Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 6 minutes ago

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 20 View Larger Image
  • 36 The Salcombe - Devon - 994992 - photo 1
close

36 The Salcombe

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 994992)

4.1

(15 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 2

  • Bedrooms 1

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Off road parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

24 Customer Reviews

  • "36 The Salcombe is a beautiful property in the perfect position."

    It has everything you need and more. The only downside is that the key safe doesn't work so you can't leave your key on departure causing us a long stressful wait at the property.

    Reviewed by JMay 2022

  • "Stayed at The Salcombe before the room been done nicely but did find the pull down bed a bit uncomfy."

    All in all good holiday and hard to beat the position with parking cheers

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you loved the position of the property. We are surprised to hear that you found the bed uncomfortable as it is brand new for the season and came highly recommended as a 'Best Buy' from Which?. We do hope you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenMar 2022

  • "Great central location at 36 the Salcombe - access to everything in the village."

    As others have said the apartment could do with a refresh now but the views from the balcony are amazing and the pool and gardens are fantastic to have in a location like this.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you had a lovely stay at number 36 and that the facilities the complex has to offer were accommodating for your stay. The apartment has recently undergone an extensive refurbishment, including a beautifully bespoke hand - built kitchen. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by AaronSep 2021

  • "Great location couldn't fault anything will be booking again for next year"

    Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. We were really pleased to read you have had a lovely stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichelleSep 2021

  • "Everyone at Coast & Country were very helpful when we had a couple of problems."

    Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that our Salcombe office were able to assist with the difficulties you experienced during your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanetAug 2021

  • "The best things were the amazing view, and the swimming pool in a gorgeous garden, and the location generally."

    Reviewed by LucyJul 2021

  • "Our June week in no."

    36 was always going to be "Different" this year, as a result of all the additional restrictions impossed as a result of Covid. In practice, these restrictions weren't too much of a problem, but early on in our stay, there was a bit of a disaster with the topping up of pool chemicals, with the result that the pool had to be closed. This meant that I only managed two swims during my week. The flat is quite well equiped and as usual we had everything we needed, but it's starting to look a bit "tired" in places, and we were both glad to get home to sleep on a comfortable bed! Not the best week we've had in No. 36, but hopefully things will be better next year.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were sorry to read that you’ve had some issues during your stay. Unfortunately, the maintenance of the swimming pool is the responsibility of the complex and therefore out of our control. We understand this must have been disappointing and can only apologise on behalf of them. We were pleased to read that the apartment was well equipped for your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding the presentation of the apartment. The owners have recently refurbished the apartment to the highest of standards, including the fitting of a beautifully bespoke hand – built kitchen and redecoration. We look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by BarryJun 2021

  • "Lovely little apartment and well equipped!"

    Lovely view from the balcony .. Staff in Coast and Country very kind and helpful. Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at 36 The Salcombe. You can't beat that view! We hope you can visit Salcombe again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NatashaAug 2020

  • "Thankfully the weather was lovely so we didn’t have to spend much time in the room which is quite dated and could do with an update-a bit more of a beach/Scandi look might make it feel more modern."

    ... The curtains.... this is an apartment for adults not children!!!! Disappointing that the pool was unavailable but the view from the balcony was great and it was good to have a parking space which is a premium in Salcombe. Other guests need to be aware that the floor slopes as you step in and you would need to prop up the dining table if you plan to eat inside. The pull down bed is surprisingly comfortable and the apartment is well equipped for self catering. Would like to give Sykes a big thank you for resolving our plumbing issue so quickly! Would definitely return to The Salcombe but not to this particular apartment.

    Reviewed by LesleyAug 2020

  • "Great accommodation but for the price paid : 1."

    The bedding linen was tired and not to standard - it seemed a bit grubby. it needs to be replaced. 2. The bathroom needed a really good clean and this hadn't been done for some time. 3. For so-called prestige accommodation, only, only providing one champagne glass was annoying. I didn’t expect to have to go out and buy another one. Great position and yes we would go again. If the improvements listed above were addressed, the rating for the accommodation would increase from average to very good. It’s up to you if you publish this or not.

    Thanks for leaving us your feedback. We were terribly sorry to read that the presentation of the property upon your arrival was unsatisfactory. We have passed on your comments concerning the cleanliness to the housekeeping team who would like to apologise. Please be assured that should you have contacted us during your stay our Salcombe office would have dealt with these matters and arranged for the apartment to be recleaned. We hope you were still able to enjoy your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by StevenJul 2020

  • "We enjoyed our stay very much but were very disappointed the pools were closed even though Government guidelines said they could open."

    It was a shame as we booked expecting to use daily. The plumbing in the shower needs checking as with regular use gets blowback in tray.

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at 36 The Salcombe. We too are sorry the pool is not in use this summer, The Board did not take this decision lightly. The swimming pool at the Salcombe is deemed to be a ‘shared pool’ and not a ‘private pool’ which means there are many rules and regulations that would need to be adhered to and these just could not be regulated as they should in The Salcombe Gardens. I am also pleased to see that following a visit by the plumber during your stay they were able to sort out the issue with the shower drain. We hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JennyJul 2020

  • "A good location for a short break."

    Convenient with easy access and a great view across the estuary.

    Reviewed by KevinFeb 2020

  • "Although the apartment is small it does offer what is probably the finest view in Salcombe."

    It is well furnished to a good standard, however the "pull down" bed is a bit of a pain and although simple to operate it means you have to leave clothes lying around the living area when you retire to bed. It is almost too well equipped with cooking utensils - enough there to furnish a small hotel kitchen, and it does look as if someone has downsized from a large house and taken all the spare kitchen equipment and left it in the apartment which means a lot of the storage space is taken up with unwanted items. One big bonus is the car parking space, which in Salcombe, which particularly in summer must be an absolute plus.All in all though we had a great holiday and I would certainly mention the excellent service we had from the local office.Initially there was a problem with the Salcombe's WiFi that was quickly sorted and one day the car park barrier failed to open (due to some very high winds) but again the office wasted no time in getting it repaired. We would certainly use Sykes cottages in the future - and we did love Salcombe itself. Friendly locals, some great places to eat and drink and easy reach of Plymouth,Dartmouth and Totnes

    Reviewed by VicDec 2019

  • "The only negative points I would like to make are: One of the balcony doors wouldn't open as the top catch had stuck fast."

    The bottom catch was completely missing which meant it was never really secure. We wouldn't have minded so much if this was pointed out prior to our occupation so at least no blame could be apportioned to us, which I must point out hasn't. We were disappointed that the balcony hadn't been jet washed to remove Seagull excrement prior to our occupation. We understand that Seagulls are a persistent problem in this respect but the mess we saw was clearly dried and present for a couple of days at least.

    Reviewed by CliveJul 2019

  • "Had another good week in 36 The Salcombe despite the disappointing weather this year."

    The building is looking so much better as a result of a lot of on-going improvements, and Emily the building manager is a welcome addition. Slightly disappointed to be told by your office that there will no longer be offers sent out to re-book for next year. It seems it's now down to me to remember to search for availability at the end of this season, so we'll wait and see how that works.

    Reviewed by BarryJun 2019

  • "Good"

    Mr B S MorssJul 2018

  • "COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER A LITTLE OLD"

    Mr D StantonAug 2017

  • "This studio flat is best described as having "Character", largely due to the age of the building."

    Slightly sloping floors and being able to hear the people walking about upstairs, go with the package. The interior is modern & well equipped, and we never tire of the views from the balcony, which is probably why we keep coming back!

    Mr B S MorssJul 2017

  • "Compact studio- location & views and balcony unbeatable."

    Few too many nicnacs within apartment for my personal taste and slightly old fashioned- however kitchen area & bathroom were sound.

    Jul 2016

  • "A lovely position and a great balcony but the room itself we felt needed updating."

    C BoddingtonJun 2016

  • "Unbeatable view over the estuary from the balcony and the apartment is right at the centre of Salcombe."

    Tidy and well-equipped for its size, it is an ideal studio apartment for either the single traveller or a couple. A real bonus is on-site parking, a rarity in Salcombe.

    SALLYMar 2016

  • "Excellent there is everything you need for a lovely holiday lovely veiws comfortable flat"

    Mr B CarsonJan 2016

  • "Lovely flat, with everything you need."

    Jul 2014

  • "Superb position but flat needs updating."

    Poor linen, dining chairs and balcony chairs.

    Jun 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Third floor studio apartment with a balcony overlooking the stunning Salcombe estuary
  • Studio bedroom
  • Shower room
  • Bespoke hand - built kitchen
  • Kitchen appliances include; Miele combi microwave oven and extractor fan; Neff induction hob; and a fridge
  • Living area with Smart TV
  • Wifi
  • All bed linen and towels are provided
  • There is a communal laundry situated in the building for guests use
  • Allocated parking space in the secure car park
  • A boat mooring on 'The Salcombe' pontoon which accomodates a boat up to 15ft, accessed from the gardens

The property

This property underwent an extensive refurbishment over Winter period 2021 in preparation for the 2022 Season.

With exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool (seasonal), communal gardens, an allocated parking space and boat mooring, 36 The Salcombe is a great third floor studio apartment in central Salcombe for a couple looking to discover South Devon.

Located in ‘The Salcombe’ apartments, on the...

The website photos include images of the communal lobby area

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £50.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

This property underwent an extensive refurbishment over Winter 2021

The Salcombe residents enjoy exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool which is normally available from 29th April to late September each year (subject to change). Due to Covid-19 restrictions the swimming pool may not be open during your stay.

Guests enjoy an allocated parking space in the secure car park, and mooring on 'The Salcombe' pontoon for boats no more than 15ft accessed from the gardens.

The flat can be accessed via a lift.

Allocated parking space for ONE car only.

Pontoons to be removed for the winter in November - Moorings will not be available during this time.

PLEASE NOTE LARGE PICK UP TRUCKS WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIT IN THE SALCOMBE PARKING SPACES.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas