Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • 5 Prospect House - Devon - 995111 - photo 1

5 Prospect House

(Ref. 995111)

Hallsands, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (13)
  • clean (11)
  • property (10)
  • views (10)
  • apartment (10)
  • bed (10)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "Very well equipped, generally very clean accept living room carpet stained in places."

    Bedding spotless. Apartment was otherwise as advertised. Very good.

    Reviewed by Sheila4.4Sep 2023

  • "Outstanding views."

    Visit was worthwhile based on location which is hard to beat. General presentation of apartment was poor given our experience of similar rentals. Carpet heavily stained. Walls marked. Lights not working. Hardware on doors compromised usage. Repairs required to home - acknowledged by owners - that should have been resolved prior to renting. The bed listed as king was not king sized. After requesting help to resolve repairs, we were advised that owners are aware and would resolve next time they were there... there was a document in the property which said same so clearly issues had been raised before and not resolved.

    Reviewed by Dana2.2Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful apartment with stunning outlook."

    Great secluded location with no traffic. Can walk to beautiful beaches and restaurants/pubs. Good parking and pool. Property was clean and looked after with thoughtful touches and notes. A few small repairs are needed and guest information pack is a bit out-of-date in places, but generally very helpful. Highly recommended and we would go back.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jul 2022

  • "Rooms are very tight and the en-suite very small."

    The balcony off the bedrooms are very small. Main bathroom and the kitchen are great and the views are spectacular. The roads/lanes to the property and the surrounding areas/beaches do test your patients but you get used to them after a couple of days. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Mehdi3.8Jun 2022

  • "This is a pleasant quiet apartment looking out on the sea at the front and on a quiet hillside sounding with bird-song at the back, well placed for walking on the superb tracks to Start Point, and points West."

    It is comfortably furnished and well-equipped for cooking the excellent sea-food which can be obtained at Beesands. We had a most enjoyable stay. It was a bit difficult to gain access, because the confusing electronic mechanism on the front door to the building does not work. Once you understand that a firm push is enough to open the door there is no problem. The apartment itself is secured with good locks. You will find the fridge turned off: the instructions for turning it on could be more conspicuously presented. These are trivial grouses.

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Apr 2022

  • "The position of apartment and view is wonderful."

    Bedroom storage and space means it is only really comfortable for 2 adults. Whilst we enjoyed our stay the accommodation would benefit from a spring clean and a good dose of TLC to make good areas of kitchen that are in disrepair, freshen or replace some soft furnishings and review working of door handle and lock to the rear balcony. An electric shaver socket would be useful.

    Reviewed by Christopher3.8Mar 2022

  • "Whilst the apartment is in a wonderful location overlooking the sea and superb views, there are a few things within it that could be improved."

    It requires some further maintenance and is rather small for four adults as the second bedroom is small and there is no space to hang your clothes. A small chest of drawers is present but not adequate for two adults. There was also a broken and rusty barbecue left on the veranda. In the main bedroom, the television is not working and we had problems opening and closing the balcony door. The kitchen had all the appropriate facilities for cooking etc. but one of the cupboard doors was sticking when you opened it as the framework had become detached. There were no problems with the lounge and the two bathrooms. When we booked I made it clear that we had a baby with us yet there was no cot. Not sure where you would have placed the cot in the two bedrooms anyway due to the confined space so thankfully we had a travel cot. We also had problems getting into the apartment and one of your customer service operators was not particularly helpful but it was resolved with another call when we discovered that there was a fault with the door that meant it took some force to open it. Finally for two adults or a family with two children, the apartment is fine however I believe you should make this clear when it is being booked that it is not suitably for four adults.

    Reviewed by Helena3.8Oct 2021

  • "We have put in a complaint as we felt this property was oversold and there were lots of issues which we reported and they didn't get sorted out whilst we were there."

    Reviewed by Anthony1.9Sep 2021

  • "The view from the apartment is stunning."

    My kids loved the outdoor swimming pool and tennis court. I really enjoyed reading the amazing history of the building in the book in the apartment, Sisters Against the Sea - quite a story. Great base for exploring the lovely local area - we tried out a lot of the recommendations in the detailed write up about the local area by the owner. The apartment is quite compact although this was not an issue for us. The access road is very narrow (as are a lot of local roads) so can feel a bit hairy coming down if you’re not a confident driver! Would definitely recommend the apartment.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.1Jul 2021

  • "Lovely property with unbeatable views."

    The pool was a definite bonus to come back to after a day out If you enjoy costal walking would highly recommend. Roads very narrow around the location not for the timid driver.

    Reviewed by Tina4.7Jun 2021

  • "Service was very good, when things went wrong we were compensated fairly."

    Reviewed by Linda4.1Oct 2020

  • "The apartment were superb - the views were fantastic and worth every penny."

    Pros: uninterrupted views of the sea and over to the light house to the front and countryside views from both rear bedrooms, light and bright white decor throughout which gave a spacious feel although the flat is quite compact but more than adequate for the two of us, new carpets gave a fresh feel, directly on the coast path so walks from the flat were on the doorstep, only 5 mins walk to the beach, very quiet and peaceful on a no through safe road, bed was comfy, shower in the ensuite was lovely and powerful, the whole flat was very clean and warm (the heating was not needed). Cons (minor quibbles): the sofa was tired and could do with renewing although it was very comfy, we couldn't get the microwave to work (could be a fuse perhaps), the wardrobe was a bit tired and could do with renewing, the drawer unit in the second bedroom was very tired, the telescope in the photo of the lounge was there but not on a tripod which was a bit disappointing, too many cushions throughout which we had to store on one of the unused beds to keep out of the way (they look nice but unnecessary) All in all we would definitely go back again.

    Reviewed by Gillian3.8Oct 2020

  • "Apartment was grubby when we arrived, so the first thing we had to do was clean the kitchen and bathrooms."

    The stained carpet was obviously long-standing and beyond our ministrations. Many items were not working - eg lights, blinds, doors, and bathroom extractor. Some basics were missing - eg milk, sugar. Only one solitary cleaning cloth had been provided, plus one previously used pan scourer, two dishwasher tablets, and one rubbish bag. Overall impression was of meanness and end of season tiredness. This apartment does not compare favourably with others at Prospect House.

    Reviewed by Helen2.2Oct 2019

  • "5 Prospect House This is a lovely flat in a beautiful position, where we have stayed 3 times - but - it is looking very much in need of a refresh."

    The living room carpet is dreadful and as we and others have already reported this had expected it to have been changed since our last visit. This and other minor issues (bedroom french door handle broken, light bulbs missing, bathroom fan not working, freezer door sticks, info pack years old etc) mean could not currently recommend to friends as it now looks generally a bit grubby in places and uncared for. Usual clean of bathrooms and kitchens good and still comfortable but needs regular deep clean and ditch that old carpet and old cushions.!! Such a shame it has been let go as it is a true gem of a place. Really sincerely hope it gets the attention it needs.

    Reviewed by Rosemary4.1Sep 2019

  • "Re the key fob and entry - please make others aware that the door knob does not turn when the fob is used - you need to push the door quite hard - as it is an oldish door and does stick."

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Sep 2019

  • "Carpets let the place down especially in the lounge, it should have had solid floor similar to the kitchen given the amount of footfall during the season Intermittent WFI should be mentioned."

    There was a very rusty bbq taking up space on one of the bedroom balconies However The quality of the kitchen and bathrooms were very good

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0Sep 2019

  • "Fabulous accommodation, beautiful views and great facilities."

    Would highly recommend.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the accomodation and the area. We hope to welcome you back to the area in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Aug 2019

  • "Lovely as always, been 4 times."

    Could do with the carpets cleaning my only criticism.

    We are glad that you again had a lovely holiday and appreciate your feedback. We will be arranging for the carpets to be addressed shortly and look forward to seeing you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jamie5.0Jul 2019

  • "Reason for failing to meet expectations was the booking process itself - Our booking was very much last minute - we were already on holiday at somewhere we did not like, and wanted to go to a Coast and Country property in Devon as we had used them before and knew the standard was high."

    Unfortunately promised call backs and emails did not happen, which meant phoning numerous times, each time with a long wait. This was very frustrating as we were booking for the very next day and the price was not as published on the website.

    Thank you for your feedback We are pleased that you have enjoyed Coast and Country Cottages previously and can only apologies for the delay in coming back to you. With our last minute bookings we don't advertise the prices as we need to confirm that the property is ready to receive guest at such short notice, however, we do appreciate the frustration and it is something that we are addressing. We look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosemary4.7Jul 2019

  • "Excellent has a lovely covered heated pool and tennis courts."

    The views are amazing from dawn to dusk. Walks along the coast path both ways are breath taking. A secluded cove on a warm sunny day was the highlight for us.

    Miss GAIL BrakeJun 2017

  • "Lovely property, would stay again."


    Aug 2016

  • "Excellent"

    JAMIEJul 2016

  • "Location delightful with splendid views."

    Clean and with all that you need. Accommodation for 4 but really only big enough for 2

    Jul 2016

  • "Excellent location beautiful views."

    Aug 2015

  • "All public areas internal & are well maintained, clean & fresh appearance."

    Apartment well maintained, spotlessly clean & fresh appearance. Equipment of high specification. Amazing view. Added extras much appreciated & give a welcoming feel. Main bedroom mattress may benefit from renewal.

    Oct 2014

  • "Very comfortable."

    Lovely surrounding area. Superb views

    Sep 2014

  • "Property was clean and well kept."

    Aug 2014

  • "Beautiful property and well appointed."

    Only concern is that clean was very much a surface clean and needs a more thorough clean between guests. e.g. under microwave had not been cleaned for a while as crumbs etc under it. Lots of dust. Also bath not properly cleaned as was grubby to touch. A bit more attention to detail required. However that did not detract from property and location. We are fairly relaxed about stuff like this but I know it would really upset some people.

    Jun 2014

  • "We've visited for a few years consecutively."

    The situation of the property is stunning. The pool is fantastic. The kitchen is very well equipped. However the sofa and bed are getting a bit dated.

    Apr 2014

  • "Good have done with a better clean and check before handover but appreciate this ..."

    Good have done with a better clean and check before handover but appreciate this is difficult ie slow draining showers due to hair clog which I had to sort out Overall v good though

    Apr 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • First floor apartment
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x King-size with en suite, 1 x twin room
  • Family bathroom with bath, shower (over), basin, w.c and heated towel rail
  • Open-plan kitchen / sitting / dining room.
  • Neff equipment including induction hob, electric oven, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, coffee machine and microwave
  • 43" QLED TV with premium BT TV package (including Sky Sport and BT Sport, movies and children's channels), Nintendo Wii, wireless broadband internet and telephone
  • Amazon Fire TV in bedroom
  • Naim Mu-So wireless music system
  • Communal gardens, barbecue area (BBQ not provided) and terrace
  • Heated swimming pool, tennis court and further landscaped gardens to the rear
  • Parking for one car plus visitor bays within 50m
  • Gas central heating and hot water system
  • All duvets (goose down and feather unless otherwise requested), pillows, Egyptian cotton bed linen and towels are supplied
  • You will need to bring your own tea towels and pool/beach towels
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

In an enviable elevated position above the ruins of the tiny fishing village of South Hall Sands, Prospect House is a former hotel, that has been sympathetically restored and converted into stunning apartments and cottages.

Many of the properties boast dramatic sea views, whilst all having access to the beautifully landscaped gardens, barbecue area (BBQ not provided) and terrace with spectacular sea views, outdoor heated swimming pool, tennis courts and private parking.

5 Prospect House is a spacious and luxurious first floor apartment enjoying sweeping sea views.

A door leads from the hall landing into the spacious open plan kitchen, sitting, dining area boasting expansive sea views from Start Point lighthouse across to Dartmouth.

The fully-equipped kitchen includes an induction hob, electric oven, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, coffee machine and microwave.

The dining area is stylish, and comfortably seats four, whilst the sitting area has a four seater corner sofa, two rattan chairs and telescope.

Additionally, there is 43" QLED TV with BT TV with major channels including Sky Sports plus BT Sport, Nintendo Wii, wireless broadband and stylish Scandinavian windows.

The master bedroom has a King-size bed, ample storage and ensuite bathroom (with powerful shower).

The second bedroom is a twin, with two single beds offering rural views.

Additionally, there is another bathroom equipped with bath and shower.

All duvets, pillows, Egyptian bed linen and towels are provided.

Free wireless broadband is provided, as is one allocated parking space, with visitor bays within 50m.

Child friendly, baby equipment is provided.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Start Point 1.5 miles; Beesands 3 miles; East Portlemouth 5.5 miles; Kingsbridge 8 miles.

Hallsands is a small village near Start Point, one of the most southerly points on Devon’s coastline, near Salcombe in the beautiful South Hams area. The sheltered South Hams Peninsula is in 'deepest Devon', a pastoral landscape of flowering hedgerows and ancient sunken lanes, carved into by the richly wooded Avon and Dart Valleys. This quiet fishing village, with its dog-friendly, unspoilt beach, is situated next to the historic ‘old village’ of South Hallsands, just three miles from the popular Beesands Beach which has its own gastro pub and shop. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is decorated with white, pink and ochre thatched cottages, picturesque fishing ports such as Dartmouth, and is renowned for its stunning coastline, popular with yachting enthusiasts. Much of the clifftop land has been acquired by the National Trust, a haven for bird watchers and walkers who take advantage of the South West Coast Path, peppered with perfect picnic spots. Nearby, uncover the beauty of Blackpool Sands and Torcross, a historic site where the Normandy landings were practiced; explore the nature reserve at Slapton Ley, and stroll along Slapton Beach, feeling the soft sand between your toes. Park at East Portlemouth and catch the ferry across to the beautiful seaside town of Salcombe with its renowned estuary, or visit the Start Point Lighthouse, less than a mile away. Hallsands is a wonderful base for uncovering the unspoilt beauty of Devon and the South Hams, all year round.

Heated Swimming pool, open from Whitsun week through to mid-September (Please note there is no fixed date for the pool to close and this will be weather dependant).

Due to the close proximity to the cliff edge, children and dogs should be supervised at all times.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season