Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • 1 Coachman's Cottage, Hillfield Village - Devon - 995325 - photo 1

1 Coachman's Cottage, Hillfield Village

(Ref. 995325)

Dartmouth, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (8)
  • lovely (6)
  • hillfield (5)
  • clean (4)
  • family (4)
  • all (4)

12 Customer Reviews

  • "The only observation is that the freezer compartment in the second fridge (the primary one doesn't have a freezer compartment) is only for ice cubes."

    As such, you can't use it for other items (ice lollies, ice creams, frozen food etc)... we experimented on some cool box ice packs and they didn't freeze so the above is true. As a family with small children, it would have been beneficial to have been able to have had ice cream/ frozen food stored in a freezer - which we were able to do within a similar property on the same site last year.

    Thank you for your feedback of 1 Coachman's Cottage. We are sorry to hear you experienced difficulties with the freezer compartment. The property owner has recently undertaken extensive remedial works to the property, including replacing the freezer box. We hope that despite this issue you enjoyed your holiday in beautiful Devon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RichardAug 2022

  • "The property is showing its age."

    This particular cottage (1 coachman’s) gets no sun and unlike all of the others has no private balcony or seating area outside other than a very uncomfortable picnic bench on a slope. The bathroom is smelly due to lack of ventilation and the towels never dry. The tiles need a re grout and shower a re Mastic as a minimum. The shower door runners broke due to age on the first day but I have to say maintenance were very good and fixed it on a Saturday. Although there is a shower over the bath it is not the type of bath you should put a shower over as the bottom is rounded. We are fit and have good balance and although I hate them, I think it needs a rubber mat for safety. There are 2 fridges but neither ice box works sufficiently well even for ice cream. The washer dryer is complicated, even reading the book I could not see how you could set the dryer separately. (I wanted to dry the wet towels) We had a great holiday and enjoyed the tennis court. The surrounds are lovely and it is a great location for Dartmouth but the property is in need of a refurb.

    Thank you for your feedback of 1 Coachman's Cottage. We are sorry to hear you experienced some issues during your stay, but are glad to hear that our maintenance team were helpful and prompt. The property owner has now completed extensive remedial works to the property, including fully regrouting both bathroom floors, fully replacing all silicone in both bathrooms, painting the bathroom ceilings with anti mould paint, replaced two front facing windows and replacing the freezer tray. Despite the issues you experienced we are glad to hear that you had a great holiday and hope to welcome you back to beautiful Devon soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JenniferJun 2022

  • "The hot water in on-suite shower was hit an miss hot to start then went cooler then cold not happy with washing my hair in cold water Blinds not fastened to wall told they were safety blinds but when I pulled on them they still didn’t break I had a 5 year old in that room Disappointed with the fact of being told freezer wasn’t working when we were already on our way on the hottest day told to hand in keys there was no where to put them the office was locked and could not find any staff on phone for over 30 minutes try img to sort this out eventually a staff member arrived and was very rude about the keys saying it tells you where to put them on the door but it didn’t ."

    Another family were try to do the same and rude to them aswel. I will not be returning and would tell anyone else not to bother aswell

    Reviewed by JohnJun 2022

  • "Although the cottage was nicely furnished, we did find the mattress,s a bit hard ."

    There was no plug for the sink in the family bathroom. And the shower tray wasn’t clean , we did feel it needed some work done on it .

    Thank you for your feedback. We glad you found the property well furnished. We can only apologise you had some issues during your stay. Please know that if you had let us know during your stay we would have done our best to rectify these matters as soon as possible. The management company is now sourcing a new plug and we will pass the cleaning comments on to the cleaners. We can only apologise again and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanSep 2021

  • "We have spent several holidays at Hillfield and always really enjoyed."

    The cottage was lovely and clean. Just some feedback, fridge is very small for 5 people staying, could do with hooks on bedroom and bathroom doors for hanging towels, gowns. It was disappointing to see all the building work ongoing , the pool area closed and the shuttle board game gone. Some guests were using the tennis courts to play football on several occasions.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you loved the property. We have passed all your comments on to the owner who will look at each point, we can confirm that a new fridge has been installed recently. We can only apologise that the building work is ongoing, there is a note that appears when booking on the website to make you aware of the works on site along with any other information that is important, for example the swimming pool closure. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay in spite of these issues and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MerylJun 2021

  • "We have stayed at Hillfield village once before, so we knew what to expect on arrival."

    We stayed over the May bank holiday and it was lovely and peaceful. We hadn't stayed at 1, Coachmans cottage before and have to say it was exceptional. It was pristine ! I could not fault it at all. If I were to be picky I would say that I missed having my Molton Brown products this time! But that is really picky, I know ! I would highly recommend The cottage as It is so close to Dartmouth and easy to get to. I would book again.

    Reviewed by LorraineApr 2021

  • "Excellent stay."

    Lovely cottage, not huge but well designed. Perfect for the 2 of us. Tight in space for 6 adults. Small but totally adequate kitchen with high spec appliances and dishes. Lovely bed and bedding. Decent bathrooms. Comfortable lounge. Easy parking. Very good location, 2 miles from Dartmouth. Hillfield is a complex if a number of stylish cottages. We would return.

    Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you at Hillfield Village again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JillianOct 2020

  • "Lovely accommodation."

    It was smaller than we expected from the photos but was still fine for us.

    We are so pleased to hear that you thought 1 Coachman's Cottage was lovely. We hope we can welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenSep 2020

  • "This is my third time to Hillfield Village with my family."

    We have stayed in 3 different types of property within Hillfield and have never been disappointed.

    Reviewed by SharonDec 2019

  • "Lovely cottage very cosy."

    Reviewed by JasonApr 2019

  • "Hillfield Village is an awesome destination, we will be coming back later in the year for sure."

    The cottage was bright, clean, spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The outdoor area is great for the kids to run around & play in a safe environment, meaning we didn't have to watch them all the time, and they had fun. They also made friends with other kids playing there. Staff on site were cheerful, polite and always willing to help. The location is perfect to explore the South Hams area.

    Reviewed by RichardApr 2019

  • "The cottage was clean, comfortable and more than adequate for our needs."

    Outside there was a useful picnic table / bench. We asked for 2 garden chairs & these were promptly produced which made sitting outside more comfortable.

    Jul 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • The property has undergone extensive refurbishment over the winter of 2022 and that all issues have been dealt with. Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size with en suite (bath, wash-hand basin, w.c., shaver point and heated towel rail), 2 x twin rooms with two single beds
  • Additional shower room
  • Open plan living and dining area, modern kitchen.
  • Fan oven, elecric hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer. TV-FreeSat, Wifi Bed linen and towels provided
  • Electric central heating. Baby friendly: cot and highchair available on request. Parking
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

1 Coachman's Cottage is a delightful semi-detached property enjoying a peaceful location within the old walled garden of the exclusive Hillfield Village development.

Situated just a four mile drive from the historic maritime town of Dartmouth, with its meandering riverside, quaint cobbled streets and boutique shops this is a fabulous holiday destination.

The beautiful coves and beaches dotted along the Start Bay coastline are also within easy reach, as are numerous all-weather family attractions, perfect for keeping everyone entertained!

If you would rather relax in the comfort of your holiday home and the peaceful surroundings of Hillfield Village, guests can enjoy the use of beautiful gardens, all-weather tennis court and a children's play area. 1 Coachman’s Cottage is a recently refurbished holiday home, completed to an excellent standard, providing exceptional accommodation for up to six people.

After a busy day exploring the surrounding countryside, return to the impressive living area and relax in comfort on the large L shaped sofa.

With a dining area and well equipped kitchen, plus three bedrooms, the property is very spacious.

The master King-size double bedroom has southerly views and the benefit of a beautifully equipped en suite bathroom, whilst the second and third bedrooms have twin single beds.

In addition to the en suite is a lovely shower room. With baby friendly facilities available on request including a cot and high chair, as well as easy parking, this is an exceptional base for a family break all year round!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Totnes 12 miles.

Dartmouth lies on the banks of the beautiful River Dart estuary in the popular and picturesque South Hams area of South Devon. Located within an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and close to the coast, Dartmouth is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Devon. It offers a stunning waterfront, ancient narrow streets lined with boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries plus many local events such as the annual Dart Music Festival and the Port of Dartmouth Royal Regatta, along with the Dartmouth Food Festival held every October. There are many interesting cycling and walking routes around Dartmouth, including the South West Coast Path, the Dart Valley Trail and plenty of quiet country lanes. A trip on the Dartmouth Steam Railway through picturesque countryside to Paignton is a must, and so is a boat trip across to Kingswear and on to Brixham, a pretty little harbour town. For those seeking some beach activities, there is a wide choice in the South Hams area such as Blue Flag Award winner Blackpool Sands, and Slapton Sands, both extremely popular and just a stone's throw from Dartmouth. A relaxing location in South Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Dartmouth

The new children’s play area with a climbing frame, slide and swings, along with the outdoor tennis court remains open all year round. Please note - tennis rackets and balls are NOT provided.

All guests can exclusively enjoy green fees, swimming pool, leisure and gym facilities (subject to availability) at the nearby Dartmouth Golf and Country Club at Members Guest Rates, plus 10% off all spa treatments and 10% off all food and beverages in the Clubhouse Bar and Restaurant. Golf MUST be booked in advance via the Hillfield Village Reception. Any golf booked directly with the Pro Shop will not include the Members Guest Rate discount.

Due to the Health and Safety policy, any use of barbecues is strictly prohibited at Hillfield Village.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas