Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 3 minutes ago

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Oceans Side - Devon - 966468 - photo 1
close

Oceans Side

(Ref. 966468)

Ilfracombe, Devon Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (20)
  • view (12)
  • only (10)
  • holiday (9)
  • great (9)
  • lovely (9)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "We were very pleased with the apartment, it was lovely and quiet just the wave sound and bird song."

    The highlight was the spectacular views over the cliffs and sea. The furniture and bed were very comfortable. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need. We would highly recommend staying here. You have everything right on your doorstep i.e. cafes restaurants, grocery shops, pubs, everything you could want, plus the coastal walks and boat trips. We had a great holiday. Many thanks Karen and Mark

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Sep 2023

  • "Stunning view in a great location."

    Well equipped and good layout . We used it as a base while three of our party did the south west coast path. The apartment is very close to the harbour and other amenities If we couldn’t park on the road by the apartment which you could after 6pm - 8am we used the harbour park after our day walking pay till 6 then no charge till 8am. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Sep 2023

  • "Superb aspect, stunning views, very comfortable and well equipped, well situated close to all amenities and coastal walks-the perfect holiday home!"

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic stay the view is stunning Apartment is beautiful and well equipped Clean throughout and would not hesitate booking this property again Only downside is no parking which we were aware of!"

    Fully enjoyable stay!!

    Reviewed by Leanne4.4Jul 2023

  • "Reported broadband down by e mail but no response from sakes."

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Jun 2023

  • "Nearly every window was painted or jammed shut - we like some air."

    Reviewed by William4.1Jun 2023

  • "Loved this apartment, good location, fantastic view ,everything that you needed was in the place, comfy bed, very good wifi, good shower, really nothing to complain about."

    Had to park in nearby car park, literally just round the corner, had to get weekly pass from tourist information, so that worked out cheaper than paying daily Good pubs and eateries within easy walking distance. Only draw back was the English weather raind a lot of time we where there, but we cant blame you for that

    Reviewed by Pete5.0Apr 2023

  • "The position was as good as it can be."

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Mar 2023

  • "Beautiful apartment"

    Reviewed by Susan3.8Oct 2022

  • "Excellent apartment with glorious views out to sea ."

    Handy for touring around the area

    Reviewed by Kathleen5.0Sep 2022

  • "What a beautiful place to stay with amazing views."

    Loved sitting on the balcony and listening to the waves. Highly recommend this apartment it was a pleasure to stay here.

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Aug 2022

  • "The property was amazing with a fabulous view."

    There were some little extra welcome gifts which were much appreciated and the apartment was very well catered for and comfortable. Unfortunately my one negative is the cleanliness of the kitchen and dining area. There was food and drink left in the fridge and freezer along with a half eaten ice cream and food stuck to the shelving in the fridge so obviously not been cleaned out! There was also coffee/ tea spill stains on the flooring in the dining area as well as dust and dirt under the sofa!!! It is such a shame that this was the case as the apartment was spectacular.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that there were some cleanliness issues. We have spoken with the owner regarding the points raised and they will discuss this with their housekeepers to ensure a thorough clean is actioned on each changeover and these points are not overlooked in the future. Despite this we are pleased you were able to enjoy Ocean Side and it's fantastic views Property Owner

    Reviewed by Judith4.1May 2022

  • "Great accomodation but checking in/out times mean you lose two days off holiday ..."

    Great accomodation but checking in/out times mean you lose two days off holiday check out time particular ly early could do with instructions to work appliances but a lovely apartment

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Oct 2021

  • "We had a pleasant stay but would like to inform you that these were the issues that we reported and were told that someone would come around to sort."

    I’m afraid no one came around neither did we get a call back: 1. Kitchen tap lever coming off 2. Main bedroom: shower holder coming off the wall. 3. Unable to use the balcony table & chairs due to the rubbish falling from the top. Also not satisfied with the cleanliness of the balcony. 4. It was not great to have the recycling boxes outside the front door of the apartment.

    Reviewed by Vipul3.8Sep 2021

  • "Excellent position and facilities, the only drawback was the problem with parking."

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Sep 2021

  • "Lovely apartment with a great sea view."

    A great base to explore surrounding area. Plenty of space for 2 couples. Excellent facilities in the apartment- everything you could need. Parking difficult outside the building but this was stated in the description and used a local pay and display. Only problem we had was trying to use the t.v and dishwasher without any instructions. I think it would make it easier if an instruction folder was in the apartment for visitors.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Sep 2021

  • "Fantastic holiday."

    Lovely property, in a great location, with absolutely stunning views. Couldn't have asked for more! Would love to return

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Aug 2021

  • "Fantastic place to stay with everything you needed."

    The views were great and quite happy sitting there on the balcony watching the boats go by. Near to the harbour and bars and restaurants - couldn’t have asked for more!!

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Jul 2021

  • "Large balcony, fantastic view."

    Spotlessly clean. Very well-equipped kitchen. Only niggle is that the beds aren't very comfortable. The flat is packed with advanced electronica; an Idiot's Guide to using the WiFi, TV, heating, etc would be useful. You can surf the internet on the TV! The 1-hour restriction on parking only applies from 10am till 6pm. A 7-day permit for the car park costs £40; it can be full at weekends.

    Reviewed by Martin4.7Jun 2021

  • "Would probably put down Cheyne beach as the nearest car park, the bottom drawer of the fridge was not cleaned properly."

    A lovely holiday all round though.

    Reviewed by David4.4Jun 2021

  • "We were very pleased with the accommodation, with it's position, how to gain access and with the information provided on how to find it and where to park the car."

    Our only slightly negative comment is that you didn't warn us how close the property is to the sea and how utterly mesmeric watching the sea is. We had to drag ourselves from the balcony and the windows to go and investigate the delights of Victorian Ilfracombe. Thank you we had a very enjoyable time. Denis Golding

    Reviewed by Denis5.0May 2021

  • "Absolutely fabulous seaview from living area."

    Apartment had every home comfort. Because of Covid restrictions you really need to pre-book restaurants to stand any chance of getting a reservation! Small maintenance issue with the fridge door. It didn't line up properly so needs a good push to ensure the door was closed.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Sep 2020

  • "We were most impressed with,the excellent view,the many facilities,& a great thought in supplying,all the requirements we could possibly need."

    This, without doubt is the best holiday we have had. Thank you Linda Lee

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Aug 2019

  • "Load noisy flat, drunk people hovering outside."

    Poor quality items inside. A tv from the 80s that needed 3 remotes to turn on, buzzing all the time it was on. Fridge dirty and on last legs making a horrible noise all night. A balcony with bird poo on that gets 0 sun all day. Bread bin full of someone else's food, dirty utensils.

    The Owners are sorry for the standard of cleaning and have alerted our management company. They are reviewing equipment and replacing items as required. They have no control over the noise level of people outside and have had no complaints over the last two years about this. The balcony is cleaned regularly but there will always be seagulls flying about and leaving droppings,due to the location right on the sea with the most wonderful panoramic view across the water over to Wales Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simone1.9Aug 2019

  • "This was our third consecutive year at Oceanside and the location is ideal."

    Parking is the only slight issue but we soon discovered how convenient parking a few minutes walk away, with no problem in 3 years, solves this issue. Parking tickets available at the tourist information centre and this year cost £41.00 for a 2 week stay.

    Reviewed by Mick5.0Jul 2019

  • "The apartment was absolutely spotless (thankyou Hilary & co?"

    ). The location was second to none and perfect for a very short stroll into town. We were especially impressed with the welcome pack as many times we have arrived so somewhere with not so much as a drop of water. Our only criticism would be the TV was quite old and could not be used with any of the modern day devices. The standard of linen/towels/bedding etc was excellent and does make a difference to our stay. We will definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by Kim4.7Jun 2019

  • "Everything was fantastic."

    Incredible view, lovely spacious apartment that was well designed and comfortable. Was better than we hoped it would be.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jun 2019

  • "The only problem that we had is that we couldn't get wifi no matter we tried."

    I had a live chat with sykes and she gave me another code which was an old one. It didn't affect the holiday at all though. Just wanted to let you know for future. The key in the key safe out side the property for the yale lock is broken. It does open the door but takes a lot of trying

    Reviewed by Bryan5.0May 2019

  • "Had a fantastic week was like home from home with comfort lovely apartment ..."

    Had a fantastic week was like home from home with comfort lovely apartment fantastic sea view very clean and would recommend this place to friends n family Totley enjoyd every thing

    Reviewed by Christina5.0Sep 2018

  • "Lovely apartment with outstanding views very well equipped and very central to ..."

    Lovely apartment with outstanding views very well equipped and very central to all amenities we had a lovely week there and hope to go back again sometime

    Reviewed by Sheila4.7Sep 2018

  • "Fabulous holiday."

    The apartment was light and airy and the sea was just below us. Fantastic falling asleep listening to the waves. Lovely balcony area to sit out on. The harbour and shops are just around the corner and easily accessible. Can't wait to go back. Perfect summer holiday.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.4Jul 2018

  • "The apartment was just perfect."

    The furnishing, the décor, the location were all better than advertised. Usually when you stay in somebody else's home it doesn't quite feel right, you know that it's not your home because things aren't as you'd have them, sometimes it's only the smallest of items but it is enough to be noticed. Oceanside was just perfect, everything was just felt right from the moment we walked in the door. The location was amazing with the view out over the Bristol Channel stunning and it's not many locations where you have breakfast with the rising sun shining on you and then supper with the setting sun twinkling on the ice in your G&T. The partment is like Mary Poppins - Perfect in Every Way.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Jun 2018

  • "Great service by phone helping us to book 4 nights Apartment was brilliant with ..."

    Great service by phone helping us to book 4 nights Apartment was brilliant with the best location- sea view amazing and outside balacony a bonus

    Reviewed by Heather4.6Oct 2017

  • "The beautiful location was what made the holiday, with its wonderful view of the sea and sky."

    We also loved the style and decor in the apartment, so light and bright and everything we needed was provided.

    Reviewed by Ros5.0Aug 2017

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • All on upper-ground floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite shower, basin and WC
  • 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with patio doors to a 20 foot balcony.
  • Gas central heating
  • Gas cooker and hob
  • Microwave, fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, iPod dock, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Parking in chargeable car park, nearest Car Park Ropery Road £6.00 per 24hrs, 120 metres from property
  • Roadside parking in street outside subject to space, restricted 1hr Mid March – End Oct
  • 20 foot balcony with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets or smoking
  • Shop, harbour, pub 3 minutes walk
  • Note: Various parking permits for other car parks in the town are available from Ilfracombe Tourist Office.

The property

This upper-ground floor, sea facing apartment with a 20 foot balcony, is within strolling distance of the harbour, cafes and shops of the seaside town of Ilfracombe on Devon’s north coast.

Here, couples or families will enjoy coastal living at its best in this delightfully presented apartment that boasts a large seaward facing balcony where you can enjoy the most magnificent uninterrupted sea views along the coastline.

A modern, light and airy open plan living room, wall to ceiling windows at the far end, frame the glorious sea views that can be enjoyed from your dining table at the window.

Comfortable cream leather settees allow you to relax whilst the cook rustles up a tasty meal in the sleek kitchen, that can be enjoyed on your balcony overlooking the sea.

Two bedrooms are attractively presented the master double room boasting an en-suite shower room.

A short, three minute walk will bring you beside the harbour where ‘Verity’ the Damien Hirst bronze statue stands tall guarding the harbour entrance.

The town boasts a great variety of cafes, shops and restaurants for times when home cooking is off the menu.

The famous hand carved Tunnels beaches, also a popular wedding venue, is a short walk where children can play safely in the tidal rock pools.

Further afield the magnificent beaches of Woolacombe and Croyde are a short drive.

Family days out at The Big Sheep and Combe Martin Wildlife Park are within half hours drive, as are the picturesque coastal villages of Lynton and Lynmouth often referred to as Little Switzerland, due to the magnificent and dramatic coastal scenery.

Here you will find the famous Victorian cliff railway an experience not to be missed.

Whether you are seeking a quiet seaside break or a holiday packed with adventure, Ocean Side makes an ideal choice at any time of year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

ILFRACOMBE

Barnstaple 11 miles.

The bustling seaside town of Ilfracombe lies on a beautiful stretch of North Devon coastline, with five beaches, much of it owned by the National Trust. Ilfracombe is only a ten minute drive from Exmoor National Park, with its rolling countryside and quaint villages. Ilfracombe's heritage harbour and quay are spectacular, with many pubs, shops and restaurants and frequent live music, creating a lively, friendly atmosphere. From here, take a wildlife cruise, a fishing trip or a boat trip to magical Lundy Island, a place of natural beauty, which will provide you with an unforgettable experience. Ilfracombe is the centre for some of the finest walking country in England. Whether you enjoy a gentle promenade walk around Capstone Hill, tackling the rugged coastal path or prefer the river valleys and tranquillity of the moorland hills of Exmoor, you will find the scenery spectacular. Ilfracombe also boasts a number of high-quality eateries, with local fish being prominent on their menus. To the east of Ilfracombe are the unique villages of Lynton and Lynmouth with its clifftop railway, and to the west lie the delights of Clovelly and Hartland. Moreover just a short drive away is the 3 mile long golden beach of Woolacombe Bay, which was been voted one of the top 20 beaches in the world, the perfect place to relax in the sun or catch some waves surfing. Ilfracombe is the perfect location for a North Devon holiday, offering you a gateway to an exciting blend of stunning coastal scenery, seaside fun, rural tranquillity and centuries of heritage and style.

View more holiday cottages in Ilfracombe

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas