Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 0 minutes ago

1 of 24 View Larger Image
  • 1 Combehaven - Devon - 994841 - photo 1
close

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 Combehaven

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 994841)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Highchair available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

19 Customer Reviews

  • "Another really enjoyable stay."

    Very adaptable property for mixed family generations. Two small points - could do with some serving spoons, and pillow protectors for hygiene reasons would make sense?

    Reviewed by RichardJun 2022

  • "We loved the property including the garden."

    The property was extremely well equipped and comfortable and we would definitely book it again.

    Reviewed by SusanMay 2022

  • "This is our third stay here and will stay again, comfortable home with super little garden"

    Reviewed by KevinMay 2022

  • "The house is in a lovely location and well equipped however considering we are in COVID times and it has supposedly had a deep clean, it hadn't even been dusted."

    There was thick dust on all chests of drawers (clearly not even been wiped) dust on all skirting boards, crumbs and bits on the carpet where it only been a quick hoover, some sand still on bathroom floors, dirty drinks coasters, dirty light switches, food down the edge of kitchen table. The freezer seal has also gone and wouldn't shut so we had to actually defrost the freezer whilst there to even get the door to shut. When we got to the end of the week and had to strip the beds the pillows and duvets were in awful condition, very yellowed and stained with no protectors. Only one room had a mattress protector on. The outside handle to the balcony door is also broken and lying on the balcony floor.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were sorry to read that both the presentation and cleanliness of the property for your stay was unsatisfactory. We understand how frustrating this is and would like to apologise on behalf of the housekeeping team. Please be assured that should you have contacted our Salcombe office during your stay we would have rectified the cleanliness matters and arranged for the property to be re cleaned. We hope that despite these issues, you were still able to enjoy Salcombe, its stunning views and choice of amenities. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeorginaSep 2021

  • "You should provide more than one key."

    We struggled to get the gas fire going - can you provide instructions? One under cupboard light in the kitchen was flickering from the start, so check bulbs. Otherwise really nice and service was very efficient when sockets tripped.

    Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. We were sorry to read that you had difficulties when operating the gas fire. There is indeed an instruction manual enclosed in property’s guests notes and were sorry you did not come across this. We were pleased to read that despite this, you enjoyed you stay here at 1 Combehaven and our Salcombe team were of assistance. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RichardApr 2021

  • "Good house for a Salcombe holiday and lovely to have a garden area outside the kitchen."

    We found the house met all of our expectations and have already rebooked.

    Thank you very much for leaving us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at 1 Combehaven and that the property was able to accommodate your requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by KevinApr 2021

  • "We have stayed at 1 Combehaven 3 times now."

    We like the location plus space esp the garden. Three points to make 1. We were unable to access the property until 5pm, 2 hours later than usual due to the extra cleaning needed because of C-19. Understand this however we didn’t feel the house was particularly spotless considering the extra time. General dust on the stairs, some rooms, skirting board, missed corners in the bathrooms, hair stuck in the plug holes The later check in is very inconvenient too as we then have to go shopping later than we would like. 10 am check out too means like we almost lost a day! 2. The hot water can run out after 3/4 regular showers. Obviously annoying if there are 5 adults, so timing is everything! 3. The mattress protector on the top floor double bed doesn’t allow air breathing so it’s often hot and sweaty and thus less comfortable- minor point but the ones at home don’t cause the same. We booked again for Christmas as this won’t put us off, however this is out feedback!

    Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at 1 Combehaven. We were sorry to hear that the property wasn't presented to the usual high standards for your arrival. We would have welcomed the chance to rectify this if you had made us aware. The additional time in the changeover period is required so that the cleaners can focus on sanitising the high touch areas in the property. We are pleased to advise that we have now reverted back to the 3pm check in time for most of our properties. Thank you for letting us know about the hot water tank, this is something we will monitor, as we have not had a previous comment of this nature. We will also look into obtaining a new mattress protector. Thank you for your loyal custom, and we look forward to seeing you again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisSep 2020

  • "A great place to spend a family holiday, we really liked the layout of the house and it was such a bonus having private parking and being a short walk away from the town centre."

    Staff at the office were friendly too and really helpful in advising us on the best places to eat/visit etc. Thank you

    Reviewed by SuzyNov 2019

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday, and it was great to be back in Salcombe."

    We have stayed in the apartments in Combehaven previously and the house was lovely. We are most disappointed that Coast and Country have been taken over by Sykes. It is frustrating not to be speaking to the lovely staff in the Salcombe office. They know the area well and are very knowledgeable about the properties. I had 3 occasions when i phoned the Cheshire office and was put on hold whilst THEY called Salcombe to ask a question. One was simply to ask if we could drop the keys off, on our departure at the same place, using the code we used on arrival. It is frustrating and its a shame as we now will think twice about using you again. We used to get a 5% loyalty discount if we booked within the year and also usually had a couples only discount as it is outside high season. (Especially as on this occasion we had a 4 bed property and only used one bedroom. We didn’t like the look of the smaller properties that had parking) I will possibly look into using Salcombe holiday homes in future.

    Reviewed by LyndaSep 2019

  • "We had a great week at 1 Combehaven and loved it’s proximity to the town."

    We had a few minor issues with property maintenance and felt the property would benefit from a ‘re-fresh’ but otherwise would recommend it. Probably better suited to slightly older families as the garden was not enclosed and the living areas are split over two floors so we couldn’t let our toddler run free!

    Reviewed by CiaranAug 2019

  • "The bedding did not feel clean at all and all the bedding / pillows and towels are in need of replacement"

    Reviewed by CarolineMay 2019

  • "Stayed here before in 2016, great location and generally a good sized house to rent."

    Agent is very helpful and no concerns. Negatives - generally minor but could be cleaner, not enough stored hot water for 2/3 showers so a lot of waiting! some of the bulbs not working including outside, would have been nice to have a follow up call say day 2 to check all well.

    Reviewed by ChrisMay 2019

  • "Excellent property but oven dials didn’t work properly and the heating element of the top oven had fallen away from its fixings."

    We were however impressed at how quickly the maintenance engineer was sent out to try and fix the problem, who did a temporary fix prior to recommending a new oven to be installed. Overall we liked the property very much and will definitely return to it.

    Reviewed by RobertApr 2019

  • "House was lovely and comfortable."

    Great weekend.

    Reviewed by DJan 2019

  • "Excellent"

    Sep 2016

  • "We loved the house."

    It was very spacious and perfect location. Just what we needed. We had a great stay. The only problems were that it was barely cleaned when we arrived and the mattress protectors were plastic and make you sweat all night (it wasn't a hot week when we were there). It will be good if the owners invest in proper cotton bedding and mattress protectors. Thanks

    Sep 2016

  • "A lovely house in a great position with stunning views from the top of the house."

    Thoughtfully kitted out for families with young children. We didn't really use the lounge room as it felt separated from the rest of the living space but we understand the intention to put it on the first floor for the views. We would definitely recommend this lovely house in beautiful Salcombe to others.

    HELENSep 2016

  • "Great house in great location."

    House is roomy with great views of the estuary.

    Jun 2016

  • "We have stayed in this property a number of times over the years and have always enjoyed its space, level of decor and equipment and its location within easy walking distance of the town."

    The parking facilities are also something we appreciate. We were very pleased with the refurb which the property has undergone since our last stay and it is very fresh, bright and pleasant even in winter. The heating worked superbly which we needed in February! Only two very minor suggestions - a broom would have been handy for sweeping the hall floor after a sandy or muddy walk and mattress covers which are better quality with a cotton top surface - the plastic finish was uncomfortable!

    VALMar 2016

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 2 x King-size bedrooms (one with an en-suite shower room)
  • 1 x Twin bedroom and 1 x Bunk bed room
  • Bathroom with bath, hand held shower, w.c, wash-hand basin, shaver point and light, heated towel rail and under-floor heating
  • Cloakroom with w.c and hand basin
  • Living room with coal-effect gas fire and balcony
  • Open-plan kitchen/dining room
  • Garden and furnished terrace.
  • Gas hob and oven, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave
  • Fireplace with a coal-effect gas fire
  • TV, DVD, Ipod player
  • Parking for 2 cars
  • All bed linen and towels are supplied
  • You will need to bring your own beach towels, tea towels and oven gloves
  • Please note: Boats and trailers are not permitted in the car park
  • Designated parking strictly for two cars only

The property

With estuary views, a garden and a total of four bedrooms, 1 Combehaven is a fantastic three-storey townhouse situated within a short walk of Salcombe’s bustling restaurants, upmarket shops and famous waterside.

This property has a modern granite kitchen with an open plan dining area, coal-effect gas fire and chic, nautical decor.

The lounge boasts two comfortable, two-person sofas, a coffee table and French doors onto the balcony, with views over Salcombe towards the estuary and countryside beyond.

Four bedrooms in total, the first is a King-size with an en suite featuring a Bette steel bath and power shower over.

The second, a children’s bunk room, is adjacent to the master bedroom.

The third bedroom is a double (ground floor), and the final is a twin room with two white-framed single beds, located on the first floor.

There is a separate shower room on the first floor with a power shower.

A cloakroom is located on the ground with a w.c and wash basin.

On the ground floor, doors from the dining area open up into a fantastic garden, with a table and chairs for al fresco dining, which enjoy the view over Salcombe’s estuary.

There are two parking spaces for this property, one in front of the other, at the property.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

For reasons of comfort the property is limited to a maximum number of six adults.

Boats and trailers are not permitted in the car park. Designated parking strictly for two cars only.

“Please be aware, due to the nature of the town, several of our properties are situated up hills. Please contact our reservations team if you would like more information about the location of this property.”

Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it