Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • 3 Thurlestone Rock - Devon - 995027 - photo 1

3 Thurlestone Rock

(Ref. 995027)

Thurlestone, Devon Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (25)
  • no (13)
  • location (11)
  • views (11)
  • stay (10)
  • property (10)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "It was a lovely well furnished and equipped apartment with an incredible view."

    Very close to the beach and some good walks. Would recommend it to anyone.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0Jun 2024

  • "Reading some of the previous comments made i was a little hesitant about booking this apartment."

    However, it was a lovely large apartment with a glorious view. Super location ( although in the directions it would have been easier to say South Milton Beach - we got a bit lost getting there!). We would live to return though !

    Reviewed by Katrina4.4Jun 2024

  • "Bottom piece of wood on patio remains rotten Toilet seat needs repairing in ..."

    Bottom piece of wood on patio remains rotten Toilet seat needs repairing in en-suite Hall lights do not work Not sure it had been hoovered when we arrived, dog hair noticeable, and had to put hoover around on first day, was actually left cleaner than when we arrived The goody pack is great and has quality products and this flat does remain a favourite with the most wonderful location and view

    Reviewed by Glenn3.1May 2024

  • "This is our 2nd stay at this property and once again have found it to be superbly presented, comfortable with everything that you would need contained in the apartment."

    Outstanding location overlooking the sea and Thurlestone Rock with great coastal walks to Hope Cove, Bigbury and Burgh Island. Would highly recommend this to anyone. Added to which the accommodation is dog friendly where our pet dog was able to enjoy plenty of walks. Superb service provided by Sykes Cottages who we booked the holiday with

    Reviewed by Robin5.0May 2024

  • "The apartment was impeccably clean, bright and fresh on our arrival."

    It is spacious and well equipped. The view across the sea at the front and the nature reserve at the back are both interesting and impressive. The access to the fantastic and dog friendly beach at South Milton Sands is easy and made for us a wonderful holiday experience. There are lots of wonderful beaches nearby.

    Reviewed by William4.7Apr 2024

  • "The property was delivered to us dirty."

    There was body hair behind the bathroom door, many of the dishes were dirty as well as the cutlery. The windows were filthy, based on one reason to stay was the view, we had to wash the windows to see out of them. The door lock was temperamental between the bedroom and the balcony, this made it unusable. We had taken the time to recycle, but no bins on site and we were advised to travel miles to dispose of the rubbish. Struggled with this as we are all trying to help the environment. The sofas were uncomfortable and my wife had to sit on a dining chair for most of the week. The beds were great though and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and the location was very peaceful. We visited whilst a storm happened, so the waves delivered a real treat as they crashed over the rocks. The hot water was on restricted timings, but we managed this and never ran out, it does take planning. The location was amazing and we’d only wish the pool was running over Easter for the children. We considered rebooking but for the price of £1000 (thereabouts) we would have expected a better standard of cleanliness in the apartment, and comfort in the lounge.

    Reviewed by Richard2.5Apr 2024

  • "Wonderful week, fab weather and amazing sunsets, very comfortable with great views."

    We will return.

    Oct 2023

  • "Having been to this property before, we know the stunning views, and what to expect in terms of facilities."

    We like to use the pool and was very disappointed to see it covered and closed for the season after three days of being on site (and not the end of the month). Due to the warm weather people from three other properties were also using the pool daily, so to see it closed was a big let down. The cold tap in the main bathroom does not work, and finally we have managed to contact C&C to let them know. The main issue is that the wood on the patio area is rotten and a safety risk. It could collapse and cause the large glass panel to fall onto the area below, and this could lead to catastrophic events. It needs attention urgently I hope, when we return next year, these issues have been resolved.

    Reviewed by Glenn3.8Sep 2023

  • "Excellent accommodation, great view from the balcony."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had an enjoyable stay but feel that the apartment needs some updating as it is a little bit tired."

    There was also a lack of wine glasses and tumblers. The seals on the freezer door were badly split, causing internal icing.

    Reviewed by Peter3.8May 2023

  • "First Class in all respects"

    Reviewed by Barrie5.0Sep 2022

  • "We loved this apartment."

    It was spacious and had fantastic views . We would rebook here .

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Jun 2022

  • "Lovely spot, a little dated - but so are we!"

    Just great to be right by the sea.

    Reviewed by Bill4.7Jun 2022

  • "The apartment was well furnished and very enjoyable stay for a weeks holiday."

    Would be happy to return .

    Reviewed by Lh3.8Apr 2022

  • "We originally booked for March 2020 and had to postpone twice due to lockdowns."

    It was worth the wait when we finally got to go. The views from the apartment didn't disappoint. Good walking all around and local shops kept us going for the basics. C&CC were very helpful and prompt when I stupidly locked ourselves out of the apartment.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Oct 2021

  • "The apartment is in a beautiful setting with great sea and country views."

    We really enjoyed our stay but there are a few things which would make the apartment so much better. 1.The front door will only close by being slammed. 2. The position of the lounge furniture makes It difficult for everyone to watch the TV at the same time. 3. The oven was dirty on arrival. 4. Only a limited selection of saucepans and the handles got very hot. All told, though, we had a great time and would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Peter4.1Oct 2021

  • "We stay at this property on an regular basis."

    We have already booked for next September. We do notice that the sofa is getting very worn and needs some attention to the seating and the apartment is looking tired. We still love it though and thank the owner for the food hamper

    Reviewed by Diana4.4Sep 2021

  • "Superb location."

    Loved having the swimming pool which was well managed by the occupants of the apartments. The apartment was comfortable and clean and extremely well equipped. Thank you to the cleaners. I met a couple and they were delightful. One of the best holidays ever!!

    Reviewed by Pamela5.0Jul 2021

  • "Great location & apartment."

    If I have one suggestion it’s the beds. Bit small in this day & age. Main room more than big enough to take a bigger bed

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Jun 2021

  • "Great accommodation in a superb location."

    The views from the balcony are magnificent. We were really pleased. Only a couple of negative points, parking spaces are allocated but our allocated space was parked in for a few days while we were away and there is nothing that can be done to prevent others from using the spaces. A dining chair was damaged when we arrived but this was immaterial to our enjoyment. The welcome pack was appreciated. This was our third stay in the same apartment complex and probably wont be our last.

    Reviewed by Matthew4.1May 2021

  • "The cleaning needs attention as pointed out via email."

    The property itself needs some improvement, shower head is dirty The small bedroom window doesn’t open The patio doors don’t lock The headboard isn’t secured and bangs the wall with any movements The front door has to be slammed shut

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are disappointed to hear that you found these issues on arrival. We have spoken with the cleaner who will address the cleanliness issues. We have also sent someone to fix the other matters you have mentioned. We hope you had an enjoyable stay despite these problems and we hope to welcome you back to the area soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Glenn4.1Sep 2020

  • "Fantastic apartment with amazing views."

    It’s spacious and well equipped although the Wi-fi is poor (some people might not need Wi-fi but we did for work purposes) The description is slightly misleading as it’s actually on South Milton sands, and not in the village of Thurlestone so it’s 1.2 mile walk to the nearest shop and pub (Along the coast path) this wasn’t a huge problem for us but it might be to the less mobile.

    Reviewed by Sonia4.4Sep 2020

  • "Accommodation was Fantastic."

    However, I emailed Sykes on 3 occasions as was unable to speak on the phone. Wanted to make alteration and ask if 2 friends could come and spend a few days with us as there was an extra bedroom, what would additional cost be etc, etc. DID NOT GET ONE REPLY !!! Very disappointing especially as we had to tell our friends not to come as we couldn't get an answer. I know Covid 19 has been difficult, however, you had no problem emailing me on 3 occasions to let me know when balance was due.

    Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at 3 Thurlestone Rock. We are very pleased to hear that you loved the accommodation. We can only apologize that you did not get a response to your emails, I have had a look back on our system an cannot find them. If you need to contact us in the future please call our office on 01548 843773 and press option 4. We do hope that you had an enjoyable holiday in spite of the issue raised and look forward to welcoming you back to Salcombe in the not too distant future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Aug 2020

  • "We felt so fortunate to be able to get away this year with the current Covid situation and were impressed with the extra precautions put in place in the apartment to help manage the risks."

    The views were as stunning as ever and we were fortunate to witness some beautiful sun sets. Thank you for another wonderful year in Flat 3!

    Reviewed by Cathy5.0Jul 2020

  • "The view from the apartment never fails to be stunning no matter what the weather."

    The sea and the beach are stunning. The facilities in the apartment extremely comfortable - home from home but with stunning views and restorative sea air. This was our 12 year in the same property enjoyed by 3 generations of our family and we hope to be back next year. ( I tried to ring the office yesterday morning to report some damage to the swimming pool cover by the exceptional winds on Friday night but couldn't get through. I hope someone else has reported it or it has been sorted. Many thanks)

    Reviewed by Cathy5.0Aug 2019

  • "Lovely apartment with great access to beach and other walks."

    We’d love to return.

    Reviewed by Harriet5.0May 2019

  • "Wonderful weather, lots of swimming in the sea and incredible sunsets."

    A perfect place to be, thank you

    Mrs TaylorFeb 2019

  • "Have stayed at 3 Thurlestone Rock twice now."

    Excellent apartment and dog friendly which we love.

    Aug 2018

  • "We've returned to the same property for twelve years."

    We love it. It has become a very special place for the six of us crossing three generations and we are delighted that our sons still want to come each year and spend time with their parents and grandparents. The apartment and setting are very special to all of us and that includes the dog!

    Aug 2018

  • "Lovely well kept property."

    Mrs Elizabeth HammondJul 2018

  • "Wonderful location overlooking the sea."

    Very comfortable and welcoming property. This is the second time we have been here and look forward to coming again.

    Mr Alan SmithJun 2018

  • "Everything we asked for and more, the views are amazing and it is so peaceful what ever the weather."

    We took our dog (large golden doodle) who loved the beach at low tide and found plenty of playmates. Lovely clean apartment with everything you need.

    Mrs D RyderMay 2017

  • "The value for money and location were excellent and the property was well presented and comfortable."

    One or two minor items showing wear and tear but overall a very good property.

    Mr Alan SmithApr 2017

  • "Lovely apartment, spotlessly clean, stunning location."

    Loved the organic food pack on arrival!

    Geraldine RandSep 2016

  • "Apartment was big enough for all 6 adults fantastic view, would have been useful to have had a vacuum and mob, the Windows was filthy I had to clean them and the balcony could do with a clean and paint."

    LYNNJun 2016

  • "Wonderful apartment with fantastic views, would definitely stay here again!"

    Apr 2016

  • "We stay here as often as possible."

    The apartment is comfortable, well equipped and the view when the tide is in is like you are on a boat. The location is perfect, so close to the beach and the dogs love it!

    Apr 2016

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Coast & Country Cottages collection.
Choose from over 400 properties in Salcombe, Dartmouth and the surrounding South Devon coast and countryside - the perfect destination for a holiday all year round.


  • First floor apartment
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x King-size with en suite bathroom, 1 x double and 1 x twin room
  • Family bathroom
  • Living/dining room
  • kitchen
  • Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and sink
  • Balcony.
  • .Electric fan double oven, gas hob, extractor, microwave, larder fridge, freezer and dishwasher
  • Dog friendly property. TV and CD player
  • Wifi
  • Allocated parking for one car, no trailers, caravans, boats etc
  • All duvets, pillows, bed linen provided – guests need to bring their own beach towels
  • Strictly No Smoking

The property

Situated on the edge of Thurlestone Sands, ‘Thurlestone Rock’ is a development of spacious marine apartments, all of which enjoy sweeping views towards Bigbury Bay.

Thurlestone Rock and Burgh Island provide a stunning coastal vista, whilst the adjacent coastal path offers wonderful walks.

It is the perfect spot for those in search of a luxurious coastal break. 3 Thurlestone Rock is a comfortable, pet-friendly first floor apartment enjoying fantastic ocean views from the living room and master bedroom.

The kitchen is fully fitted (including electric fan double oven, gas hob, extractor, microwave, larder fridge, freezer and dishwasher) and has a small breakfast bar with stools.

Additionally, there is a separate utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer and sink.

The large, combined living and dining room boasts french doors that lead to a balcony (with table and chairs), with sea views.

Comfortably equipped, there is also a dining table that seats six, two sofas, and TV/DVD unit.

The master bedroom has a King-size bed, wardrobes and drawers, and en suite bathroom.

The second bedroom has a 4’6” double bed, and ample bedroom furniture.

The third has two twin beds.

Both the second and third bedrooms enjoy uninterrupted countryside views.

Duvets, pillows, bed linen and towels are provided.

There is a further family bathroom, with bath, separate shower cubicle and heated towel rail.

Guests have free wireless broadband, and also have use of the communal patio area with barbeque facility and sun deck.

They also have exclusive use of the outdoor heated swimming pool during peak season.

There is one allocated visitor parking space.

Please note, the area surrounding the property is quite hilly and so may be difficult for guests with mobility issues.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Salcombe 7 miles; Bigbury-on-Sea 9 miles

The picturesque village of Thurlestone is popular with both beach-goers and watersports enthusiasts, with the beautiful sandy beaches of Thurlestone and South Milton Sands within walking distance. Thurlestone boasts an 18-hole links golf course, a 13th century church, a traditional pub, a post office and the ‘Voyage Spa’, where visitors can enjoy spa treatments or afternoon tea. The sailing town of Salcombe is just a 10-15 minute drive away, and the fishing village of Hope Cove is a short drive away, or can be reached on foot via the South West Coast Path.

View more holiday cottages in Thurlestone

Thurlestone Rock residents enjoy exclusive use of the private outdoor heated swimming pool which is available from late May to late September each year (subject to change).

An Aune Valley hamper is supplied, including milk, bread, eggs, juice etc, to all high season guests with compliments of the owner.

No swimming after 9.00 PM

Barbeques not permitted on balconies/patios.

No trailers, boats, caravans etc.

Strictly No Smoking