Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • By The Beach - Cornwall - 1073582 - photo 1

By The Beach

(Ref. 1073582)

Seaton, Cornwall, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 8 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • beach (17)
  • lovely (14)
  • stay (11)
  • all (10)
  • location (8)
  • again (8)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "We enjoyed a lovely week in Seaton staying in by the beach."

    The house was well equipped with everything we needed and spacious enough that with 8 of us it did not feel crowded. The area is very dog friendly and although we don't own a dog we noticed the local pub offers a menu for dogs so they can enjoy a meal out too. We took a walk over to Looe one day, it was fairly challenging and took about two hours but the views were spectacular. The beach had life guards so it felt quite safe swimming during their operating times. I would happily return to this area again.

    Reviewed by Robert4.4May 2024

  • "Great place to stay very quirky"

    Reviewed by David5.0May 2024

  • "We had a lovely week in 'By the Beach'."

    With the sea only 150 yards away it was perfect for us and the two dogs. A quirky but comfortable house and i especially enjoyed the huge Tv and the American fridge freezer. Needs a bit of a spruce up and a few items ie hairdryer, kitchen foil, extra tea towels would make all the difference. We are looking forward to returning again in the future. Thank you for the bottle of wine and biscuits upon our arrival.

    Dear Samantha, Thank you for your review and saying the house was perfect for you and that you would like to return. When you do you will find it received its annual "spruce up and redecorate " happened the week after your visit, a week in February is the only chance we have, as we are booked all year. The hairdryer was in a spare bedroom drawer and the cooking foil was at the back of the tall pantry, we have now put it in a more prominent drawer. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samantha3.4Feb 2024

  • "Fabulous location - less than 5 minute walk to the dog friendly beach."

    The property is clean and comfortable with a spacious living area and fully equipped kitchen. Onsite parking for three cars and an enclosed garden for the dogs was a bonus. Would absolutely recommend this property

    Reviewed by Jeanette4.7Jan 2024

  • "I am so sad to write this review because I have given the owner the opportunity to give me a partial refund due to the unkempt state of the property and he is refusing."

    So I am reluctantly writing this honest review and he is fully aware that I am now taking him to a smalls claim court to get my money back. We paid £3450 for a 2 week stay at this cottage over Xmas arriving 23rd December. And immediately getting out of the car I noticed a broken jagged bottle and old dog feaces. We stepped on the porch and nearly put my foot through a sodden piece of board that was covering a hole. On entering the property it smelt extremely damp and it was freezing with no heating on for us and I noticed curtains hanging down and a very uneven wooden floor which was lifting and a trip hazard. I was entertaining another couple for xmas and the lady was 79 years old with a walker. Eventually I found the damp source, the chill out room/ sun room had a leaking roof and water was coming through, the wallpaper was hanging off and another part was black and mouldy because the leak had been there obviously month's. I have photos and videos I sent the owner. My bedroom had a cracked window which I now know was complained about in 2021 and nothing was done. I was shocked to see my sheets were stapled to the base of the bed and when I removed them I was even more shocked to see mould and damp on the sheets. On further investigation I found old blood stains on the mattress topper and by now I just wanted to go home. The cupboards had pieces missing and my sons room had bare wires hanging down and loose bathroom tiles and a mirror held up with a piece of wood . I have photographic evidence of all my claims. The couch was stained. The cushions were marked and stained and everything was just either falling apart or dangerous. Outside was even worst.. the fence had big holes in it, and the rats had made a nest by the water meter and was heard running around every night. Again I sent the owner photo evidence. The artificial grass was heavily stained with dog feaces and urine and smelt terrible. Its advertise as having a dog station to clean your pets after being on the beach.. that sounded ideal.. but its a hose in the garden. I have spoken to sykes cottages. I have spoken to Mark and initially hes apologetic, and now hes making up excuses and wont refund me any money back.. Id like to add we had no hot water for 3 days, he eventually got a plumber in and even he told us hes mentioned to the owner before about the state of the property. Apparently marks other properties are similar. I have now checked trip advisor and found bad reviews on this bungalow and I cannot believe mark has been allowed to get away with this for many years. If anyone would like to contact me if they have stayed here and would like to share their experience I would be very grateful. I have lots on evidence and I assure you this is a true and accurate account of " by the beach " and I will be showing all my evidence to the courts and will get my money back. I would like to point out that if mark made this place safe and habitable and spent proper money on it doing it up, it could be a lovely place to stay, but unfortunately not while its so run down. We came home early , if it weren't for xmas and guests arriving I would never have stayed..

    Anyone reading this review is welcome to contact the owner at should they wish to receive evidence of the falseness of the allegations. The review is fundamentally untrue and is the subject of court action (for which I have many witnesses)and action by me against the writer for Libel. Or you may instead refer here to Jeanette's review of her visit later the same month, after emergency repairs were undertaken to return the property to it's normal condition. The property suffered storm damage in Storm Gerrit on 27th December, the guest who stayed for 2 weeks from 23rd videoed this damage and severe storm water entering the property. She did not report it, pick up the phone when I rang, or respond to messages left for her by me, when checking that everything was OK for her. This deliberately prevented me from providing urgently needed roof covering, repair and drying out support, to prevent further damage to the structure. She remained in the property allowing further water ingress through the damaged structure and recording it without reporting these issues for A FURTHER 10 DAYS before returning home. On her return home she produced the video evidence of the damage occurring and the deterioration of the property due to it being left full of water and not being reported and claimed a sum 40% more than my income for the 2 weeks she remained in the property. By that time the cleaning team had already reported the water damage caused in the 10 days and the "disgusting state" she had left the property in, which I reported to her. She then added these things that to her claim saying they were like it on entry, but has refused to provide DATED photos which would evidence they were taken after her occupation. I ask that guests immediately contact me if there are any problems as I take my guest comfort seriously, she deliberately hid this from me to prevent any guest support being given and enjoyed her full 2 week holiday. As part of this deliberate entrapment she threatened she would write her review if I did not pay and has done so including lies which will be exposed in court. --ONE EXAMPLE She claims she was without hot water for 3 days. 1. She was never without hot water, only part of the system failed. 2. To ensure the entrapment and avoid conversation she didn't ring but reported this by text at 12.15 on 2nd January, 5 days after the storm damage. Fortunately I found the text so immediately started searching for emergency call out in this holiday week. 3. I text back at at 13.50 the details of the tradesman who called the same afternoon. 4. In our text exchange I asked if everything was OK, again in order to continue the entrapment she did not respond or report any storm damage or any other issues. _______________________________________________________________________ It is not true that I did not offer compensation. Against my better judgement, for the first time of 50 years in business, in order to avoid the trouble and these lies being published, and after a recorded threats, I stupidly made a payment to her account. The review was removed by Sykes but has since been re-submitted. The property has had happy guests (many of who return) with occupancy every week for the past 3 years. Thank you to the guests who have seen through the lies and trusted me , giving truthful , favourable reviews since this was published.Mark Edwards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynne1.3Dec 2023

  • "A lovely, quirky holiday home."

    Close to the beach and coastal path.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2023

  • "Nothing at all like the listing - drab, needs redecorating - almighty hole in the decking outside front door - covered with a wheelbarrow and a piece of windbreak material (only after rats had been seen) - recycling from months in back garden attracting rats - garden disgusting - fake lawn just sodden as not been put down properly - overhanging bushes catching on dog leads - kitchen cupboards dirty and Formica coming off - couch dirty and damp in places - toilet en-suite never looked clean - even after I’d bleached it - overated and over priced - no cheese grater - no pasta bowls - hob dirty and needs replacing!"


    Upon reading your review I attended the property which was occupied by the people that arrived the same day you left and took photographs of the items you falsely claimed were not there . I provided Sykes with on 4th October a comprehensive response, including copies of correspondence and details from an independent inspection report regarding your lies regarding rodents. Sykes were unable to print the photo's or documents provided as evidence because of the amount of detail provided to refute your claim. The following is an abridged sample of the content without the the main evidence, which Sykes hold. We take our customer comfort and satisfaction very seriously, so it is not only disappointing to see you write in this way, but also to read the inaccuracies in what you have said. I prepared a list of information which was sent to you after booking and I rang you before your arrival, on both occasions requesting that if there were anything was not satisfactory or there was anything you couldn't find or required to ring my personal phone number or email immediately and it would be attended to. If we do not hear anything from our guests we understand that there are no issues and you are happy. I make every effort to communicate with my guests, in particular to talk to them without unduly disturbing their stay. You were staying for 2 weeks in one of the very few places that allowed you to bring 3 dogs. The advert wording and photos show very clearly that it is a much loved and casual dog and child friendly family home, "By the Beach it is rather quirky relaxed, popular and has good reviews. Communication is a "two way street" but you did not respond to my numerous documented communications, when I called to the house before your departure time you had already left, my records I have produced to Sykes show the following .You were sent the information sheet asking you to make contact if there were any issues . I rang you on 15th , you didn't pick up or respond to the answer phone message I left which included the same support message . Not having heard anything I rang again after your first week on 22nd, again you didn't answer so I left the same support message checking everything was fine. . Again I had no response and concerned as to why you were ignoring me I sent a text at 14.51 on 22nd half way through your stay "Hi Barbara, left u a message, hope every thing is OK ?Mark . Again I received no response but on 25th received a text to say you had seen rats. I rang you back but again you didn't answer so I left a message expressing surprise and concern and saying that somebody would be around the same day asking you to ring me . . Again I received no reply so sent another text the same day . The man called the same day, initiated safe baiting points and reported that rats are on the move in the country everywhere at this time of year, as their field food sources of grain had been used up or ploughed in. He reported that they had entered under a side gate attracted by the dog food bowls you had left in the garden and the recycling next to the gate that you had not taken out for the collection half way through your stay. I sent you the following email including another copy of the information sent out to guests which explains that like the rest of the country we are subject to the recycling rules placed on us, so with a fortnightly collection on alternate weeks a guest will either find empty bags or those where few days collection had started. So as you found the bags were started and had not requested an additional cleaning visit half way during your 2 week stay you should have put the bags out after your first week, as you would have seen all your neighbours do. I fully appreciate that this may have slipped by you and I attended the property and removed the recycling you had missed for you, as I told you I would. However having fully explained your error and corrected it for you, I find it extraordinary that you should later complain about a problem you had caused, and also made a false claim that the recycling had not been collected for months. I saw that the cleaners had put it out on the correct day for the 11th September collection, you arrived 16th and missed the 25th collection. It was easy to get rid of the rats. Copy Email sent 27/09/2023 13:19 Hi Barbara, thanks for your help with informing me of the rats you have seen come in, as I said, it's the time of year they come in off the fields in the country, when the left over grain has been eaten up or ploughed in. I'm glad I was able to get Richard in the same day to deal with them and that this has not ruined your enjoyment of your stay. Richard noticed that they have come in under the back gate and the recycling bag with the tins and plastic by the gate was full, so they probably smelt things like dog food tins or food trays even if well washed out. Like most of the country we are victims of our councils recycling policy, which prevents us putting these things in the weekly collection and only allow a 2 weekly collection of them. In this instance the recycling pick up was in the middle of your stay so should have gone out last weekend but may not have ? It's something I will have to remember and ring a reminder to people staying more than a week when the cleaners do not call for a Saturday changeover. I'm coming down from Somerset on Friday to say Hello, check the baiting point, and will remove the recycling as it seems last weekends was missed by you. Everyone visiting receives the following message, which clearly explains the need for you to put out the recycling in a 2 week stay. REFUSE Our cleaners will put out the black bag rubbish before your Saturday arrival for a weekly Monday roadside lunchtime black bag collection for general waste and food, this has to be in the bins because of Seagulls. Recycling is fortnightly, usually before the black bags on a Monday so with a Saturday arrival you will likely see the recycling collection process has already started, please add yours to that for the appropriate Monday. If you are staying for more than a week and you know the collection is during your stay or see the neighbours have their bags out, please put yours out by the roadside. The details are on the bags and in the house file, as plastic shares a bag with metal both will need to be crushed up to fit in, or it can be sorted into a carrier bag. Please could you help us by bringing in the bins and bags on a Monday, they live under the area by the side gate. Many thanks. Regarding the other claims you have made - I'm sorry you didn't report any of this, as your comfort and enjoyment are of paramount importance and I have a strong support network. I also need to know if anything is missing, not right, or you have broken any thing, in time to deal with it for the benefit of the people coming in after you. You didn't do that . If there is a loose piece of formica on a kitchen unit I can't see it, it's important I know at the time, not later. Our cleaners were in before you arrived and endeavour to do a good job, they bleach the recently fitted toilets as part of that, and I note that when you used the bleach we left as part of the dozens of things we provide, you say it looked no different. You claim you didn't have enough serving bowls, yet when I attended and looked in the cupboard they were there. The new guest's that were in the house before your false review was printed witnessed this, the photos are provided to sykes. The house is equipped for having up to 8 guests and there were only 2 of you.The house has dozens of kitchen utensils, the cheese grater was found. The house is exactly as the pictures in the listing which you booked, you have wrongly claimed it is different, but I note you have not said how, reported it to me or Sykes during your 2 week stay, or claimed that it had any impact on your is not true that "there is an almighty hole in the decking outside the front door" The facts are that well away from the door is an area of the garden which is neither part of the access to the house or a walkway that guests need to go into for any reason. It is a shrub area with some boarding where pot plants can sit. On the afternoon of your arrival the cleaners reported that someone had for some reason gone into that area, stepped on the boarding and broken a single board leaving a 200mm (8 inch) deep gap to the ground. They quite rightly covered this area and put up a screen to prevent your dogs access while I arranged a permanent solution. You have not said how you could have been inconveniences by that, neither can I see how you could have been. By not responding to my calls and messages you didn't give me a chance to explain this perfectly reasonable solution to something that had been broken but not reported by the previous guest. The "artificial" lawn is shown in the advert photos, it's not known as a "fake" which is a spiteful word which I imagine you have deliberately used to try and devalue what it is. It was surveyed when I bought the property and judged to be correctly laid and well drained, which has proved to be the case in more than 3 years problem free use. It was seen by the Sykes rep and has been enjoyed by hundreds of guests without any criticism apart from yours. When subjected to the regular heavy rain you had during your stay it is a better alternative to grass and enabled me to pick up the dogs mess the cleaners and I found you had not bothered to pick up on the morning of your departure. "Overhanging bushes catching on dogs leads" The extensive grape vine along the path was trimmed a couple of weeks before your visit and four weeks later on your departure day was found to have have a gloriously heavy crop of red grapes, left for your enjoyment and that of the guests to follow you. When walking a dog on a lead they often head to foliage and I have never heard of a dog walker allowing a dog to go over to that and then complaining about that happening ! The hob is a very good make and working perfectly I'm sorry it's not to your liking and I'm at a loss as to how a settee with a moisture resistant cover in a dry house could have had a dirty damp spot on it, perhaps one of your 3 dogs sat on it when wet after you let them go in the grape vine? Once again I'm sorry you chose to not report things or reply to my repeated attempts to make sure you were enjoying your 2 week stay as I assure you that was my intention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Barbara1.9Sep 2023

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would come back."

    We came with 4 dogs who loved having an enclosed garden and being so near the dog-friendly beach which was just 5 minutes away - also the beautiful wooded valley walk by the river. The L-shaped living and dining room and kitchen were lovely social spaces for us to cook and chat each evening. Many thanks!

    Reviewed by Tasia5.0Sep 2023

  • "Great location, bungalow was spacious, everything we needed (apart from cheese grater lol"

    Reviewed by Samantha4.1Jul 2023

  • "This was a very pleasant stay with 6 adults and toddler and 3 dogs."

    The house has a beach hut fee about it and it’s very practice in a great location. It’s not 5 star but it doesn’t market itself as that and has some nice touches like coffee machine and coke water and ice dispenser. Location is great to the beach and pub. Would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Andrew3.8Jun 2023

  • "Place needs a deep clean bit of updating too ,owner very pleasant and I'm sure would've sorted problems if we told him but tbh the last thing you want is people in out once your there."

    . great location.

    Dear Rosina , thank you for your review and you are correct that I take my my customer support very seriously so I have updated the house in the way you suggested by providing a parasol which you felt you needed for the May sunshine in our sun trap of a garden. We have also very recently completed a round of routine maintenance that was largely dependent on dry weather, so the place has been spruced up as suggested. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We do our best to act upon suggestions and feedback from guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosina2.5May 2023

  • "Had a nice time at BY THE BEACH but property is looking a lit bit tired and ..."

    Had a nice time at BY THE BEACH but property is looking a lit bit tired and needs a bit of a spruce up, everything is there and cooking utensils need replacing but generally a good place to stay and get around

    Dear Kevin, Thank you for your review and I'm glad you had a nice time and that you felt everything you wanted was there. With regards to the decor, when reading the property details and looking at the photos it can be seen that By The Beach is a rather "quirky" holiday home with it's surf board, areas of wooden boarding and bright seaside colours as well as "all the mod cons" as far as easily operated appliances go. We have just completed a round of maintenance and decorating (just after your stay). Much of this was outdoors and required dry weather. By the Beach is a relaxed, dog friendly, family home which guests love and we have lots of returning guests who love the location, as you did. Thanks for your feedback, it is helpful, we always do what we can to resolve any issues that guests raise with us at the time of their stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin4.1May 2023

  • "Had a lovely holiday with our family of 8 and 3 dogs."

    Really liked the quirky nature and nice feel of the house, it adequately served as a cosy base for exploring the area. Plenty of parking, very quiet at night and warm, despite heating being off and the end of October! Seaton is a lovely village, beach a couple of hundred yards one way and a lovely woodland walk the other. Nice bar and cafe, large pub.. all dog friendly. It's always hard to find somewhere that takes 3 dogs, and the grandchildren had a fun time. Good value for money and lots of family memories made.. we've already booked for next year.

    Reviewed by Susan4.1Oct 2022

  • "It was a wonderful stay beginning with the owner's warm welcome and comprehensive welcome pack to the property's facilities and cleanliness."

    The location was perfect being just a couple of hundred metres from the beach and where we spent our honeymoon, some 52 years ago. Highly recommended. All in all a very pleasant and welcome antidote to the Queen's sad passing. We'll be back

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Sep 2022

  • "A lovely place to stay ,location perfect for us ,area very quiet and property lovely-would definitely look at staying here again."

    Reviewed by Catherine4.1Sep 2022

  • "Absolutely loved every minute of our stay at By The Beach!"

    It was even better than we expected, We we’re welcomed so warmly too. We will definitely be booking again next year as none of us wanted to leave! Best family holiday yet.

    Reviewed by James5.0Aug 2022

  • "Perfect accommodation - well planned and laid out."

    Proprietors were very helpful giving courtesy calls pre arrival.

    Reviewed by Doreen4.7Jul 2022

  • "Location great,property is looking tired n could do with a deep clean."

    Unfortunately the beds/mattresses were very uncomfortable and not really clean.In all honesty we will not be visiting again.

    Dear James, thank you for your time on the phone today and offering the view that you were perhaps a little harsh with your review and you wish you had added some of the many good things about the property. I have explained that new mattresses were tried and selected for comfort for this and some other of my properties only a year ago, and that of the many guests the group has had, this is the first time a guest has said that the mattress was too soft for their particular back condition. We pride ourselves on our customer care and support, and ask guests to contact us if anything is not up to our expectations, so it is a shame you did not use the contact details provided to to enable us to help. By the Beach is very popular, but we did find a spare day to get in, just after your visit, to deal with the small maintenance items you spotted, which I'm glad did not impact on your holiday. Kind regards, Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by James1.9Jun 2022

  • "The positioning of the cottage is superb."

    The garden is enclosed with loads of room for 2/3 cars. Obviously the weather made the holiday and 2 pubs 2 mins away. Would definitely go again.

    Reviewed by Stephen3.8Jun 2022

  • "We spent a lovely week here and would definitely return"

    Reviewed by KIRSTY3.8May 2022

  • "The property is in an excellent position, very close to the beach and peaceful."

    The property was very dusty and felt it could have been cleaned a bit better, could do with a feather duster to dust the cobwebs away. It would benefit from a refurbishment. The bedding was very clean and bed comfortable.

    Reviewed by Heather Tracey3.8May 2022

  • "Lovely house close to beach."

    Kids loved playing In the garden especially my 2 year old who could run around without the worry of the road as there is a sliding gate. Bedroom are all good sizes, comfortable and appealing to the eye. Large open plan living area with log burner was also comfortable and a well used for family time. Kettle stopped working and was provided with another one quickly. Me and family Would stay here again!

    Reviewed by Martin5.0Apr 2022

  • "Fab position right near the beach, Meg was really helpful and made sure we were ..."

    Fab position right near the beach, Meg was really helpful and made sure we were ok and settled, we had a problem with the electric tripping out but this was sorted very quickly, only odd thing was all the beds had single duvets, even when the double and king were made up, we had a lovely time and would go back

    Dear Mr Staker I'm so pleased you loved your stay "By The Beach" and would like to return. We set the bed with single duvets because unusually we offer the guests the flexibility of having 2 bedrooms as Twins or Doubles. We find most guests like having their own Duvets, especially those with partners who pinch them during the night ! ! ! Alternatively there are spare doubles on the top shelf of the Dressing Room should anyone prefer that. Megs and I look forward to seeing you again. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brendon4.1Mar 2022

  • "Had the most amazing week… what a gem!"

    !! We cannot wait to return. Megan was really helpful & kind… much appreciated. It’s truly a retreat… & the fact that’s it’s so disability friendly just made everything so much easier to enjoy, thank you so much. What a gorgeous hideaway. Ps… only comment- no hairdryer!

    Reviewed by Francesca5.0Jan 2022

  • "Hi Had a lovely time would certainly come back."

    Small problem with one of the heating but it was sorted very quickly. Thank you Susan

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jan 2022

  • "The house was lovely and situated so close to the beach."

    The neighbours were very friendly, pub and cafe served great food. We stayed for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Year, a few decorations would have been a nice touch. Apart from that we had a very enjoyable stay.

    Dear Julie, thank you for your good review, I'm pleased you had a very enjoyable stay. Christmas decorations was something that had not come to mind, in this our first year of letting, but could easily be added should you return next year. If you had asked we could have discussed options like us adding them, us getting them for you to put up, if you would have enjoyed that or you bringing yours from home. Mark . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Dec 2021

  • "A lovely relaxing holiday was had at By the beach, Seaton."

    We walked on the beach every day, the locals and their dogs were all friendly. The cottage was clean an spacious for two and two large dogs. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the stay in the cottage. We had an issue with the oven which was quickly sorted by the team (who are very friendly and approachable). Instructions for the appliances are now to be included in the cottage pack. Thank you By The Beach team, it was a lovely stay.

    Many thanks for your brilliant review and I look forward to welcoming you again to the beach in Cornwall again in the future. Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Nov 2021

  • "Instruction booklets would help with utilities"

    Dear Sasha, Thank you for bringing it to my attention that I had not provided instructions for the machine, and I'm sorry you had difficulty in understanding the controls which understandably you were not familiar with. It is a shame you did not advise me of that when I rang after you arrived to check you were OK, or contact me at the time you were having your difficulty as I would have been pleased to help by either coming around or looking up and sending details from the internet. I'm glad you were able to overcome this difficulty and otherwise had a pleasant stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sasha3.8Oct 2021

  • "We did have a couple of issues with this property."

    When the gas cylinder valve was opened and all the bbq controls were turned off, we could hear gas escaping continuously. Two days into our holiday the bathroom door refused to open. After contacting Meghan and the landlord we were given permission to break into the bathroom. Evidently this had happened three weeks previously. We were very disappointed that the landlord did not arrange to have either of these issues resolved while we were there. We would like to return to Seaton but definitely not to By The Beach.

    Dear Susan, I spoke to your husband on the phone, who was kind enough to check that it was OK to apply some force to the bathroom door which had inexplicably stuck towards the end of your stay. I remained on the phone while he did that, heard the door open and understood that this left the door functioning properly, so arranged for a man to adjust it at changeover so as not to disturb you. This was done and it has remained problem free. Your husband mentioned the BBQ and I offered to bring around a replacement, but he told me that there was no need, as you were not planning to use it for the remainder of your stay. Perhaps you were not a party to that conversation? I had previously used the BBQ and left it working with a part cylinder of gas, but the man who called the following day while you were out found that someone had damaged a rubber seal by cross threading it when changing to the provided spare cylinder . I immediately bought new seals, leaving the spares in the cabinet. I am sorry this inconvenienced, but you glad you enjoyed being by the beach in Seaton, Cornwall and would like to return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan3.4Aug 2021

  • "Lovely location and property has everything you need for a break away."

    We would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Di4.7Jul 2021

Show more Hide all


  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, grab rail and shower seat, basin and WC, 2 x twin (can be joined to make a king-size on request)
  • Bathroom with corner claw-foot bath, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with woodburning stove and sofa bed
  • Adjoining garden room (unheated) with concertina doors
  • Electric central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, American fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 55" Freeview Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and starter pack of logs inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available (High chair is in the garden room and Cot is in the cupboard)
  • Enclosed garden with two separate sitting areas, garden furniture
  • There is a charcoal BBQ, please bring charcoal, or it is available from the local shops
  • Private parking for three cars; additional parking available nearby
  • Outdoor space for bikes and kayaks, as well as an outdoor dog washing station
  • Dog-friendly
  • No extra pet charge or Housekeeping bond
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.9 miles, pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: This property has wheelchair access
  • Please note: This property accepts a minimum of 3 night stays. Please note: Short break stays must commence on a Saturday/Wednesday
  • Note; The owner will offer a 10% discount for month long bookings
  • You will need to call through Sykes cottages to use this discount
  • In the garden room you will find a cot, high chair, 4 beach chairs and in the cupboard a small portable BBQ, there's a wheelbarrow to trundle it and your chairs to the beach should you wish
  • Please Note - EV charging is available by arrangement

The property

Downderry 1.1 miles.

Set in Cornwall's most easily accessed area, you can be on the beach just an hour from Exeter's M5 Junction 31, By The Beach is a single storey, detached property just a flat 155-metre walk from the dog-friendly beach and South West Coastal Path, enjoying views over the Seaton Valley Countryside Park.

Offering the most fabulous location for fun-filled family holidays, By The Beach can accommodate up to eight guests with the use of a sofa bed, and is ideal for those with mobility issues thanks to its completely ground-floor layout.

Bring your loved ones together in the open-plan living space, a 24-foot social hub to relax in following an adventure-filled day, with a sitting area boasting a 55" Smart TV with Freeview, a kitchen offering all the essential self-catering appliances and more, and a dining table for gathering round and tucking in to tasty meals.

Discover three bedrooms to retreat to at the end of the day, including a double with an en-suite shower room, equipped with a shower seat and a grab rail, along with two twin rooms, both able to be king-size on request.

Completing the layout is the family bathroom featuring a corner claw-foot bath, and a garden room enjoying a clear roof with concertina doors opening out onto the lovely enclosed garden and barbecue area.

Make use of the sun loungers, garden furniture and gas barbecue for wonderful summer evenings with the family, or grab the provided wheelbarrow and fill it up with the fold up chairs and small barbecue for a fabulous beach day!

The beach lies just 155-metres from By The Beach, so you'll be feeling the sand in your toes in no time, with the lovely village of Seaton offering a café and two pubs, whilst the neighbouring village of Downderry boasts a restaurant, pub, coffee shop, and general store with a Post Office, all within a two minute drive or 20-minute walk along the beach.

Discover a farm shop offering wonderful local produce on the way to Looe and Liskeard, both around a 15-minute drive away and home to a large range of shops, some with direct deliveries!

The location of By The Beach is ideally situated for exploring Cornwall, with ramblers sure to enjoy the scenic South West Coast Path leading to the charming fishing ports and villages nearby with quays and delightful scenery.

Visit the town of Looe as well as the scenic Polperro, an enchanting village with quaint, traffic-free lanes and a fishing harbour, surrounded by traditional inns and fisherman's cottages.

Head east along the coast to find Portwrinkle for its excellent golf course, while Whitsand Bay leads to the ferry for Plymouth at Torpoint, with a pedestrian ferry from the beach at Kingsand and Cawsand, perfect for enjoying a diverting day out in Plymouth!

Take strolls along the River Seaton through the beautiful valley and woodland, heading towards the pub at Hessenford for a well-deserved drink, or explore the coast and the fascinating rockpools between Downderry and Seaton.

Bring along your kayaks and watersporting equipment with plenty of space in the garden to store them, to enjoy some epic fun on Seaton Beach which is lifeguard protected during the summer and where you can expect to see swimmers, divers, kayakers, kite-surfers, surfers and wind-surfers all enjoying the soft sands and excellent waters!

As one of the most easily accessed parts of Cornwall, you can usually expect to be on the beach in just an hour after the Exeter M5 junction 31.

Secure your stay at By The Beach to plan a fun-filled memorable holiday with your loved ones in Cornwall!

Beach with restaurant/café 155 metres; pub/restaurants 250 metres; children’s play area 300 metres; shop 0.9 miles.

View on map

About the location

Seaton, Cornwall

Downderry 1.0 miles, Looe 5.2 miles, Plymouth 17.5 miles

Seaton is a small quiet coastal village in South East Cornwall with a sheltered beach. Seaton has a beach cafe/restaurant and 2 pub/restaurants, it's south facing family friendly sandy beach has lifeguard protection during the summer months and is Dog friendly all year. Stroll past the rock pools to the linked village of Downderry, just a 20 minute beach walk away(NOTE .IN ALL TIDES NOT JUST LOW) which boasts a cliff top pub, the famous Blue Plate Restaurant,serving quality local food, a vegetarian/vegan tea rooms and the village shop/Post Office.

Please note: This property accepts a minimum of 3 night stays.
Please note: Short break stays must commence on a Saturday/Wednesday
The owner will offer a 10% discount for month long bookings. You will need to call through Sykes cottages to use this discount.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter