Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Sunnyside - Devon - 1106529 - photo 1
close

Floorplans

Floorplan

Floorplan

Photos

Floorplan

Sunnyside

(Ref. 1106529)

Colyton, Devon Show on map

4.3

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Open fire
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (10)
  • cottage (9)
  • stay (8)
  • no (8)
  • our (7)
  • village (7)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "Sunnyside is absolutely lovely."

    The whole renovation of the property is fantastic & we enjoyed the book which has been made documenting the whole process. There was everything that we needed. Having the parking permit was brilliant & is only a few minutes walk from the property. 2 pubs but we only managed to visit the kingfisher, a proper locals but but very welcoming & I bet is really lovely in the garden in the summer. We were able to unload/load outside the property with ease. Ensuring the car was tucked right in the corner to allow for traffic to pass. Colyton is a lovely village & really not far from some amazing places. In our short stay we managed Seaton, Sidmouth, Lyme Regis & Exmouth! All with lovely walks on the beach. As noted in a previous review, there is a slight musty smell to the lounge but we found leaving the lounge door open all time sorted this. It doesn't advertise outdoor space but it does have it. Its not for sitting out in the sun as its more of an alley but did the job for the dogs late at night. With the church attached now sold, fingers crossed they will sort the guttering out. The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is that the spare room is still full of damp. A review 6 months ago pointed this out & yet it is still very bad. Our son with asthma was meant to sleep in this room but we had to move everyone about so he wasn't in there! I have forwarded pictures to Sykes so hopefully this can get sorted for future guests.

    Reviewed by Sophie4.4Mar 2024

  • "Really enjoyed our stay, cottage was spacious tastefully decorated and furnished."

    The village itself was very nice with nice dog friendly pubs ,parking isn't really an issue you can unload and pack your car before using the car park. Would recommend this property, the welcome bag set the tone and it never disappointed throughout our stay.

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2023

  • "We found the cottage very homely, welcoming and comfortable (lovely to have the welcome pack of goodies)."

    Fantastic shower and nicely decorated bathroom, really comfy beds and plenty of equipment in the kitchen. The instructions about how the oven etc worked were really helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in the cottage (& the village) and would recommend/return. Given the lack of parking, it is a nice touch to include the parking permit for the car park in the hire. We never had any issues with finding a space, and enjoyed walking through the village to and from our adventures. The advance description was very accurate so expectations were well managed, and although not advertised as with outside space, the washing line and pegs/outside tap in the yard were useful after beach days, and we sat out the front in the sun on occasion (& met friendly locals!) Some suggestions to make it even better: 1. Whenever we came back in there was a musty odour. In part due to the fact that it is not in use all the time during the day (as we, and other guests, are out and about) which would help airflow but dampness in the kitchen area does seem an issue. Not sure if some vents to allow air flow when closed up would help? For us that was just the cottage smell and it soon went when we opened the windows/doors so it didn't impact our stay but could affect on first impression. 2. A lot of the bedroom cupboards/wardrobes already had items in them (extra bedding mostly). I was in the big bed room and would suggest keeping the wardrobe completely empty and prioritised for guests. I had to remove things first and store them around the room edge so I could unpack. Less of an issue in the other rooms. 3. Little bedroom. Needs a paint where there is/ has been a damp issue. However fully appreciate it is the height of season so difficult to do but it would elevate it further. 4. Need to replace the can opener. It no longer works (teeth don't grip on the can). Overall a great base to go out and enjoy Devon/Dorset. Heaps to do in the area within a short drive, and a super little cottage to return to. Thanks x

    Such lovely comments! We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday and will pass on your helpful comments to the owners. We hope you will return again. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Aug 2023

  • "It's a lovely cottage."

    The book with the restoration details was a great touch. The history graduate in me would have loved to hear about people who may have lived in the cottage via the census (or before) as well as the history of the village. The parking wasn't as big a problem as it could be. But two asterisks. Damp appears to be an underlying problem. The house did smell a bit musty when we arrived and there's damp that needs tackling in the single room. Two, the yard. Totally accept the write ups elsewhere that says this isn't marketed. Reading through the lines, there seems to be have been a standoff with the Methodist Church over cleaning the gutters and water coming into the yard. I know the church is up for auction, but the back yard is definitely a missed opportunity. Maybe this will change. The routine cleaning was spot on. The village was genuinely lovely.

    We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Sunnyside. The owner has not set-up the back yard area for sitting out, it is just for a thorough fare, especially handy when returning from a walk with the dog! We have made the owner aware of your comments regarding the damp. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dan3.4Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage with a nice personal touch."

    Rally enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Aug 2023

  • "Delightful holiday property located centrally in a town surrounded with beautiful countryside with plenty of walks for people with or without a dog."

    Friendly people in this historic town.

    Reviewed by David4.7Jul 2023

  • "A really lovely cottage, great nights sleep with everything we needed."

    Lovely and clean. We were due to stay somewhere else but were let down sadly, but we call it fate as staying at Sunnyside enhanced our little break as we got to see more places and had a much more comfortable stay. Colyton is a beautiful little village that we would not have seen otherwise. Thank You!

    The HalesMay 2023

  • "Short stay after Easter - lovely comfortable cottage."

    Weather inclement, rain and high winds! The small aquarium on the Cobb in Lyme Regis was a welcome respite from the rain, and we fed mullet and met the starfish. Admired Exeter Cathedral and great shopping. We'd love to return in summer for coastal walks.

    The PackhamsApr 2023

  • "Lovely place, comfortable beds, powerful showers, great welcome gifts - what's not to like?"

    Cute village and perfect location to explore East Devon! We had a couple of very nice meals at Mason's Arms in Branscombe and Fisherman's Cot in Bickleigh.

    The Three AmigosApr 2023

  • "What a lovely cottage!"

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the cottage had everything we needed. The village and surrounding areas are lovely. I'm sure we will be back but next time maybe in the summer months!

    TalbotDec 2022

  • "This was our 4th or 5th stay at Sunnyside as we have family in the area and we always enjoy our time there."

    It is ideal with a dog in tow. It would be great if you could update the TV to a smart TV to enable watching Netflix etc and on demand channels. The courtyard area is handy for dogs but it could be made a bit more inviting with maybe a picnic bench or table & chairs. Maybe some festoon lights and plants to make it pretty. Some shingle to make it less damp and gritty underfoot. Just a thought.

    Hey Natalie, thank you so much for your feedback and we are thrilled that you love staying at Sunnyside, as you have probably read in our ‘renovation book’ it is our pride and joy. We appreciate your comments and have taken on board your recommendations. My husband is currently investigating updating the TV as it has been something we have spoken about previously. Fingers crossed next time you stay this will be available ! The courtyard is an area for future development and not something we will be addressing immediately due to the cost of resurfacing with a material that is durable and easily maintained. We have issues with the Methodist church hall not cleaning their gutters which means overflow can be a problem and therefore made a decision to not advertise this as usable outdoor space. “Access and storage only” (I believe in the change over between Lyme Bay and Sykes Cottages that this information was missing and for a period of time the property was advertised as having a courtyard with outdoor furniture, which was misguided and for that we apologise) I trust that you will continue to stay at Sunnyside and as a repeat visitor value your feedback as you will have experienced the property on many occasions. Vanessa & Duncan We are pleased to inform you that we have now added a smart t.v. to the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie4.7Aug 2022

  • "Sunnyside by name only!"

    The house felt quite cold and dark although we had glorious sunshine outside. The courtyard at the back of the property was unusable, very dirty and neglected with no furniture and as the property is on the main road there was nowhere to sit out and enjoy the lovely weather! Roadside parking does not exist, so the parking permit for the car park was much appreciated, although this would have made unloading and loading the car quite difficult if it hadn’t been for the friendly neighbours allowing you to block their drive!! Many thanks for the welcome hamper and milk in the fridge on arrival, containing all locally sourced goods, such a thoughtful gesture.

    We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Welcome Hamper provided. Colyton is a small town with charming winding streets, some of which are narrow in places. The property now benefits from a smart t.v. The Lyme Bay Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen2.8Jul 2022

  • "It was a comfortable cottage, but I think if there were five people it would be rather cramped."

    Indeed there were not five dining chairs available. There is a small outdoor area out the back of the premises which would benefit from a small table and chairs. We certainly would have sat out there. The chimney has a down draft, which when your sitting in the lounge you can smell soot.

    Hey Katherine Thank you for your feedback. Please read the comments above regarding the chimney and courtyard area. Regarding sleeping 5 adults, you are absolutely right. This cottage is ideal for four adults and a child. With the switch over between Lyme Bay to Sykes I believe the documentation neglected to mention the dining table accommodates four only, which I can only apologise and believe this has been rectified by Lyme Bay. Seating for 2 at the breakfast bar. Please note future hirers for reference, the second bedroom is a small double and although accommodates two adults comfortably, this might be something to consider if you are looking for a standard double with lots of space in the room. I trust that helps Vanessa and Duncan Property Owner

    Reviewed by Katherine3.8Jun 2022

  • "This is a lovely cottage, well equipped and in a lovely small town with good pubs nearby for eating."

    The only downside was that there was a horrible smell coming from the fridge/freezer cupboard which did not emanate from the bin. The whole downstairs smelled badly as we walked in. Needs sorting asap as I am sure it will be.

    Dear Mr Handley. Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Sunnyside and we hope you had a lovely time. I am pleased to say that my colleague today discovered that the unpleasant smell you mentioned was coming from the drip tray in the fridge/freezer. He has removed this to give it a good clean and put it back in place and everything now appears to be fine. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and look forward to welcoming you back to Devon in the near future. Regards - Lyme Bay Holidays Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jun 2022

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lyme Bay Holidays collection.
Lyme Bay Holidays are a large, friendly, local agency established for over 40 years. Specialising in the area surrounding Lyme Regis on the Dorset and Devon border, they cover much of the World Heritage Coast as well as some stunning countryside and attractive market towns and villages.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size, 1 x small double, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath with shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, grill and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, hairdryer, Smart HD LED TV, BOSE radio/speaker, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • On-road parking nearby, public car park a short walk from property, subject to availability and 1 permit supplied
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Car parking permit supplied, space subject to availability
  • Note: Logs for the woodburning stove are not supplied.

The property

Nestling in the charming town of Colyton in the heart of Devon, is this period cottage Sunnyside, which dates back to the 17th century and which boasts a wealth of traditional features.

The ideal holiday home for families on holiday together, Sunnyside offers welcoming accommodation which is full of charm and character.

The delightful sitting room has original ceiling beams and an ample seating area arranged around a delightful feature fireplace and woodburning stove helping to create a warm and welcoming ambience.

Step into the attractive fully fitted kitchen and you will find all the facilities you need to be able to whip up delicious food for your holiday party complete with a small breakfast bar where you can pull up a stool, pour yourself a drink and keep the designated chef company.

Once dinner has been prepared make your way to the elegant dining area where you can imagine spending lingering evenings eating, drinking and enjoying each other’s company; the perfect place to really get into the holiday spirit.

When bedtime calls, guests can choose from a super-king-size, a double or a single; all are well-presented and offer a relaxing sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the main house.

Waking up in the morning is a delight at Sunnyside and its location within walking distance of the idyllic town of Colyton is a real plus point.

The historic town of Colyton is well worth a browse while you are here with a number of stunning historic buildings in particular St Andrew’s Church and you can even take a tram for wonderfully scenic journey to the charming town of Seaton along the coast.

Hop in the car and visit some of Colyton’s neighbouring villages such as Northleigh, Southleigh, Colyford and Farway or popular attractions for the whole family to try include Axe Valley Wildlife Park, Beer Quarry Caves, Pecorama and Lyme Regis Marine Aquarium.

Lyme Regis has plenty to offer its visitors with a good selection of shops, cafes, tearooms, boutiques and restaurants, as well as a museum, causeway, harbour and beaches.

Make a family holiday to remember at Sunnyside.

View on map

About the location

COLYTON

Seaton 2.8 miles; Lyme Regis 6.9 miles.

Situated in East Devon, Colyton is a small town with its roots dating back to 700 AD. Situated around three miles from Seaton and six miles from Axmouth, Colyton has many links to its past with numerous historical buildings, such as St Andrew’s Church, and its winding lanes with independent shops. Good food and a warm welcome are on offer at the many inns. Colyton's tram station will provide you with an enjoyable ride alongside the River Axe to Seaton, where you can stop off to relax upon Seaton Beach, tour Beer Quarry Caves, or enjoy a leisurely afternoon strolling through Seafield Gardens. The picturesque villages of Colyford, Southleigh, Northleigh and Farway lie nestled in the heart of the Coly Valley and are always a good day out, where you can explore the woodlands and valleys across the East Devon Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Holyford Woods Local Nature Reserve, and Seaton Wetlands.

Note: Car parking permit supplied, subject to availability. If you require the use of the parking permit, please email your car registration to email@lymebayholidays.co.uk for this to be administrated. Note: Logs for the woodburning stove are not supplied. Dining area seats 4.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas