Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Devon 7 minutes ago

1 of 35 View Larger Image
  • Westland - Devon - 995910 - photo 1
close

Westland

Salcombe, Devon (Ref. 995910)

3.0

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 7

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

5 Customer Reviews

  • "It is impossible for adults to sleep in the attic bedroom."

    It would be useful to know anyone taller than 1.20m will struggle to get under the eaves. We had to bring the mattresses down to the sitting room. Great to have 2 parking spaces so near to the centre of town by using the garage.

    Reviewed by NicolaJun 2022

  • "The property is well situated close to the town centre with the advantage of 2 off street parking spaces which were very useful."

    The house has 2 large double rooms and bathroom on the first floor and a great kids room on the top floor which has 3 single bed and is equipped with some kids toys and books to keep them entertained. The ground floor has a large open plan kitchen and dining room with ground floor wet room and laundry with a separate lounge so plenty of space. Although not a large outside area, the outside terrace has plenty of seating and is a sun trap for most of the day and we made good use of the BBQ. It’s positioned opposite the local play area which was ideal for our two young children. The cleanliness off the house was good on arrival and we shall return.

    Aug 2021

  • "On arrival at the house, we were met by full waste bins."

    The property itself was dirty throughout. There were cracks and damp patches in the ceiling in the kitchen and first floor back bedroom. Old furniture - some completely stained throughout – all in all very very very disappointing. We left two days before our check out as the place was so grotty.

    We were very disappointed that you contacted us the morning after your arrival to advise that you were not happy with the standard of the property. We are sorry that Westland was not presented to our usual high standards. As you know, the rubbish was removed for you as soon as you reported it, the cleaner was sent back to attend to all the points you raised, and our maintenance team also addressed other minor issues you reported. As advised to you there was some water ingress due to the heavy rain prior to your stay, and the owner has since visited the property again with their builder as it was understood that this had all been rectified over the Winter when they did refurbishment works and upgraded several items in the property. Despite this, we do hope that you enjoyed your time in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlanJul 2021

  • "Could not find the keys to the patio doors in kitchen dining area."

    We tried all the keys there but none would open the door. Also thought coat hooks in the hallway would have been useful to hang coats on. Had to leave bed linen in the bath as no black bags to put it in when we stripped the beds x

    Many thanks for leaving us your feedback. We were sorry to read that you had some difficulty with locating the patio door keys. We have notified both our housekeeping and maintenance team to have a good search. We are sorry for any inconvenience this caused to your visit. We do hope you were still able to thoroughly enjoy your visit to Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SusanOct 2020

  • "We arrived and collected the keys at 5pm to allow for enhanced cleaning, the house didn’t smell clean, there were areas of grubbiness around the house, we therefore spent 2 hours cleaning worktops and tables and chairs as we didn’t feel it was Covid clean."

    We have taken some photo’s of the particularly bad areas and will be sending an email to head office. We were very disappointed at the furnishings and tiredness of the house.

    We are very sorry that you did not find Westland presented to our usual high standards, and disappointed that we were unable to rectify the issues raised during your stay as we were not made aware. We have passed your comments on to relevant departments, and thank you for taking the time to bring them to our attention. Once again we do apologise, and hope that despite this you were able to enjoy your stay in Salcombe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClaireSep 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 2 x King size bedrooms and 1 x bedroom with 3 single beds
  • Family bathroom with bath and shower attachment, basin and w.c
  • Shower room with shower, basin and separate w.c
  • Kitchen/dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Gas fired central heating
  • Gas hob and oven, dishwasher, microwave, fridge and freezer, washing machine
  • TV, DVD and Playstation 2
  • Parking for 1-2 cars in garage/forecourt
  • Large, sun baked, stone paved terrace at the front of the property with a BBQ
  • Bed linen and towels provided
  • Guests will need to bring their own beach towels
  • WiFi available.

The property

Westland is a substantial three storey semi-detached house located at the lower end of Devon Road, only a few minutes walk from the centre of Salcombe and spectacular waterfront.

The property offers glimpses of the estuary from some of the upper areas and is equipped to a good standard providing comfortable accommodation for a large family or group of friends. On entering the property, a useful entrance lobby/porch offers a space for bags, coats and beach equipment.

The spacious, well-equipped kitchen/dining area features a central island/breakfast bar, with gas hob and oven, dishwasher, microwave, fridge and freezer and large sliding glass doors that lead out to a stone paved terrace with table, seating and barbeque.

There is a pantry and cupboard for coats and a small utility room with sink, units and washing machine.

A tiled dining area has large pine table and six chairs, as well as a double sofa, whilst the comfortable lounge offers a widescreen TV, DVD and Playstation 2.

There is also a useful ground floor shower room with fully tiled shower, wash-hand basin and separate w.c.

Upstairs, there are two double bedrooms, both with King-size beds.

There is a portable TV in the front bedroom.

On the second floor, loft conversion, there are three x 3' single beds (one set in a recess with wall on either side).

The spacious family bathroom on first floor has a panelled bath, shower attachment, wash-hand basin and w.c. To the front of the property is a large stone paved terrace with table and several chairs.

The property benefits from parking for 1-2 cars in garage/forecourt (Height clearance in garage is approximately 5'9").

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

SALCOMBE

Kingsbridge 7 miles; Dartmouth 21 miles; Plymouth 24 miles; Paignton 26 miles.

Salcombe is a popular destination for walkers and families looking for a holiday by the sea and was once a major port. There are two pretty beaches within a short distance, North Sands and South Sands and further on is the National Trust property Overbeck’s where you can wander through the subtropical gardens. Why not have a more adventurous day and try out the watersports available on the estuary including surfing, kayaking or a more leisurely boat trip? Whilst staying in Salcombe you must take advantage of the locally sourced seafood which is served in many of the restaurants, pubs, cafés and delicatessens. The southern tip of Devon provides some spectacular scenery and picturesque vistas with a number of sandy beaches, lovely villages with thatched cottages and some fantastic opportunities for walking, including the South West Coast path.

View more holiday cottages in Salcombe

Region Information

No pets permitted.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas