Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • 24 Meadow Retreat - Cornwall - 1121190 - photo 1



24 Meadow Retreat

(Ref. 1121190)

Dobwalls, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Sauna
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • room (7)
  • cinema (7)
  • stay (7)
  • only (6)
  • bath (5)
  • lovely (5)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "Property was excellent, as was the Customer Service from Sykes The Property owners were very obliging too."

    An overall first class experience Thanks.

    I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at 24 Meadow Retreat and that you rate us as first class, that's amazing news! Hurry back soon! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antony5.0Jan 2024

  • "Had a wonderful stay in Cornwall in Oct ‘23."

    The chalet is ideally located and comfortable after long days seeing the area. Brilliant for a staycation. Had a couple of little niggles, i.e with surround sound not working as it should in the cinema room, but that’s just being picky. Looking forward to going back next year.

    Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback Philip, I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us. I have asked for our maintenance team to have a look at the surround sound, I am sorry that this was not working for your stay but it is great you still had a lovely time. We can't wait to welcome you back again next year. Best wishes, Martha, Guest Services, Charteroak. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip4.7Oct 2023

  • "Spent a week at Dobwalls and stayed at 24 Meadow Retreat, the cabin had absolutely everything including sauna outside spa bath gym with a bike and rowing machine and to top it all a cinema room, although the dvd player was unfortunately missing the remote control."

    It was brilliant and Dobwalls is central to lots of attractions without having to travel too far. Hopefully we will return definitely worth staying here it's great

    I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us Donald and that you loved 24 Meadow Retreat. I am so sorry that the DVD remote was missing, I have contacted our maintenance team to rectify. We look forward to welcoming you back to visit in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donald5.0Oct 2023

  • "Fantastic, comfortable, well equipped cabin very enjoyable stay only a couple of points which could have made it even better."

    Toilet installed too close to the wall (left side when sitting) you hit the roll holder when sitting hence why it was hanging off the wall. Unable to use the cinema room as I don’t have Netflix or the like, there were no dvd’s or any other way to watch films.only able to watch films in the living room as a previous customer had left their Netflix signed in. Thank you “nip slip”

    Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts and experiences of your stay at 24 Meadow Retreat, Andrew. I am so happy to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and loved the lodge. Thank you also for letting me know about the toilet issue and the lack of DVD's in the cinema room, I am so sorry that you were not aware of the situation before your arrival. I hope that despite these issues you will return in the future to stay with us again. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Sep 2023

  • "Very enjoyable break in a peaceful location."

    The property had everything that was needed for my needs, in fact it had more.

    I am delighted to hear that you had such a lovely stay at 24 Meadow Retreat and appreciated all the facilities the lodge has to offer! I hope you will hurry back to stay with us again! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacob5.0Apr 2023

  • "First impressions on arriving was amazing and very happy we chose this lodge."

    Over the week we settled in and found all the facilities accommodating and enjoyable so well done. To be picky a couple of things were disappointing The toilet floor was noisy and got to be annoying and bad smells from time to time from drains.the sink had greasy marks. No table in the lounge to play cards etc as the stools didn't sit flat on the floor as they were sat across the carpet.had to sit at each end of breakfast bar.1 foot rest has been bent down and could lead to breaking off. The sofa was worn out and uncomfortable The TV room was a great idea but the led around the walls didn't work and the sound bar didn't play through the TV only through Bluetooth which was pointless Outside decking needed an outside brush to clear away all the branches from the seating area,instead we had to use the inside soft brush.why was this not cleared before arriving and outside glass cleaned and not left green. The bath was left with grease marks as not cleaned. You may need to lubricate the front door as getting very stiff on mechanism. Overall we had a good stay and a great holiday

    I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay at 24 Meadow Retreat Steven and made full use of the facilities. Thank you for leaving feedback for us, we appreciate it so much. I am very sorry you found several issues with your lodge, I have passed your comments on to the relevant teams, so that the points that you mentioned can be resolved. I really do hope that you will come back to Southern Halt to stay with us again, as we really do value our guests. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven4.1Apr 2023

  • "A very private, comfortable and warm lodge; some dilapidation is evident ~ a few areas require ‘housekeeping’ attention (dusty blinds, smeared windows)… Importantly, beautiful Cornish winter weather for this adhoc get away!"

    PS: The site staff are friendly (new onsite reception office is a positive addition). Thank you.

    Thank you so much for leaving us feedback Denise, we really appreciate you giving us your time. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the issues you found with the housekeeping at your lodge. This is not something we would wish for our guests, so I apologise most sincerely. Several of our lodges are undergoing refurbishment at present, so I do hope you will revisit and enjoy these changes in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise3.8Feb 2023

  • "This lodge was an ideal getaway for a relaxing break away."

    It has everything you need, and was clean and warm, with beautiful views over the fields from the lounge and decking area. A short drive from Looe. We had a wonderful winter holiday.

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback Angela, we really do appreciate your time. I am so happy to hear you had a fantastic stay with us and found everything to your liking. Hopefully you will be back to see us again very soon. Sally Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Jan 2023

  • "Absolutely loved our stay, very clean, everything we needed, great location, comfortable, literally my only negative is that I didn't realise there were any steps in the property, I think it would be helpful if that was mentioned, I am disabled so found the steps a challenge sometimes, fortunately my husband is my carer so helped me when needed, but it didn't stop us from having a lovely time and I would recommend the property to anyone, and I think needless to say we loved the cinema room, such a great touch."

    The tub outside was lovely, but took a long time to fill, but was definitely worth it when in it ☺️ overall a great time and would return

    Thank you for your amazing feedback Deborah, we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts. I am delighted that despite the problem with the steps, you had such a lovely time at 24 Meadow Retreat and enjoyed using the cinema room, the jacuzzi and the beautiful surroundings. My sincere apologies that you were not informed about the steps at the property. I have checked the Sykes website to ensure that the steps are visible in the photos of the lodge to ensure that this does not happen again. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Nov 2022

  • "An absolutely wonderful place to stay through rain, cold and sunshine."

    . Just a minor problem in not finding instructions for the Sauna or Jacuzzi. Look forward to returning

    Thank you for your feedback good to hear you found this a wonderful place to stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Nov 2022

  • "Brilliant short term stay with a good location for bird watching!"

    Peaceful and quiet. The sauna and jacuuzi were a lovely touch, the gym was adequate but the bike machine seemed to only be big enough to sit one butt cheek on (and I'm pretty slim) rendering it unusable. Overall a very good stay.

    Mr ElcockMay 2022

  • "Such a lovely trip, great accommodation and facilities."

    Would definitely recommend and come back again! Only small things to note is the plug in the bath doesn’t seem to work too well, so had to twist it instead of pushing. No chopping board supplied & led lights in cinema not working. Otherwise an amazing place!

    Miss SchillingApr 2022

  • "Very well maintained"

    Mr TrumanMar 2022

  • "The outside area perfect."

    However I booked this expecting a hot tub. It was only after booking that I realised it was an outside bath. The lodge is lovely, very spacious. We did feel that a coffee table would have been nice. Also a dressing table would have been very useful. We had a lovely break and really enjoyed the lodge, the cinema room was fantastic. We just felt that a few little touches could have made it feel a little more luxurious.

    Miss MundyJan 2022

  • "Other than a couple of things that needed sorting which was dealt with the property owner and manager, who were very quick with replies and very helpful."

    The overall stay was lovely, everything we needed for a relaxing time away. The cinema room was our favourite bit of the lodge along with the jacuzzi bath outside. We would definitely come back and recommend

    Miss WilliamsDec 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • One king-size bedroom
  • Bathroom with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Sauna
  • Outdoor spa bath with Jacuzzi
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Cinema room
  • Gym
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, wine cooler, washing machine, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, Bluetooth music system, gym equipment and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • EV charging point
  • Private decked terrace with seating
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.5 miles
  • Check-in 4pm, check-out 10am
  • Note: Children/infants are not accepted at this property
  • Note: Barbecues are not to be brought to the site
  • Note: Steps to access property
  • Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

The property

Situated in the rural village of Dobwalls, Cornwall lies 24 Meadow Retreat, an astounding lodge perfect for a couple looking to discover all the delights of Cornwall.

Boasting a gym, cinema, sauna and an outdoor spa bath, this luxurious lodge is sure to be a romantic retreat at any time of year.

As you arrive at the lodge, steps up to the property take you into the open-plan living space, fit with an integrated kitchen/diner where you can plan the day's events over your morning coffee at the breakfast bar before rustling up a delicious breakfast to fuel your day in the amply-equipped kitchen.

From here, snuggle up on the sofas after a long day of discovering your surroundings, or perhaps enjoy a film in the lodge's cinema room, complete with leather reclining chairs and cup holders for your snack and drinks for an authentic cinema experience.

Continuing to impress is the indoor gym, home to an exercise bike, rowing machine, and free weights so you can sweat off an indulgent day before heading to the sauna to steam away any muscle aches.

Moving through this fantastic dwelling, the king-size bedroom invites you to rest your eyes ahead of the next day's adventure, fit with storage so you can make yourself at home and unpack your belongings.

Continuing to impress is the outdoor space at this lodge; the sunken spa bath welcomes you to relax and unwind, while the outdoor dining table and benches make for a lovely area for a spot of alfresco dining in the last of the summer sun.

For a tranquil break to Cornwall you won't forget, choose 24 Meadow Retreat.

Southern Halt Cottages - Hygge

Located in the quiet village of Dobwalls in south-east Cornwall, is a collection of wonderfully modern lodges with a touch of luxury set in the Cornish countryside. Offering panoramic views of the surrounding stunning location, you can look forward to enjoying a glorious holiday relaxing with your loved ones, and still be in easy driving distance of the best of Cornwall's attractions. Each holiday home is off exceptional standard, containing modern fitted kitchens, perfect for cooking up delicious meals for the whole family, to enjoy at the dining table or take advantage of the warm balmy evenings and indulge in a spot of alfresco dining as the sun sets. Delightfully furnished sitting rooms invite you to sink into the plush seating arrangements and wind down with a favourite film, watched on state-of-the-art TVs. Get some much needed rest after activity-filled days in the attractive bedrooms, with various sleeping arrangements to suit everyone's needs, and excellent storage for your personal items. Each property has a private outside space, in the form of patio or decking, with outdoor seating and the surrounding luscious lawns can be enjoyed by all. Some properties benefit from amazing hot tubs, to be enjoyed with a glass of wine as you look out to the spectacular scenery. If you don't feel like cooking of an evening, just under a mile away is The Highwayman, a lovely pub serving classic dishes and a selection of ales and ciders, along with shops nearby. Alternatively visit our sister site Stonerush Lakes which has our very own bar/restaurant; The Old Mill just a short drive away. Travel around 10-miles west over to the town of Bodmin to explore the famous Bodmin Jail, a building steeped in social and architectural history, offering insights into Cornish prison life through time, before heading up to Bodmin Moor for a refreshing walk to shake out the cobwebs and experience the beauty of the moors. For some sun, sea and sand you can visit Looe, and sunbathe on East Looe Beach, a perfect location for swimming as well and great for the little ones to have a paddle. Southern Halt is a gorgeous retreat, ideal for getting to know this lovely part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Liskeard 2.6 miles; Looe 8.4 miles.

The rural village of Dobwalls is surrounded by open fields and wooded countryside, and is close to the market town of Liskeard, the slopes of Bodmin Moor and the glorious north and south Cornish coastlines. This is a perfect base for exploring the many delights the region has to offer, with the picturesque fishing harbours of Looe, Fowey and Polperro within 15 miles to the south whilst Padstow and the surfing beach at Polzeath lie a comfortable drive away on the North Coast. Take a trip to Siblyback Lake and enjoy the wonderful sailing, fishing and watersports on offer, or travel a little further and take advantage of the superb walking on Bodmin Moor. The Eden project lies within 15 miles and Plymouth is just a 30 minute drive, or 25 minute train ride from nearby Liskeard station. With the Barbican harbour district, renowned aquarium, and good selection of shops, restaurants and theatres, this is a great holiday base.

View more holiday cottages in Dobwalls

This lodge has an outdoor Jacuzzi spa bath - NOT a hot tub.

Note: Children/infants are not accepted at this property.

Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas