Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only. T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 19 View Image Gallery
  • Fairview - Devon - 1038356 - photo 1


(Ref. 1038356)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (10)
  • lovely (9)
  • garden (8)
  • clean (8)
  • well (7)
  • good (6)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "A lovely, comfortable and pretty apartment."

    Very well appointed and very clean. We loved the garden and the washing line was great for the towels and wetsuits! Only minor point was that a more comfortable arm chair in the lounge would be a bonus.

    glad you had a good holiday.hope to see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Athalie4.7Aug 2022

  • "This apartment is advertised as "sleeps 4" but the tiny living room was hardly big enough for my husband, me & our medium sized dog."

    It was the smallest living room I have seen. The Venetian blinds did not work properly, they were very old and there were no curtains. The place was soulless & it was not a pleasant experience. We had to move things to sit at the small table as it was crammed in under the window. The room between shower & wall was so narrow that you were in danger of getting burnt on the towel rail. Shower tiny & anyone tall or not thin would have a difficult time. Blind in bedroom had to be continually closed due to people walking down the side from the flat above. Wardrobe legs missing on one side and had something attached underneath so it would stand. Bathroom & kitchen smelt musty. Gate fastened with rope. No ambiance, no comfort. Would not recommend.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. The owners of this property are very pro-active and have taken all your points on board. They have changed the blinds in the window to curtains, they have planted bamboo up the stairs so that very soon any view in will be blocked from the outside steps. The wardrobe has been fixed. They have fitted a brand new air filter system to avoid condensation, eradicating any “musty smell”. We have recently visited the property to admire the work that has been carried out and found it to be cosy yet charming, with lovely views across Salcombe. We can only apologise that you had these issues during your stay but do hope you still had an enjoyable holiday with all that Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Veronica1.9Sep 2021

  • "Positives: great location, really useful having a parking space, a well-equipped kitchen, very good walk-in shower, and a lovely garden with an amazing view."

    Friendly owner who provided some local tips eg nearby outdoor pool and helpful short-cut to the closest beach. Problems: As per a previous review, flat needs to be cleaned better, there was a lot of dust and cobwebs in corners, and smell of damp. Bedrooms are very small with old doors that do not fit well, and the double bedroom has a cupboard so close to the door that it is difficult to enter the room (especially with a suitcase). The toilet-roll holder in the bathroom is precariously attached to the wall with a sucker. Owner forgot to tell us that the washing machine - advertised in the listing - was out of action and in the process of being replaced, we only realised when we were about to use it. Cleaner had left dirty towels in the disconnected machine as well. We had to ring the owner to find out what was going on, and he promised the new machine would be fitted two days before our departure, but then rang to say plumber had cancelled. He informed us about another washing machine in the property upstairs - it would have been better to tell us about all of this at the start of our stay. Please note that the owner needs to amend his email address in the information booklet in the flat (correct address ends with, not .com). All in all, while the location is excellent, the flat is a bit overpriced for the condition it's in.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed the location of Fairview, it really does have the most stunning views, especially from the lovely, enclosed garden. We have passed your comments onto the owners and can assure you any cleanliness issues have been dealt with. There has also been a brand new washing machine fitted since you stay, we can only apologise that due to unforeseen circumstances this was not done during your visit. Thank you again for your comments, the owner has taken them on board and has worked hard to action anything that has been mentioned. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip2.8Aug 2021

  • "Fairview’s location in Salcombe was excellent."

    Only a 10 min walk to the town centre and beach, a Spar shop on the door step, plus an open air heated swimming pool 5 mins away. The apartment itself was clean, tidy, with a lovely garden and views across the countryside. We were a family of 4 (2 teenagers) with a labrador dog and found it quite big enough for us. Would definitely recommend and will return in the future.

    Reviewed by Phillipa4.4Jul 2021

  • "Fairview is in a beautiful location over looking Salcombe but the accommodation requires modernising and requires updating."

    The furniture and sofa is old and the sanitary ware taps and tiles require replacing to a more modern contemporary look. There were cobwebs in the corner of the lounge and under the porch and the premises require a good deep clean. A dehumidifier was located in one corner of the room and there was a noticeable musty smell in the property due to damp issues which the dehumidifier was placed to address. The property is suitable for no more than 2 guests as 4 adults would find it too small

    Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the location and views over Salcombe. We love it as well. We pride ourselves on providing accurate and recent photos of the property so guests can see what to expect ahead of their stay as we understand everyone has different tastes when booking a property. During the next changeover, we have asked the cleaner to check the humidifier is working correctly and will make a special check for cobwebs, thank you for letting us know about it. Clearing cobwebs outside and in the garden is more challenging, but we will look into it. Fairview has been enjoyed by groups of up to 4 Adults and has two double bedrooms and a beautiful garden with BBQ and seating that provides fantastic outside space for our guests – we hope that you managed to enjoy the garden during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael2.8Jul 2021

  • "Lovely well equipped base to explore Salcombe."

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jun 2021

  • "Nice apartment and great for two of us and the dog."

    Would be very tight if there were 4 adults in the property, particularly in the kitchen and lounge. Very clean and everything we needed was provided. Lovely enclosed garden and great view. Owner was fabulous. Checked in with us the night before to make sure we knew where we were going and to confirm arrangements. Allowed us to use their lovely garden as they were away for the week. Although very steep climb up from Salcombe, good location as just 10 mins walk from the centre so no need to try and navigate the tight roads and limited parking in the town centre.

    Reviewed by Julie3.8May 2021

  • "Fairview was very well equipped and clean."

    Nice enclosed garden with a BBQ. The location was good, although a steep walk back up the hill, but that was ok. Nice that the owner rang me the evening before with some info. Only things that let it down a tiny bit was the settee was, solid, and a slight smell of damp in the house, which I guess the dehumidifier was there to sort out, but apart from that it was a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7May 2021

  • "Had lovely stay in this very comfortable apartment."

    Would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Madeline4.4Sep 2020

  • "The property was adequate, we were a party of two."

    Although the property can accommodate 4 people it would be tight especially when accessing bathroom and toilet facilities. It is ideal for 2 persons. There were a few little niggles, broken outdoor security light, wall utility light still not working, shower light not working and the cooker hob left in ‘locked’ mode. We did question amongst ourselves what responsibility the letting agents have in actively monitoring equipment and checking any outages during the handover period. We got the distinct impression that the letting agents were very much reactive while clients have to be proactive. Some foodstuffs were left in the cupboard we certainly would have not used them. Personally, I think all foodstuffs left by clients must be removed by the letting agents. How old the half bottle of tomato ketchup was who knows? Allowing foodstuffs to be re-used is against Food Hygiene Regulations and unquestionably undesirable during a Covid-19 pandemic. However, these ‘little niggles’ did not detract from what was an enjoyable week. We essentially used it as a ‘bolt-hole’ and ate out every night. It was clean we did not experience any obnoxious smells. The dedicated parking space was a bonus, as parking in Salcombe is always difficult. The equipment was extensive, it would have been useful if the hair dryer had been listed along with the folding deckchairs, as we travelled with these items. The view from the garden was delightful looking over the rolling hills of South Devon. The garden was reasonably well maintained and had a good level of privacy. The town centre is about ½ mile from the property and there some steep inclines, no problem for ourselves, but could be an issue for potential clients.

    Thank you for your recent feedback and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in sunny Salcombe, and found Fairview to be clean and convenient for your stay. We realise the parking space is a special benefit and glad you made use of it. Regarding the lights, we have replaced the faulty lights but they have blown again, so we’ve arranged for workman arriving (this) Friday to investigate. Fairview has been booked solid over the past few weeks and we have been trying to find a spare day to get access to update the lights. The cooker hob is perfectly useable and just has a child-lock activated which can be easily turned off (the hob manual is located next to the hob), but it does sound like you enjoyed eating out in town most nights. Often previous guests leave some items like bottled tomato sauce which our wonderful cleaner wipes clean for other to enjoy. Some guests do choose to use these few items, but understand this is a personal preference. Finally, we are pleased you found the equipment available in the property to be extensive – and hope that it added to the enjoyment of your stay while in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joseph3.8Sep 2020

  • "A lovely house and great garden for the dog."

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Aug 2020

  • "The light in the utility room broke and wasn’t fixed and the oven doesn’t work properly."

    Other bulbs in property broken (but not affected by this) The living room smells like urine despite a dehumidifier. Landlord contacted but nothing done to fix lights.

    Thank you for your feedback during your recent stay. Please be assured that all feedback is taken seriously and helps us to maintain the high standards of the property. It’s a shame you didn’t contact us when you arrived on Friday to notify us about the issues you’ve highlighted, so we could have resolved them at the start of your stay. The ‘welcome guide’ has our contact numbers listed and we encourage all guests to call us if they have any questions or concerns. So, it was fortunate that you were contacted on Wednesday (on Day 5 of your stay) to check on another matter (something for our next guest) and it was at this time you mentioned the broken light. A new part was ordered, but this does take time for delivery, and sadly did not arrived before you checked out. A temporary light was added to the room until it is fixed but we are very sorry it could not have been resolved before you checked out. Our cleaner has a check list to check after each guest departs, so we were surprised to hear another bulb was not working. We have instructed the cleaner to double check all lights in the flat, but we are pleased to hear you were not affected by this during your stay. You have also mentioned the oven not working, but we have checked it since and it seems to be working normally. As a precaution we are doing a deep clean and replacing the seal. The dehumidifier was added to the room to prevent any dampness. We have instructed the cleaner to do a deep clean in the living room to make sure any smell is immediately resolved. The carpet was replaced in March 2020, just prior to lockdown so this is very disappointing. We wish you had mentioned this during our call so we could have taken action during your stay. As we only spoke on Wednesday about the light, we are sorry we were unable to get it repaired before you checked out on Friday, but hope you still managed to enjoy your time at the flat and the beautiful gardens. We do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back again in the future to Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gill2.8Aug 2020

  • "What a lovely place to stay."

    Very clean, great views, lovely garden and every thing you need. Even had washing up liquid, dish washer with tablets, tin foil and even had a cafetiere. The landlord contacted my partner to inform us of everything we needed to know before we came down. Shop 2 mins away that has all you need and a lovely walk down to the center. We were allowed to bring our two small dogs which was a big help. We also needed to be close to the center as I was playing with my band at the Cliff house hotel and we are getting another booking so if available will return and will probably come back for a holiday. This place has it all and whatever you forget to bring its there for you. The owners have obviously really thought about what you require and what you may forget. Cant recommend enough and I would say its the best privately owned property I have stayed in. Chris and Kim.

    Sep 2019

  • "Fairview was spotlessly clean on our arrival and is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday apartment."

    It is situated in a quiet part of town and has the advantage of a very good local shop close by. It makes a good base for exploring the beautiful South Devon coastline. There is a long steep downhill walk to the town or nearest beach.

    Sep 2019

  • "This was our second stay in Fairview in the last two months, which speaks for itself."

    We had a wonderful break as before - the flat is perfect for us and our small dog. We love the quiet location, the comfortable accommodation and the beautiful views. We also enjoy walking, so we just park at Fairview and make our way on foot into Salcombe town and North Sands. Thanks to John for ringing us with information as before. We’ll be back again in Spring 2020 - already booked!

    Sep 2019

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar
  • Utility
  • Lounge/diner
  • Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer
  • TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Parking space for one car on the road
  • Private lawn to the rear with furniture
  • 1 Pet welcome with £25 charge per week
  • Strictly No Smoking
  • Shop 2 mins walk and pub 15 mins walk
  • Please note, there is a separate property sleeping 8 (Lanapoule 1038355) above Fairview
  • This property can be rented in conjunction and the garden area joined to accommodate lager parties, or 2/3 families

The property

This pretty cottage is located in the seaside town of Salcombe, a residential area with plenty of hidden gems to uncover; a perfect way to begin a holiday by the sea.

Whether a getaway for two is on the horizon or a trip with the family, Fairview is a relaxing base to come together and spend some quality time in a calming destination.

A flight of stairs leads down to the lower ground floor accommodation, where you will discover a sitting room with comfy seating, and a dining table well-appointed for the wonderful bay window.

The kitchen boasts a charming set-up, matched accordingly with wood effect counter-tops, and sage coloured units, a lovely place to dish up your favourite meals throughout the day.

There is even a little breakfast bar situated next to the archway, where you can relax with refreshments or enjoy a warm cup of tea in your free time.

Snuggle up in one of the two bedrooms as the night draws in, both neutrally styled with a glimpse of colour, and low lighting to bring a warm glow to the pretty sleeping arrangement.

A family bathroom finishes the interior, comprising a quality suite with a bath and a shower.

Outdoors, the private lawn is situated to the back of the property, your very own cosy, superb patio garden with furniture.

A perfect spot to relax on a warm sunny day.

There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens.

Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip?

The southern tip of Devon provides some amazing scenery and picturesque vistas to make your stay that much more memorable.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


  • Kingsbridge 7 miles
  • Dartmouth 21 miles
  • Plymouth 24 miles
  • Paignton 26 miles

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Property is accessed down a flight of stairs
No stag/hen or similar
Steep steps in garden, care to be taken
1 dog accepted with charge

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas