Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 1 minutes ago

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Larger Image
  • Diddly Squat, 43 Dart Marina - Devon - 995039 - photo 1
close

Diddly Squat, 43 Dart Marina

Dartmouth, Devon (Ref. 995039)

4.2

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

40 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely stay at Diddly Squat and it was an ideal base for our time in Dartmouth."

    With the balcony doors open on a sunny, summer evening there was a lovely view of the river from the dining table. The apartment was a generous size with plenty of wardrobe and storage space. It was also very handy to have a parking space in Dartmouth! The only real issue we found was it took quite a long time for the hot water to come through in the en-suite shower (it was fine in the main bathroom). A minor niggle and rot something that spoiled our stay.

    Reviewed by NatalieMay 2022

  • "Quilt cover to big for the quilt no mattress cover."

    Dog hairs on cushions.Bird poo on patio doors..Very disappointed.

    May 2022

  • "The property is advertised as luxury, this may have been true when the furnishings were new but the apartment is now very tired and needs a refresh."

    The sofas are filthy and uncomfortable, the TV from circa 2009, the twin beds join together move and you can feel the gap, the scatter cushions have holes in and the duvet is not big enough for the size of bed...I could go on. Furthermore the apartment was not clean when we arrived, I had to hoover hair up from the bedroom, clean crockery and cutlery, move broken glasses from the cupboard, sweep up dirt in the bathroom, clean the filthy TV remote etc. The mattress protectors and duvets are also not cleaned between stays and these are badly stained. The apartment is an amazing location however and we would potentially book an alternative apartment in the same estate (but be wary of the tight car park!). However during COVID the cleaning regime needs to be upped as it was very poor and made me anxious.

    Reviewed by EmmaOct 2021

  • "Lovely apartment in a great location."

    Only drawback was that the kitchen was not as well equipped as we would have liked, with only one shelf in the oven and a very small fridge. Would be better if the WiFi was more reliable. Nevertheless we had a great stay.

    Reviewed by PeterAug 2021

  • "The cottage certainly had the WOW factor and we really enjoyed our stay there."

    Only complaint was WiFi - instructions on it were poor. Really comfortable beds and lounge area - thank you.

    Reviewed by JoanneJul 2021

  • "Only one oven shelf?"

    No way of cooking more than one dish! Coffee machine didn't work as described in instructions, it was warm .

    Reviewed by DarrylJun 2021

  • "Another lovely holiday at Diddly Squat a quite superb apartment."

    However as mentioned before some stains on carpets and the 2 TVs are now very outdated probably getting on for 15 years old (we have been coming here for 8 years now). Hot water in main shower never seemed to get hot this time. And the provided Wi-Fi seems very poor. Thankfully we use BT. But we will be back in September.

    Reviewed by GrenvilleMay 2021

  • "Very disappointed with cleanliness ."

    Was very dusty and dirty had definitely not been cleaned or polished for some time very uncomfortable especially with COVID on our minds.If I owned property I would definitely be getting new cleaners in.Diddly Squart Is a nice property very well situated but let down by cleaning.Wonder if the message on the bottom of the mirror is still there?

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2020

  • "On first impressions property looked as described."

    However, having had a delay for two hours to check in due to COVID deep cleaning, we were disappointed to find it had not been cleaned very thoroughly. Also, as previous reviews mentioned and have still not been addressed such as, the showers remained inadequate, very limited basic items left for a welcome to a “Luxury Appartment” especially after being informed that the hotel spa facilities were not going to be available as advertised and no recompense from the owners as requested. A small token gesture would have been appreciated, but true to it’s name there was “Diddly Squat!” We are surprised that it is still being advertised as having use of these facilities, as this was one of the reasons we booked the property. If these issues had been addressed originally when mentioned, our stay would have met expectations.

    Reviewed by MarkSep 2020

  • "Another great holiday and the weather was truly wonderful."

    It’s a good job we brought our own 1 tog duvet again as the one’s provided are far too thick. It is a warm apartment.

    Reviewed by GrenvilleAug 2020

  • "The only comments we would make are as follows - The key to the outside door was very difficult to turn in the lock."

    The kitchen could do with more small plates and kitchen towels When removing the sheet off the bed in the smaller bedroom we found the mattress badly stained Other than this we had a most enjoyable holiday

    Reviewed by MalcolmJul 2020

  • "We have stayed at Diddly Squat 8 times over the last 6 years and just returned after a two week stay."

    A fantastic and very comfortable and homely apartment.However we have noticed over the last few years an increasing number of stains on carpets and furniture, the splash black in the en-suite didn’t appear to have been cleaned very well, and the top shelf of the wardrobe was dirty, and there were very few coat hangers (good job we brought plenty ourselves). Also a number of the mugs were badly stained, we had to bleach them, and no hand towel or soap dispenser for upstairs loo (has been in the past) despite asking at the office during first week. We booked the second week after the first week and when speaking to head office I enquired whether there would be any discount for booking the second, I was promised on two occasions by two different I do ideals that they would enquire and get back to me. I had no contact from anybody. We love the Marina and Diddly Squat and hope comments will be taken on board. Thank you again for a memorable holiday in the delightful Dartmouth.

    Many thanks for your feedback, although we were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner concerned and we will request that the cupboards and equipment, in particular, are given a thorough clean. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are also grateful for the comment in respect of the carpets and furniture and will pass on your feedback to the owners. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issues raised Please accept our apologies that you weren’t contacted about whether any discount could be offered when you were extending your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Dart Marina in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GrenvilleSep 2019

  • "We found Dartmouth to be a warm and welcoming place with lots of things to do and see and makes an an excellent base for exploring."

    Diddly Squat 43 Dart Marina is a beautiful apartment as is the surrounding complex, however the patio doors on both floors of the apartment are unable to lock which left us a little uncomfortable leaving the property unlocked. The kitchen tap leaks which in time is going to spoil the lovely wood work surface around it. The kitchen utensils and pans could do with adding to/replacing. A welcome pack on arrival would have been nice to have but overall we had a fantastic stay and will recommend the apartment to other.

    Reviewed by DawnAug 2019

  • "Lovely apartment, we will return."

    Very much liked the idea you can book for 3,5,7 nights.

    Reviewed by AlexiaJun 2019

  • "The apartment was very comfortable and what we expected having stayed in similar apartments in the Dart Marina."

    We were disappointed that there was no free Wi-Fi which we would expect as standard.

    Reviewed by HeatherMar 2019

  • "Just as expected no nasty surprises."

    Mrs J MartinOct 2018

  • "Apartment well furnished but entrance via the fire exit steps not ideal"

    Jun 2018

  • "Fantastic property and position"

    Mr Grenville PageMay 2017

  • "Lovely! Exceedingly comfy beds, stylishly decorated, warm and cosy, even in late damp February"

    Mrs M DonaldsonMar 2017

  • "Excellent"

    Oct 2016

  • "Appartment was beautifully furnished and decorated to a high standard."

    it's not directly on the river dart so views are limited. only negative points are the appartment overlooks the service drive for the hotel so deliveries arrive most mornings from 7 onwards-laundry, food services, bin men etc. we also would have liked more holiday info in there-a map, nearby beaches, walks, etc. we collected brochures from the tourist information and left them for the next guests. no info on wifi either, there didn't appear to be any unless you paid to use the hotel's. great to stay in Dartmouth centre tho, with bars and restaurants, and use of the gym and pool was good.

    Jul 2016

  • "Diddly Squat was well appointed, clean and tidy."

    A great escape with everything in the apartment you would need for a self-catering home from home stay. Great location just metres from the waters edge and a short walk to the centre of Dartmouth.

    Jul 2016

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay at Diddly Squat."

    The apartment is to a very good standard and very comfortable. We had a nice week in Dartmouth, we found the apartment well located for days out. We also enjoyed the complimentary use of the hotel spa, adjacent to the property.

    PIPPAJul 2016

  • "Very good apartment in a very good position."

    ROGER CATERJun 2016

  • "My family like this property, we have stayed in the same on three occasions and would certainly wish to book again."

    PETERFeb 2016

  • "Wonderful apartment in lovely location."

    Dec 2015

  • "Excellent"

    Sep 2015

  • "Excellent property and excellent location."

    Jun 2015

  • "Great. Clean."

    Tidy. For a high end resort I would expect more than 2 loo rolls in a 3 bed apartment, a couple of dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid. All high end resorts I stay at would have ample of these every time. Thanks

    Jan 2015

  • "Lovely apartment"

    Nov 2014

  • "Would say very good."

    Oct 2014

  • "Great apartment"

    Oct 2014

  • "Fantastic apartment."

    Crockery a bit low especially mugs. Thank you

    Sep 2014

  • "Stylish apartment in excellent location."

    Certainly want to go back.

    Jul 2014

  • "Good"

    Apr 2014

  • "Lovely property and excellent location."

    Apr 2014

  • "Would have rated it excellent last year, however, it now has half as many dishes/crockery/pots/pans as previously."

    Broken/chipped dishes have not been replaced. Toilet rolls only half provided. Soap/hand cream extras not provided this time round. It's the details that make the difference!

    Apr 2014

  • "Excellent"

    Apr 2014

  • "Excellent"

    Apr 2014

  • "Lovely flat / quality, but slightly let down by quality of items like cutlery / plates etc which seemed to be mixtures of different items."

    Impossible to get any TV reception in bedroom. Cleanliness on arrival could have been better could tell it had not been used much prior to our arrival. Overall value for money okay but would think twice about paying summer rates

    Apr 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Two storey duplex apartment
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x Super King-size with en suite with a large shower cubicle, vanity unit with basin, w.c and heated towel rail
  • 1 x Super King-size with Juliet balcony
  • Open plan living/dining/kitchen area
  • Family bathroom with bath, shower (over), w.c., wash-hand basin, heated towel rail and shaver point.
  • Four-ring gas range and oven, integrated dishwasher, washing machine and fridge (with freezer compartment), microwave and beech worktops
  • Flatscreen TV with Freeview, DVD player and music system
  • No Private WiFi - 'Wi-fi Spark' (charges applicable). Strictly no pets. Allocated parking for one car
  • For reasons of safety and comfort children under 5 years of age are not permitted at this property
  • High quality white cotton bed linen and towels supplied.

The property

A tongue-in-cheek name, 'Diddly Squat' is a luxury two-storey duplex apartment, providing superb accommodation for couples or families with children over the age of 5.

The property has a fantastic Juliet balcony, boasting lovely views towards the River Dart. Dart Marina is a stunning development on the water’s edge in Dartmouth, one of the West Country's most sought-after locations.

Offering the ultimate in luxury self-catering accommodation, each property is individually owned and styled, and has an allocated parking space. One flight of steps or a good-sized lift lead up to the apartment entrance.

On the upper level is a stylish and contemporary open plan lounge/kitchen/dining room.

The beautifully crafted, state-of-the-art kitchen leads to the dining area, with stylish round table and four chairs.

The lounge is furnished to the very highest standards with a double sofa and large flatscreen Freeview TV – the perfect spot for relaxing after a day on the water!

Double doors open to a Juliet balcony, with glimpses of the river across the hotel grounds. On the lower level, the property has two double bedrooms.

The en suite master bedroom has a sumptuous super-King size bed (6'), flatscreen TV and double doors to a Juliet balcony, offering views across the hotel grounds towards the river and Kingswear beyond.

The delightful en suite has a large shower cubicle.

The second bedroom also has a super-King size bed and Juliet balcony.

In addition to the en suite is a family bathroom with bath and shower (over).

This is the fabulous accommodation for a those looking for a luxurious base in this fascinating waterside town.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

DARTMOUTH

Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

Region Information


For reasons of safety and comfort children under 5 years of age are not permitted at this property.

Please note that there is no private broadband available in the apartment. However wireless broadband access is sometimes available via a 3rd Party supplier 'Wi-fi Spark' (charges applicable).


This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it