Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • 6 Southern Place - Cornwall - 1121176 - photo 1



6 Southern Place

(Ref. 1121176)

Dobwalls, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • our (14)
  • hot tub (13)
  • hot (13)
  • tub (13)
  • stay (12)
  • lodge (12)

24 Customer Reviews

  • "Having just moved house the hot tub was a must and the TV in bed something we ..."

    Having just moved house the hot tub was a must and the TV in bed something we dont do at home was a novelty to our well earned r&r so we were a little disappointed when there was no tv in our bedroom when clearly one shown in photos, nevertheless a totally chilled break

    Reviewed by Mike4.7Jun 2024

  • "Very peaceful setting for relaxing but the flip side is you need to be organised as there are no facilities on site or within walking distance."

    Accommodation was well kitted out and furnished. A couple of minor points- a clock would be handy in the open plan area, the shower door doesn't close properly meaning water escapes onto the floor, instructions on the hot tub buttons would be handy (found out the jets can be controlled by turning the silver trim around them). I would be happy to return and enjoy the peace and quiet.

    I am so pleased that you had a lovely peaceful stay at Southern Halt, Raymond. The resort is definitely in the right place for a tranquil break! Thank you for leaving us your thoughts and for your comments about the shower door and buttons for the hot tub, these comments have been passed to the relevant teams to look into and resolve. We look forward to your return visit in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Raymond5.0Apr 2024

  • "Lovely week away."

    The lodge was very clean and well kept, a home away from home. Lovely site and setting. Like the other reviews, it would be helpful to have some hooks inside and outside somewhere. There was also no TV in the bedroom like the photos show but it wasn't an issue for us. Highchair and travel cot were available for our little one. Will be recommending to family & friends and possibly staying again if we're in the area.

    Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts after your stay at 6 Southern Place Grace, we really do appreciate your time. I am delighted to hear that you loved your stay and that you hope to come back and see us again in the future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Grace5.0Apr 2024

  • "We had the best stay!"

    My husband and I stayed for a long weekend for our wedding anniversary. We had a lovely little card and bottle of Prosecco left for us which was a lovely touch. The property was well maintained and clean with everything you’d need! The team were so welcoming, we will be back!

    I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your special celebration at 6 Southern Place, Hayleigh and can't wait to see you back at Southern Halt in the very near future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hayleigh5.0Mar 2024

  • "Cracking property."

    Pictures don't do the place justice. Stayed here for a week and had a great time. Lots of things to do within an hours drive nearby, and thankfully had good weather all days bar 1, so was able to go out touring then come back in the afternoons and relax in the lodge. Kitchen facilities where great and very handy. Especially loved the hot tub, which was used almost every day. I only had one problem during the week, which thankfully once I called the contact number for this place, it was sorted within the hour, which I thought was brilliant, especially since it was on a Sunday morning I called. Only 1 small thing I would recommend changing at this Lodge is that some coat hooks be installed near the front door or in the cupboard by the front door, as currently nowhere to hang your coats/jackets. All in all, brilliant place. Throughly enjoyed my time here and would highly recommend it to anyone else.

    Thank you for leaving us your wonderful thoughts and experiences after your holiday Andrew. I am so happy to hear that you loved staying with us at 6 Southern Place and made full use of the facilities provided. Thank you also for the suggestion of coat hooks near the entrance, I have passed this to the Guest Experience Manager to look into. Hopefully you will return to see us again in the very near future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Mar 2024

  • "We both enjoyed the lodge especially the hot tub, when we first entered the property we both thought wow very spacious and clean, it was lovely to feel relaxed and we both enjoyed the quietness, the place was lovely and warm and in the evening lying in the hot tub was so absolutely ansom, we'll be booking again in the future and will recommend it to our friends and family, the only thing we would both had wanted was somewhere to hang our coats."

    But apart from that we both definitely enjoy our stay.

    Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and your recommendation David. I am so happy to hear that you loved your peaceful and relaxing stay and made full use of the hot tub! Thank you also for the suggestion of coat hooks, I will pass this on to the relevant team. Hurry back! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2024

  • "We had an amazing few days staying here, the grounds and lodge are absolutely beautiful We had everything we needed, and more, inside the lodge and would definitely make another booking!"

    Only (very minor) comment is for more seating, or a footstool, in the lounge area for comfort but that's just my preference personally The staff were very quick to response to a minor concern we had, as we aren't used to electric cookers and put us at ease - thank you very much for making our honeymoon amazing!

    I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had an amazing honeymoon with us at 6 Southern Place, Emma and that you loved your lodge and the surroundings. Thank you so much for the suggestion about the seating within the lodge, I have passed your comment to our Guest Experience Manager to consider. Hopefully you'll be back to see us again before you know it! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Mar 2024

  • "Nice reasonably secluded well equipped lodge ."

    Lovely to listen to birds in the morning . Might seem expensive but you get what you pay for . No TV in the bedroom but apart from that can't fault it . Super easy check in /out

    Thank you so much for leaving us your thoughts Keith, it's wonderful to hear that you loved your stay with us at 6 Southern Place. We can't wait to be welcoming you back to see us again soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Feb 2024

  • "We had a lovely time away at Southern Place."

    Very clean, and tastefully decorated. The hot tub was great on an evening, and the surroundings were nice. The staff very kindly posted something my partner had accidentally left behind. There were a few minor things - There was no tv in the bedroom, despite photos showing this, and other reviews have stated the same, but it'd not been rectified. We had a call to check how our stay was going, but it was on the Monday PM, when we were leaving the next morning. We'd been offered the possibility of a TV for our last night, but I declined. The lodge could do with some coat hooks in the entrance, also some hooks by the hot tub so you don't have to walk in soaking wet. The fire alarm is right next to the shower, which was set off by the steam. Finding our lodge on arrival was a little difficult in the dark, lodge numbers could be more obvious. We'd definitely come back, it was lovely and cosy, listening to the heavy rain outside.

    I am delighted to hear that you loved your stay with us at 6 Southern Place, Stephanie. Thank you for leaving us your feedback and for letting us know of the issues you found and also your suggestion for ways in which to improve the lodge, we very much appreciate it. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to see us again in the very near future. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.4Dec 2023

  • "My partner and I really enjoyed our stay."

    The lodge looked exactly like the photos provided apart from the tele in the bedroom wasn't there. This wasn't a massive problem for us but would of been nice to be able to watch TV in bed later on in the evening. The lodge itself was very warm and cozy and the hot tub was brilliant. We will most definitely be back again in the future.

    Thank you for your amazing feedback Shea, it's so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry that there was no television in situ in the bedroom, this should have been rectified prior to your stay, so my sincere apologies that it was not done. We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shea4.7Nov 2023

  • "The property is beautifully kept and a really lovely location."

    The welcome pack was gratefully received. We would def stay again and recommend this property. The only bit of feedback is there’s a sink in the loo room but no towel ring. And the shower needs a shelf to put your products on. For those with some limited mobility it was difficult as nowhere to hold shower gel.

    I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at 6 Southern Place and that you will be back to see us again in the future Rachel! We look forward to seeing you! Thank you so much for your suggestions for the bathroom at the lodge, I have passed these to the Guest Experience Manager, so I appreciate your recommendation. Hurry back! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Sep 2023

  • "A fantastic location and a property full of everything you could need."

    The house was immaculate and well looked after. The hot tub was a favourite of our trip and, due to the location of it on the property, was very private and hidden. The bed was comfortable and there was not any sleep missed. Lots of worktop space for cooking and a large fridge/freezer to store food. A problem we did run into was that when showering (even with the windows open) we kept setting off the fire alarm. In the end we had to have the patio doors open which did raise privacy issues and it would’ve been nice if we could open the sky light to avoid this. The washing machine was a great touch when staying for a whole week however there was no clothes dryer or washing line to dry our washed clothes so we had to improvise with some string. A couple of improvements such as hooks by the hot tub for towels, a clothes dryer and a shower shelf to store shampoos would take the accommodation above and beyond. Having said that, it certainly didn’t hinder our time there, we absolutely loved our stay and would definitely recommend to others and will be back to stay again.

    Thank you for leaving us your thoughts and experiences of staying at 6 Southern Place, Josephine, we really do value feedback, especially some as lovely as yours! I am really happy that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed using the hot tub. I am so sorry that you had issues with the fire alarm though, this problem has been passed to our maintenance team to solve! Thank you also for your suggestions for extra items that would improve the lodge, that is so helpful. We really look forward to your return visit, hurry back! Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo4.7Aug 2023

  • "Loved every second."

    Just remember extra towels and toilet paper.

    Thank you for your feedback Madeleine, I'm delighted to hear you loved your stay at 6 Southern Place. Unfortunately, as our lodges are self catering, we do only leave emergency supplies to help you through your first night and although we do provide indoor towels for every guest, we don't leave outdoor towels for use with the hot tub. Despite these small oversights, I hope you will return to visit us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Madeleine5.0Apr 2023

  • "A very nice luxery 2 birth lodge which is in a good location for touring the area in all directions."

    The outside of all the lodges look very drab but the inside of 6 Southern Place, was very nice. As others have mentioned, hooks for coats by front door would be very useful. Hooks for bath robes by hot tub would also be a great help, otherwise you have to fetch the robes from the bedroom whilst dripping wet. As a mature couple we did find having to remove the cover completely from the hot tub and relocate somewhat laborious.

    I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at 6 Southern Place and really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts. Thank you for your suggestions on ways to improve the facilities, I have passed them on to the relevant teams. I am so sorry you had difficulty with the hot tub cover, they are very heavy, but unfortunately have to be, to withstand the weather conditions that Cornwall throws at us! I do hope you will come back to stay with us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith3.8Mar 2023

  • "Really nice property and lovely stay, site felt really safe and was lots to do ..."

    Really nice property and lovely stay, site felt really safe and was lots to do around, we will definitely be returning in the new year

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback Dean. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at 6 Southern Place and that you will be returning to visit us again very soon. Sally Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Dec 2022

  • "This is our 2nd visit to this beautiful property and again we enjoyed our stay immensely."

    On this visit we did notice the lack of coat hooks by the front door though . An issue that could be easily resolved . The cupboard door missing off the washing machine and a loose on/off ‘tap’ in the shower didn’t detract from what a fantastic holiday retreat this is. But they need to be addressed.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback Jackie, we really appreciate you taking your time to leave us your thoughts. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your second stay with us at 6 Southern Place, despite the issues you encountered. I have passed on all your comments to our maintenance team to rectify and apologise that they were not dealt with before you arrived. I hope you will come back and see us again very soon. Sally, Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie4.7Nov 2022

  • "Second time coming to southern halt for a relaxing holiday, but first time in this lodge."

    . and it didn’t disappoint! Stunning lodge, beautifully decorated and designed, bed was super comfortable, kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed, tv was great quality, speaker in the kitchen was a dream. Overall a great time at the lodge, but best of all was the jacuzzi.. very well maintained, clean and super relaxing, the park is so beautiful and quiet, so spending time in there watching the world go by was stunning. We will definitely be back to this lodge!! Thank you so much

    Thank you for your amazing feedback Beka, we do so appreciate it! I am delighted to learn that you loved all aspects of your stay, from your beautiful lodge to the gorgeous, peaceful surroundings. We can't wait to welcome you back again for another visit very soon. Sally Guest Services, Charteroak Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beka4.7Nov 2022

  • "The property we stayed in was perfect and clean for our stay."

    Plus the hot tub was well looked after every morning for our use. Loved the little touch of a box with essentials

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback and great to hear you found your lodge perfect and clean. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jasmine5.0Oct 2022

  • "This is our second stay at charter oaks this year 2022."

    We had a wonderful time yet again , very quite, relaxing & peaceful .The hot tub is a bonus. Just what the Doctor ordered after working long hour in care sector . We will definitely be booking again .

    JoanneSep 2022

  • "The lodge was very well equipped and also nice and private with the trees and hedging planted around it."

    This is an excellent location and we would happily stay here again. The hot tub was a real treat to come back to after a day of exploring and a nice surprise to find a wine fridge in the kitchen as well. The bed was extremely comfortable, couch was comfortable and a decent sized tv with fast internet all added to our enjoyment. When we arrived there was milk in the fridge, tea, coffee, washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets too. Minor negatives: We could have used more hangers in the bedroom closet. Could use hooks inside the front door to hang coats and to hang the keys. Would have been handy to have hooks outside by the hot tub to hang towels. Another table and chairs on the south facing deck so you can sit out and anjoy the evening would be nice. A shelf in the shower to put shampoo and shower gel on would also be nice. There was no pole (that we could find) to open the skylights. We can understand though that some people might open them and forget so it might have deliberately been removed. These are all minor negatives and just suggestions, none of them would stop us staying here again. One thing that frustrated us during our stay though: We could never work out what the additional remote was for in the bedroom. We thought it might have worked the tv bracket over the bed (another nice touch) but it didn't seem to do anything. Would love to know what it did! In response to complaints left in some other reviews: In reference to the missing door on the washing machine, that's just cosmetic and have you considered that trying to get a replacement during lockdown can take months. There were a few spider webs, so what! Often you only spot those in a certain light and if you wipe them away they re-appear a few hours later. It's not the cleaners fault!

    DeborahSep 2022

  • "We stayed in southern place 6 … Could not fault our week away."

    Lodge was perfect. Had everything we needed for the week. Modern and nicely decorated. The site itself was so quiet and peaceful. The lodge was spotlessly clean. The hot tub was a great addition and felt very private which was nice and was maintained daily although we very rarely noticed them doing it they were in and out quickly with no fuss. Perfectly situated to explore the coast and harbour towns near St Austell - just a 30-45 min drive. Also handy to jump on a train from st austell to st Ives … an absolute must!!! Would defo recommend and will be back. A perfect base to relax and explore Cornwall. Thank you p

    EmmaAug 2022

  • "A lovely well thought out lodge."

    The hot tub was in a perfect location and the facilities were fantastic. Looks even better than the pictures. The TV on the ceiling in the bedroom was a great addition and the roof and lighting above the hot tub meant you could use the hot tub no matter what the weather. We will definitely be returning.

    RobertAug 2022

  • "The holiday home was great, unfortunately the cupboard door for the washing machine was missing."

    The property could do with a thorough clean inside and out. I wouldn't pay the cleaners in washers if that's the best they can do.

    PhilipJul 2022

  • "Had an absolutely lovely stay."

    Enjoyed the quietness of the setting. Our first holiday as a couple and thoroughly enjoyed it. Facilities were extremely clean, and welcoming.

    JakeJul 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • One king-size bedroom
  • Bathroom with Jacuzzi bath, walk-in shower, and basin
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher
  • TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot (no mattress) and highchair available to hire
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • EV charging point
  • Private decking area with furniture and hot tub
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.5 miles
  • Note: Lake on-site, children need to be supervised at all times
  • Check-in 4pm, check-out 10am
  • Note: Barbecues are not to be brought to the site
  • Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

The property

6 Southern Place is an attractive lodge, situated in the stunning Cornish Countryside on the fringes of Dobwalls in Cornwall.

This luxury, two-person retreat is just a short distance away from the Cornish Coast and is perfect for that romantic getaway.

As soon as you enter the lodge, you will be greeted with a stunning, contemporary, open-plan living space.

In the living area you will find snug sofas, a warming electric fire, and a sleek kitchen complete with a superb range of appliances.

If you want to refresh after a long day exploring Cornwall’s attractions, why not have a long soak in the well-presented bathroom.

Recharge yourself with a rest in the double bedroom, complete with double doors opening out onto the private decking area with a bubbling hot tub to soak in.

This lodge is nestled within the charming Cornish countryside, in which you can venture out into the stunning Bodmin Moor with ease, or alternatively amble around the characterful market town of Liskeard just a few miles away.

If you are feeling adventurous, you can travel out towards the glorious sandy beaches of the Cornish coast, or if you would like to enjoy a relaxing meal why not visit the Old Mill bar and restaurant on our sister site, Stonerush Lakes just a short drive away.

Treat yourself and your loved one to a holiday of a lifetime at 6 Southern Place.

Southern Halt Cottages

Located in the quiet village of Dobwalls in south-east Cornwall, is a collection of wonderfully modern lodges with a touch of luxury set in the Cornish countryside. Offering panoramic views of the surrounding stunning location, you can look forward to enjoying a glorious holiday relaxing with your loved ones, and still be within easy driving distance of the best of Cornwall's attractions. Each holiday home is of exceptional standard, containing modern fitted kitchens, perfect for cooking up delicious meals for the whole family, to enjoy at the dining table or take advantage of the warm balmy evenings and indulge in a spot of alfresco dining as the sun sets. Delightfully furnished sitting rooms invite you to sink into the plush seating arrangements and wind down with a favourite film, watched on state-of-the-art TVs. Get some much-needed rest after activity-filled days in the attractive bedrooms, with various sleeping arrangements to suit everyone's needs, and excellent storage for your personal items. Each property has a private outside space, in the form of a patio or decking, with outdoor seating and the surrounding luscious lawns can be enjoyed by all. Some properties benefit from amazing hot tubs, to be enjoyed with a glass of wine as you look out to the spectacular scenery. If you don't feel like cooking in the evenings, just under a mile away is The Highwayman, a lovely pub serving classic dishes and a selection of ales and ciders, along with shops nearby. Alternatively, visit our sister site Stonerush Lakes which has our very own bar/restaurant; The Old Mill just a short drive away. Travel around 10 miles west over to the town of Bodmin to explore the famous Bodmin Jail, a building steeped in social and architectural history, offering insights into Cornish prison life through time, before heading up to Bodmin Moor for a refreshing walk to shake off the cobwebs and experience the beauty of the moors. For some sun, sea and sand you can visit Looe, and sunbathe on East Looe Beach, a perfect location for swimming as well and great for the little ones to have a paddle. Southern Halt is a gorgeous retreat, ideal for getting to know this lovely part of Cornwall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Liskeard 2.6 miles; Looe 8.4 miles.

The rural village of Dobwalls is surrounded by open fields and wooded countryside, and is close to the market town of Liskeard, the slopes of Bodmin Moor and the glorious north and south Cornish coastlines. This is a perfect base for exploring the many delights the region has to offer, with the picturesque fishing harbours of Looe, Fowey and Polperro within 15 miles to the south whilst Padstow and the surfing beach at Polzeath lie a comfortable drive away on the North Coast. Take a trip to Siblyback Lake and enjoy the wonderful sailing, fishing and watersports on offer, or travel a little further and take advantage of the superb walking on Bodmin Moor. The Eden project lies within 15 miles and Plymouth is just a 30 minute drive, or 25 minute train ride from nearby Liskeard station. With the Barbican harbour district, renowned aquarium, and good selection of shops, restaurants and theatres, this is a great holiday base.

View more holiday cottages in Dobwalls

Note: Sunday arrivals are not permitted.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas