Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

The Reach

Hallsands, Devon (Ref. 1021989)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

15 Customer Reviews

  • "If you are after a peaceful break for 2 people (with or without a pet), look no further."

    Brilliant location, incredible views and a lovely accommodation.

    Reviewed by RamziFeb 2022

  • "What an amazing find, we were blown away by the location and the views were incredible."

    Watching the sea while eating breakfast was amazing and listening to the waves at night very calming. Stunning cliff walks and pubs within easy reach. The house is perfect for 2 people, very cosy and had everything we needed. The lanes are very narrow and I can imagine in the summer months it could be a bit problematic. We would definitely return.

    Reviewed by StuartFeb 2022

  • "Beautiful location for a cozy cottage!"

    ! Lots of beautiful walks, a perfect get away!

    Reviewed by AliceDec 2021

  • "We only found out there where 43 steps to the property after booking with the final instructions, which was impossible for my wife, we tried to swap but told this was impossible so we booked elsewhere with you."

    We always welcome feedback and thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you did not relise that there was 43 steps to the property. We do highlight that there is over 40 steps in red on the Coast and Country webpage for our property. We will look at making it more clear. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlanNov 2021

  • "Beautiful location."

    Peaceful, very chilled out...lots friendly people to chat with on the South Coast Path ( if you to choose to chat !) .. Lovely cottage, we had a superb break.

    Reviewed by JamesSep 2021

  • "This is our 6th year holidaying in North Hallsands and we just love it."

    The Reach provides us with the holiday we enjoy and we are so looking forward to going back next year. Spotlessly clean and everything you could want for a week away from the hustle and bustle of life - we were sad to leave! We look forward to 2022!

    Reviewed by VenaSep 2021

  • "Overall difficult to fault, but would have preferred a dishwasher to a washing machine."

    Reviewed by TimSep 2021

  • "We had a lovely week at the Reach."

    The cottage was cosy and had evetything we needed. Lovely views and walks from the door. My only critcism is the uncomfortable sofa. I ended up sitting at the table in the evenings as it caused backache. I would suggest the addition of some clothes pegs would be useful as when i put the drier outside the clothes blew off! The cottage details also say there is a washer drier but in fact it is only a washing machine. Overall a great place!

    Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the Reach. We have decided to replace the sofa given the comments and will look to do this at the end of the season. We would love to see you back at Hallsands in the future. The pegs will be replaced on this weeks changeover. The description has now been amended regarding the washing machine - Response from owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by ValJul 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay at this amazing location, and had the best sleep in a really comfortable bed."

    We did consider rebooking, but we may now opt for a foreign holiday due to the price increase of over well over £200 for the same week next year! This is not acceptable as the cottage requires more comforts to be added . The most amazing view but we didn't want to spend time in the garden that was overgrown with weeds and without any relaxing garden furniture! or even inside on an evening due to the most uncomfortable sofa.

    Reviewed by VikkiJul 2021

  • "A basic accommodation in a stunning position."

    This was our second visit and we’re looking to book again the same week, next year but appears to be a 42% price increase ? Is this correct ?

    Reviewed by JohnMay 2021

  • "Idealic location."

    Stunning scenery. Very comfortable cottage. Only problem was......leaving. Graham

    Reviewed by GrahamMay 2021

  • "The property was good, and as described, and we had a really good holiday."

    You could not find a more picturesque setting. It was warm, clean and there are great walks from the door. Sykes themselves are a poor company. Twice I had to query financial aspects of the booking. The first time Sykes readjusted the price back to what it should have been, but obviously would not have done had I not noticed the error. The second time, when I queried an addition to the price which was labelled ‘adhoc’ on my account statement, I was told that the extra money was an internal adjustment. On being asked to be more specific, they could not. So if you don’t mind your booking agency just helping themselves to your money and telling you that this was to cover an ad hoc undisclosed internal factor, then Sykes are the people to use. If you would prefer to book a holiday and know that the price you agree is not going to mysteriously change, then my advice would be to use someone else. I never did get that money back. How an internal adjustment can lead to customers having to pay money escapes me. That is the opposite of internal. Great property. Rubbish agency.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you had a great holiday and were happy with the property. We can see you did correspond with our finance department, and your questions have been answered. We can only apologise you felt that this was not satisfactory, and can assure you we would never adjust a booking price without a valid reason and all parties being made aware. We are glad that in spite of this issue, you enjoyed your stay at The Reach. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarkApr 2021

  • "The location of this cottage was lovely, it was also very clean."

    However, the bed was fitted with a footboard which prevented my wife and I from sleeping properly (we are both 6 foot plus) and the sofa was uncomfortable as well. We have used Skyes before, and the cottages have been up to scratch but we felt a bit disappointed with this one.

    Reviewed by TonySep 2020

  • "This is our third year at the Reach and fifth year at Hallsands."

    The cottage is just right for us and our little dog (Jake) and the views never disappoint - we just love it! We are so pleased the new owners of "The Reach" have continued to let the cottage out and have already booked our week for next year! We did have a few minor issues - the flush on the toilet is difficult to operate if you have weak wrists, as I have. You need to use both hands to push the button in. The bedroom window could do with easing to make it easier to shut, something that didn't bother us as we love to hear the sea, however, when we left we struggled to close it fully. The garden/gravel needed a good weeding as was quite overgrown with weeds. We think the immersion had been put on "timed" rather than "constant" as we were unable to have a hot shower on arrival. This was soon rectified by reading the instruction manual to change to constant for the rest of our stay. The milk, tea bags and hot chocolate where appreciated - thank you.

    We are delighted to hear that your stay at The Reach exceeded expectations and look forward to welcoming you again next year. The owners have been in touch and have asked us to pass on the following in response to your feedback: Thank you for your comments; we do appreciate them as we want to ensure our guests have the best experience they can. I'd like to update you with some of the improvements we have planned, unfortunately with the lock-down we were not able to carry out the finishing touches we had wished. We plan to either repair or replace the bedroom window, very soon a contractor will be assessing, we appreciate this can be tricky to close. I can only apologise for the hot water, not sure what happened there, and we hope that our caretaker was able to help. We are looking forward to visiting ourselves next week when we can freshen up both inside and out. We have had the loo flushed looked at, and could find no fault, but this continues to be stiff we should take another look at it. See you next year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by VenaSep 2020

  • "Apart from that it was a fantastic place to stay we enjoyed our time there."

    Sorry to say that the oven and microwave were dirty. Food left on tray in oven. Microwave plate dirty. Top compartment of freezer iced up.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Reach. We appreciate all feedback given positive or otherwise and have passed your comments to our housekeeper who will ensure these areas are looked at and dealt with. We hope to welcome you back to the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidAug 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • One bedroom with a double bed
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven, hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine
  • TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Allocated parking space for two cars
  • Terrace with seating and table
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop within 3.9 miles, pub within 3.5 miles
  • Note: Guests must bring their own beach towels

The property

A traditional semi-detached cottage overlooking the village of Hallsands on the Devon coast, The Reach is perfect for a romantic week away in the sun.

A series of stone steps lead from the parking area up to the cottage’s entrance – a pair of French doors that open directly into the cosy open-plan living area.

With its luxurious oak flooring and large sofa, the living room is the perfect little haven, whilst the galley-style kitchen comes with all you could want to rustle up a delicious treat.

Upstairs you’ll find The Reach’s airy bedroom with its double bed, stunning sea views and an adjacent shower room.

Out the front of The Reach is a large stone terrace that boasts incredible views out over the surrounding coastline.

Nearby you’ll find many quaint fishing villages dotted along Start Bay with plenty of options of cafés, shops and pubs.

With the South West Coast Path running right past the property, and the nearby sweeping beaches, you’ll never be short of things to do.

A journey inland could lead you towards the Dartmoor National Park, a landscape abundant in opportunities for lovers of the countryside.

The Reach is perfect for those looking to experience all that the Devonshire coast has to offer.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

HALLSANDS

Start Point 1.5 miles; Beesands 3 miles; East Portlemouth 5.5 miles; Kingsbridge 8 miles.

Hallsands is a small village near Start Point, one of the most southerly points on Devon’s coastline, near Salcombe in the beautiful South Hams area. The sheltered South Hams Peninsula is in 'deepest Devon', a pastoral landscape of flowering hedgerows and ancient sunken lanes, carved into by the richly wooded Avon and Dart Valleys. This quiet fishing village, with its dog-friendly, unspoilt beach, is situated next to the historic ‘old village’ of South Hallsands, just three miles from the popular Beesands Beach which has its own gastro pub and shop. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is decorated with white, pink and ochre thatched cottages, picturesque fishing ports such as Dartmouth, and is renowned for its stunning coastline, popular with yachting enthusiasts. Much of the clifftop land has been acquired by the National Trust, a haven for bird watchers and walkers who take advantage of the South West Coast Path, peppered with perfect picnic spots. Nearby, uncover the beauty of Blackpool Sands and Torcross, a historic site where the Normandy landings were practiced; explore the nature reserve at Slapton Ley, and stroll along Slapton Beach, feeling the soft sand between your toes. Park at East Portlemouth and catch the ferry across to the beautiful seaside town of Salcombe with its renowned estuary, or visit the Start Point Lighthouse, less than a mile away. Hallsands is a wonderful base for uncovering the unspoilt beauty of Devon and the South Hams, all year round.

Region Information

Please note there is approximately 40 steps leading to the property

Due to the close proximity to the cliff edge, children and dogs should be supervised at all times.

Please note that the South West Coast Path runs in front of the cottage.

Hallsands is accessed from the main road via a single track (with passing places) Devon lane.

Mobile coverage is variable and not available on some networks

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it