview.

French doors from each bedroom lead out to the gravel front area with a small patio, a table and chairs.

The first floor is home to the stunning open planning living area with traditional wooden beams and a large French windows and doors.

Through the French doors and you will reach a lovely terrace with views out onto the surrounding fields, where you can enjoy an evening BBQ and drink.

There is a large, modern fitted kitchen, glass dining table and sitting area with a black leather sofas, a wall mounted TV and fabulous wood burning stove, perfect for those chillier nights.

Cola’s Tonne is a great destination for keen walkers, with the south west coastal path right on your doorstep, with many walks which let you experience the beauty of the south Devon coast up close.

The exclusive town of Salcombe is a short drive away with lovely waterfront spots to enjoy a drink, and many brilliant pubs and restaurants.

The small fishing village of Hope Cove is only 3 miles away, with its small, intimate beach and a pub and restaurant to enjoy.

This a truly beautiful property, perfect for a romantic getaway or with friends.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

MALBOROUGH

Salcombe 2 miles; Kingsbridge 4 miles.

The attractive village of Malborough boasts a multitude of thatched cottages, a village shop, two excellent country pubs and a thriving post office. It is located just 2 miles from the popular sailing resort of Salcombe, the southernmost town in the South Hams. Boasting a beautiful, scenic coastline, Salcombe is ideal for enjoying sailing, watersports, coastal walking or for simply soaking up the sunshine. Observe the plentiful wildlife in the area, visit several country houses and gardens close by or visit the lovely market town of Kingsbridge. Alternatively, explore the wide open spaces and rocky tors of Dartmoor, just 15 miles away. A perfect holiday location, with much to see and do.

Short breaks are not accepted at this property.

Arrival dates are Thursdays only.

One well behaved dog permitted.

Logs/kindling not provided for wood burning stove.

All bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied. You will need to bring your own beach towels.

Strictly No Smoking