Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 30 View Larger Image
  • Bumblebee Cottage - Devon - 995285 - photo 1
close

Bumblebee Cottage

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995285)

4.0

(11 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

17 Customer Reviews

  • "Bumblebee Cottage was everything we could’ve wished for."

    It was so well situated, had everything we needed and was absolutely adorable. It felt like home almost immediately and we would definitely love to stay there again. Thank you

    Reviewed by AlisonJun 2022

  • "Beautiful cottage which was well equipped, very comfy beds."

    Ideal location close to lots of amenities. Really enjoyed our stay thank you.

    Reviewed by LindaApr 2022

  • "The property wasn’t very well cleaned by Coast and Country with crisp packets left down the sides of the chairs and a lot of dust in most rooms, the damp in the property wasn’t nice either and made one of our children unwell with their breathing, the mattresses in the loft room were also horrible and the cooking facilities in the property were a little sub standard."

    The location is great but the property needs some work to bring it up to expected standard, it was grossly overpriced as well but that is a theme with most uk holiday homes at present. Overall quite disappointed with the way the property was prepared for our stay and the main factor to us leaving a day earlier than we were required to, won’t be going back.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were terribly sorry to read that both the presentation and property upon your arrival were unsatisfactory. We have passed on your comments to the housekeeping team and can only apologise for the disruption this has caused to your stay. Please be assured that this is not our usual standard. Should you have contacted our Salcombe team during your stay, we would have arranged for the property to be recleaned. We hope that despite these issues, you were able to enjoy Salcombe, its stunning views and choice of amenities. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SamOct 2021

  • "Great location."

    Cottage was as expected..comfortable, clean with decent sized bedrooms. What I would have liked is better fitting / quality curtains to block out some of the light! No parking but we can’t complain as it was clear there was none. We parked passed the coop at creek car park which allows 24hr. Just download Ringo and pay on your phone! Overall a great little cottage which doesn’t break the bank!!

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were pleased to read that your visit to Bumblebee Cottage was enjoyable and presented comfortably for your arrival. Thank you for your comments regarding the furnishings, we have passed these onto the owner. We hope to welcome you back soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by SamanthaAug 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, location very convenient."

    However car parking costs were approximately £70 for the week. Why do the owners not provide a residents car parking permit ?

    Many thanks for leaving us your comments. We were really pleased to read that your visit to Bumblebee Cottage was enjoyable. Thank you for bringing the parking arrangements to our attention. Parking permits are provided at the owners discretion. We can only apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused however, we hope that you were still able to enjoy Salcombe and its stunning location. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SteveJun 2021

  • "Bumblebee cottage is a great place to stay."

    The location is excellent - right in the centre of Salcombe in walking distance of the main harbour area (shops/restaurants). The cottage is well equipped for families or couples, and the garden is great in the summer. Finishes are occasionally rough around the edges, but this really isn't an issue at all. Only real negative is parking, as have to use public car parks (2 within 5 minute walk). Recommended downloading the Ringo app and once setup it's easy enough to refresh parking remotely (just set reminders in phone). Very good cottage and good value

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Bumblebee Cottage. With the spectacular weather Salcombe has had this week; we were pleased to read that you were able to make use of the garden area. Thank you for bringing the parking arrangements to our attention. There are two car parks nearby and a park and ride system in place too. We have passed on your comments to the owner and very much look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrisJun 2021

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at Bumblebee Cottage and couldn't of been happier with the property and it's fantastic location!"

    It was cosy and full of character and the perfect place for 4 for a short stay. Would highly recommend!

    Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. Bumblebee Cottage proves a popular destination with its location in the centre of Salcombe and its close proximity to the beautiful harbour. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your praises regarding the presentation of the property, we have passed these on to the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmilyOct 2020

  • "Very disappointed with the parking, not having a parking permit to park over night, meant my husband had to get up at 8oclock every morning either to move the vehicle or to put more money in the machine until we was ready to go out for the day ."

    and having to wait until 6.00 every evening to park up for the night , bearing in mind my husband is disabled with a lung disease , not good , perhaps the landlord would like to get up at 8.00 every morning while on holiday ? . Apart from the parking the cottage was fine but wouldn't recommend the cottage for the obvious reason , the parking . Yours PA Carbin .

    Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we are glad that you liked the cottage. We are sorry that you had issues with parking during your stay. Bumblebee Cottage is not advertised as having a parking permit on the website. The car parks in Salcombe do use the Ringo App which is advertised in the car park, you can download this and update without visiting the car and you do not have to move spaces if you leave your car for longer than a 24 hours. Should you have popped into the local office in Island street where you collected the keys from, which is just a short walk from the cottage and car parks, staff could have informed you of this. We do hope that despite this we are able to welcome you back to the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SharonOct 2020

  • "The main problem is that the cottage badly needs updating."

    The kitchen worksurface is wooden and this needs to be replaced regularly. It is black round the taps and looks extremely unnatractive. In the en-suite bedroom the curtains are coming off the rails and the pillows which are hollowfibre are very old and now the stuffing is lumpy. I had to borrow a pillow after the first night in order to be able to sleep propely. In the en-suite bathroom the sink is so small befitting a cloakroom and there is no shelf to put a sponge bag or store anything. There is plenty of room to put a small cabinet unit under the sink. In the shower there was again no shelf or basket which meant shampoo etc had to be put on the floor. As the shower is small it meant picking anything up became very difficult. The cupboard under the sink had not been wiped out in a long time and the whole place just seemed to be tired, dated and sorry for itself.

    Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. We are in talks with the owner of the property regarding a few updates which were unable to be completed this season due to the lockdown. We’re sorry to hear that you found the pillows to be lumpy, this will be investigated at the next available opportunity and replaced if necessary. There is a mirror/cabinet located in the main bathroom for storage. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Salcombe and that we can welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by PeterSep 2020

  • "A very sweet little cottage, good location and good facilities."

    A little dated but clean, comfy and warm

    Reviewed by JaneOct 2019

  • "Bumblebee Cottage was everything we had expected and it’s position in Salcombe perfect for access to the water, shops, carparks and walking routes."

    We enjoyed the cottage space and the late afternoon sun in the garden. Good value for money. Thank you Jill

    Reviewed by JillAug 2019

  • "The house was exactly as it said on line."

    No surprises.

    Apr 2017

  • "Quiet location good accommodation."

    Enjoyed the garden

    JULIASep 2016

  • "Lovely cottage, good location and suited our family perfectly."

    Aug 2015

  • "We liked the property."

    good position, size suited us. liked the garden.

    Jun 2015

  • "The cottage is actually very good although slightly tired/dated."

    If there was a marker between good and poor this would have been ticked. The only two items of feedback for attention in our view was the poor quality of outside space/ furniture which just needs tidying up and appropriately equipping. Also the glassware/crockery was lacking. Otherwise well located and a pleasant stay, Thankyou.

    Aug 2014

  • "Lovely cottage, down again in July with family"

    Jun 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en suite shower room with power shower, wash-hand basin and w.c
  • 1 x double
  • 1 x twin (only suitable for children)
  • Kitchen/dining area
  • Sitting room
  • Shower room with with power shower, wash-hand basin and w.c
  • Paved terrace.
  • Full gas central heating and hot water
  • 4-ring gas hob, electric oven, under counter fridge, washer/dryer and microwave, kettle, toaster and small countertop freezer
  • Bed linen supplied
  • TV and DVD
  • Wifi available
  • Good sized paved terrace to the rear of the cottage with table, chairs and barbecue. Property only suitable for 4 adults and 2 children.

The property

Set in a relatively quiet, mainly residential area of Salcombe yet within a very short distance of the town's boutiques, restaurants and famous waterfront, Bumblebee Cottage is a delightful 19th Century stone property, in a short terrace of similar cottages.

Batson Creek is just a few minutes’ walk away for quick access to the slipway and car park.

The property has a sneaky peek of Batson Creek...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

This property is suitable for a maximum of 4 adults & 2 children.
Maximum adults in party 4