Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 38 View Image Gallery
  • Lanapoule - Devon - 1038355 - photo 1


(Ref. 1038355)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • garden (11)
  • no (10)
  • salcombe (9)
  • house (9)
  • lanapoule (8)
  • great (7)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "Unfortunately Lanapoule is quite tired and would really benefit from redecoration and in general a freshen up especially for the high level of rent charged."

    There was no welcome pack on arrival which we were quite surprised by as we have in the past received generous welcome packs when we have paid much much less to stay at other holiday properties. But what we really didn’t expect was to be left with no hot water by the second morning of our stay because the owner seemingly didn’t set it to come on. In the process we wasted a morning of our holiday waiting in for a gas engineer which never needed to happen. Then at 8am on the Wednesday of our stay we were woken up by some strange scraping noises which we thought was coming from the flat immediately below Lanapoule and on further investigation it was the window cleaner. Total lack of courtesy on the part of the owner not to let us know and even more ignorant to allow the window cleaner to call so early. Better still arrange this on changeover days or when the property is unoccupied. On the few positives there was onsite parking and our bed was very comfortable. However taking into account Lanapoule’s ‘top of the hill’ location in relation to Salcombe town centre and that it can sleep 6+ guests, as advertised, it was no where near worth the £1400 we paid for a week in early June. That said we shall not ever consider a return to Lanapoule at anytime in the future..

    Reviewed by Alison2.2Jun 2024

  • "We’ve just returned from an amazing stay."

    The house was everything we hoped for and more. It’s spacious, clean and had everything we could possibly need. The garden room added an extra option for us which was wonderful. I knew we were onto a winner when we had a call a few days before we arrived to give us all the information we could possibly need. Even a tip about using the front door key to make our stay even easier. The views across Salcombe were amazing and we’ve already booked to return again next year. I really can’t recommend highly enough.

    Thank you for your kind feedback, we are so pleased that you had a great time in our home and can’t wait to welcome you back. We agree that the garden room is a hidden treasure and pleased you had time to enjoy it. Thanks John & Carol Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Sep 2023

  • "Although generally the property was good,to say it had three bathrooms was slightly mis-leading as the the third bathroom was at the bottom of the garden and not very convenient."

    Also the wasing machine was in a separate Building outside the front of the house with a locked door which logistically made this very unsatisfactory.

    Dear Susan, Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Lanapoule in August. We are really pleased that you were generally happy with your holiday there. We have noted your comment about the way the bathrooms are advertised and will discuss this with Sykes, who advertise the property for us. We are sorry that you found the position of the washing machine logistically difficult. The decision was made to place it in the chosen location to minimise noise, so our guests can fully enjoy the beautiful surrounding views from the open plan upstairs accommodation, without being reminded of laundry. As you can see from the previous reviews, this hasn’t been brought to our attention before, however, we accept your feedback and will consider whether the washing machine could be better positioned elsewhere. Thanks again, John and Carol. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.4Aug 2022

  • "We all really enjoyed our week’s stay in Lanapoule, a lovely “upside down” house with the open plan living room, dining room & kitchen at the top with fabulous views out across Salcombe."

    It was clean and comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water for showers. Everything was provided and we only needed to take a couple of tea towels and our beach towels. It was so nice to be staying in a quiet road just up out of the busy town with no worries about having to find somewhere to park our cars. We had our dog with us, she soon settled in & loved being in the garden with us. The garden room is ideal for anyone looking for some quiet time with the relaxing sound of gently running water from the pond being a bonus. There are 4 sun loungers which we made good use of as we were very lucky to have some sunshine. There was 7 of us adults staying and we would all thoroughly recommend Lanapoule and Sykes Cottages. Also thank you to John, the house owner, who kindly called us a week before our booking to give us some useful tips before our arrival, much appreciated.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2022

  • "Great Cottage."

    Clean, warm and comfortable. Easy to find, close to center and local rugby club where you can watch games lives ;) Nice and quiet area with local shop just by the corner.

    Reviewed by Sebastian5.0Apr 2022

  • "On arrival the owner had switched off the heating system and the property was freezing."

    Had to go to bed fully clothed including coat. We didn't arrive untill 9.30 so we're unable to sort this. This was fixed the following day. Also knowing we were arriving late it would of been nice to have been left some milk. Every time we have rented a property from sykes and on other sites also there is normally a lovely welcome pack of goodies. There was nothing. The local shops in the area closed very early and we searched high and low for some milk and were unable to get any. Unfortunately we left ours behind. The garden was advertised as dog proof and very safe. I do understand that sykes takes no responsibility of this statement and that is fine. The garden was not safe or secure and our dog got out and this distressed us beyond belief. We rented this specific property as it stated how secure the garden was and how dog friendly it was. No dog treats or bowls etc either. The enclosed garden space and sun room looks like it was attached to the main house when in fact it is down a very steep unsecure path. We then spent the entire week on high alert the dogs are going to get out and had to have them on leads in the garden. Having said all that the property was lovely, very clean and tidy and was in a fantastic area. We would reccomend to friends who do not have dogs. I've never complained before and do not expect the world but for us this is a basic requirement. Having spent £1000 for 1 week out of season a 50 pence carton of milk and some biscuits really would of gone a long way.

    Dear Luke Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Lanapoule. We appreciate your kind comments on how clean and tidy the house is and glad to read that you made use of the garden room – it really is a lovely suntrap on a sunny day! We just wanted to provide our comments to your other points to help explain what happened, as this is certainly not usual for guests staying in Lanapoule. Before your stay with us, as you know, the UK had a terrible storms that swept through and left lots of damage – including to our neighbours fence that fell down. This has now been repaired and the garden is once again secure. Our neighbour was waiting for contractors to repair the fence, which caused the small delay. We are sorry this was not actioned sooner for you. The power outage that hit the area earlier in the week also ‘tripped’ the central heating, I imagine it was cold when you arrived and I wish that we were contacted earlier so we could have rectified for you – as when we spoke you know how quick it was to fix. We are looking to update the guest book with a ‘troubleshooting section’ so if another storm sweeps through, our guests will not be impacted. We are a dog-loving family and strive to provide a safe and clean environment for guests to come and stay in beautiful Salcombe with their pooches. We provide dog bowls under the sink for guests to use for water and feeding during their stay, We are sorry you never found them. Finally, the small Spa shop around the corner does close at 10pm, we are sorry you missed the opening hours. The guest book does give a few other options for supermarkets in town. We stopped leaving items for guests due to the restrictions over covid, we will review this moving forward. We hope you understand the storm provided some very unique and once-off occurrences out of our control, but do hope we can welcome you (and your pooch) back again to beautiful Salcombe. Thanks John & Carol John & Carol Property Owner

    Reviewed by Luke4.4Mar 2022

  • "A nice house, very well equipped and comfortable high end furnishings and fittings."

    It was a pleasant stay.

    Reviewed by Jeanette3.8Feb 2022

  • "Lalapoule was spotlessly clean, beautiful bedding , and very well equipped to cope with a Christmas dinner."

    Another bonus was the Spar shop 3 mins walk away. Being an upside down house there were great views from the spacious lounge over different aspects of Salcombe. An easy walk by various routes down to the town and to the next bays .More challenging to get back up the hills. The teens enjoyed the table football and their own TV in the garden room. This would be a fantastic area in warmer, dryer weather. We had great communication from the owner and a fantastic cleaner who posted my son's lost iphone back immediately she found it. A lovely family home. Easy parking for the extra car, on road. Thank you John for a great holiday.

    glad you had a good time at lanapoule and we found your iphone. look forward to your return so you can use the garden room and bbq thanks for your feed back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jenny5.0Dec 2021

  • "Lot's of "extra" facilities such as a heated and well equipped room in the garden along with a BBQ."

    Reviewed by John5.0Sep 2021

  • "Great location, garden lovely extra bonus"

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Sep 2021

  • "The owners of Lanapoule arranged for a stair gate & supplied two travel cots & a high chair, all of which made our holiday with two toddlers so much easier."

    The garden was stunning, really colourful & fragrant with plenty of shade due to the large parasol. The Mediterranean terrace area was superb for bbq’s & with the newly added garden room with fridge & table football as well as a shower room, that meant we could de-camp to the bottom of the garden for late afternoon/early evening & stay until dusk. We would thoroughly recommend this property & hope to return in the future.

    Reviewed by Gabi5.0Jul 2021

  • "The details mentioned 3 bathrooms, but the 3rd one was in a separate building and not available for use."

    Thank you for your recent feedback. We are both pleased to read that you gave Lanapoule top ratings for cleanliness, comfort and facilities plus an overall score of 93/100, thank you. Although, we are also sorry to read that you never made use of the patio room at the bottom of the garden. The property description does mention that there are 2 bathrooms and 3 bedrooms inside Lanapoule plus the unique patio room at the bottom of the garden with WC and shower room. I am very sorry you missed this in the description. All guests staying at Lanapoule have full access to the bottom garden and patio area, and for security you do need to use the key safe to access the patio room. The code is noted in the guest book along with our contact details should you have needed to contact us with any questions during your stay. We do hope that you (& your dog) enjoyed your stay in Lanapoule and hope to welcome you back again soon. Merry Christmas Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley4.7Dec 2020

  • "I booked Lanapoule via Coast & Country Cottages."

    They were extremely helpful with providing me with help in all my queries & sending detailed emails with all the information required. The house is great with lots of space and was ideal for the dog. It is at top of Salcombe so you have to like a good Walk up the hill. It is very close to the local shop though!

    Thank you for your valued feedback, we are pleased that your enjoyed your stay and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Oct 2020

  • "Lanapoule was wonderful - lots of space and it's really nicely fitted and furnished."

    The garden room is a lovely addition and we had drinks there one evening which was great. It's a bit of a walk into Salcombe and back up a very steep hill, but that can't really be helped around there - it's only 10 minutes walk. Would highly recommend it and we will certainly be returning in future.

    Thank you for taking the time to offer feedback for your recent stay. We are delighted you utilised the garden room during your visit, we think this is a unique feature for the property and something that can be used all year round. Also, we agree about the hill! It’s a great way to burn the extra calories we gained eating all the cake from town! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Sep 2020

  • "Lovely house with the added bonus of the secret summer house and bbq area."

    We took our dog so the secure garden was perfect. A real home from home with added bonus of superb views of Salcombe. Definitely recommend Lanapoule.

    Reviewed by Matthew4.7Sep 2020

  • "Great break, good property for a large family group to have a good time."

    Reviewed by Andrew4.4Aug 2020

  • "The property is misrepresented."

    It maybe detached but there is a maisonette underneath. Separate access has been created to this property. From the photos it looks like Lanapoule has French windows that open onto the garden. In fact you can only access the lower part of the garden through a side door. The upper garden belongs to the other property, Fairview. The property is advertised as being child friendly but children cannot access the garden or play in the garden without an adults constant supervision. There is an uncovered water feature in the lower garden. I was disappointed with the property, I felt I had been Intentionally duped. The property was misrepresented and I paid for something that I did not get - direct access to the garden and privacy! I have been renting self Catering accommodation for 40 years, this was the biggest and most expensive let down!

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We were most disappointed to read that you felt that the property was mis-represented. We do work very hard with Owners to ensure that properties are accurately described, and we have successfully let Lanapoule for the 2020 season without any previous comments of this nature. However, subsequently we have reviewed the description and photos, and have made amendments to make it clearer that there is a separate property beneath Lanapoule and that the garden is tiered, with private sections for each property. The French windows that you describe are from the separate garden room belonging to Lanapoule, onto the terrace; a fantastic facility for relaxation time or al fresco dining. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused, and hope that despite this you were able to enjoy your time in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary3.8Aug 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay at 'Lanapoule' in Salcombe for my husband's 50th Birthday celebration."

    The tide was in, the sun was shining and all adults and children had such a wonderful time. It was a very special weekend. Thank you to all concerned for making the weekend perfect.

    May 2020

  • "Myself and my wife have just enjoyed 4 fantastic days at Lanapoule."

    John (owner) is a very nice gentleman who was extremely helpful. When we had a quick question - we were able to text and get an immediate reply. John even contacted us to let us know we could have a slight extension to our leaving time on the final day - this was both thoughtful and very welcome. The house has just been renovated to a very high standard - we could not want for more. The house formed a great base for us to stroll into and around Salcombe. Should we re-visit Salcombe this is definitely a place we would be happy to stay at. On a separate point I would also like to thank the staff at Sykes Cottages who were very polite, helpful & efficient in helping to arrange our stay at Lanapoule

    Sep 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • Four bedrooms: 2 x king-size double, 2 x twins. Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Another small shower room with shower, basin and WC. Spacious modern kitchen. Open plan sitting room with dining area and feature woodburning stove (not in use)
  • Pretty and secure terraced garden
  • Lawned area which leads to a Mediterranean terrace with raised pond, patio seating for 8 guests and a gas barbecue. Newly added Garden room comprising of sitting area, Smart TV, fridge, sink and even a handy WC/Shower room.
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, wine cooler
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Bed linen and towels provided. Highchair and cot available
  • Ample off-road parking. One pet welcome at £25 per pet per week
  • Strictly No Smoking
  • Shop 1 min walk, pub 15 mins walk
  • 10 / 15 mins walk into Salcombe and various local beaches
  • Patio seating for 8 guests
  • Gas BBQ
  • Please note, there is a separate property sleeping 4 (Fairview 1038356) underneath Lanapoule
  • This property can be rented in conjunction and the garden area joined to accommodate larger parties, or 2 to 3 families

The property

Situated in the popular seaside town of Salcombe on Devon’s south coastline is this modern holiday home, hosting spacious rooms, ideal for couples or families looking to explore. Make the most of the estuary glimpses, Devonshire countryside and views of Dartmoor in the distance, and come together to relax amongst friends. Step inside and there are three spacious bedrooms as well as the two bathrooms off a large hallway. Upstairs you will find a light and airy sitting room with calming views over the rolling hills, plus a sociable dining area, in which you can gather together for group meal times. The kitchen is well-appointed, providing everything you need for a self-catering break. From the hallway there is a further small fourth bedroom, and access down the pathway to delightful lawned area. Follow the path further down to a Mediterranean inspired patio area with a lovely pond, and a separate garden room complete with sofa, Smart TV, fridge and shower room with WC - the perfect place to enjoy relaxing in the sun or dining al fresco. Lanapoule is the ideal alternative break for all the party to come together during the day and evenings, as the coastal atmosphere washes over you. Nearby is a shared outdoor, heated swimming pool open to the public, yet can be hired for private use should you wish. Popular with sailing and watersports enthusiasts, Salcombe boasts a colourful harbour and hosts an annual sailing Regatta, which brings thousands of visitors to the town each year. Whether you are crabbing with children on the harbour, walking the exhilarating South West Coast Path or indulging in sweets from Cranch’s sweet shop, there is something for all ages to enjoy in this vibrant destination.

Relax on the unspoilt beaches of North Sands and South Sands, or catch the passenger ferry from Salcombe Harbour to the sandy beaches at East Portlemouth. Within the town itself is everything from independent boutiques to butchers and bakeries, so indulge yourselves and take the chance to discover a wide variety of amenities. Soak up the thriving atmosphere during summer months, or enjoy a relaxed vibe during the cooler seasons; the comfortable, homely retreat of Lanapoule is just what you need in an area of beautiful countryside and outstanding coastline.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Note: Not suitable for wheelchair users.
Note: No stag/hen or similar.
Property Fairview (ref. 1038356) is directly underneath Lanapoule and can be booked together to accommodate a large group

There is no access to Electric Car Charging Point at the property.

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas