Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • 2 Hamstone Court - Devon - 994937 - photo 1
close

2 Hamstone Court

(Ref. 994937)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (19)
  • apartment (16)
  • well (14)
  • location (11)
  • property (11)
  • salcombe (10)

39 Customer Reviews

  • "We love staying at this property and return every year."

    We would point out now however that the en suite shower room is in need of upgrade and the mattress protector in this room is stained. There is a carpet stain in the lounge which I’m sure could be scrubbed out with some effort. Also the windows are in desperate need of a clean, we had to try ourselves so we could enjoy the view! Other than these minor issues the feedback would have been perfect.

    Reviewed by Johanne3.1Oct 2023

  • "First class !"

    Location, facilities, apartment - just excellent.

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Oct 2023

  • "Excellent location, very well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds."

    Extractor fan in ensuite bathroom to main bedroom not up to the job, mould forming on ceiling above toilet.

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Sep 2023

  • "Loved this property, amazing view, great sized rooms, lots of wardrobe space and well stocked kitchen."

    Balcony is a great asset, very big. My children appreciated the dvds and chess board in the property. Will definitely look to book this property again. Shower head in one of the bathrooms could have been cleaner and housekeeping could be more thorough re drawers and under beds but they are my only 2 niggles. The steepness of the drive may be a concern for those with limited mobility.

    Reviewed by Vikki4.4Jul 2023

  • "If you deserve a treat then book this apartment."

    Great location, best view in town and excellently furnished and equipped.

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely comfortable well appointed apartment with wonderful views, nearby all the restaurant and shops in Salcombe."

    We felt at home as soon as we arrived and had a lovely stay; will certainly stay here again.

    Reviewed by Liz5.0Apr 2023

  • "This was our second stay in this apartment, as it suits the 3 generations of our family."

    It is very well catered with equipment in the kitchen, so no problems with catering . It is in a lovely position for the town and walks towards North Sands and South Sands, with beautiful views.

    Reviewed by Hazel4.1Mar 2023

  • "This is the second time we have stayed here."

    It is cosy, family friendly and very comfortable. Look forward to coming back soon.

    Reviewed by Arabella5.0Nov 2022

  • "Amazing apartment with fantastic views from the balcony."

    The apartment is very well equipped and furnished to a high standard.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Oct 2022

  • "This was our second year at 2 Hamstone Court - we love the property."

    Last year there were one or two issues with the drains (not clearing at the speed the showers were filling) and some concerns over cleanliness. All have been rectified, on arrival the whole apartment was spotless with a fresh clean smell (congratulations to the cleaners). Another splendid week - we’ll be back.

    Reviewed by Barry5.0Oct 2022

  • "Excellent property in a prime location and the furnishings appear to have been recently renewed."

    Reviewed by James5.0Jul 2022

  • "We have had an excellent stay at your apartment."

    Our only critical feedback is around the lack of recycling bags and the extractor fan is not working.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Jul 2022

  • "Have returned to this high class property which we love for last 6 yrs, always found in excellent condition until this time."

    Immediately visited local Salcombe office to complain [first time ever!!] Told the local office and showed photos -Main Window would not close- Bathroom light continual fiickering - Broken curtain rail clips main bedroom could not close completely - Stains on lounge carpet, no sign of cleaning attempt. - Wall picturers 3 had been removed, ok, but supports in bedroom wall remain

    Thank you for your feedback, without it, it’s not easy for me to know what condition the flat is in. I know you have a been a regular visitor for many years and I am as disappointed as you are that your stay was not up to the standard you had a right to expect. I have written to Coast and Country and await their response. Kind regards, Joselyn Property Owner

    Reviewed by John3.8Jul 2022

  • "Another fantastic stay at 2 Hamstone Court in Salcombe."

    From start to finish the whole process was smooth and easy with Skyes. This apartment has the most stunning views and is in a perfect position to explore Salcombe and the surrounding areas. This was our second stay with our two daughters (aged 15 & 8) and we will be booking a third!

    Reviewed by Neil5.0Jun 2022

  • "We know this complex very well, having stayed in various apartments within it."

    Please think VERY CAREFULLY before taking 2 cars to this apartment. We discovered on arrival that we could not park our second vehicle in the garage because of a structure within. We checked with the agent for Sykes who just happened to be there and confirmed that they had never had any problems with parking to the side, it was not obstructing anyone. We soon discovered that the neighbours who apparently reside in apartment 5 had 4 or 5 vehicles and felt that they were the only people allowed to use the other spaces. They made it quite clear by leaving notes and shouting up to us that they believed they alone had the right to park, they had all the other owners telephone numbers and permission to park, we on the other hand could not as we were not owners. In a nutshell they made it very obvious that they were against letting and they would make our stay uncomfortable, they played loud music whilst sitting in their cars, banged doors late at night, gave us finger gestures (nice!) and always stared up at the apartment when outside to name a few of their intimidating actions. The apartment itself is in a wonderful location, the furniture is ok but getting ready for updating, particularly the sofas. We had a couple of minor issues, the mirror in the wardrobe came unstook and was in danger of falling out, the en-suite bathroom has issues with the toilet and sink tap, the kitchen had cleanliness issues, extractor and coffee machine to name two.We reported all the above to the office and they were extremely helpful, they arranged to get the mirror fixed immediately and said the would note the other issues and they even gave us a permit for the car park.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We can only apologise that you had difficulty parking, the property is advertised with two parking spaces and the website does state the dimensions, however this does not excuse the manner in which you were spoken to and for this we are truly sorry. We are pleased to say that we have never encountered the issues you have raised in the past and we hope this is an isolated incident but again we can only apologise that you experienced it. We are pleased we were able to rectify any other matters you mention quickly. We do hope that despite the parking situation that you had an enjoyable holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra4.1Apr 2022

  • "Superb property, superb location, couldn't fault it."

    Reviewed by Johann5.0Mar 2022

  • "Wonderful apartment, we were very lucky in that the weather was superb all week but having said that, the quality of the apartment, facilities and outside space far exceeded our expectations."

    I don’t want to make more of the slight flaws than necessary, but if they don’t get mentioned you might not know about them. There are two key safes - the first (which looks like every key safe I’ve used) is broken. The second (which contained the keys) was difficult to operate (probably because it was unfamiliar) but I got there in the end. The balcony furniture needs some attention as there are broken wires on the edges of some of the chairs. The drains need some attention as the showers flooded if we operated them on full power. There is a note on the wall in the kitchen showing the access code for the bin store - I think it needs a C in front of the numbers. Also the apartment guide manual shows the wrong Wi-fi code and wrong bin store number (the latter did give me the clue about the C prefix though). Overall our stay was amazing, in a wonderful apartment with outstanding views - we’ll be back next year !

    Reviewed by Barry4.7Oct 2021

  • "Fantastic views, great location En suite getting ready for re vamp."

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Oct 2021

  • "We had a fabulous time."

    The apartment was clean, spacious and the facilities surpassed our expectations. Parking in a garage and outside secure parking was unusual in Salcombe. We had a motorcycle so parking was important. The views were amazing and we will recommend to all our friends and will be back.

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that the apartment was clean and comfortable for you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Sep 2021

  • "I have sent 2 emails about issues in the apartment neither were acknowledged or dealt with - rubbish customer service"

    Reviewed by N3.4Aug 2021

  • "It was a lovely flat which I chose because of the location and the photos on the website."

    It had great views, was very comfortable and well equipped, including jigsaws and games. So it definitely lived up to expectations. The main problem was with rubbish disposal where it was impossible to comply with the detailed instructions. We were instructed to use several different coloured disposal bags, but only black ones were provided. To be fair I stayed in another Salcombe property last year and it was the same there. Also the garage is quite narrow.

    Many thanks for leaving us your comments. We were pleased to read that the apartment was comfortable and provided you with everything you required for you stay. We were only sorry there was some confusion with the rubbish disposal. We have passed this onto our property services team to rectify. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jul 2021

  • "Please read this in the context that despite the comments below, we had a fabulous holiday and would stay here again."

    We hope the feedback below is helpful. 1) The information regarding recycling needs updating. 2)The information regarding the pedestrian gate needs updating. 3) It would have been helpful to use the heated towel rails- we couldn’t work out how! 4) The en-suite is superbly finished but will need maintenance if the mould developing is not removed. 5) Some curtains need rehanging.

    Reviewed by Nigel4.7Jul 2021

  • "The views and location of this property was amazing."

    Everything was spotlessly clean, with everything you could think of for an amazing holiday.

    Reviewed by Suzanne5.0May 2021

  • "The key pad entrance to the apartment at the entrance on ground floor does not seem to work?"

    On examination we could not even find a door bell in the apartment. Our friends who live in Salcombe struggled to get in on the first couple of occasions. Not a complaint, just info. You had to send some one out to unblock my sink (the first shower room), the pop up plug also does not work, your man said he would get parts. By the time we left, the couple with the en-suite felt their sink was not draining properly. Again FYI.

    Reviewed by Keith4.7Oct 2020

  • "Amazing location and views."

    Easy walk into Salcombe and amenities. Very comfortable furnishings and found everything that we would need. Bathroom to main bedroom small, but with good sized shower. Very quiet (possibly only people in the block) in late September. Great to have parking space + garage, very secure and private. Would rebook another time.

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Sep 2020

  • "I think the 5 stars given to this property is incorrect."

    The mattresses are incredibly hard meaning half of the guests barely slept and have left the holiday with bad backs. One even commented that if they would have known how bad they would feel after not sleeping they would not come on holiday. We did look at local hotels but Salcombe was fully booked for bank holiday week. The housekeeping is also poor, the bed frames has visible dirt on them, mattress protectors were filthy and cobwebs were present. A brilliantly located property, with fantastic views but we would not recommend.

    Reviewed by Sophie1.9Aug 2020

  • "Superbly appointed apartment with great views of the estuary and within easy walking distance of Salcombe centre and also North Sands."

    Having a parking space and also use of a garage for another car and storing our beach and boat equipment was a real bonus. This was our second visit so we knew the apartment was going to be very good but even so it did exceed our expectations once again.

    Reviewed by Nicholas4.7Jul 2020

  • "Exceptionally high standard of furnishings and equipment for a holiday rental ."

    Would have been useful to know there was a cot and a high chair as we hired them in advance .

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Jul 2020

  • "Sadly the excellent appartment was let down by poor attention to details such as ventilation in shower room and of more concern could not be locked."

    Several light bulbs needed replacing. The plumbing issue was resolved quickly.

    Reviewed by Charles4.1Sep 2019

  • "Wonderful week at 2 Hamstone Court, beautiful apartment with amazing views."

    Great location too for Salcombe high street and North Sands beach.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2019

  • "Lovely well equipped accommodation, in good position with excellent views."

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jun 2019

  • "2 Hamstone Court was the perfect property for my family holiday - With fantastic views, comfortable bedrooms and living area, it was all we could have hoped for."

    The consideration made by the owner with regards to providing high quality kitchen equipment as well as having books/games were very much appreciated.

    Nov 2017

  • "Have already explained Above"

    Mr John PughJul 2017

  • "Lovely property with amazing views."

    Quality fittings and soft furnishings. Everything there that you could possibly need - apart from an umbrella for eating breakfast on the balcony on a hot day! Master family room beautifully furnished, but a little dark.

    Aug 2016

  • "The flat had stunning views and was extremely well equipped."

    The only downside for me was that the beds were very firm (although it didn't bother the rest of my family). If it wasn't for this we would definitely have booked for next year.

    Jun 2016

  • "The accommodation was perfect."

    Extremely well equipped with views to die for!

    JANEApr 2016

  • "The main (back) bedroom had the smallest bathroom I have experienced in 40 years of holiday rental."

    All 3 bathrooms had failings...either little or no shelf space for toiletries, a shower door seal missing resulting in flooded floor. Beds hard. Parking difficult. Key safe tricky to operate

    Dr M D HenryOct 2015

  • "Exceeded expectations."

    Sep 2014

  • "A new well fitted,comfortable apartment with fantastic views"

    Jun 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super King-size with bunk beds ,please request bunk beds when booking, and en suite (large walk-in shower, vanity unit, w.c, heated towel rail and wash-hand basin), 1 x Super King-size, 1 x Twin room
  • Shower room (fully tiled shower cubicle with power shower, wash-hand basin, w.c and heated towel rail)
  • Additional family bathroom (corner bath, wash-hand basins, w.c and heated towel rail)
  • Kitchen
  • Utility room
  • Open plan lounge/dining room
  • Spacious balcony
  • The property has been refurbished over the 23/24 winter period
  • Siemens induction hob, single oven, combination microwave, integrated fridge/freezer, Nespresso coffee machine, and dishwasher
  • Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge and sink
  • Freeview TV and DVD player
  • Wifi
  • Gas-fired central heating and hot water throughout
  • Allocated parking for one car in the garage and one in front of the garage. All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels are provided – guests need to bring their own beach towels
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Situated just a short walk away from Salcombe’s famous waterfront, 2 Hamstone Court is a stunning apartment set in private grounds over looking the Estuary and the sandy beaches of East Portlemouth.

From the communal hallway, the front door leads in to a welcoming hallway, from where all rooms are easily accessed.

The well-equipped kitchen provides a range of amenities including dishwasher, fridge and induction hob.

There is a Nespresso coffee machine provided (guests should bring their own capsules).

A separate utility houses a washing machine and tumble drier.

Leading from the kitchen is a beautifully furnished open plan living/dining room with two large comfortable sofa’s, occasional furniture and an oak dining table and chairs for eight guests.

The private balcony, with glass table and chairs, can be accessed through the sliding patio doors.

There are three bedrooms in total, a large master bedroom with super-King size bed, en suite with a large walk in shower, w.c and wash hand basin.

This bedroom also includes a set of bunk beds suitable for children.

The second bedroom also has a super King-size bed and benefits from doors opening out on to the balcony, you may consider this room the master bedroom as it benefits from the marvellous estuary views.

The spacious third bedroom has twin beds.

In addition to the ensuite bathroom is a separate shower room with power shower, w.c and wash hand basin and a further family bathroom with corner bath, w.c and wash- hand basin and WC.

Allocated parking is provided for two cars.

From September 11th 2023, the apartment above will be having refurbishment works.

This will be ongoing until Feb 2024. Please call the local office for further information.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Bunk beds for children only and only available on request at the time of booking.

Garage dimension approx: 19' depth x 7'9"in height x 9'6" width


Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas