Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

7 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Seascape Retreat - Devon - 1131365 - photo 1

Seascape Retreat

(Ref. 1131365)

Ilfracombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • es (9)
  • lodge (9)
  • location (7)
  • clean (7)
  • property (7)
  • no (6)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "WOW. just got back from an amazing week in this Lodge."

    Cannot give enough praise for it. It was like a home away from home, everything you could ever need was there. Even down to a wind break for the beach. Exceptionally clean. The hot tub was ready to use immediatley on arrival. The only downfall was that the hot tub could do with a further fence panel around the front as the two caravans apposite do look straight at it, so it wasnt private and sometimes we felt on show.

    Thank you for your great feedback and so pleased you liked the lodge and had a great holiday. Thanks for your constructive feedback re a screen to give the hot tub more privacy and we shall be looking into this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Beverley5.0Jun 2024

  • "The holiday was a little spoiled by some issues with the property."

    (1) The under kitchen sink waste failed…. It came apart without us knowing allowing a previously full washing up bowl of water to run straight on to the floor. (2) The main front door was very difficult to lock due to wear or bad adjustment. (3) Both kitchen taps were constantly dripping despite us trying to turn off. (4) The Fridge kept ‘gurgling’ which may have been due to considerable frost build up. (5) A single ‘slat’ was missing from the kitchen blind (found under water soaked kitchen sink unit). (6) The front door frame was not fully sealed to the weather elements as you could see ‘daylight’ above the door from inside the cabin. (7) Not enough information provided in the ‘Welcome Book’, regarding how to deal with emergencies or request help. Nothing was immediately obvious to myself, my wife or a neighbour from a neighbouring cabin. Due to the ‘plumbing failure’ on our last evening on-site, and the resulting clean up operation we had to undertake, we feel a written apology should be forthcoming from the owner as we had to telephone and cancel an evening meal we had booked in Ilfracombe.

    Thanks for your feedback and let me answer your highlighted issues one by one. 1. The kitchen pipe was fine prior to you arriving as our cleaning/maintenance team would have checked and also the issue happened on your last day so presume it was fine until then. You called Sykes at 8.20pm as advised by them. There were numbers to call in the owners handbook and there was a card provided by Inspire our cleaning company. 2. Apologise for the problem with the lock and we had fixed it but it will be looked at again and fixed. 3. The taps were fine prior to your arriving and we are getting them checked again. 4. Fridge Gurgling - we have never had any comments on this before from guests / cleaning team and also from ourselves - but it is being checked. 5. The kitchen blinds with the missing slat is in the process of being fixed - but not sure i understand that this would cause you an issue? 6. We will get the door looked at but this is the first time somebody has raised this issue, also as the door is in the hallway I presume this did not cause too much of a problem for you? 7. With regards to emergencies - Inspire leave a card with your welcome gift upon your arrival - it is usually on the kitchen worktop . Also in the welcome book it is clearly in there on page 4 so surprised both you and another guest had trouble finding it - copy of details 'Emergency Contact Details Inspire Housekeeping: 03335 773377 Into the Blue Pools: 01271 816110 On site emergency number if Inspire cannot assist: Colin: 07816 348216'' I believe you would also have the number of Sykes which you did call at 8.20pm. We were advised by Sykes of the issues post you leaving and you accepted the good will gesture of compensation!. Nick Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robin2.8Jun 2024

  • "Simply the most beautiful lodge."

    We couldn’t believe it. Nothing to fault at all. We will be back. Just gorgeous.

    Thank you so much for your positive feedback - this really made my day reading this and glad you enjoyed staying here as much as us. Look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire5.0May 2024

  • "The property was clean with comfy beds."

    The lodge is fairly worn and tired. The hot tub leaked so was unuasable except for 1 evening as it needed topping up and took hours to heat. Disappointed as we specifically wanted the hot tub. The site is well maintained.

    Hi there. Thanks for your recent feedback. Let me address the hot tub issue and after discussing with the hot tub maintenance company unfortunately the pump had broken we believe whilst you was there as it was ok when it was checked and cleaned etc before your arrival on the day. And i am sure you can appreciate - things can go wrong anytime but as it was reported on Sunday afternoon there was not much we could do on that day. It has now been replaced. On your first comment on that the lodge is fairly worn and tired - was surprised by this as all the other reviews have never mentioned this but will take this onboard and will review when we are down there later this month. Also disappointed to see your overall score as its not in line with any of the other scores. But once again appreciate your feedback and will continue to improve the experience of our lodge to all our valued guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kima3.1Apr 2024

  • "Beautiful property, comfortable, homely and spacious."

    It's our 2nd stay at this particular lodge and both times have been amazing. We will definately be returning. Thank you

    Thanks Louise for your very positive feedback again. I am so pleased that you returned and enjoyed your stay once again. We are definitely looking forward to you returning again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Mar 2024

  • "Really great location, out the way enough for peace but close enough to all the local towns and coasts."

    Great facilities inside and out with lovely views. Would definitely stay again.

    Thank you for your very positive feedback and glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the surrounding areas. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian4.4Feb 2024

  • "Everything wonderfully placed couldn't ask for anything better for me and my children"

    Thanks for your positive feedback and glad you and your children had a good time. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Feb 2024

  • "The property was very clean."

    All facilities was very good. Very happy.

    Thank You for your positive feedback and so pleased you had a good stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise5.0Feb 2024

  • "A really great spot!"

    Furniture was all really comfortable, a great stay!

    Thanks so much for your positive feedback and so please you had a great stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Feb 2024

  • "This cabin exceeded my expectations to be honest."

    Very roomy and practical for a family of 4. I’d definitely stay again. Good location on a nice park and the Depot pub next door is great for food. I’ve only marked it down on maintenance for a couple of minor points. The dishwasher door handle (integrated) was half off but I fixed this while I was there. The oven and cooker hood lights have gone, a shelf in the en-suite needs to be replaced as it’s broken, a small coffee table in the lounge was broken and needs replacing, and finally the hoover hadn’t been emptied for I’d say a year, which seems to be an issue with every Sykes property we stay in! The only improvements I’d make personally would be a TV in the master bedroom and a screen on the front of the hot tub for some added privacy from the cabins opposite. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay and we would definitely recommend Seascape Retreat to anyone looking to holiday in the area.

    Thank you so much for your very positive comments. We are so glad you had a great time and would stay again. This means a lot to us! Thanks for your comments on maintenance and recommendations. We will take these onboard and look to fix and potentially and add the recommendations? Also thanks for fixing the dishwasher door - saved our handy man a job. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil4.7Oct 2023

  • "Fantastic lodge spotlessly clean very comfortable, everything you need fantastic location would definitely stay again."

    Thanks so much for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by J5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a fantastic stay at Seascape Retreat."

    From arrival to departure we felt as if it was a home away from home. We are very much looking to return next year at some point. My only feedback is as we arrived late, the reception wasn’t open and locating the lodge in the dark was difficult. Maybe worth including a map of the park once full balance has been paid to help with this.

    Thanks for your positive feedback and glad you had a fantastic stay and look forward to welcoming you again next year. Noted re map directions and something i will look to introduce and discuss with Sykes. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Sep 2023

  • "Hi We had the most amazing week at your lodge thank you!"

    The accommodation is in a great location, it's very spacious and SO comfortable. We've had a wonderful family holiday, so much so, we've re-booked with you for the 1st week of the Easter holidays! Counting down the days already! See you soon!

    Thanks so much your fantastic feedback and really please you had a great time in our lodge and the wonderful area of North Devon. Thanks for booking again and look forward to welcoming you and your family again. Nick Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Aug 2023

  • "Lovely lodge, great location."

    Would definitely book again l

    Thanks for your feedback and really happy you had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Russell5.0Jul 2023

  • "Difficult to contact anybody by phone"

    Thank you for your feedback and I will be looking into this for you. There should have been a card to call Inspire in the first instance - was that card there? Hope you had an overall nice break at Mullacott Park and the surrounding areas. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan4.4Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful property, the photos displayed are exactly what you find at site."

    Exceptionally clean, fast wifi, it is like home from home as everything required is available. Nice bedding and towels all available in excess. Lovely verandah you can relax on looking across the landscape in the evening watching the sunset. Good sized hot tub which is cleaned daily by maintenance. Surrounding area is beautiful, quiet and clean. Location - easy to find and close to Woolacombe beach which is amazing! Highly recommended!

    Thanks for your positive feedback and really pleased you had a wonderful time in our lodge and North Devon. Also good to hear that the wifi was working well as we recently had it updated. Thanks again Nick and Deb Property Owner

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0May 2023

  • "Regrettably the wifi at the property didn't work."

    The system is parkwide and it seems over-complicated to sign up to (never had to do anything like it for signing into wifi in a pub, etc., when we eventually figured it out, we then received an e-mail to say that the system at the park wasn't working and unlikely to be fixed for sometime as they were waiting for parts. The listing did state that wifi would be available, I suggest that this is changed to 'subject to availability on the park' for more accuracy. The photos of the property were obviously taken to show the lodge in it's best light and to be honest the inside was excellent - clean and furnished to a good standard. Unfortunately, the outside was disappointing - the location is rather hemmed in by other lodges around so there is a feeling of claustrophobia and the view from the hot tub was the front of our car! We were rather expecting a pleasant view of at least some greenery if not the distant ocean!

    Thank you for your feedback and apologise for the WI-FI issues that you encountered during your break. We have been advised that the system is being fully upgraded and the current WI-FI is now working. Re Hot tub positioning , we take your feedback onboard and will look at possible options. Thanks for your positive feedback on the comfort of the lodge and hope you had a nice break in Beautiful North Devon I can now confirm the Wifi for our Lodge has been fully replaced and is now independent to the site. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane4.4Apr 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Single-storey
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 2 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area with electric fire
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher
  • Smart TV, New updated WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Decking with furniture and hot tub
  • One well behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.1 miles, pub 0.1 mile, beach 2.3 miles
  • Note: There are steps up to the lodge

The property

Ilfracombe 2 miles.

Nestled on Mullacott Park, between Woolacombe and Ilfracombe, is this splendid lodge, Seascape Retreat.

Providing easy access to North Devon’s attractive coastline, whilst benefitting from a hot tub and off-road parking, Seascape Retreat makes a great abode for a group of six.

After a day of wandering the dramatic coastline and sandy beaches, look forward to unwinding in the open-plan living space, complete with two sofas positioned in front of the Smart TV and electric fire, providing a lovely setup for relaxing.

Cross the threshold into the kitchen and rustle up a hearty feast before gathering at the dining table and popping open a bottle of fizz.

On those balmy evenings, head outside for alfresco dining upon the decking and then savour a dip in the hot tub – what better way to round off the day?

As you look to catch your rest, there are three neat bedrooms to choose from, including a king with en-suite shower and two twins.

Wander around the park and look out for the panoramic sea and meadow views, revealing the rich and varied landscapes of North Devon.

Hop in the car and head north to Ilfracombe, where you can catch a live show at The Landmark Theatre, spend a day on the golden sands of the beach, explore marine wildlife at Ilfracombe Aquarium before experience luxury dining at the Michelin Star Antidote restaurant.

In the other direction lies Woolacombe, rich in coastal history, along with stunning clifftop walks and the Morte Point, a spectacular vantage point to appreciate the encompassing shoreline.

Along the seafront you’ll also find a selection of shops and eateries to take advantage of including The Porthole, and the Beachcomber Café, or simply enjoy a British staple with a bag of fish and chips.

Whilst spending the day on Woolacombe, be sure to visit Funder Island, a firm family favourite, or tour Mortehoe Museum, whilst the surfing beach of Saunton Sands rests nearby.

Further outdoor adventure can be found in Exmoor National Park, offering immersive activities, whilst the Museum of Barnstaple & North Devon is a must for keen historians.

Escape to Seascape Retreat for a magnificent holiday to Devon.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Barnstaple 11 miles.

The bustling seaside town of Ilfracombe lies on a beautiful stretch of North Devon coastline, with five beaches, much of it owned by the National Trust. Ilfracombe is only a ten minute drive from Exmoor National Park, with its rolling countryside and quaint villages. Ilfracombe's heritage harbour and quay are spectacular, with many pubs, shops and restaurants and frequent live music, creating a lively, friendly atmosphere. From here, take a wildlife cruise, a fishing trip or a boat trip to magical Lundy Island, a place of natural beauty, which will provide you with an unforgettable experience. Ilfracombe is the centre for some of the finest walking country in England. Whether you enjoy a gentle promenade walk around Capstone Hill, tackling the rugged coastal path or prefer the river valleys and tranquillity of the moorland hills of Exmoor, you will find the scenery spectacular. Ilfracombe also boasts a number of high-quality eateries, with local fish being prominent on their menus. To the east of Ilfracombe are the unique villages of Lynton and Lynmouth with its clifftop railway, and to the west lie the delights of Clovelly and Hartland. Moreover just a short drive away is the 3 mile long golden beach of Woolacombe Bay, which was been voted one of the top 20 beaches in the world, the perfect place to relax in the sun or catch some waves surfing. Ilfracombe is the perfect location for a North Devon holiday, offering you a gateway to an exciting blend of stunning coastal scenery, seaside fun, rural tranquillity and centuries of heritage and style.

View more holiday cottages in Ilfracombe

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas