Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 43 minutes ago

1 of 22 View Larger Image
  • Prospects - Devon - 995724 - photo 1
close

Prospects

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995724)

4.4

Very good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Cot available
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Highchair available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

21 Customer Reviews

  • "Fantastic property, it literally had everything we needed for a young family (two under three)."

    Great location with a lovely view of Salcombe. So spacious and beautiful decor. Only slight moan was the mattress protectors were stained and the back bathroom was quite mouldy. Otherwise the place was perfect and would love to visit again.

    Many thanks for leaving your feedback, We are so pleased you loved the property. We can only apologise about the bits you have mentioned, we have passed your comments onto the cleaner who will address them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmilyMay 2022

  • "Lovely property and very comfortable."

    Great location and has everything you need. Hallway and en-suite radiators didn’t work though and bedroom in particular was cold - draughty near the window. We will however book again for next year. Coast and Country offered a brilliant service.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased you loved the property. We can only apologise the radiators were not working on your arrival, I believe they have now been blead and are working as normal. We are happy to hear you will be back next year and look forward to seeing you then. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RichardApr 2022

  • "What a perfect place to make our home for the week."

    The owners have made those like us (parents!) lives so much easier with all the child/baby paraphernalia! The pictures are an accurate representation and the property is in a great location to the centre of town.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave you lovely feedback. We are thrilled you had such a great week. We do hope that we can welcome you back to Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KatieMar 2022

  • "Have been coming to Salcombe since I was 5, a very special place, with lots of happy memories."

    You can always tell thoughtful owners when you rent a place and the owners of Prospects are very thoughtful ones. Thank you

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We were really pleased to read that your return to Salcombe was enjoyable again. We will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the owners who will be pleased to know that Prospects was perfect for you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethNov 2021

  • "Note it is a very steep hill to walk to & from the town centre & the parking space is very limited with a white line you need to be with-in."

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments. Thank you for highlighting the steep hill and parking arrangements here at Prospects. Unfortunately, due to the nature of Salcombe a number of our properties are on a steep hill. Please be assured, we have requested that the red notes be updated to reflect this. We hope that despite these issues, you had a very enjoyable stay. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarkSep 2021

  • "The accommodation was in a perfect position and very comfortable, we felt the ..."

    The accommodation was in a perfect position and very comfortable, we felt the rooms very damp and smelly lots of cobwebs and dirty in the corners like some one not been there for awhile, Salcombe great place but a nightmare to get into a restaurant or bar could even get a drink in a pub, the foor was mainly junk food no quality food, i would recommend going to salcombe unless self catering,

    Reviewed by PaulSep 2021

  • "Well equipped holiday home, esp for young children."

    Gate at top of steep outside stairs needs a different lock as toddler was easily able to open it. Some areas of house havent been cleaned properly for some time.... Shower screen joints above bath full of black mould and filth/dust underneath the beds.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We were pleased to read that the property was comfortable and provided you with everything you required during your stay. We were terribly sorry to read that cleanliness was not satisfactory upon your arrival. Please be assured that should you have contacted our office during your stay, we would have arranged for the property to be recleaned. We can only apologise that the circumstances were different and hope, that it did not spoil your stay. Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by DSep 2021

  • "Feared the worst when reading previous comments over cleanliness but no issues."

    Very ell equipped apartment and very comfortable. might be worth mentioning the number of steps and parking is very tight. Worst thing was the TV. nowhere was it mentioned the lack of tv coverage which is an issue when you have a family.

    Thank you for leaving us your comments. We were really pleased to read that the property was comfortable and presented beautifully for you stay. We were sorry to read that you had some difficulty with operating the property’s appliances. Please be assured that should you have contacted our office during your stay, a member of our team would have been able to assist with your issue. We hope this didn’t impact too largely on your visit, Salcombe is stunning; there is certainly lots to see! Coast and Country Cottages on behalf of, Property Owner

    Reviewed by HaydnAug 2021

  • "On arrival at the house we were disappointed by the level of cleanliness - bits of food still in the sink, on the highchair, in the fridge and on the sides of the kitchen."

    There was also a lot of dust gathering under the bed - only spotted due to dropping an earring! A really disappointing first impression especially given the current circumstances around cleanliness. The dishwasher didn't clean properly and items had obviously been put back at the end of the previous stay which were not clean. And the wifi connection was very poor. However, with that being said, everything else was perfect for our stay. It was very well equipped especially for our daughter with lots of books, toys, games as well as the cot & high chair which certainly saved us packing those items. Being all on one level was ideal for us too. The terrace was perfect for enjoying the mid day sun while the little one slept and we had friends over for drinks and to enjoy the super views too. The location was spot on, just a short walk from the supermarket and center of town but far enough to be away from any noise. We would definitely consider going again, as long as it was clean!

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you had a good holiday and the location of the property suited your party. We were concerned to read that the property was not satisfactorily presented prior to your arrival. As you will appreciate, we work very hard with our owners and housekeepers to ensure high standards of cleanliness are maintained, so it is very disappointing to read these comments. Your feedback has been passed on to the housekeeper/cleaner concerned. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please know that if you had made us aware of these issues during your stay, we would have done our best to rectify them at the time. We do hope that in spite of these issues we can welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SarahJun 2021

  • "When we arrived at the property we found that the normal standards of cleanliness that we get and expect when we arrive were not met."

    We also found staining on bed sheets and towels. However, this was quickly resolved when we reported it. We also found that the WiFi connection was very poor and the dishwasher didn’t clean the dishes properly and there were several items in the cupboards which were not clean. Otherwise, the property was very comfortable and very well equipped, especially for having two young children. The location was ideal for the centre of Salcombe also.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We can only apologise that you experienced the issues you did, but we are pleased we were able to resolve some quickly for you. We are grateful for your comments and have passed them on to the owner and cleaner. We are glad that you liked the location of the property and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelJun 2021

  • "A lovely apartment, with beautiful views."

    Couldn't fault it.

    Many thanks for leaving your lovely feedback. We are thrilled you loved the property and hope you enjoyed all Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolineMay 2021

  • "This apartment is extremely well located and has everything you can think of to make your stay very enjoyable."

    Very well stocked and with a lovely view over Salcombe. We had a lovely time, despite disappointing weather. We would say that although the accommodation can cater for six people we felt it would cater better for four because there is only parking for one small car. There was just one problem and that was that the apartment above was a little noisy with people walking about. That wouldn't normally bother us but did mean we were woken up early every morning.

    Reviewed by SteveMay 2021

  • "Lovely apartment ,very spacious and well resourced."

    Large balcony to relax on. First time in Salcombe and definitely want to return. Thank you

    Reviewed by JudeMay 2021

  • "Went away with my partner and our children really liked the hour and the balcony area."

    felt it was an expensive property for the week but i think salcombe is expensive anyway. my only gripe is the back bedroom was damp there was water on the floor when we awoke and took a few days to notice it was coming from a humidifier on top of wardrobe this overflowed and leaked into the wardrobe and spilling on my clothes. so the box was moved into the bathroom otherwise a beautiful apartment and a lovely walk up the hill wouldn’t stay in this property again for the price it cost.

    Thank you for your feedback, which has been passed on to the owner of Prospects. They have advised that specialists have inspected the property and concluded that there is no damp, but mild condensation. Despite the issues, we hope that you enjoyed Salcombe and all this area has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SamAug 2020

  • "Really enjoyed our time in Salcombe, Happy to recommend both location and Coast & Country Cottages."

    Would have liked to see easier and better waste management / recycling. Outside lights up steps to house not working, did slip on steps as a result (it was wet and dark). No harm done, but next guest may not be so lucky.

    Reviewed by AndrewNov 2019

  • "Prospects is a fantastic holiday let, great location, outstanding views and brilliantly equipped to make for a truly relaxing and easy holiday."

    Especially with small children. Unfortunately just lets itself down as desperately needs some TLC, broken bifold doors, broken gate post, decking needs treating, free-sat box with no satalite dish? Lots of dust, hairs and splashes in the corners, crevices, under and behind furniture, ready for a deep clean! That said would definitely book again.

    It is great to see you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed your stay at Prospects. We have spoken with the housekeeper and the owners and are happy to say the property will be undergoing maintenance work over the winter months to ensure the property is up to it's usual high standard ready for 2020. We hope to see you back in Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertSep 2019

  • "This is a spacious, well equipped apartment in an excellent location."

    The living area is superb - open plan lounge/ diner with everything you could possibly need. Amazing view from the terrace and we had excellent weather to enjoy it. Only negative which did spoil the experience was the damp feel in the 2 back bedrooms. We stayed in an exceptionally hot week with high temperatures ( so not wet or damp outside) but there was a real damp feel on the bedding and clothes hanging in the wardrobes. It’s a real shame as it would stop us booking Prospects again and is something that needs to be addressed. ( Happy to discuss if needed)

    Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Prospects, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Salcombe. Following your comments about the back bedrooms, the Owner will be working with our Property Services Team to carry out remedial works over the Winter period. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the area again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JamesAug 2019

  • "This is a lovely apartment that is larger than we expected."

    It is up a small hill but it is difficult to find property without a hill in Salcombe. The wooden verhanda is in need of some attention but the garden furniture is lovely. The back bedroom is suffering with a small amount of damp. There is another apartment above you and some noise can be heard. It is ideally placed to explore Salcombe but anyone with mobility issues may struggle with the hill. The quality of the furniture and bedding is excellent and the kitchen is very well equipped. Children have been considered with lots of additional cutlery etc. However, although the apartment is dog friendly there are no spare dog bowls so you need to remember to take yours. There is freesat provided but unfortunately there are no instructions on how to use it!

    We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent holiday with us. Thank you for your all the positive comments, they mean a lot. Also thank you for bringing the veranda etc to our attention. All comments help us to improve our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KayJun 2019

  • "Lovely, spacious apartment."

    Comfortable and well equipped. Quiet location but still very handy for all Salcombe’s amenities. Our second stay here as we like it so much!

    Reviewed by JayneMay 2019

  • "The apartment was fabulous, just a shame there was only one parking space and we had to find a space on a grass verge a quarter of a mile away for the second car."

    We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay at Prospects. We are sorry to hear you ended up parking your second car on a grass verge, as there is only parking for one car at the property. Located only a 5/8 minute walk away from the property are both Shadycombe (winter months) and Gould Road (summer months) car parks, here you can park for the week, subject to a daily charge. We hope to welcome you back to Salcombe again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KathrynDec 2018

  • "Excellent"

    Oct 2018

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size with an en-suite bathroom featuring a shower over bath, w.c and basin; 1 x King- size bedroom and 1 x bunk bedroom with full size bunk beds
  • Shower room with shower, basin and w.c
  • Kitchen/dining room and sitting room adjacent to kitchen.
  • Gas fired central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle, wine cooler
  • Wifi available
  • TV and DVD player
  • Extensive baby friendly equipment
  • Parking for one small/medium car
  • Decking area to the front with table and chairs
  • Bed linen and towels supplied, guests will need to bring their own beach towels

The property

This single storey apartment is located in a relatively quiet area of Salcombe, yet just a short walk away from the town centre. Ideal for families, friends and couples alike, this single storey accommodation boasts a subtle coastal theme in muted shades of white and grey, uplifted by wonderful sea views. The kitchen/diner displays an attractive, open-plan layout, with a range of fitted base and wall units in a contemporary shade of cream.

Gather here for delicious home cooked meals and on a warm summer’s day you can slide the bi-folding doors across and enjoy alfresco dining on the balcony.

Behold the marvellous views from this elevated...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

Gas fire not in use.

One well behaved dog permitted.

Please note that due to the nature of Salcombe, a number of our properties are located on a steep hill and may not be suitable for persons with mobility issues.

This property has a number of steps up to the front door and may not be suitable for persons with mobility issues.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute