Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 39 View Image Gallery
  • Spinnaker Cottage - Devon - 995814 - photo 1
close

Spinnaker Cottage

(Ref. 995814)

Salcombe, Devon Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (22)
  • lovely (14)
  • views (9)
  • location (9)
  • no (9)
  • salcombe (9)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Gorgeous little cottage."

    It is what it is - an old and quirky cottage. If you like right angles this isn’t for you. The floors slope but you get used to it although don’t leave an orange unattended on the kitchen table or it’ll roll off. Brilliant central location and stunning views.

    Glad you had a good stay, errant oranges not withstanding! The Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marcus5.0Feb 2024

  • "Lovely old property."

    If you suffer from vertigo then this is not the place for you the floors are so uneven. The little balcony only got the sun for a short time. The car parking outside the house was very noisy and busy. The king-size bed was so comfortable. The latches on the living room stable door extremely hard to manage. The parking was the worse....the space on Gould Road by the Co op was a good 10 min walk if your fast walker as it's the other side of the town. Over all a lovely house

    Reviewed by Rosemary4.1Sep 2023

  • "Could be cleaner."

    Listing didn't clearly indicate that both toilets had to be accessed by stairs. Paintwork around window frames in need of attention. Also bolts on stable door in lounge do not align without force. Needs new toilet seat in the en-suite bathroom which also needs more TLC. Balcony also needs a good clean.

    Reviewed by Sarah2.8Aug 2023

  • "Hi guys im sure coast and country will explain the problems we had stayed for a ..."

    Hi guys im sure coast and country will explain the problems we had stayed for a week and from Tuesday to Friday we had sewerage problems toilets blocking constant smell of sewage drain blocked outside of cottage very uncomfortable we had to spend many days away from cottage from early morning to late then we had lorry’s parked outside cottage with workmen in doing trying to sort the problem for 2 days / on a positive note beautiful cottage and location and Salcombe is a lovely place but this experience did spoil are holiday

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, We are truly sorry for the inconvenience encountered during your stay. We are pleased to say that this situation has now been completely rectified. We would like to thank you for your understanding, we are so pleased you still had a lovely holiday and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa4.1Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in the Perfect location to enjoy Salcombe with wonderful views across the estuary."

    Sitting on the balcony watching the boats was wonderful! We really appreciated having a parking pass for the car park and loved using the Har Spa swimming pool with the passes provided. A really lovely holiday thank you!

    Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday, and that the Spa passes were useful. Best wishes The Owner Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melissa4.7May 2023

  • "The cottage is quirky, comfortable and in a fabulous location."

    A little bit of updating in the bedrooms would help and the windows could do with cleaning but overall, it provided a cosy home from home. The kitchen had everything we needed. Thanks for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Jillian4.4May 2023

  • "We very much enjoyed staying at Spinnaker cottage."

    It is a lovely property in a very good location. The spa passes were much appreciated.

    We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and using the lovely HarSpa too! Best wishes from The Owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Denise5.0May 2023

  • "Comfy, cosy and characterful cottage in the heart of Salcombe, with shops and cafes literally on your doorstep."

    Really well appointed cottage, snug and warm, with all we needed for our short stay. In particular, the beds are super comfortable. The spa pass, providing access to the pool and sauna and steam rooms, at the Harbour Hotel was a great bonus.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay at Spinnaker Cottage, and especially pleased you could make the most of the Spa passes! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Dec 2022

  • "We really enjoy Spinnaker Cottage, we have stayed many times."

    Great position, very comfortable. lovely views. It works well for us. Current drawbacks are.......The cottage used to have a washer/drier, it has been replaced with just a washer. This makes drying clothes virtually impossible. The airer in the basement takes days as it is very dark and vaguely damp down there. There is nowhere else to dry washing. We were in the cottage for two weeks and that was a real drawback. The tv doesnt work properly. We made a complaint, however the technician who came out couldn't fix it. Apparently it is an aerial issue, and he needed to speak to the owner. I think it would be better to advertise the cottage as not having a tv rather than guests have an expectancy.

    Thank you for returning to Spinnaker Cottage. I'm sorry you had issues with the cottage this time. I have been told by Coast & Country that the TV was fixed whilst you were there and that there has subsequently not been a problem. I hope this is correct. The washer/dryer was replaced some years ago, and there is now an electric heater airer. Perhaps you were unable to find it this time. I hope these issues didn't spoil your holiday and that they were dealt with in a timely manner by Coast & Country. Thank you for choosing Spinnaker Cottage. Best wishes from the Owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy3.8Jul 2022

  • "A lovely quirky cottage plenty of hot water ."

    Very well equipped. A lovely holiday thank you

    Delighted you had an enjoyable stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne5.0May 2022

  • "A very cosy and warm cottage."

    Good location and although in the middle of shops still quiet at night. Short walk to boats and very convenient. Lovely views of harbour and estuary.

    Thank you - so glad you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0May 2022

  • "The cottage is in the heart of Salcombe and has the most fantastic views of the estuary."

    It is a delight to open the curtains in the morning and watch the harbour come to life. Being so central you can expect noise from late night revellers, but this is to be expected. The car park is a fair walk away so bear this in mind when booking especially if you have small children. Trying to bring the car down Fore Street is a challenge and quite stressful when the town is SO busy, on arrival and departure it was very difficult to unload and pack up. The beds are comfortable and the shower is powerful. However, the cottage is tired and in need of investment, it’s a mish mash of old furniture with little thought to making it a comfortable and stylish experience for guests. The downstairs bedroom is an almost windowless room which feels very damp and the adjoining bathroom is very dark. Neither of my teenage kids wanted to sleep down there. For us the views didn’t make up for a disappointing stay.

    Thank you for your comments following your stay at Spinnaker Cottage. We find that the pictures of the property are accurately representative, so it is a shame that you found the furnishings not to your liking. It would seem that this property did not match your families requirements; due to its central location in a busy town, its likely to suffer from noise disruption. The car park is located a flat, 5-7 minute walk away, and there is a lay-by which you can to pull in to for vehicle loading and unloading, but we do appreciate that this is not guaranteed especially in the height of the season. We are glad that you enjoyed the fantastic views, and hope that we can welcome you back to Salcombe again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eve2.5Jul 2021

  • "A delightful quirky cottage in the heart of Salcombe, with beautiful views of the estuary."

    Ideally situated for the ferries to the beaches, shops and cafes.

    So delighted you enjoyed your stay in Spinnaker Cottage - we can't deny that it's very quirky! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maddalena5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely cottage."

    ..parking a nightmare....couldn’t find the car park at 5pm tried to ring for directions no answer ....car park too far away from cottage and had to transfer car park halfway through the week...left early emailed to say key in overnight box..still no response!

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at Spinnaker Cottage. We are glad that you thought the cottage was lovely. Seasonal County Council changes to the local car parks meant you had to change during your visit, we are sorry if this was an inconvenience for you. The Salcombe office, where you collected the keys from, is open until 6pm during peak periods should guests need to pop in, as the phone lines can get quite busy at times. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the area very soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia4.7Sep 2020

  • "Car parking a bit of an issue."

    Advertised with parking at rear of premises in January when we booked but the parking space was given up with the agreement of salcombe new apartments next door... who i presume wanted the parking space back We were not told about the new parking arrangements in the long term car park until we re read the details. Enquired and queried by a phone call to the office in Salcombe and promised a response by email. This was poor customer service as the response was not followed through. We had my elderly parents 91 and 88 so parking near by was important but we coped. Never the less the cottage was beautiful, well furnished with fantastic weather and views from the balcony.The cottage had lovely character and well suited to being near the town.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at Spinnaker Cottage. We are glad that you thought the cottage was beautiful, had lovely character and enjoyed the location. The parking permit for Spinnaker Cottage was advertised on the website from the end of 2019, we are sorry that you missed this information on the website when booking. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.4Sep 2020

  • "Problem with our car had to keep fob longer than allotted time request dealt ..."

    Problem with our car had to keep fob longer than allotted time request dealt with beautifully with great charm and helpfulness we will certainly use your service again delighted

    Reviewed by Trudy5.0Dec 2019

  • "We were told before travelling that all construction work on the exterior of the building opposite would be completed."

    This was not the case - metal girders above window frames were still being ‘adjusted’ and required cutting of brick and metal! There was noise before 0800 on the first two mornings and from 0801 subsequently (after we had complained) and it continued all day. There are no doors/windows, so all drilling work inside is loud and disturbing. This level of activity was not accurately conveyed to ourselves prior to arrival; it prevented lie-ins and afternoon naps, both of which enhance a holiday! The property was wonderful, however. The views are stunning, the boat-house and water access are fantastic and the central location, with parking, can’t be beaten.

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback. We are sorry that the ongoing building work meant that you weren’t able to enjoy your holiday to its full potential. Please be assured that your comments have been taken on board. We are pleased to hear that the property itself lived up to your expectations and agree estuary views are indeed a ‘major plus’ for this property. Spinnakers amazing central location and allocated parking are a real bonus and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lucinda4.7Jul 2019

  • "Quirky cottage which was ideally located on the waterfront and in the hustle and bustle of Salcombe."

    Pubs, shops, ferries and lovely walks all from the front door . Well fitted out throughout. Private parking which is a bonus in Salcombe We were warned of building work opposite and a reduction given although no problem from opposite. However painters and joiners were working next door at The Salcombe and there were many vans each morning so when we returned if out with car our parking space was gone! Still they went home at night and musical parking was all in good humour!!! Balcony small and looses the sun in the afternoon but that was mentioned in information. Maybe a little small for 6 adults but great for a family All in all a dear little place which was exceedingly good value We would highly recommend it and look forward to a return journey Sarah Stow. Thornton Dale. North Yorkshire

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7May 2019

  • "The cottage is very well position for all amenities and has a fabulous view."

    Should be great when the building work across the road is finished. The car park can get a bit tricky. A lovely cottage highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Peter4.7May 2019

  • "It has been a great experience for as and enjoyed all time we spent."

    Looking forward to book again maybe in summer

    Reviewed by Zamir4.7Feb 2019

  • "Great location comfortable cottage"

    Oct 2018

  • "Cottage only rates 3 stars."

    The downstairs bedroom was gloomy and pokey. From there you then had to descend down a further flight of steps to the boat store to access the freezer and washing machine. The balcony was small, 2 people max. Although there were beds for 6, any more than 4 visitors would make it very cramped. I've added the extra star as having the estuary views is a major plus for any property in Salcombe.

    Jul 2018

  • "Perfect position."

    Very comfortable.

    Mrs Elizabeth CampbellJun 2018

  • "Expensive for what it was"

    Mr Giles PargeterApr 2018

  • "As earlier comments on previous page"

    Mrs A JonesJul 2017

  • "What a lovely cottage."

    I didn't think anywhere could be more cockeyed than mine, I loved it! Amazing location too.

    Danny MarshallSep 2016

  • "We love this cottage"

    Sep 2015

  • "A lovely cottage and particularly well equipped kitchen."

    Aug 2015

  • "Good"

    Jul 2015

  • "The cottage was fine but really suffered from lack of outside space."

    It would be very advantageous if a deal could be done so one could use the Salcombe holiday flats garden. Also, the washer/drier was dreadful and really needs updating.

    Jun 2015

  • "This cottage was very comfortable and had a very warm feeling, and position was excellent"

    Sep 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size, 2 x twin
  • Modern kitchen
  • Boat store for a small 2-3 Man Rib
  • Sitting room
  • Two bathrooms (one en suite).
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size, 2 x twin. Modern kitchen. Boat store for a small 2-3 Man Rib. Sitting room. Two bathrooms (one en suite). Gas fired central heating, constant hot water. Hob, double oven, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, toaster, kettle. Freezer and washing machine in the boat store. TV, DVD, Radio, Electric Fire. Small balcony with two chairs. Wifi available
  • Parking pass for one car is provided - for the Long Stay car park in Salcombe (subject to restrictions). The property supplies a Spa Pass for the nearby Salcombe Harbour Hotel Spa, currently valid until 30/11/24
  • This allows tenants free access to the gym, pool, sauna and steam room. No Pets. Bed linen and towels supplied
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Located very centrally on Fore Street, offering immediate access to Salcombe's famous waterfront, Grade II listed Spinnaker Cottage boasts a boat store with space for one small RIB, paddle board or similar, and use of a slipway. The cottage has superb views of the estuary towards East Portlemouth and South Pool Creek from most rooms.

Originally part of a boat builder's yard, the cottage is old and quirky, with many period features. It has an attractively furnished sitting room with delightful views, two small sofas, Smart TV/DVD player and a door to the balcony. The kitchen/dining room is well-equipped with a range of appliances, and a table seating up to six people. There are three bedrooms in total: on the first floor is a double with a King-size bed and an adjoining Jack-and-Jill shower room, connecting to a twin room with two single beds and a further TV and DVD player.

Both rooms have fantastic views. There is another twin room at the lower ground floor level.

Please note this has a limited head height of 5'10".

The room has a built-in wardrobe and a small dressing table.

Next to this bedroom is a bathroom, again with limited head height in parts.

In the boat store is a full sized freezer and a washing machine, along with a sink, and plenty of space for storing beach kit.

There is an electric heated clothes airer provided. Outside there is a small balcony with two chairs, overlooking the estuary. The property supplies a Spa Pass for the nearby Salcombe Harbour Hotel Spa, currently valid until 30/11/24.

This allows tenants free access to the gym, pool, sauna and steam room. Strictly no smoking or pets permitted. Wi-Fi available. As a baby friendly property, a travel cot, bed guard, high chair and stair gate are available. Small cutlery, plastic beakers and plates are provided. All duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels are supplied - tenants just need to bring beach towels.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe


The property now supplies a spa pass for the nearby Salcombe Harbour Hotel and Spa which is valid until 30/11/24


Twin room at the lower ground floor level. Please note this has a limited head height of 5'10".

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas