Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • The Granary (Malborough) - Devon - 995456 - photo 1
close

The Granary (Malborough)

(Ref. 995456)

Malborough, Devon Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (17)
  • location (16)
  • comfortable (12)
  • lovely (12)
  • well (11)
  • property (11)

29 Customer Reviews

  • "Despite the atrocious weather throughout our 2 week stay, we managed to have a relaxing and peaceful holiday."

    Because the Granary is such a welcoming and comfortable place to stay, it makes it easy to just do nothing if necessary. We stay there for 2 weeks twice a year, but staying at the end of the season it is noticeable that it has been well used, with chipped crockery, missing glasses and broken items that need replacing. Although on the face of it it looks clean, there were issues and we had to do some cleaning when we arrived, finding a pigs ear dog chew under the settee! The cleaner needs to re-acquaint themselves with the vacuum cleaner and the one provided was so full of very smelly dust and dog hair that it was unusable, making leaving the place clean and tidy on departure quite a chore. We missed the usual welcome pack of coffee, tea and biscuits and the washing up supplies provided were a starter kit only, lasting just 2 days, so you will need to bring washing up liquid, dishcloth, washing and dishwasher powder. However, all these are just niggly housekeeping issues which can be remedied very easily if deemed necessary and The Granary continues to be our favourite holiday stay.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you love the property that much you keep returning. We really appreciate your feedback as we can then do our best to rectify any matters for future guests. We can only apologise that the property had some cleanliness issues on arrival, please know that if you had let us know during your stay we would have sent a cleaner back to remedy any issues mentioned. We have passed the comments onto the cleaner, particularly regarding the hoover. The owner has informed us that they will be replacing crockery for the new season. We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and do hope to welcome you back to The Granary next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pippa4.4Sep 2023

  • "This is our second stay at the Granary."

    A comfortable cottage in a peaceful location. Well equipped for a family and clean and pleasant. Very minor niggles - it would be really good to have a proper gate on the garden. This would stop off lead dogs wandering in and enable us to give our dog the freedom to lie in the garden. Guests with young children would also appreciate this I'm sure. It would not need to be a high gate but the loose bit of fence to pull across kept blowing over in the wind even though we weren't using it as a gate. A new non stick frying pan would be good as the coating has chipped or a second stainless steel frying pan. Minor issues though and overall very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. I'm sure we'll be back.

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Aug 2023

  • "This was our fourth stay at the Granary, the location is perfect for visiting local beaches and especially Soar Mill Cove which is 20 minute walk and 30 minutes walking back up the hill."

    Only grip would be the stair gate to the ground floor which is very flimsy and the trellis across the entrance to the property which was broken. Really needs a hinged gate to secure pets and young children.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are thrilled you love The Granary. We are pleased you confirm that there is now a new stairgate in the property. We do hope that we can welcome you back for your 5th stay very soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rod4.7Jun 2023

  • "For us it was as advertised"

    Reviewed by Timothy3.8Jun 2023

  • "Our 3rd time at the granary and it is such a lovely property and the perfect location to explore south Devon."

    The downstairs shower was not working on arrival but was fixed within 4 hours. The dishwasher had no salt or rinse aid. I would also say that a proper gate would be a big help. Over our 3 visits a different bit of wood panel has appeared to be dragged into place, but not ideal. Small details that should not distract from a lovely property. Thank you

    Reviewed by Colin4.7May 2023

  • "We had another wonderfully quiet and peaceful stay in this very well equipped, and comfortable property."

    The private front courtyard is great for morning coffee/evening drinks with an abundance of birds, bees and butterflies to observe. The location is excellent for coastal walks and the Ocean's Restaurant is a half hour, country lane walk away, providing great food and views. We will be back again. A long handled soft head broom would be a great addition, just to be able to keep the kitchen and dining area floor swept during one's stay. Thank you for the new, hygienic, silicon toilet brushes!

    Reviewed by Pippa4.7Sep 2022

  • "We had a lovely holiday and the cottage was just want we wanted."

    Nice and clean, beds comfortable and lovely location. Access can be a challenge if you’re a nervous driver (no passing places whatsoever along the last access road).

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Sep 2022

  • "Very quiet and nice location."

    Walk to Soar Mill Cove about 20 minutes away. Cottage was comfortable and well equipped. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Aug 2022

  • "The Granary is extremely well equipped, - there is even a radio."

    The location is perfect for the wonderful coastal walks and shops and restaurants are within a short driving distance. The night storage heating had not been turned on prior to our arrival so our first evening was spent trying to keep warm but once we had worked out how to rectify this, subsequent evenings were warm and very comfortable. Suggested additional items to bring with you - tea towel as none was provided, hand soap for the two wash hand basins and there were only two toilet rolls with no spares. Having said that, the Granary is a very easy property to stay in and we felt very at home. Our days were spent walking and our evenings sitting on the patio with a glass of wine, listening to the birds and bees. We had a wonderful peaceful stay and we will be back. PS. note to owner - the toilet brushes, which shared the same air space as our toothbrushes, desperately need replacing.

    Reviewed by Pippa4.4May 2022

  • "This property far exceeded our expectation."

    Set in a rural location, the property offers spacious, light accommodation in a truly peaceful setting. The house is well equipped and we wanted for nothing during our stay. With beautiful walks all around, we found ourselves several times on the coastal path exploring the local coves. With wildlife in abundance, it really was a treat to head out each morning - if only I'd remembered the binoculars! We visited the nearby Oceans Restaurant at Bolberry which was first class, took coffee at Soar Mill Cove Hotel plus dined in one evening which was lovely. I'm already looking forward to a return visit. Thank you so much for a superb stay.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Apr 2022

  • "A delightful view from sitting room over the country side."

    Lots of lovely walks. The property was beautifully clean on arrival. Everything we needed was in the property. Unfortunately with it's very rural location the autumn storms made it very noisy during the night.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.4Oct 2021

  • "Its not the first time we have stayed at the property and will stay again but please please please replace the mattress on the double bed - its well passed its sell buy date as you hit the base of the bed (and i'm only 12 stone and my wife is 10 stone)."

    Otherwise lovely location and cottage.

    Many thanks for your feedback. We are glad you like the Granary and would like to return, however we are surprised to read your comments about the mattress as the owners purchased a new bed and mattress in May with extra comfort. We can only apologise that it is not to your comfort. We do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin4.1Sep 2021

  • "We arrived at 3."

    45pm, 15 mins early and the cleaners were still there, we had to wait an hour before we could enter the property. We have dogs but it smelt of dog! and had to air the property, by opening all the windows/doors, I took some air freshners anyway just in case. The main bins were over flowing and not collected. The property was ok and the beds were comfortable. The area was quiet and great for walking.

    Reviewed by Kay3.8Sep 2021

  • "Although the cottage was lovely it wasnt overclean."

    . It was difficult to declutter kitchen waste as the bins outside were overflowing.. Shower down stairs was only running cold at one time..

    Reviewed by Wendy3.4Aug 2021

  • "Property was exceptional."

    Location beautiful. If you like hiking the paths were directly outside the property. We were fortunate to observe local wildlife from the sofas when a deer wandered past the windows to our amazement! Plenty of room to spread out. Dogs loved it. Double bed was more comfy than my bed at home!

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jul 2021

  • "The Granary is a lovely cottage and was a perfect base for our break ."

    As we were bringing our dog I was a little worried about what to expect . The cottage was very clean although the rugs in the living room were covered in someone else’s dog hair - maybe the cottage doesn’t need these rugs ? There is an amazing window in the living room with beautiful views of the countryside but the windows themselves were dirty. The bathrooms were clean and the showers worked well . The bedrooms were really nice but the mattress in the main bedroom was quite soft and not very comfortable. The kitchen had everything you need to cook a meal with plenty of plates , bowels and cutlery . Overall we had a great stay and would recommend anyone with a dog to stay here

    Reviewed by Caroline3.4Oct 2020

  • "We really enjoyed our visit - our 26th year coming to this part of Devon."

    We thank C&C for being flexible with regard to our booking during the pandemic - this was much appreciated.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7Sep 2020

  • "A beautiful spot, located close to an idyllic cove, in quiet countryside yet near to good local facilities."

    We had a lovely time in this comfortable, well-designed barn conversion. (We found the double bed rather small, but other than that it was a great venue for our holiday)

    Reviewed by Jon4.7Aug 2020

  • "The converted Barn was perfect for what we wanted, the location was brilliant, with so many walks from the cottage, meant we hardly needed to use the car."

    Would definitely go back to that cottage for another holiday.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2019

  • "The Granary is in a great location for walking and a very quiet and peaceful area."

    The house was as described and was cosy and comfortable with everything one could need including a BBQ and buckets and spades for the beach. I can certainly recommend The Granary if you are looking for a base to explore the South Hams.

    Reviewed by Graham4.1Sep 2019

  • "The Granary is a really relaxing home from home."

    We had a lovely time. The only one thing which was disappointing was that the bbq tray is old and has rusted and disintegrated which meant we were unable to have a bbq which we had planned. It is likely there will be comments from further visitors if this is not replaced. We will book again in the future.

    Thank you for your feedback recently, we are thrilled you had a lovely time at The Granary and found it “Home from Home” although we were disappointed that you had issues with the BBQ during your stay. This has now been replaced. Please note for future reference, to let us know immediately if you not satisfied upon your arrival as we always strive to rectify issues that may occur and would have liked to have had a new BBQ delivered to you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Granary very soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet4.7Jun 2019

  • "Overall, we were very pleased."

    The apartment is well appointed, comfortable and cleaned to a good standard. It is located on three footpaths and about 1km from the Coastal path, so superb for walking. Just wish the windows had been cleaned, nearly did it myself. Also, the council bin wasn't emptied on the Tuesday, even though we followed instructions properly.

    Reviewed by David Andrew4.7Jun 2019

  • "Great situation for walking the coastal path."

    Cottage was clean and warm,it was a cold wet June week.Dissappointed no welcome pack .Lots of games and iinteresting local books.Lovely area for walks and scenery .

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Jun 2019

  • "Lovely barn conversion, with good views and proximity to the coast - easy walk down to Soar Mill Cove - bit harder on the way back up!"

    Duvets on the bed were winter weight I would say so bit warm and funny for June that two of the storage heaters were on, but loved the internet radio and the absolute quiet of the setting (we are used to constant background road noise). The parking permit was completely out of date, but we altered it so it wasn't! Surprised that no welcome tray of any description. Would recommend though because of superb location.

    Jul 2018

  • "Excellent"

    Mr Daryl HawkinsApr 2018

  • "To be honest, if you hadn't sent me the review request I probably wouldn't have bothered following up on this."

    The cottage itself was very nice. It was in a beautiful secluded location within 20 minutes walk of a very secluded beautiful beach and whilst there were a few niggling little things wrong with the property such as very difficult to flush toilet and not very good appliances or heating system the one thing that was really bad was that the place was absolutely filthy. Whoever does the cleaning ought to find another career because both couches, when we looked underneath, them were absolutely disgusting. They didn't look like they've been cleaned in two months. In the bathroom I ran a piece of toilet paper over 12 inches of the top of the tiles and it was came away black. It seems that some people believe that because you're a dog owner you're used to living in sel it seems that some people believe that because you're a dog owner you're used to living in filth. Well we're not. I doubt we will ever go there again and tobe perfectly honest if this is the best that coast and country can do I think we may have to look at another supplier in the future.

    RichardSep 2016

  • "Very well equipped, we loved it."

    There's everything you could possibly need at The Granary. Lovely location, very quiet. Beautiful, clean and tidy when we arrived. Comfortable beds. Key safe is a great idea. Only one negative, although it's dog friendly the garden isn't enclosed which we thought it would be. But there's fields & walks literally on your doorstep so it wasn't that much of a problem. Co-op garage for supplies is a 10 minute drive away and Morrisons about 20 mins. The beach and stunning scenery is just a 20 min walk. We would definitely return.

    Nigel & AmandaSep 2015

  • "The property itself is good, but the cleaning was very poor and it needed redecoration of bathrooms."

    (eg. towel rail fell on my child, because the screw was worn off, and put back without fixing, the sealing of the bath tub were broken and black, the door did not stay closed, it had to be locked to stay closed, which was not children friendly at all)

    Sep 2014

  • "Very clean & spacious."

    Defiantly consider staying there again.

    Jun 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x Double bedroom, 1 x Twin bedroom and 1 x single room
  • Bathroom with electric shower over bath, w.c
  • and basin
  • Shower room with power shower, w.c
  • and basin
  • Kitchen
  • Lounge/dining room
  • Night storage heaters Fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, oven, hob, dishwasher, microwave, kettle, toaster
  • Broadband/Wifi/Smart TV/DVD Player Baby equipment
  • Parking for 2 cars
  • Private paved area with table and chairs, BBQ
  • Bed linen and towel supplied
  • 1 well behaved pet welcome
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

The Granary is an extremely attractive barn conversion – the ideal base for couples or families looking for a peaceful property in the heart of the South Devon countryside, with or without a dog!

South Down Farm is situated in a quiet, secluded spot, within easy reach of Salcombe and Kingsbridge which are three and five miles away respectively.

The village of Malborough, with its pubs, small shop and post office, is just a 2-3 minute drive. The property boasts a spacious living room offering elevated views over the central courtyard across to neighbouring countryside, plus a lounge area with comfortable seating, a dining table and chairs, as well as a Smart TV with Netflix, a DVD player and a collection DVDs, games and jigsaws, perfect for keeping the children (and adults!) entertained.

Off the living room there is a good-sized fitted kitchen, plus a separate utility area with washer/dryer. There are three bedrooms, all at first floor level, including a double bedroom, twin bedroom and single bedroom.

In addition, there are two bathrooms.

On the ground floor is a tiled bathroom with bath and electric shower (over), whilst on the first floor is a shower room with large cubicle.

Baby-friendly facilities including a cot, highchair and stairgate are all available. To the front of the property is a private, paved terrace area (not fully enclosed) with patio table, chairs and barbecue.

There is also a communal garden/play area nearby, and parking for two cars at the front of the property This baby-friendly and dog-friendly property is ideally suited for families or couples, looking for a retreat within easy reach of Salcombe and Kingsbridge.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

MALBOROUGH

Salcombe 2 miles; Kingsbridge 4 miles.

The attractive village of Malborough boasts a multitude of thatched cottages, a village shop, two excellent country pubs and a thriving post office. It is located just 2 miles from the popular sailing resort of Salcombe, the southernmost town in the South Hams. Boasting a beautiful, scenic coastline, Salcombe is ideal for enjoying sailing, watersports, coastal walking or for simply soaking up the sunshine. Observe the plentiful wildlife in the area, visit several country houses and gardens close by or visit the lovely market town of Kingsbridge. Alternatively, explore the wide open spaces and rocky tors of Dartmoor, just 15 miles away. A perfect holiday location, with much to see and do.

Telephone available for local and incoming calls only.

One well behaved pet allowed.

Terrace not fully enclosed.

There are 2 allocated parking spaces plus visitor parking on the right hand side (The visitor parking permit, which can be found in the property, must be used)

Strictly No Smoking

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas