Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 4 minutes ago

1 of 32 View Larger Image
  • The Chota House - Devon - 995310 - photo 1
close

The Chota House

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995310)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Seaside
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Sky TV

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

19 Customer Reviews

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay in The Chota House at the end of May 2022."

    Finding a cottage with parking in Salcome is a rare thing, but this was so easy and the location is perfect. The cottage is just a minute's walk from the estuary and the start of businesses. It is also just a minute from the bus stop. We parked the car on the Saturday we arrived and didn't move it until we left. A bus every half hour will get you up to Kingsbridge and the wonderful Totnes. The Salcombe area is just beautiful with very picturesque walks over to North and South Sands. The cottage was perfect, clean and welcoming. For us the only area of slight concern was the lack of storage for food. The kitchen area is large, yet it lacks a guest's cupboard, so ours just sat on a work surface, where probably the microwave should have been instead of near the floor. However, we loved the place and have no problem in thoroughly recommending The Chota House.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2022

  • "Wonderful holiday cottage had everything we needed"

    Reviewed by GrahamMay 2022

  • "We enjoyed a Fabulous holiday in a beautiful house in a fab location ."

    House was clean homely and comfortable.

    Reviewed by DeniseSep 2021

  • "The Chota House is lovely but it’s definitely not being looked after properly."

    The kitchen area surfaces were dirty, the cupboards were disorganised with too much crockery etc and there was nowhere to store food. There wasn’t a single bar of soap in the house and most of the cleaning products were watered down to non-existence. We were badly let down by the non arrival of a new Dryer, which was made worse by the fact that we had to always contact them. Also, no explanation was given for the lack of a DVD player, a basic item where my grandchildren were concerned. There is no key safe, meaning that after a long journey one has to walk into town - not very far, but I got lost, to pick up the key. They seemed to think only one key sufficient for 6 of us but reluctantly gave us another. The bedding for the sofa bed was disgusting and we had to ask for sheets etc. Considering the list of what they require you to do when you leave it’s a wonder we handed in the key by 10am. I would visit Salcombe and probably The Chota House again..but only if it was no longer managed by Sykes.

    Many thanks for leaving your feedback, and we were sorry to read that you were unhappy with our service. We can only apologise that the tumble dryer did not arrive whilst you were on holiday, unfortunately this was due to delivery circumstances that were out of our control. The property is not advertised with a DVD player however it does provide Sky TV that includes sports and children's channels. We are sorry you got lost looking for the office, we are only a 5 minute walk from the property which is why there is no key safe provided. We are always happy to accommodate a second set of key if there is one available. Once we had received your call regarding the sofa bed linen, we attended with it immediately and were not made aware that there was anything wrong with the bedding. We do ask all our guest to strip the beds on departure, this is to help protect our cleaners since the outbreak of COVID, please know this is a request not a demand. We can only apologise for the matters you have raised and hope that in spite of these you enjoyed what Salcombe had to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertaAug 2021

  • "Accommodation was excellent, we hope to return to Chota House."

    The weather wasn’t brilliant this week but the comfort & location made it a good stay. RingGo parking APP works well when out & about, although North Sands has poor mobile coverage. The beach at South Sands is pretty inaccessible with car park closed and huge building work on new hotel, good quiet sandy beach if you are prepared to walk. Compared to last year, restaurants are slowly becoming more accommodating providing you book. COVID has affected casual staff at local businesses as they have limited availability of worker accommodation having a knock on effect with service wait times/etc. Poorest value for money: local fish & chips (Slapton Sands the most expensive). Best Value, service & quality: Victoria Inn, The Ferry & Fortescue Pizza. Thanks for a great holiday, we’ll be back!!

    Thank you for your review of Salcombe! We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Chota House, and hope we will see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertJul 2021

  • "An excellent property especially if you are looking for 6 adults."

    Nice secluded garden. A bonus of parking for 2 cars. The only issue we had was with the boiler and it was sorted within an hour. If there is one criticism it would be that upon arrival it seemed that the property had only been surface cleaned. The kitchen hob and extract hood were still dirty, and there was hair and a dirty sink in one of the bathrooms. That being said, we really loved the property, very well stocked and we didn't want for anything and would return again - highly recommended. Beds were comfy and there is loads of space. Resident Robin was very entertaining!

    Thank you for your review of The Chota House. We are so pleased you enjoyed the property and garden . We were disappointed to read that you weren't happy with the way the property was cleaned. We do work very hard with housekeepers to ensure that our properties are properly presented, and please be assured that should you have contacted us during your stay we would have sent a cleaner back to address this. We hope that we will see you again in the near future Property Owner

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2021

  • "This property was a great find."

    We loved the location near the boat park and easy access to the town.Benefitting from ample parking which exceeded the Stated capacity. Generally well appointed. The only significant negative being the layout of the kitchen. The microwave at floor level is not ideal for older people and the location of the cooker Is not great. I appear not to be alone in this view. Despite the negative I would rent this property again.

    Reviewed by RichardJun 2021

  • "Great location, very clean, warm and comfortable house with the benefit of off road parking which is always a bonus in Salcombe."

    The only downside to the property is the kitchen- it is very tired looking and poorly laid out, there isn't enough cupboard space resulting in everything being crammed in to the cupboards, the cupboards are very untidy and there is no cupboard space for food. The oven is squashed into a corner as an afterthought. The dining chairs are falling apart and we had to repair a couple of them. Expected better for the money charged There wasn't a hairdryer in the property but a phone call to the coast and country offices rectified this and a member of the team went out and bought one and delivered it within an hour- good service

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you loved the house, it really is in a prime position. We can only apologise that you felt the kitchen was lacking in space. We have passed all your comments on to the owner of the property who will look to address the matters you have mentioned. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday and love all that Salcombe has to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ShaunMay 2021

  • "We had a very enjoyable stay at the Chota House, which we found comfortable, very well situated and the off road parking is an asset."

    The garden and outside seating area is very pleasant but unfortunately we couldn't make the most of it in the chilly first week of May. A small criticism is with the lack of food storage space in the kitchen.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, and it was a shame that you had a chilly week! We have passed your comments regarding food storage space on to the owners for their consideration. We hope you'll be back in better weather. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewMay 2021

  • "Great location for shops, boat park, etc."

    Rather a lot of cobwebs particularly at floor level around legs of furniture which is surprising given the delayed takeover time/extended cleaning time. Double bed a bit small and narrow for luxury accommodation. Lighting poor in kitchen over preparation areas, microwave at floor level(?!), cooker in an awkward position. Only one key for 6 people is insufficient. Salcombe spoiled this year because of overcrowding but you are unable to do much about that!

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2020

  • "Our second stay in The Chota House did not disappoint in any way."

    The location and facilities are absolutely just perfect. I am of the Terry Wogan school of holidays - if it is not at least as good as your own home then it is not worth staying. The Chota House is a lovely comfortable home. Can't wait to return.

    Reviewed by ChrisJun 2019

  • "Great cottage and location."

    Reviewed by LisaMay 2019

  • "The Chota house is a lovely place to stay at"

    Mr Rodney RichardsonMay 2018

  • "A great house with plenty of room for a group and a nice homely feel."

    We stayed over New Year as a party of 8 adults and had a lovely time. The living space is sociable and warm; the bedrooms were all spacious with comfortable beds; and the sofa-bed in the TV room was perfectly fine for two (small-ish) grown-ups for a few nights. The kitchen was very well kitted out, with quality equipment & everything you could possibly need, although it does have a slightly awkward layout. Its location is very quiet, just a few minutes walk to the marina and really convenient for Salcombe's shops, cafes & pubs. There was easily enough space outside to park 3 vehicles. All in all, a super place to stay for a short winter break!

    AlisonJan 2018

  • "Comfortable."

    A nice place to relax

    R RichardsonSep 2016

  • "I love this house!"

    No one in our party wanted to leave. The only downside was just the one house key and two families- with no outside key press it was sometimes fun to coordinate. My brothers 5yr old son asked if he could live three all year round!

    TamJul 2016

  • "Beautiful cottage equipped to a high standard, will definitely visit again."

    Feb 2016

  • "Comfortable house in a good location"

    Sep 2015

  • "Beautiful house."

    V well appointed. Slightly over priced for time of year

    Nov 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three ensuite bedrooms, all on 1st floor: 1 x Double bedroom and ensuite with bath, w.c
  • and basin
  • 2 x Twin bedrooms and ensuite with shower cubicle, w.c and basin
  • Snug room with sofa bed (available on request) with additional shower room on the ground floor, w.c, basin and heated towel rail
  • Utility room
  • Kitchen/sitting/dining room.
  • Gas fired central heating. Fridge/freezer, washing machine, oven, dishwasher, tumble dryer, microwave, toaster, kettle. Log burner. Wifi available. SKY TV. Parking for up to 2 cars and boat trailer. Decked area and pergola with outside furniture. Bed linen and bath towels are supplied, guests need to bring their own beach towels.

The property

A detached colonial-style house in a quiet residential area within Salcombe.

This charming property is situated in its own south-facing grounds and only a few minutes’ walk from Salcombe’s shops, restaurants and quays.

Ideally suited to a family group looking for a property in a quieter, central location.

As you enter this impressive building, you are led into large open-plan reception room.

Full of character, the room features exposed wooden beams, terracotta floor tiling and a feature fireplace.

The ideal base for gathering with friends and sitting down together, the kitchen/diner is large and spacious with a utility room just off the kitchen.

Georgian doors open out onto a decked veranda, where you will also find an outside table – an idyllic place to enjoy breakfast or relax and unwind in the evening.

On the ground floor you will also find a TV room.

This cosy snug features a large L-shaped sofa bed and the wide screen TV makes it the perfect place to snuggle up and watch a film.

Each of the bedrooms have en-suites and feature coastal décor throughout.

Featuring pine furniture with a crisp white and blue colour scheme, dream of the coast as you sleep.

Outside, at the front of the house, there is a decked terrace and vine covered pergola with garden furniture and a range of attractive trees and shrubs. Enjoy the range of excellent amenities on your doorstep.

From specialist food shops to luxury boutiques, there is something for everyone.

Why not take a distillery tour and try the award-winning Salcombe Gin or wonder through town enjoying local art galleries and gift shops? With its estuary location, Salcombe boasts stunning beaches.

Whether you get out on the water, or prefer to walk the shore, Salcombe’s beaches will not disappoint.

Whether you visit Salcombe South and North Sands, or venture across the estuary to East Portlemouth, you’ll discover spectacular coastlines, golden sands and beautiful turquoise seas.

A beautiful house in a superb location just moments from the centre of Salcombe, ideal for family groups to enjoy any time of year!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

No pets permitted.
Sleeps 6 People Only.
Sofa bed can be requested upon booking only, as long as whole occupancy is not over 6 people.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas