Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 39 minutes ago

12 people have recently viewed this property

Cola's Tonne

Malborough, Devon (Ref. 995333)

4.4

(23 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

28 Customer Reviews

  • "Really enjoyed our stay, very well equipped cottage, not too far from the coast."

    Only slight niggle was that there was no gas left for the BBQ

    Reviewed by SarahMay 2022

  • "Absolutely loved our stay at Cola’s Tonne."

    By far the best UK cottage we’ve stayed in. We enjoyed the rural location, but still within walking distance of Salcombe. Everything was perfect and look forward to booking again.

    Reviewed by EmilyMay 2022

  • "A delightful cottage, beautifully presented with everything you could need."

    Reviewed by RayMay 2022

  • "I would highly recommend this holiday cottage, it was very clean and well equipped for a comfortable stay."

    The property is as advertised. It is centrally located to all the coves and beaches. We particularly enjoyed having the gas BBQ, the coffee machine, the football table and en-suites to both bedrooms and look forward to visiting again. Thanks very much!

    Reviewed by PhilApr 2022

  • "The sofa was a lovely size but not as comfy as some, and would of been nice facing the tv …."

    We were not so keen on memory foam mattress either this is our opinion but nothing wrong with the items ! Other wise we loved the space and set up just what we needed.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Cola’s Tonne. Thank you for bringing the comfort of the property to our attention, whilst we recognise that this is a matter of preference, we know this is important and have passed this onto the owner. We do hope you still enjoyed your break and would love to welcome you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by StewartNov 2021

  • "Great cottage but hated the small roads leading to it, perhaps worth mentioning for less confident drivers."

    Super comfy beds, and lovely layout but sound system needs updating.

    Reviewed by AlisonJul 2021

  • "We’ve rebooked for next year!"

    It’s a lovely cottage and perfect for us and the dog. Looking forward to coming back.

    Reviewed by AmmaraJul 2021

  • "Well equipped cottage and perfect for what we required."

    Excellent response to the 2 issues we had early in the stay.

    Thank you for leaving us your comments. We were really pleased to read that you found the cottage comfortable and that it provided you with everything you required during your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2021

  • "Really good well equipped cottage, great location for walkers with Salcombe and the village easily within reach."

    WiFi connection was very poor otherwise it would have been 5 star!

    Reviewed by RobertMay 2021

  • "The Cottage was well appointed ,Clean, In a great location for us."

    It is tastily decorated and well furnished throughout.

    Reviewed by NeilOct 2020

  • "Perfect retreat with superb walking access To beach and Salcombe."

    It was immaculately kitted out and the log fire a nice touch. Can’t fault the property.

    Reviewed by AdrianSep 2020

  • "The property location is a little remote."

    Malborough village is not really within walking distance especially at night. There are no pavements on the very narrow road which leads in the direction of the village which in any case hasn't got a lot to recommend it. The property itself is comfortable and the bathrooms are well designed and attractive. The patio is a good place to chill out on a nice sunny afternoon. But there are no views. We both wished there had been some technical advice about the full capacity of the TV/audio. There appeared to be a Sky box but we never worked out how to access it . Likewise Netflix. I think the other place in Devon that we have rented a few times from Sykes ( Cabins on Tedburn St Mary golf course) is much more comfortable and better value for money. Doing business with Sykes has always been a well organised and satisfactory experience.

    Reviewed by AnthonyAug 2020

  • "We found the location of the cottage good."

    On the downside the extractor fan on the cooker and the light did not work. It was disappointing that the cottage was not very clean especially as we had to wait until 5pm to gain access to the cottage due to Covid 19 and the extra cleaning which is required, window sills were dirty, glasses dirty the cafeteria was broken and cutlery smeared. We also found a dirty sock under the the sink in our bathroom. We have no strong feelings about our feedback being published we will leave it up to yourselves.

    Reviewed by JayneAug 2020

  • "Enjoyed our stay at Colas Tonne."

    The location is very peaceful and the patio at the rear is really beautiful. A revamp of the crockery wouldn’t go amiss. A few items were chipped and/or cracked. I was surprised the cottage wasn’t more thoroughly cleaned (given more time had been allowed for this) and that the games and books weren’t cleaned or removed. The coffee table had a previous guests tweezers on the bottom.

    Reviewed by RobertJul 2020

  • "Lovely cottage with very good amenities, in a very peaceful area close to coastal footpaths."

    A very relaxing stay and lovely patio at the rear to sit out during warm evenings.

    Reviewed by JonathanJul 2020

  • "The cottage needed a good clean, especially under beds, in corners and behind books on shelf in lounge."

    The grout in shower is dirty and mouldy. The seating area on upstairs patio is full of weeds and the outside furñiture could do with a coat of paint. No oven gloves or colander supplied and no hand wash in either of the bathrooms, just empty containers.. Definitely Not 5*. Don't think the owner bothers to check his property and wonder if Sykes has checked it recently! We have to raise the question Why no visitor's book??

    We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding you stay at Cola's Tonne. We are so disappointed to hear that the property was not presented satisfactorily on your arrival. We work very hard with our housekeeping team to ensure that properties clean, tidy and well maintained, and we apologise that on this occasion we appear to have fallen short. Should you have contacted our local office on arrival we could have most certainly rectified all the issues that you mentioned, by sending out a member of the team, and a gardener. Once again thank you for your comments, and despite these issues, we look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MSep 2019

  • "The house was perfect for us and had all the facilities we needed."

    It was very well furnished and perfectly located. We had a lovely holiday here and all felt very at home. Thank you!

    Reviewed by LauraAug 2019

  • "Problem with tv prior to our arrival - we were advised on day of arrival ..."

    Problem with tv prior to our arrival - we were advised on day of arrival sorted next day but failed again leaving us with no tv ( not able to watch Glastonbury or womens ladies world cup final) sky dish finally replaced did not spoil our holiday

    Reviewed by KevinJun 2019

  • "Comfortable accommodation with quality fittings."

    Pretty location but no views from inside the property or garden.Problem with the dishwasher promptly dealt with. Cleanliness disappointing, dust on light fittings, grubby glass tables, table mats worn and not very clean, dining chairs worn. We have stayed in many self catering accommodations and have always been provided with basics. To be asked to take our own tea towels was strange. The only item left was some oil, pepper and a tin of tomatoes. Rural Retreats who we usually book with provide an amazing welcome hamper and the cost of this accommodation was on a par with some of their properties. How much would it cost to provide some milk, hand wash etc? The instructions to work the TV were inadequate and after a couple of days we enlisted the help of the younger couple renting next door who helped us out. The TV’s in the bedroom would only play the channel selected upstairs and whilst this was stated on the screen we were not aware of it before booking. If anyone wanted to watch a different channel from upstairs they were unable to do so. Garden needed weeding. In conclusion we felt the the cottage was not worth the money.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We are glad you found the property comfortable and we were able to rectify the issue with the dishwasher quickly. However, we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner. We are sorry you were disappointed that there was no welcome hamper on your arrival, unfortunately due to allergies and dietary requirements we do not supply hampers. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised and look forward to welcoming you back to the area in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marjorie JoanJun 2019

  • "Very nice cottage in a great setting but it was supposed to be dog friendly but in reality it wasn't."

    There was no area for the dog to do its business because the patio was a very small decked area and the front drive was shared and the gate was left open by other guests even though we shut it. No other problems at all.

    Reviewed by StevenMay 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    Everything was clean & well looked after. Quiet area with lots of walks. Parking was good. The patio area upstairs is a bit snug but we didn’t use is too much because of the weather. We had a lovely week, thanks. We met the owners while they were staying next door and they were very keen to make sure we were pleased with everything and if there were any problems they would address them. They are apparently extending the patio at some point and getting a gas barbecue. While they were decorating the house next door there was scaffolding so we couldn’t get to the key cupboard when we arrived. Luckily the owners showed us the key was under the mat. Coast & Country cottages hadn't told us this, so could have been a problem when we arrived.

    Reviewed by CarolineApr 2019

  • "There were a few things missing that I would expect to be in a house of this standard."

    E.g. there were no ovengloves, which is a fairly basic need for a self catering property. No nice touches at this house - no milk, tea and coffee left, which are usually there (we use at least 5 holiday cottages per year). I also think it should clearly state that the garden is just a paved terrace. Makes a difference when you have a dog! The house is really comfortable, and nicely furnished.

    Reviewed by JennyApr 2019

  • "A lovely place to be based for good walking and within easy reach of estuary and sea."

    We had a great time and would recommend again and again.

    Reviewed by JacquelynOct 2018

  • "A well equipped and comfortable property but the external terrace and garden tom the rear were in need of maintenance and some replacement."

    One small tree managed to block all afternoon sun.

    Mr John EatwellOct 2018

  • "Lovely cottage in a tranquil area,condition of property excellent."

    Only downside was condition of small garden....needed updating of furniture and a parasol would have been helpful in this current hot spell.

    Mrs Sheila WestwoodJul 2018

  • "Beautiful location, excellently appointed property."

    Our only slight disappointment was the garden furniture and patio which both needed a thorough clean. The furniture was covered in bird mess.

    Jul 2018

  • "A wonderful property."

    Comfortably and tastefully furnished.

    Mr G JamesJan 2018

  • "Wonderful little cottage."

    Very homely. Lovely setting & clean. We had a small issue with spiders at the cottage & my hubby was on spider alert all holiday! But I guess we were in the countryside. The shower in the ensuite seemed to leak onto the rest of the floor which was a pain. Only thing I found very unusual was being asked to strip the beds at the end of the holiday. It IS a holiday, and having paid over a £1000 for the week I didnt expect to be asked to strip the beds to help the cleaners out?! Whatever next? Pushing the hoover round?

    Mrs Sally DaltonAug 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two en suite bedrooms: 1 x Double with en suite shower room with large walk in shower, w.c, wash hand basin and heated towel rail
  • 1 x Twin with en suite bathroom with bath, shower (over), w.c, wash hand basin and heated towel rail
  • Open plan living/dining and kitchen
  • Terrace area with table and two chairs
  • Electric underfloor heating - hot water via an immersion
  • Fridge with freezer compartment, washing machine, tumble dryer, electric oven, four ring halogen hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, microwave
  • Nespresso machine (pods not provided) TV with freeview, DVD player and CD player
  • Both bedrooms have TV with Freeview/DVD player
  • Parking for 1-2 cars on private gravel drive - shared with property next door. Terrace area with table and chairs, Gas BBQ
  • High Chair provided Bed linen and towels supplied
  • Wifi available
  • One well behaved dog permitted.

The property

This fantastic detached property in the small hamlet of Collaton, only five minutes’ drive from the wonderful town of Salcombe is a real Devon Gem, perfectly positioned for exploring the surrounding coastline.

Cola’s Tonne has an upside down layout with its two beautifully well done bedrooms being on the ground floor.

Both the double and the twin room have their own...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

MALBOROUGH

Salcombe 2 miles; Kingsbridge 4 miles.

The attractive village of Malborough boasts a multitude of thatched cottages, a village shop, two excellent country pubs and a thriving post office. It is located just 2 miles from the popular sailing resort of Salcombe, the southernmost town in the South Hams. Boasting a beautiful, scenic coastline, Salcombe is ideal for enjoying sailing, watersports, coastal walking or for simply soaking up the sunshine. Observe the plentiful wildlife in the area, visit several country houses and gardens close by or visit the lovely market town of Kingsbridge. Alternatively, explore the wide open spaces and rocky tors of Dartmoor, just 15 miles away. A perfect holiday location, with much to see and do.

Region Information

One well behaved dog permitted.

All bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied. You will need to bring your own beach towels.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it