Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 1 minutes ago

1 of 36 View Larger Image
  • Rosemary Cottage - Devon - 995757 - photo 1
close

14 people have recently viewed this property

Rosemary Cottage

Goveton, Devon (Ref. 995757)

4.5

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Positives: Very nice cottage and one of the cleanest places we have stayed in."

    Nice garden and grounds and in a lovely area. Well equipped kitchen. Nice decor. Parking adequate for one vehicle and space to park a second alongside. Negatives: Only one set of towels for 6 people not really clever. The 5 min drive along single track country lane to get to the property is only for experienced and confident drivers and not great for anything bigger than a medium sized car, as you will be reversing and manouvering if you meet anything coming the other way. TV had poor connection and signal. Lounge a little dark. Refuse instructions detailed, but don't tell you where bins are located and mention a "TQ" recycling bin which we couldn't find anywhere.

    Reviewed by JulianJun 2022

  • "The cottage was really clean, comfortable and well equipped."

    We had a lovely stay. Great location for exploring this part of Devon. Only small bit of feedback which I have read before, is to put better blinds in the bedrooms. They are very flimsy and don’t cover out the light. In keeping with the rest of the house they seem like a cheap option. Also a second bin for recycling could also be easily installed.

    Reviewed by TonyApr 2022

  • "We loved our stay in Rosemary Cottage."

    The cottage was lovely and spacious, beautifully decorated and included everything we needed. The surroundings were great, with a small pond to walk around and very quiet setting. The only drawback for us was the lack of recycling facilities (a temporary problem, we believe) and the journey down single track lane to the cottage. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Reviewed by SianAug 2021

  • "Overall the accommodation at Rosemary cottage was fantastic."

    Very clean and comfortable. My only slight complaint is that it was advertised as having a washer/dryer when in fact it was just a washing machine. There was an airer available but no dryer or outside washing line. This might not seem like much but as a family of 5 it makes a big difference.

    Many thanks for your feedback, we are thrilled you thought Rosemary Cottage was fantastic. We can only apologise that there was not a washer/dryer in the property, we have now updated the website. We do hope you had an enjoyable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2021

  • "Think you need to for-warn future guests how remote it is and about the very narrow roads to and from the property."

    Also to bring supplies as no shop in Goveton and if travelling along way

    Reviewed by GaynorJul 2021

  • "Really lovely cottage, so clean and very nicely furnished, nothing has been forgotten."

    It has everything you would need in every day life. Very satisfied.

    Reviewed by KellyJun 2021

  • "We loved rosemary cottage."

    It is beautifully decorated & well stocked for a holiday cottage. It was really well positioned in Devon to allow us to go to lots of places. The only negative comment we have is the blinds in the bedrooms are insufficient to block out any light so we’d wake up really early

    Reviewed by CassandraMay 2021

  • "The best equipped kitchen i have had in a holiday cottage."

    Cottage beautifully decorated with high quality bed linens and towels. Very quiet.Only improvement would be in signage to car parking and perhaps a light to help guide people at night to find the entrance.

    Reviewed by KarenMay 2021

  • "Directions not very clear."

    There are several archways, not just one. Cobwebs on the walls. There was nothing on arrival - no flowers, biscuits, tea etc. It would have been nice to have had something to welcome us other than laminated instructions. Oven did not work well at all, and made a squeaking sound at higher temperatures. Beds were very soft. Not comfortable for us, but this is personal preference. WiFi did not work for the majority of our stay. Not a priority for us, but could be frustrating for a longer break. Recycling instructions were extensive and could be vastly simplified. Bottle bin was full onsite, so we had to take our bottles with us. Upon departure, we had to strip our beds (fine with us), fill out a cleaning form and bag them in orange bags. A bit much when you are paying for a holiday. Close to Kingsbridge and Salcombe, but not the best situated. It is not clear from the website that this is part of a rather large complex which has lovely gardens but tired signage. Communications from Sykes were too detailed. We don't need to be told to bring food!

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, however we are disappointed to hear you had a few issues during your stay. Your comments have been passed on to the owner, who is looking into replacing the oven and is investigating your other points. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay despite these observations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by HannahSep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage."

    So quiet with everything you could need.

    We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Rosemary Cottage. We hope to welcome you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by ThomasSep 2020

  • "The cottage decor was lovely and well equipped as Sykes properties are."

    The location was very unusual and very quiet. It took us a little while for us to fathom out the directions for parking on the site helped by a kind resident We’re not fazed by being in the middle of nowhere down narrow lanes as we live in rural Gloucestershire but it might have been difficult for some people The area is beautiful and despite COVID we found plenty of things to do safely. Kingsbridge is good to wander around with its small independent shops and we loved Dartmouth

    Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed some of the beautiful towns that the area has to offer. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by MonicaSep 2020

  • "I left a note for the cleaner to say that 3 items were cracked or chipped."

    A cup, glass and the cafetière, as we did not want these passed on to the next holidaymaker. We think these were all faulty when we took over. We had a very nice holiday, such a welcome break at this time. We have enjoyed holidays with Coast and Country for the past 12 years, and will continue to do so.

    Reviewed by SheilaJul 2020

  • "Rosemary Cottage is a lovely quiet place to stay."

    We especially enjoyed visiting the harbours of Kingsbridge, Salcombe and Dartmouth. Wandering down the street of Totnes was also a highlight. Driving down the narrow country lanes was an experience and may worry a nervous driver but there are several passing places.

    Reviewed by HelenJan 2020

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Rosemary Cottage this being our second visit."

    It is a well equipped comfortable property in a beautiful location not too far from Kingsbridge. We appreciate the peace and quiet of Goveton and even the mainly wet November weather did not detract from the enjoyment of our stay. Hope to return.

    Reviewed by GordonNov 2019

  • "The peace at Rosemary Cottage is phenomenal - it enables a complete break."

    The cottage is beautifully decorated and cosy. We had a brilliant time. Thanks!

    Reviewed by RachelAug 2019

  • "A comfortable beautifully decorated property in a stunning location."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rosemary Cottage and hope to return. Not a problem for us but lack of mobile phone signal from inside cottage might be an issue for some. Worth a mention on Coast and Country website perhaps.

    Reviewed by GordonApr 2019

  • "House great - location very remote but in a quiet position"

    Mr Christopher OwenAug 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1x King-size bed
  • 1x Double bed
  • 1x Twin
  • Family bathroom with a large shower cubicle with rain-head shower and separate hand-held shower attachment, a wash-hand basin, a w.c, a heated towel rail, and a shaver point
  • Cloakroom equipped with a wash-hand basin and a w.c
  • Kitchen / dining room
  • Lounge.
  • Mains gas central heating Fridge/freezer, washing machine, oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle Wifi available Parking for 2 cars Communal lawns, to the rear of the property a private garden with garden furniture. Bed linen and towels supplied

The property

A beautifully presented three-bedroom cottage situated within Buckland Court, a development of 19th century listed buildings.

Set in a sheltered valley in the pretty hamlet of Goveton, this charming property is just two miles from the market town of Kingsbridge and only a short drive from the beautiful South Devon coastline.

Ideal for families or a group of friends, Rosemary Cottage is close to spectacular cliffs, coves and beaches, making it ideal for families or a group of friends looking to explore the beauty of South Devon. On entrance, you will be greeted with a light and spacious hallway, where you will also notice the original exposed beams and stripped flooring, which continues throughout.

The sitting room boasts a flame gas fire, comfortable sofas and contemporary décor.

Whether you choose to catch up with a good book, play a few family games or opt for a film, the lounge is perfectly equipped for winding down after a day out with loved ones.

From the lounge, French doors open out onto a private garden.

Laid to lawn with mature borders, the garden includes a table and chairs, perfect for relaxing into the evening.

On the opposite side of the lounge, we come to the kitchen.

Featuring dark worktops, which contrast beautifully against the light cupboards, this stylish kitchen is fully equipped with everything you would need to rustle up dinner.

The country-style table, with wooden top and benches, is comfortable for six and the perfect spot to get together at meal times.

Upstairs you will find three bedrooms, each stylishly decorated with light walls and bright modern accents as well as a shared bathroom.

The large bathroom features a luxurious rain-head shower and modern grey tiling with coastal details like a porthole window mirror. Just a short drive from the impressive South Devon coastline, enjoy day trips and walks along beautiful cliffs, coves and beaches.

The traditional market town of Kingsbridge is just two miles away, whilst the small seaside village of Hope Cove is within a 25-minute drive. A beautiful property in a quiet location, ideal for a relaxing and refreshing break.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

GOVETON

Set in a peaceful rural location only two miles from the town of Kingsbridge and eight miles from the nautical town of Salcombe, Goveton is a pretty, quaint village with plenty of green rolling hills and characterful charm. The area has been relatively untouched by urban development and as a result the gorgeous farm cottages have remained intact. Situated in the stunning South Hams, Goveton is ringed by several delightful walks for energetic dog owners and within easy reach of Dartmoor National Park it makes an idyllic base for those wanting to explore South Devon.

Region Information

No pets permitted.
There is almost no mobile reception in this area depending on network.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it