Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 of 21 View Larger Image
  • 9 Dartmouth House - Devon - 995188 - photo 1
close

9 Dartmouth House

Dartmouth, Devon (Ref. 995188)

4.8

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely apartment,felt like home from home."

    Well equipped,very central and M&S an added bonus.Would definitely recommend this holiday.

    Reviewed by JanetteJun 2022

  • "Thank you for a super place to stay."

    Well equipped, 4.5 tog duvet was great. We felt as though we could easily relax here. In many ways the apartment exceeded our expectations. Have already booked for next year!

    Reviewed by JohnMay 2022

  • "On arrival at the key holder office the office manager sitting at her desk pointed to a table saying there is an envelop with your name on and the keys are inside, that was the full extent of the instruction she gave."

    We immediately opened the sealed retrieving the keys and proceeded in our vehicle to the car park area in the basement of the building. To enter the apartment building from the parking area, one required a code in which to enter the building security door. I had to return to the office in requesting the code. I was informed that the code was stated on the envelop by the office manager. I replied "it was a pity you didn't inform me of this when collecting the key's" Once more I had a reason to request a second door code to the refuse area. The same office person informed me in a cynical manner, the code is stated on the bin key label. I informed her that there wasn't a code stated on the label, and her reply "well there should be" and informed me of suck. My invalided Wife and I think the Management office personnel should be a lot more helpful and informative than we experience.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry you felt our staff were unhelpful during your stay. We pride ourselves on building a good relationship with all of our customers and can only apologise that we fell short on this occasion. Rest assured that this has been discussed with the relevant people. We welcome all feedback so that we may grow and work to continue providing great customer service. We do hope that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed all Dartmouth has to offer and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelApr 2022

  • "This is our favourite of the apartments that we've stayed in at Dartmouth House."

    A very well decorated and equipped property, comfortable and immaculate. Home from home.

    Reviewed by TerryApr 2022

  • "Very nice accommodation and thoughtful facilities / presentation."

    Ideally situated for the town centre. We would have no hesitation in returning or making a strong recommendation to others.

    Reviewed by TedFeb 2022

  • "This is a beautifully furnished and well-equipped apartment in an excellent position, with the priceless added bonus of private parking."

    We've stayed in several of the Dartmouth House apartments over the years and this is probably now our favourite.

    Reviewed by TerrySep 2021

  • "Underground parking essential Parking in town is a nightmare."

    Staff very friendly

    Reviewed by MaryJul 2021

  • "We love this place and have stayed many times."

    However, we would appreciate more advance warning of issues which affect our stay. For example, there was no prior advice that you wouldn't be doing our mid-weekend clean and bed/towel changes. We understand about Covid, but to hit us with that via a laminated inside the flat makes it seem like you're afraid to tell people. Likewise, the notice to cleaners says to leave certain items per week, such as bin bags. Because we were there for a fortnight, wouldn't leaving double be sensible? The hole-ridden tea towel was ridiculous, but not quite as silly as the very small (red) bags you expected us to cram all the linen in on departure.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry you were disappointed that you were not made aware there was no mid-stay clean, as you appreciate these are uncertain times but we do hope to resume this service soon. If you had requested a mid stay linen change we would have been more than happy to drop this to you and take the other linen away. We agree that it would be sensible to double up on things such as bin bags and we will inform the cleaner of your feedback so this will happen in the future. We have passed all you comments onto the owners. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay in spite of these issues and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PhilipJun 2021

  • "Despite the limitations due to the pandemic, we enjoyed our time in Dartmouth and found that we could still do most things."

    By booking in advance of arrival in Dartmouth we were able to eat out several times. We were sorry that some of our favourite things, the boat to Totnes and Coleton Fishacre were not available but there was still plenty to enjoy. A particular pleasure was the appartment, which we had not hired before. It was spacious, modern, comfortable and extremely well placed for the town. We rebooked for 2021 as soon as we got home.

    Reviewed by GrahamOct 2020

  • "We have just spent a wonderful week in Dartmouth at this property."

    Everything was as we hoped it would be. The apartment was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. It was lovely to have the use of the balcony, which caught full sunshine every morning. Yes there is road noise on the balcony but we got used to that and it can only be heard when the patio doors are open and the double glazing works a treat. It was fantastic to have the garage space below the house; anyone who is familiar with Dartmouth will know that parking is often an issue and having this space meant we never had to worry. Also it was a bonus having the lift as it meant no lugging of heavy cases up the stairs! The staff in the office were really helpful and always present if we needed anything, but we didn't need to call on them. We would thoroughly recommend this property and we will definitely be returning in the future.

    Reviewed by JuliaAug 2020

  • "A second visit to this apartment and an excellent location to enjoy all that Dartmouth has to offer all year round."

    On site parking, an M&S Food store on the door step and being situated on level ground is a real bonus.

    Reviewed by TonyJan 2020

  • "Property in brilliant location and to have parking is magic in Dartmouth."

    Little touch's like decorating for Christmas a bonus will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by StephenDec 2019

  • "Reading reviews from other people you never know what to expect!"

    The apartment we felt had the "wow" factor as you entered the lounge and the rest of the it was just as good. The balcony was big enough to sit out, weather permitting and the underground car park was a bonus. The location is also good for walking, buses, ferries etc.

    Reviewed by DavidNov 2019

  • "Dartmouth is a fantastic place."

    The apartment is spacious although decor in the lounge could be updated. The apartment is very centrally located. The staff at Coast & Country were very helpful when I needed a high chair & an extra set of keys although I do think two sets of keys should come as standard at all cottages. directions were also very helpful to avoid the ferries for which there could be long delays. I will rebook this property.

    Reviewed by JulieOct 2019

  • "Apartment was very clean, well appointed and in a great location."

    Parking in Dartmouth can be a major issue, but this property benefited from a parking space underneath the building. All this contributed to an excellent holiday.

    Reviewed by CaroleSep 2019

  • "Soon after arrival, reported dirty Windows outside and iced up freezer and icebox in fridge."

    Neither fixed during our stay. Would appreciate coffee maker eg Tassimo or Nespresso. Also a spatula and ice cream scoop. Disappointed to find the small tray we had bought and left behind a year ago had disappeared. This was/is needed as only one large tray provided. Found Freeserve on TV very limited, Sky and or Netflix would be nice. Also, recycling instructions were confusing and different from what we were told by your office staff. Overall, comfortable flat and another enjoyable stay in Dartmouth House.

    Reviewed by SallySep 2019

  • "This is a lovely apartment, very well appointed with comfy beds and nice white linen."

    It was spotlessly clean and we would go as far to say that it's the cleanest apartment we've ever stayed in, so full marks to the cleaner! It also has a good sized balcony with a view over the river and the benefit of underground parking which was great. It is convenient for the town, ferry, boat trips, steam train and buses. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it and would have no hesitation in returning should we visit Dartmouth again in the future.

    Reviewed by JaneAug 2019

  • "Thoroughly enjoyable."

    EVERYTHING within a few minutes walk. Relaxing in the Royal Gardens, listening to the musicians, plus enjoying the lady in the Wedding hat line dancing to the music, just made it wonderful. Safe, underground car park (never got "seagull'ed!") with lift to accommodation was a real boon. Highly recommend.

    Reviewed by AlanJul 2019

  • "Nice modern apartment."

    Well furnished with everything needed including good broadband connection. Easy access to boats and ferries and a bus stop just outside building. Excellent undercover parking. Only downside is road noise all day with patio door or windows open it was constant traffic. Also Dartmouth has a big seagull problem squawking day and night and swooping down onto people.

    Reviewed by DeborahJun 2019

  • "We had an issue with the lighting in the lounge - it was so dim that we couldn’t read anything, even with the lights turned up."

    We mentioned it to Coast and Country and someone went round the same day to change the bulbs. Because of the light fittings, there wasn’t much that could be done, but it was good to get such an instant response. The new welcome package of bin bags, cleaning tabs etc is a great idea and very useful, as is the new cutlery drainer. If we were allowed a wish list, we would ask for a clothes airer (yes, there’s a tumble drier but there's also, sometimes, sunshine), a wine cooler, and improved lighting in the lounge.

    Reviewed by PhilipJun 2019

  • "We enjoyed an excellent six days in Dartmouth which is a lovely town and area."

    The pleasure was completed by the high quality accommodation at 9 Dartmouth House. The apartment was spotlessly clean, spacious and well appointed. It was the perfect location due its position near the centre of town and the convenience of the building's underground car park with lift access to the apartments above. This not only ensured the total security of the car, but made our arrival and departure with attendant humping of luggage easy and stress-free. Thank you for a great holiday.

    Reviewed by MichaelMay 2019

  • "(+ points) This is a very comfortable, well maintained and warm apartment with a good view to the water and Kingswear."

    On site secure parking is a real plus point as was Netflix and good speed broadband connection. Dartmouth is great out of season holiday destination as most restaurants and shops operate year round. (- points) There was no hand wash or soap in the kitchen or any of the bathrooms. Access to the underground car park was difficult on occasions and one time impossible due to the poor parking of cars in the access road. There really should be double yellow lines for the full length of the road. C&C office kindly provided a Mayors Avenue parking pass for the impossible occasion.

    Reviewed by TonyFeb 2019

  • "Nice comfortable flat, readily accessible and with secure parking beneath the building."

    Mr Ian MartinOct 2018

  • "Both the apartment and communal areas were immaculatly clean."

    The flat was furnished to a high standard if slightly dated. The parking was a real bonus as a lot of the car park across the road was taken up by cars with permits so there were not many spare places even in the evenings.

    Sep 2018

  • "High quality property."

    Very clean and well presented. Perfect location. On site parking.

    Aug 2018

  • "Clean, every thing you need in the flat, very central."

    Miss Linda OwenJul 2018

  • "We loved this apartment - it was light, bright and cheerful, with lots of storage space and very comfortable facilities."

    It was also very well located, and much nicer than another apartment we've previously stayed in in the same House. We also received great service from Coast and Country when we wanted to make some changes to our booking, but we did have to try several times before we got a member of staff who actually tried to do what we wanted (thanks Diane!). What we found odd was that the details of the apartment were wrong - there was no coffee machine, no drawers in the wardrobes, no larder fridge freezer (separate fridge and freezer instead), the kitchen worktop wasn't a wooden one. Why were these details in when they weren't true? Could it be a description of a different apartment in the same building? Possibly. What really irked was the directions, which said go to the ground floor from the underground car park. That wasn't right, but I spent some time lugging three heavy bags, after a nearly 7 hour journey, wandering round the ground floor looking for an apartment which was on a different floor. Surely that detail could be checked before being sent out?

    Jun 2018

  • "Clean and tidy with everything in its place,no need to hunt round for anything."

    Mrs C WestlakeMay 2018

  • "Everything you need for a lovely holiday is in this property"

    Mr R HudsonMay 2018

  • "Another lovely stay at Dartmouth House, this time at no."

    9. The apartment was spotless, bed very comfortable and a well equipped kitchen. We also liked the large ensuite shower cubicle. Only one little negative - maybe sensible to have a shower curtain or shower screen for the bath in main bathroom. We stayed over the "Dartmouth Candlelit" festivities which was a bonus.

    Dec 2017

  • "The apartment was spotlessly clean throughout, with plenty of towels provided."

    This was our fourth visit to Dartmouth House, and we particularly liked no.9 so much that we have already booked for next year. It was a delight to have the choice of a lightweight duvet, 13tog is far too heavy for us, even in the winter. The super king size bed was so comfortable and to have a shower with enough room to move around was very welcome. Why do so many apartments have such small showers? An added bonus is the private parking, which was the icing on the cake!

    Mrs B FugeNov 2017

  • "Clean, well stocked and convenient location."

    Underground parking was excellent although cars parking in the alleyway did sometimes make access to the car park very difficult.

    Oct 2017

  • "This a very good apartment within Dartmouth House."

    Clearly a deal of work has been done to maintain it to a high standard. If I had to make a "minor" critisism, it would be a request for a simple DVD facility for rainy days.

    Mr I MartinOct 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x super King-size bed (zip and link to make two single beds on request), 1 x King-size bed
  • Open plan living, kitchen and dining room
  • Furnished terrace with river views
  • En suite shower room and family bathroom.
  • Electric oven, four-ring gas hob with extractor over, fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer
  • TV & DVD player
  • Wifi
  • Secure underground parking for one car
  • Central heating and hot water
  • All bed linen and bath/hand towels are supplied
  • You will need to bring tea towels and beach towels.

The property

The popular Dartmouth House development in Mayors Avenue is just a few metres level walk from the embankment and River Dart.

Dartmouth's specialist shops, art galleries, pubs and restaurants are within an easy reach, as are the beautiful Royal Avenue Gardens. Entrance hallway contains an airing cupboard and leads onto all main rooms.

Lovely open plan living accommodation includes a well maintained and fully equipped kitchen with fitted units, electric oven, four-ring gas hob with extractor over, fridge, freezer, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer.

The very comfortable living space has French windows that open out to a good sized balcony, furnished with a table and chairs, with river views.

There are two comfortable sofas, armchair and coffee table, as well as a TV & DVD player.

The dining area has a table and four chairs.

The spacious en suite master bedroom has a super King-size bed (formed with two single beds, which can be split if required) and a large fitted wardrobe.

This room leads onto an en suite bathroom with large shower cubicle, w.c., wash-hand basin and heated towel rail.

The second bedroom has a double bed and a fitted wardrobe.

In addition to the en suite is a modern, fully tiled family bathroom with bath, shower over, w.c.

and vanity unit with wash-hand basin.

A secure underground car parking space is available with this property. In a central position, this easily accessible property is ideal for a couple or family looking to enjoy Dartmouth’s waterfront and town centre.

Wheelchair access for this property is good as the development has a lift from the private underground car park to the apartment level.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

DARTMOUTH

Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

Region Information

Wheelchair access for this property is good as the development has a lift from the private underground car park to the apartment level.

Property is within proximity of the fairground during Dartmouth Regatta.
Garage Dimensions
Entrance:

2.41 Metres high

4.50 Metres wide

Spaces: 4.3 Metres Long

2.45 Metres wide.