Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • The Old Post Office - Devon - 976152 - photo 1
close

The Old Post Office

(Ref. 976152)

Down Thomas, near Plymouth, Devon Show on map

4.2

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (15)
  • lovely (10)
  • stay (9)
  • our (8)
  • old (8)
  • office (7)

23 Customer Reviews

  • "Thank you for the use of your lovely cottage."

    We found everything that we needed and more. The bed was very comfy and the shower a dream. The sofa a bit uncomfortable, however Gwen says a new one is coming soon. The old barn next door has changed rather!! We were so lucky with the weather and did loads of walking and exploring the area. We didn't want to leave on Saturday. Thanks again. Ann

    Reviewed by Ann3.8Jun 2024

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Post Office."

    It was comfortable, well equipped and cosy. Lovely flowers and wine for us on arrival. It has a great shower which was really welcome after days of walking the coastal path. Gwen, who looks after the cottage was great, keeping us informed of works to the water supply in the village during our stay, so thank you. The cottage is well placed for access to Plymouth and the coast. The village has a great local store which also has a bike shop.

    Reviewed by Chris4.7May 2024

  • "Another fabulous week's stay."

    Weather was on our side too. We visited Screech Owl Sanctuary and Bodmin Goal, Buckfastleigh Steam Train, Buckfast Abbey, Otter Sanctuary along with Cinema and 10 pin bowling at Barbican. Walk along Bovisands too. Great week.

    Dear Vanessa Very glad that you enjoyed your stay John Pursley Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0May 2024

  • "A comfortable, reasonably priced cottage, in attractive surroundings, well-situated for coastal walking and access to Plymouth."

    The help and support of the caretaker was greatly appreciated.

    Reviewed by Robert3.4Mar 2024

  • "A very good cottage of character with a wide range of appropriate facilities for a family or two adults holiday."

    Very convenient for the nearby village facilities, Inn and shop. The Devon/Cornwall coast/Moors, as well as Plymouth are within easy travelling distance although the latter's main roads are of course busy.

    Reviewed by Nigel3.8Feb 2024

  • "We have been staying at the Old Post Office since 2002 and had a wonderful, relaxing week."

    The scaffolding across the front of the property made access challenging (we were warned about this by Gwen), but it was difficult to access the keypad especially in the dark. The third step up from the parking space is damaged and needs attention. As always, we brought our own hair dryer and sharp cooking knives. The casserole dish in the cottage does not have a lid - but we got round that one. There are other properties in the area with a higher star rating, but each time we stay some adjustments have been made and it suits us well. The cottage was warm and cosy, and we were made to feel welcome (conversations with Gwen, caretaker). We will return for another holiday.

    Dear Marilyn Thank you very much for your feedback. We arranged for the exterior to be decorated in the autumn and the work was carried out then but unfortunately the scaffolder appointed by the decorating contractor let everyone down by constantly failing to remove the scaffolding after the work was finished in October. Happily, after many calls and texts from myself and the contractor, he has eventually removed it. I was aware of the step and had instructed a contractor to repair and reconfigure the steps last autumn. He hasn't got around to this job yet but assures me that it will be undertaken as soon as he is free to do it. I have arranged to replace the casserole dish that was missing a lid and to install some new knives and a portable hair dryer. With kind regards John (Owner) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marilyn4.1Jan 2024

  • "The Old Post Office was lovely, would highly recommend staying it had everything we needed and more."

    Great location, village shop and The Mussel pub in easy walking distance. We will definitely be back great base to explore lovely part of country

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0Sep 2023

  • "Needs a little work where the paint is peeling."

    But this was our second visit and we love it. Everything you need and they can't do enough for you. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Aug 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and location however disappointing standard of facilities."

    The cottage was dusty and looked like it needed a deep clean. One could not fault the availability of the lady who was our contact for the property; she was vey responsive when we reported all the issues mentioned. The dishwasher did not function properly while we were there; fault reported on a Monday after first and only use and still not resolved when we left. We had to hand wash all our dishes - not what a Mum wants on holiday..... All other electrical items we used worked although we did not use the washing machine; TV, microwave, oven, toaster and good WiFi. A coat hook fell off the bedroom wall when a single item of clothing (a fleece; not heavy) was placed on it. The coat hook had not been fixed to the wall properly; no damage done by us, it just fell off two screws used to hold it in place. No hairdryer although not mentioned in property summary; apparently this had been removed by previous occupants and no PAT tested replacement available - why not have two PAT tested appliances so that a back up is available? We paid almost £900 for the week and did not consider this was reflected in the quality of our stay.

    Reviewed by B2.5Jul 2023

  • "I really enjoyed my stay - and it was ideally located in South Devon ."

    Several beaches within a few minutes drive . Also lovely footpaths that led to the beaches too - which join up with the South West Coastal Path . The cottage was comfy , relaxing and quiet and I'd visit again .

    Reviewed by Jill5.0May 2023

  • "Had a fantastic stay - everything provided for - lovely area - would highly ..."

    Had a fantastic stay - everything provided for - lovely area - would highly recommend and would definitely go back like a lot of people 6/7 times

    Reviewed by Angela5.0May 2023

  • "Although the property is older it is well maintained and looked after."

    A very comfortable stay with everything you could want.

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Nov 2022

  • "Had an amazing weeks stay."

    The accommodation is better than you think. Think you could do so much more with the garden. I.e, play area for the kids.

    Reviewed by Lynda5.0Jul 2022

  • "We have stayed at the Old Post Office many times and always find that it suits our needs - being close to family and friends and within easy reach of the places we like to visit."

    We intend to make further visits in the future. The photographs need to be updated as they are at least two years out of date. It would be nice to have fewer but better quality kitchen utensils. The new shower was very welcome. Maybe the settees could be replaced next? (Bit "solid"). Having said that, we found that for four adults and a three year old we had sufficient space, the cottage was warm and cosy, there was plenty of hot water and parking on the road was fine. The caretaker, Gwen, was very helpful (as always). There was plenty of sanitiser and anti-bac in the relevant places. We did enjoy our holiday - thank you for making it possible. So nice to be back after having to forego our planned visit last year.

    Reviewed by Marilyn4.1Oct 2021

  • "Fantastic to to using Helpful Holidays again after 18 months in London."

    The Old Post Office was excellent, with a wonderful “secret” lawn, perfect for picnics and evening drinks. The heatwave meant we definitely needed the bedroom ceiling fans!

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Jul 2021

  • "A lovely cosy cottage, in fact we were pleasantly surprised as the cottage appeared to have had a makeover and was much more homely than the website pictures."

    Its a great location with a lovely pub in the village, walkable beaches, lots of lovely footpath routes and attractions nearby.

    Reviewed by Ruth3.8Aug 2020

  • "We had another pleasant vacation at the Old Post Office."

    Reviewed by Michael4.1Feb 2020

  • "We really enjoyed our stay in this lovely cottage."

    The countryside location was wonderful. It would have been useful to know that the local pub (Mussel Inn) may need to be booked for evening meals, as there was no table free on the Saturday we arrived, however they suggested we try the Eddystone Inn which we really enjoyed, and revisited later in the week. Gwen the caretaker was very friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Aug 2019

  • "The cottage was wonderful and convenient, but the cleanliness was very bad and I would say extremely horrible!"

    !! At our arrival day,after a long journey, we had to clean up the cottage for 3 hours and we were very tired and angry about the scenario in the cottage! The yard was full of trash and in the bathroom downstairs, there was plaster, which was falling from the ceiling! The attic was dirty too. Otherwise it was a great holiday for us and we would come back, but not in the old Post office, unless it will be restorated and tidy!!! With kind regards, family Jankowski!!!

    We are glad that overall your holiday was wonderful. We are very sorry that you had a problem with cleanliness on this occasion. We have spoken with the owner who is liaising with her cleaner to ensure that there are no further issues in this regard. Historically the property has had a very good cleanliness rating so we are sorry that it fell short for you on this occasion.A programme of improvements is underway at the property over winter. Glad that you had a great holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susanne2.8Aug 2019

  • "Everything was very good apart from the weather which you have no control over!"

    Gwen left the cottage in good order with a lovely welcome pack. She kept in touch so we felt valued. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

    Reviewed by Ann3.8Jun 2019

  • "We had a brilliant holiday We Enjoyed it Weather was good and we loved the cottage"

    Reviewed by Ian4.4Sep 2018

  • "Lovely cottage, very cosy."

    Ideal for exploring all parts of Devon and Cornwall. We had 5 adults staying and plenty of room for us all.

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Aug 2018

  • "We were concerned the vacuum cleaner is kept in a bathroom although we appreciate that it would be difficult to store it elsewhere in the cottage."

    .

    Reviewed by Angela3.4Jun 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size double, 1 x double, 1 x single
  • Shower room with shower, WC, basin
  • Ground floor bathroom with short bath, shower over, WC, basin
  • Open plan living space with seating area with gas fire, dining area and kitchen.
  • Central heating with gas fire
  • Microwave, fridge-freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV with DVD, WiFi, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • There is a designated parking space for one car, in addition to road side parking
  • Enclosed garden with barbecue
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking.

The property

This semi-detached Victorian cottage is one of a group of five creating a courtyard beside meadows on the fringes of Down Thomas.

Light and comfy, it is homely and welcoming accommodation.

Take the steps up to the front door and you will find yourself in the lovely open plan living area, complete with a well equipped kitchen area with breakfast bar for morning coffee and the paper, a dining table and comfy seats beside the cosy living flame gas fire.

The downstairs bathroom is neat and shiny in white and chrome.

Head upstairs to your three bedrooms, all peaceful and charming for good nights' sleeps after days exploring the interesting surroundings, plus a shower room.

To the front of the cottage you have a little seating area with table and chairs or follow the path to your own lawn where you can fire up the barbecue for alfresco lunches and suppers.

This is an excellent location for exploring city and coast, with the sandy beach at Bovisand Bay just a mile from the cottage and the Marine Conservation Centre at Wembury beach, where you can swim and explore the rock pools, not much further.

For bright lights, you are just a few miles from the heart of the city of Plymouth where you can eat out, visit the National Marine Aquarium, discover the maritime history or catch a show at the theatre or cinema.

water sports enthusiasts will love the well equipped Mount Batten centre beside the marina or stick to dry land to walk the South West Coast Path or play golf along the clifftops.

With all this on the doorstep, The Old Post Office is an excellent base for a fascinating break.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

Down Thomas

Surrounded by the rugged beauty of Dartmoor, the glorious countryside of the South Hams and the vibrant scenery of the South Devon coast, Plymouth offers the perfect mixture of maritime heritage and natural beauty in a vibrant city environment.

Note: Shorter than average bath. Limited clothes hanging/storage space.

Note - Bookings from contractors etc. who are seeking accommodation whilst they are working in the South-West will not be accepted.