Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • 7 Nelson Steps - Devon - 995169 - photo 1

7 Nelson Steps

(Ref. 995169)

Dartmouth, Devon Show on map


  • 7 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (12)
  • views (10)
  • steps (8)
  • stay (7)
  • great (7)
  • garage (7)

20 Customer Reviews

  • "Wonderfully positioned, characterful house with fantastic views from the living room and kitchen, day and night."

    Very clean and well kept, with a well-equipped kitchen, and good bathroom and en suite shower room on the mid level. A mostly rainy week meant we couldn’t take advantage of the terraces but again they offer great views. The garage is useful - our BMW 3 Series Estate fitted fairly easily - and at other times there was on street parking readily available within a minute or two’s walk. Minor issues: household supplies were very basic (no kitchen roll or cleaning spray, for example) and only one set of keys provided. The middle floor (two bedrooms and bathroom) smelt a little damp, which is not unusual for coastal homes built into a hillside. There is no damp showing and it’s not enough to affect clothes stored, but if you’re sensitive to the smell of damp it may be a little off-putting. The sofa in the living room is rather tired and uncomfortable but we spent most of our time sitting on the excellent window seats for the views. Care needed at the top of the stairs on the top floor where the flooring is narrow, but that’s just a factor of staying in an old, quirky but fun property. Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this house to anyone who can cope with the fitness challenge of the exterior steps!

    Reviewed by Matthew4.4Sep 2023

  • "Could do with some new beds but still love to stay at this property."

    The position and space are perfect for our needs. We had a wonderful time here.

    Reviewed by Kim3.8Sep 2023

  • "We have been visiting Dartmouth for family holidays for over 30 years staying in a variety of houses, flats and cottages."

    This property was far and away the best we have had, so much so we have already booked again for next year. The photos truly represent the property. Well placed to walk to Castle and into town. Views to die for. Comfortable beds and pillows! Well equipped in both kitchen and living room. The garage - although bijou was a real bonus - especially as it was regatta week. The steps would be an issue if you had mobility problems but you are clearly warned about this in the information. One or two minor maintenance issues eg yale latch wouldn't work and the back door leading to upper patio couldn't be secured. However these have been noted by the keyholders and I'm confident they will be addressed quickly.

    Reviewed by Janis4.7Aug 2023

  • "The main selling point of this property is the amazing view."

    The stairs were worse than we thought, and the parking isn't great, so its not a property I would stay at again. The house was overall very nice and clean. The bbq in the garden wasn't cleaned though and there weren't things such as bath matts which we found quite odd. The location is great. Overall a beautiful property, but wouldn't recommend if you struggle with stairs and like a permanent parking spot (off road parking can be limited and can only stay 2 hours during the hours of 9am and 6pm so have to move car every 2 hours, garage is rather small and is up a very steep and narrow hill).

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy to hear you loved the property, the views really are spectacular. We can only apologies you found the stairs to be difficult, we do advertise on the website the number of steps and the location of the property, as you say the main selling point are those views! Most guests use the garage, however we are really sorry if you were not able to access it and understand that it is not suitable for larger cars. We do hope you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed all Dartmouth has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip3.4Jul 2023

  • "Property was great 5/5 Steps are not great, but it's Dartmouth, some photos of steps might help others when making choice." must supply at least 2 sets of keys, just one set meant a lot more walking up and down the steps. must state size and give location, I asked for size during booking but got no reply. Cleanliness was good, but waste bin (which we didn't use) was filthy inside and smelt when opened not great as was in kitchen. Basic supplies, no washing up liquid or general household cleaning stuff supplied. Details said no tea towels so we brought some, but in fact TTs were supplied. Overall location and facility was a 4.8 out of 5, we would look to come again and 7 Nelson Steps would be a location we would consider.

    Reviewed by Nick4.4Jun 2023

  • "The cottage was perfect for our needs, even on a rainy day, good location and fine views."

    The only item we didn't find was a clothes drying airier, but that was a minor thing for a short stay.

    Reviewed by Phil4.7Apr 2023

  • "I’ve lost count how many times we’ve stayed here - great location in a fantastic town."

    Re the house, we can see it’s been refurbished our only comment would be perhaps the two twin beds could be updated as felt wobbly. Every thing else was, as usual wonderful- already booked for next year

    Reviewed by Richard5.0Nov 2022

  • "Constructive observations: Steps to the property are uneven and awkward for small children and anyone with mobility issues."

    Not easy to access the garage due to scaffolding around property above obstructing the pathway (temporary closure notice posted on scaffold). Evidence of recent external building works resulted in us sweeping the lower garden to save walking a considerable amount of grit and dirt back inside the house (we didn’t use the upper garden). Not a major issue but at this price point I wouldn’t have expected to be having to do this. Concrete blocks left near front door (possibly leftover from scaffold) are a trip hazard and need removing. Rainwater down pipes need installing as without them there’s a bit of noise when raining due to splashing of water on to the paths. Privacy blind required in the en-suite. We couldn’t find a mat for the bath or shower; which would have been appreciated. Positive points: Incredible location. Beautiful property. Garage parking (we didn’t use our car once during our stay). We’d definitely stay here again!

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you loved the property and its location. We can only apologise for the matters you have raised. We have passed on your concerns to the owner who has taken steps to rectify them. The gardens have now been attended to, we are just sorry that they were not as desirable for your stay! We are thrilled that you would stay in this property again and look forward to welcoming you back to Dartmouth soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.7May 2022

  • "Very nice property and ideal for a New Years break with the family."

    Amazing location and an amazing view from the living room across the harbour / estuary. Yes there are steps to the property but that is explained well in the property description but there is a garage and nearby parking so no issues.

    Reviewed by Rob4.7Dec 2021

  • "Beautiful cottage with stunning views ."

    Had an amazing holiday mainly because of how perfect the property was. Had everything we needed , well equipped, warm, comfortable , great location. There were 6 adults for three days of the break and it still felt spacious . Would definitely return and recommend to others.

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Nov 2021

  • "As we looked around we found the property hasn’t been cleaned that good."

    In the bathroom there was black mould around the top of the bath which we bleached and cleaned it. In the kitchen we opened the oven door and found the inside of the door all greasy which we cleaned before using. Also someone has loaded dirty plates in the dishwasher and found it not working and must of unloaded it and where food came off the plates it was all inside the door and in the bottom, so I had a look and found the water had been switched off after that it worked. In the en-suite the door had to be lifted to shut it as it was dragging on the floor, so we looked at the toilet and found it hasn’t been cleaned we lifted the lid to find hair and wee stains on the toilet

    Reviewed by Graham2.8Sep 2021

  • "We absolutely love this property and have stayed here at least 8 times."

    It needs a little tlc in places but I’d still like to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Kim4.1Sep 2020

  • "Yes, although the cottage did have stunning views and was very comfortable, it does have issues that need to be made more clear; steps - it’s not the number that’s an issue it’s the steepness and unevenness of them, also that fact that the cottage is half up a very narrow passageway so you need carry luggage either up or down the entrance."

    Secondly ; the outside spaces aren’t secure and the main one is slightly detached from the cottage up steep steps. Thirdly; the parking ; it’s not just that the garage is small but it’s the access to it is up extremely narrow and twisting roads that are very difficult to navigate unless you have a fairly small car. However the biggest issue was the lack of cleanliness upon our arrival- the kitchen and living areas were not clean at all; greasy fingers prints all over the windows, coffee table filthy , information book dirty , kitchen surfaces not wiped clean and food debris in sink/drainer. We spent well over an hour cleaning everything with antibacterial spray, very disappointing in current circumstances and after waiting until 5 to get into the cottage. On a positive Sykes did respond quickly when contacted about the cleaning which was good.

    Reviewed by Colin2.2Aug 2020

  • "This is a wonderful cottage and it's the second time we've stayed there."

    The access would be difficult for anyone who can't climb 42 steps with luggage, but we're OK with that and the bonus is getting a bit fitter. The only real issue I had was with broadband, which kept dropping out in true BT style. I was trying to work some of the time and this made it very difficult and frustrating. Oh, and someone had taken the batteries out of most of the remote controls! Other than that, the best views in Dartmouth and a great base for the week. I'd really recommend this property and Coast and Country are a pleasure to deal with.

    Reviewed by John4.7May 2019

  • "Cottage was gorgeous and well-appointed."

    There were heated floors in the bathroom and views to die for from the living room. Very comfortable and no neighbors on either side so nice and quiet. It was fabulous. They are not joking about the stairs though!! The cottage sits right in the middle of a steep staircase, so there are narrow, streets climbs to access the property. Just be warned if you have mobility restrictions. Also, roads are very narrow, so large vehicles will struggle to park.

    Reviewed by Hilary4.7Dec 2018

  • "Fantastic views nice house needs a touch of paint"

    Mr Chris MorganAug 2017

  • "Sleeps 7 - 8 people so suitably priced."

    Mrs Alex ClareJun 2017

  • "Fantastic place - quality through and through."

    Awe-inspiring views of the river and lots of outdoor space too. Loved it and can't wait to return.

    Mrs S BluntMay 2017

  • "Lovely stay in a wonderful cottage."

    Great views and so near everything. Just mind the steps

    Ms Sharon AllenMar 2017

  • "Good"

    Mr L LambourneOct 2016

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size with an en suite featuring a large shower cubicle (electric shower), w.c., wash-hand basin and heated towel rail
  • 1 x twin, 1 x bunk room with additional 'truckle' bed available on request only
  • Sitting room
  • Kitchen/dining room seating up to eight
  • Family bathroom with 'Jack and Jill' entrances so can be used either as an en suite to the twin room or as a shared bathroom to bedrooms 2 and 3
  • Bathroom with bath, gravity shower (over), w.c., and wash-hand basin
  • Two terraces.
  • Four ring electric hob and oven, microwave, fridge and freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer
  • TV with DVD player
  • Gas central heating and hot water with immersion back-up
  • WiFi
  • There is garage parking for one small/medium sized car in Above Town(some larger models may not be suitable - please contact the office for dimensions if required)
  • Please note there are 43 steps down from the garage in Above Town to the property
  • Access from Newcomen Road is up 43 steps
  • Steps are steep in places and uneven. Two small dogs are allowed
  • Two terraces - both with views of The River Dart All bed linen and towels supplied
  • You will need to bring your own tea towels and beach towels
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

7 Nelson Steps is an elevated three storey pet-friendly property enjoying stunning river and sea views.

The property provides a delightful base from which to enjoy the delights of Dartmouth with its array of pubs, restaurants and boutique shops and the wider South Devon coast and countryside. The property is accessed either up or down 43 external steps into the spacious mid-level hallway with staircases leading up to the living accommodation and down to the third bedroom.

The sitting room is a light and spacious room with triple aspect windows and is furnished with a double sofa, armchairs and two large window seats offering river views.

The kitchen/dining room has a well-equipped kitchen with attractive Shaker-style units and a wooden dining table seating up to eight guests.

There are three bedrooms in total.

Bedroom one is furnished with a King-size bed and benefits from an en suite shower room, bedroom two has two singles beds and a en suite/shared family bathroom with panelled bath and shower over.

The third bedroom, situated on the lower floor, is primarily designed for children with bunk beds, single bed and a trundle bed (available on request).

Outside there are two terraces, the upper terrace, accessed from the dining room, has a table and two chairs, whilst the lower side terrace has a table with chairs and bench seating. Garage parking is available for one small/medium sized car in Above Town.

The property is child friendly, but not suitable for babies in prams due to the access.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

Please note there are 43 steps down from the garage in Above Town to the property. Access from Newcomen Road is up 43 steps. Steps are steep in places and uneven.

The garage is not suitable for 4x4 or large car.

Above town is a narrow road that runs 'above' and parellel to the River Dart. Access to Above Town is via a steep road.

Please note the property accepts two well behaved dogs.

Please bring a torch if arriving at night.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas