Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 8 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • 3 The Salcombe - Devon - 995026 - photo 1
close

3 The Salcombe

(Ref. 995026)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map

4.0

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • excellent (6)
  • property (4)
  • no (4)
  • full (3)
  • location (3)
  • flat (3)

34 Customer Reviews

  • "Comfortable apartment."

    Could benefit from a modernisation inside to update kitchen and bathroom. Hot water pressure in kitchen not good. However the beds including the sofa bed all very comfortable. Location sells this ….. along with easy parking, the mooring and the well maintained, clean pool. We had a lovely stay and would book again.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Sep 2023

  • "Flat has not been refurbished for decades."

    Flooring is old and grubby; more recently laid carpet in the bathroom already smells of urine (who puts carpet in the bathroom?!). The two single beds are old and uncomfortable. It’s a just about functional space which gives you access to the lovely views, grounds & pool of The Salcombe. Clearly just a cash cow for the owner.

    Reviewed by Heather2.2Aug 2023

  • "Apartment was as lovely as ever - roomy and comfortable in great location."

    It's a shame the pool was so cold the first few days of our stay.

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Jun 2023

  • "Nice flat in a good location."

    Good views across the river to the hills on the far side. A few minor issues that could be improved: 1. Bedroom window catches either not working or difficult to open & close. These need replacing. 2. Hot water to kitchen sink is VERY slow. I think the pipework needs replacing. 3. The recycling and food waste system in South Hams Council area is appalling (compared with our area of Bournemouth, where just about everything is recycled). This is not helped by contradictory information in the appartment compared with the refuse bin area. 4. The oven needs a clean. 5. The DVD remote control does not work. Probably the batteries need replacing. Not a big problem but nevertheless it shows that the owners are not keeping up with these minor maintenance issues.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4May 2023

  • "Review of 3 The Salcombe, visited May 1-7th 2023 Location, Location, Location, (or view, view, view) The Salcombe site has a lot going for it, very central, you can walk to most things Salcombe has to offer, there is a heated swimming pool located in the gardens."

    It has one of the finest harbour views in Salcombe. Anyone who walks past the Salcombe building stops to admire the harbour view No3 has a dedicated car parking space, There is a boat mooring pontoon if you hire/bring your own boat to moor up on or to launch off on your paddle board or canoe (tide dependant). No 3 has a great view of the swimming pool, useful if you have children to watch, (this could be noisy at peak times & people outside have a good view of you inside however the unit does have blinds/curtain if you are shy). No3 provides a premium view of the harbour and you can simply sit inside or outside in the garden area and watch the busy harbour life, garden chairs are provided with No 3 As many reviewers have said No3 requires updating, it's all acceptable but tired, simple things such as a updated electric power shower, soft close toilet seat, smart HD TV, redecoration/revamp, some decent water pressure on the hot water taps, etc would be a good start, it's fine for 2 adults and 2 children or 4 very friendly adults (2 single beds & lounge sofa bed), heating and hot water was fine although hot water pressure is very low, seating and beds are adequate Tech; There are 2 broadband connections available, The Salcombe site 4mbs download and the owners BB (No3) 12mbs There is a 32" analogue TV, a satellite box but no satellite signal so at time of our stay minimum TV stations available, a smart TV would resolve this and a DVD player is provided No3 was found clean and tidy and provided with the usual self catering facilities, there are supply stores within walking distance the furthest being the co op about a 10-15 mins pleasant walk away (past 3 pubs) (you can drive of course but driving and parking in Salcombe especially at peak times is never simple or quick) it wouldn't take much to move this rental up the scale from 6 to 9/10, everything in No3 generally works ok... so from the owners point of view.... also a guarantee of good weather would help! Would we rent No3 again; Yes, we also did about 10 years ago and have stayed at the Salcombe site many times

    Reviewed by Bernadette4.1May 2023

  • "Lovely property with an amazing position."

    Parking and mooring are a real bonus. Property could do with an update but has everything you need. Thank you

    Reviewed by Emma3.8Aug 2022

  • "As per usual most of this property has not been updated for decades."

    The only reason we book this flat at such extortionate rates is its position in Salcombe and external facilities. Shame as other flats have been extensively renovated and make for a beautiful holiday stay. Just a lick of paint and new flooring would transform this place.

    Reviewed by Heather2.5Jul 2022

  • "Not a sensible decision that when in Salcombe and wish to call Coast and Country Cottages, the number routes to Sykes in Chester, not the local well informed staff."

    Reviewed by David3.8May 2022

  • "Very comfortable, superb location, and excellent facilities"

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0May 2022

  • "The front door requires effort to get my mobility aid into the cottage"

    Reviewed by Michael4.7May 2022

  • "Pleasantly surprised, much nicer than we thought it would be."

    Central location a big plus. Fine view. Very limited freeview channels - no channel 11.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Oct 2021

  • "The toilets had not been thoroughly cleaned before our arrival."

    I am disabled. there is no ramp to help me manage the doorstep. The staff were very friendly and helped with our luggage

    Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read of these cleanliness issues and we are sorry the property was presented in this way upon your arrival. Please be assured that this will raised with our housekeeping team. Should you have contacted the Salcombe office upon arrival or during your stay, I can assure you that these matters would have been rectified. We are pleased to read that the staff at The Salcombe were welcoming and helpful. We hope that despite the cleanliness issues you were able to enjoy your stay here in Salcombe and its stunning views. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Sep 2021

  • "Excellent location, swimming pool a bonus, Parking an asset In need of upgrading internally, looking worn and tired"

    Reviewed by Tracey4.1Sep 2021

  • "Following issues with cleanliness at No7 in 2020 I gave a 2nd chance for 2021."

    The condition of No3 was poor and reported to the local office The kitchen floor had not been mopped in ages ( I discovered this after my local complaint). There was water ingress down the wall , fridge was rusty, bed linen from previous guest had been left on the sofa bed. The corners of rooms were full of fluff and the state of the store cupboard where hoover is kept was filthy. The smell coming from the hoover when in use was awful and the cleaner itself was dirty. I purchased bedding for the sofa bed to ensure cleanliness and peace of mind. Seagulls were not discouraged by staff on site and would bathe in the swimming pool daily. When I attempted to discourage one bird I was advised by a member of staff that the gardens belong to the seagulls not residents. In my personal opinion the apartment was not Covid safe when we arrived. The local office asked if I wanted someone to call but I declined owing to Covid protocols.

    Reviewed by Bev3.4Aug 2021

  • "The last two times we have stayed the pool hasn't been available so being able to use it again was a real treat and all the staff were very helpful and friendly."

    Reviewed by Angela4.4Jun 2021

  • "I will preface these comments by saying that we have stayed at The Salcombe many times, mainly in No 3, but also in No 2, No 4 and also in (I think) No 27."

    We have always booked through Coast and Country Cottages in Salcombe and have always found them friendly and helpful and importantly, accessible, as indeed they still are. Sykes fail miserably in the latter criteria. We needed to stop on our journey to advise Salcombe we might be late for check in, but by the the time we actually spoke to someone we were about 30 minutes later. We also needed to let the local office know the tv didn't work; again a long wait to speak to anyone, and that someone was in Chester who promised we would be notified when someone would attend. No one did. We have booked Sykes in the past, in the Wye Valley, which was an extremely disappointing experience, so were very concerned when confirmation of the recent holiday came from Sykes when I thought I had booked with Coast and Country Cottages. The sad thing is if we want to continue taking our breaks in No 3 we will have no choice but to deal with Sykes. Why can't you learn from the local office instead of assuming your method is an improvement?

    Reviewed by Alan5.0May 2021

  • "The instructions in the cottage have incorrect details on contacts in the case of problems"

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Apr 2021

  • "Apartment is in great location but very tired."

    Was also very cold and took a long time to warm up after turning the thermostat up. There was barely a third of a toilet roll provided, which just seemed mean. Wouldn’t choose this apartment again.

    Reviewed by Jackie3.1Sep 2020

  • "Lovely location and very clean will definitely recommend and return"

    Reviewed by Gaybrel4.1Sep 2020

  • "Unlike previous reviews we found 3 The Salcombe nice and clean, although we did think the property was a little tired and dated, especially the bathroom."

    You couldn't wish for a better location, the views across the water couldn't be beaten and the heated swimming pool was a welcome bonus.

    Reviewed by Sandra3.8Sep 2019

  • "I have booked this property for the last six years."

    I have always found the property facilities excellently suited my family needs however this year the property was even more unclean than it has been in previous years. Over the last six years I found the property to be unclean in certain areas such as dirty cutlery, food debris under the microwave, dirt under the table, the kitchen flooring area not being mopped, dusty skirting boards and food debris under the sofa. I have always made a conscious effort to leave the property immaculate so that nobody would find it as I have done. The cleaners I understand change bedsheets and towels however they do not check details like these. To make this worse I have now been told that I am unable to rebook this property as the Coast And Country company have different policies and do not allow preferential booking for previous customers. If I had known that all loyalties would be lost I would have complained years ago.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at 3 The Salcombe. We are very disappointed to hear that the property was not presented satisfactorily on your arrival. We work very hard with our housekeeping and property maintenance team to ensure that our high standards are maintained, and we are sorry to on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. We ask that were are given the opportunity to rectify any issues, so it is disappointing that we did not hear from you during your stay as we most certainly would have been able to have our housekeeping team address these points for you. We are sorry that we do not offer the 'rebook' procedure that we used to, however we now have a 24 month calendar available for guests to make bookings well in advance. We hope that we can welcome you back to Salcombe next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jemma2.8Aug 2019

  • "Hi - property is very nice and we have loved staying there."

    It could do with a full length mirror on the wall outside the bathroom. At present there isn't a full length mirror in the property.

    Miss C PettittJul 2018

  • "The Salcombe is an excellent location."

    Property was comfortable and well equipped with amazing views of the estuary. Fabulous outdoor heated pool.

    Mrs R ThornOct 2017

  • "Wonderful location but needs an upgrade"

    Mrs C DooleySep 2017

  • "Average"

    Mr B CarsonNov 2016

  • "Flat 3 The Salcombe is very dated, not very clean and in urgent need of a full refurbishment."

    It's simply not good enough for the price.

    Sep 2016

  • "Excellent"

    Aug 2016

  • "This apartment is in need of a facelift, the sofa's were not very comfortable, lack of spare light bulbs, cleanliness was poor."

    Crockery was dirty as was the wash handbasin in the toilet and tooth mug therein. The lack of a full length mirror was poor. The blinds in the bedroom would not stay up and were bent and dirty and the sitting room blinds were also bent in places. Having said that, the company were quick to rectify things. Location of the property is excellent, with convenient parking.

    Nov 2015

  • "Excellent"

    Mrs M McCormackSep 2015

  • "Excellent"

    Jul 2015

  • "Apartment in desperate need of renovation."

    Very unhygienic having carpet in a bathroom especially as it is rented property! Sofa bed extremely uncomfortable.....our backs are still recovering. Overall condition of apartment very poor.

    Jun 2015

  • "The access to the flat is defiantly not suitable for elderly people, a 20 m slope of 40 degrees running like a stream when it rains and a stupid gate that has to be opened with a key each time, especially when unloading your car which has to be parked at the top of the slope."

    the flat smelled musty and was very cold when we arrived.

    May 2015

  • "Excellent flat, I think its fab!"

    !!

    Sep 2014

  • "Good - exactly as described"

    Apr 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Ground floor flat
  • One bedroom: 1 x twin
  • 1 x Double sofa bed in living room
  • Bathroom (bath, thermostatic electric shower, hand basin, w.c and shaver point)
  • Open plan lounge/dining
  • Kitchen.
  • Electric oven and hob, dishwasher, fridge, microwave, coffee maker
  • Freesat TV, hi-fi radio and CD system
  • Hot water by electric water heater
  • Allocated parking space in the secure car park for one car, and mooring on 'The Salcombe' pontoon, accessed from the gardens. Boats of up to 5m (16ft 4inches) long and 2m (6ft 6 inches) beam, may be moored on the pontoon
  • Strictly No Smoking
  • There is a communal laundry room situated in the building for guests use. All duvets, pillows, bed linen and bath towels provided – guests need to bring their own beach towels
  • Electric car charging is not available or permitted at The Salcombe.

The property

‘The Salcombe’ apartments are located in central Salcombe, on the idyllic waterfront.

Residents have exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool, available annually from May to September (subject to change) communal gardens, one allocated parking space per flat and mooring.

3 The Salcombe is a comfortable ground floor poolside flat, ideally suited for a couple.

With open plan living, the kitchen, lounge and dining area is a sociable space.

The kitchen is set at the back of the room, and has an electric oven and hob, dishwasher, fridge, microwave and coffee maker.

From the kitchen the dining area comfortable sits four people.

The lounge is situated at the front of the living area, with a double sofa bed, two armchairs, TV, and CD system.

From the open plan living area, you can step out of the patio door to the poolside terrace, which has four garden chairs and two folding sun beds.

The one bedroom is a twin room with two single beds, wardrobe and drawers, with additional large cupboard and chest of drawers in the hallway.

There is a bathroom with a bath, shower and w.c., lovely for relaxing in a warming bath.

There is a communal laundry situated in ‘The Salcombe’ building, to make your stay as comfortable and hassle-free as possible.

3 The Salcombe is a wonderful property to visit for a relaxed, waterside break and you’ll be spoilt for choice with stunning nearby beaches at East Portlemouth, North Sands and South Sands.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

The Salcombe residents enjoy exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool which is normally available from 29th April to late September each year (subject to change).

Wifi provided is communal for residents of The Salcombe Apartments.

allocated parking space for ONE car only.

Pontoons to be removed for the winter in November - Moorings will not be available during this time.

Boats of up to 5m (16ft 4inches) long and 2m (6ft 6 inches) beam, may be moored on the pontoon.

PLEASE NOTE LARGE PICK UP TRUCKS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIT INTO THE SALCOMBE PARKING SPACES

Electric car charging is not available or permitted at The Salcombe.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas