Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 5 minutes ago

1 of 32 View Larger Image
  • The Hoot, 16 St Elmo Court - Devon - 995513 - photo 1
close

The Hoot, 16 St Elmo Court

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995513)

4.6

(10 ratings)

Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

16 Customer Reviews

  • "Bathrooms smelt slightly due to hair build up in the waste outlets."

    The position and facilities of the apartment were very good especially the heated pool.

    Many thanks for leaving us your comments. We were terribly sorry to read that the cleanliness of the apartment upon your arrival was unsatisfactory. We would like to assure you that should you have contacted our office during your stay we would have arranged for the apartment to be recleaned. We were pleased to read that The Hoot provided you with everything you required for your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back to stunning Salcombe soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlanAug 2021

  • "Over all our stay was really enjoyable."

    St Elmo was very well equipped, quiet and comfortable. We had an incorrect code to access the swimming pool, but staff did inform us of the correct one fairly quickly. No information regarding rubbish disposal was available but staff informed us following my email. Over all a lovely stay as always.

    Reviewed by HelenMay 2021

  • "Slight difficulty with the key arrangements as the office is not easy to access by car and the key has to be picked up and dropped off there."

    Also we arrived early, asked to be notified when we could get the key but no one rang to do that. It would be easier to have a key box at the property. Facilities in the flat were all very good but the decor has a slightly tired look. The bathrooms were modern and excellent. The steep front drive, the external steps and the internal ones require a certain level of fitness.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback – this is very much appreciated. We were sorry to read that you had some difficulties with collecting the keys from our office in Salcombe and that your phone call was not returned. Unfortunately, the summer is an extremely busy period for both our office and the cleaners. Due to covid we have implemented a number of extra measures as to reduce any risk of possible infection, one of which included the disinfecting key sets upon their return to our office so that they are ready for incoming arrival. We have passed on your keysafe recommendation to the owner. We have also requested that the red notes on our website be updated to note the steep drive and steps alongside the detail of no lift. We do hope that despite these issues you were able to enjoy your stay here at the Hoot and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VictorMay 2021

  • "The windows were not only very old, they were un-cleaned."

    The balcony glass was covered in dirt & cobwebs, had not been clean for sometime. The on-suite floor was filthy this is not the stain under the sink, but the genial cleanliness. The lampshades in the lounge were also filthy and not been cleaned and one was also broken.

    We are so disappointed to hear that you had some issues with cleanliness. We are always on hand to arrange the housekeeping team to re-attend if required, so we are sorry that you didn't inform us of any issue during your stay. We are pleased to advise that the owner is aware of your feedback and is addressing the points raised. Despite this, we hope that you had a lovely time in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TracySep 2020

  • "Wonderful quiet location with incredible views and well equipped kitchen and easy parking."

    Perfect for a young family with plenty of space and so many things to do, near and far. The only thing which could be easier would be a keypad at the building instead of driving into town to pick up the key and head back out again. But that's all I can think to mention after a fantastic holiday - even in Covid times.

    We are really pleased to hear that you had a great time at The Hoot. We too think that it is in a fantastic location, with North Sands beach so close by. Hopefully we will see you again next year! Property Owner

    Reviewed by AbigailSep 2020

  • "Tried to speak to you well before the holiday to ask about postponing it but no reply."

    This was very frustrating. There is no one to talk to at Sykes.

    Thank you so much for taking time to let us know about your recent experience with us. We are very sorry you were unable to speak to anyone in our customer relations team prior to your visit about whether you would be able to postpone your holiday. However, I can see you were in communication directly with our Salcombe office before you travelled. As you will know both our contact centre and local offices are here to help with any queries you may have before, during and after your stay, with 24 hour emergency support also available. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in Salcombe very soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JanieAug 2020

  • "Really lovely spot."

    On the plus side: 2 large bedrooms, great view, large sitting room, pool, walk to beach and to town. Only negatives were a very small 3rd bedroom and quite a small kitchen. Very clean and tidy. A good find. Thank you, Sykes.

    Reviewed by SusanJul 2020

  • "We have stayed four times at St Elmo's Court, either at no."

    16 "The Hoot" or next door at no. 17. The fact that the flats are large and comfortable, have a heated pool, are near the beach and are only a short walk to town, makes them the perfect place to stay. We very much enjoy it every time and we will be returning again.

    It is always a pleasure welcoming return guests. We are so pleased that you enjoyed another week at St Elmo Court, and we hope we will see you there again in the near future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NeilJul 2019

  • "We had a fabulous stay at the Hoot."

    Set in gorgeous grounds with spectacular views over North sands bay, great swimming pool & the apartment was huge & fully equipped we could not have asked for more

    We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Hoot, we hope to see you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by AmandaMay 2019

  • "Excellent"

    Oct 2018

  • "Would have liked an umbrella on the terrace as it was too hot to sit out there without shade."

    Dr John FramptonAug 2018

  • "Large, clean, high quality accommodation."

    Right by the beach. Just a short walk to town. And with an outdoor heated pool too. Excellent.

    Jul 2018

  • "Lovely accommodation, clean and quiet, superb views and location."

    Mr Mike WillisApr 2017

  • "Perfect location, nice bright apartment and spacious."

    The pool was great. The oven and the bathroom could do with a replacing though.

    Aug 2016

  • "Lovely view."

    Quiet setting. We particularly liked eating out at The Winking Prawn. We thought it would be lovely if we lived here permanently.

    Karen ClarkeMay 2016

  • "Good location, well appointed and very clean."

    Kids loved the heated pool.

    Jul 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King with en-suite, 1x twin, 1 x single
  • Kitchen.
  • Gas central heating Fridge, freezer, washer/dryer, oven hob, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle TV, DVD, Freeview box, Roberts music system Wifi available Parking for one car Outdoor heated swimming pool Bed linen and towels supplied

The property

The Hoot, a tastefully furnished first floor apartment, accessed by 2 flights of stairs, boasts wonderful views of the Salcombe Estuary and occupies an enviable position on Sandhills Road.

The bright and spacious lounge / dining room is comfortably furnished with a TV with Blu-ray DVD player, a hi-fi system and sliding windows to a balcony with outdoor furniture.

The dining table and chairs are in a separate...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

No pets permitted.

Swimming pool which is available from early May to late September each year (subject to change). Due to Covid-19 restrictions the swimming pool may not be open during your stay.

Telephone available for local and incoming calls only.

Gas fire is not in use.

Unlike other apartments at St Elmo Court, The Hoot does not have lift access.