Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • 17 Burgh Island Causeway - Devon - 1056330 - photo 1

17 Burgh Island Causeway

(Ref. 1056330)

Bigbury-On-Sea, Devon Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Swimming pool
  • Sauna
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (8)
  • views (8)
  • location (7)
  • bed (6)
  • balcony (5)
  • all (5)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "The apartment, which we have stayed in many times, was lovely."

    However, there were some snagging issues. There is a problem with the fridge door which falls open if the shelves on the inside of it are filled with bottles of milk etc. This is a long-standing problem that has been going on for a few years and which I have reported previously. I spoke to Nick, a maintenance man who came to carry out a repair, and he said he would report back to the owner on this as something needing doing. The telephone handset is faulty so you can hear calls come in but cannot ‘answer’ the phone to speak to the person on the other end. This is important if you have given the number as a contact number for family, friends, food deliveries etc. Be careful of the ironing board hanging on the back door of the cupboard with the washing machine in, the screws are loose and need to be refixed/could fall off. The digital weighing scales need a new battery/are unreliable. We had a maintenance problem on arrival and called the number for the maintenance man given in the information folder but had no response until we emailed Coastal Living about another problem a few days later. Both were then resolved quickly but I am not sure that the number given for the maintenance man in the information folder is right and may need to be updated. We rented numbers 17 and 19 this week and found number 19 to be much better equipped and more comfortable, with a much nicer welcome pack and very easy communications. It had lovely seaside bits and pieces, a seagull on a stick, a lighthouse and that sort of thing that gave it a lovely seaside vibe. All those seaside bits and pieces had been removed from number 17 (it used to have them) which is a bit of a shame, as they all add to the holiday feel of the place. There has been a refurbishment of number 17 in the last year. Some have commented that the beds are uncomfortable. I was concerned about this as my elderly dad was coming with us. As the owner said, people have different perceptions when it comes to based comfort. My dad’s assessment was, for those who look for comfort, the bed was adequate although certainly not as comfortable as the beds there previously. This goes for all the beds throughout the flat. There is nice new balcony furniture. As ever, the view is amazing and it is a lovely relaxing place to be. It is nice that, after a number of years of restrictions, the swimming pool and gym are backed to ordinary operating arrangements and that the changing rooms are open. It is a lovely apartment to watch the tides coming in and out. Its view is one of the best from the Burgh Island Apartments. But if you do not mind a lovely but a slightly more restricted view and are looking for more comfort etc. then it is worth considering number 19 which is also a lot cheaper.

    We totally agree with you that at Burgh Island Causeway there is an apartment to suit everyone.. it’s a wonderful place and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the unbelievable views from our apartment. It’s great you were able to enjoy our new bedrooms and our new balcony furniture. We hope that everyone has a top notch experience whilst staying with us, we pride ourselves on the fact that we are responsive to every guest. We were slightly disappointed that you felt the need to call our emergency contacts for the hot water only to discover that it was working perfectly but it’s better that we were able to help. We are glad that you have found, during your stay, the apartment that suits you the best, although it is slightly disappointing that you haven’t made your comments about that apartment public so that they can benefit from the positive experience you had there. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LindaSep 2023

  • "The property is in such a fabulous location, with stunning views."

    It is a real home from home with everything you need.The use of the club is a real bonus and due to the adverse weather we experienced made all the difference as we were able to swim everyday. All the information on arrival was useful and well communicated. We had no problem with the TV at all! The property has a super balcony with lovely furniture and the bathrooms are modern and clean. However my parents shower in the twin room did need some matinence as the shower seemed a little blocked, but assume this would be a quick fix as most likely due to sand build up. All 5 of us found the beds a little uncomfortable, which was a shame, so maybe some toppers would be useful. Our bed in the family room especially felt a little lumpy. We were not dissapointed at all with our stay, it is a lovely furnished apartment and we enjoyed our time there. The ability to pop down for a beach walk and be so close to the sea will be something we will always remember.

    Thank you so much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the information on the shower in the twin room, we can confirmed that this has now been resolved. All the bedroom furniture is new this spring including the mattresses and bedding. They are good quality (all purchased from Marks & Spencer) but we appreciate that mattress types are a very personal preference. Thank you for the suggestion of mattress toppers, we will consider this going forward to allow those who wish to have a softer mattress to do so as our guests comfort is of primary importance to us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TracyJul 2023

  • "The apartment was lovely in terms of its location and facilities, being right above the beach and with great views all around."

    I cannot give 5 stars on any count however - the mattresses were ok-ish but not great, the flat was fairly clean but certainly not spotless, the jacuzzi was out of action, and despite asking for help twice with the TV (which we couldn’t get connected to any channels or the internet) we didn’t get a response at all. My mother (91) obviously couldn’t go out as much as the rest of us but couldnt even watch Wimbledon or anything else because the tv wasn’t working. Considering the amount we paid it was disappointing not to even be contacted when we asked for help. I would choose a different flat in future. It also wasn’t clear that we had to go down two flights of steps to get from the car to the flat and up more steps to go into the pool, despite asking Sykes about accessibility.

    Thank you so much for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are disappointed the access arrangements were not correctly explained to you, all representatives are usually very well briefed on the details of all the apartments on the site. We are not sure who you contacted regarding the television as our facilities managers are super responsive and once the next guests reported the fault to them they had the issue resolved the next day. We have tried to resolve this issue going forward by providing a step by step television guide within the property to help guests who may encounter issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KenJul 2023

  • "Excellent outdoor furniture."

    We are thrilled to hear you loved our new outdoor furniture! We wanted to make sure guests are able to enjoy the outdoor space and wonderful views whatever the weather - we are delighted you were pleased with the result! Property Owner

    Reviewed by TonyApr 2023

  • "Wonderful flat, great location."

    We have stayed here before woukd suggest more towels

    Thanks so much for your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed our refurbished apartment, and we agree - it’s in a wonderful location! We do provide towels per person and an additional beach and/or swimming towel per person - we are sorry to hear you would have liked more towels. We have also recently replenished all our bedding and towels. We do have a washing machine and drying rack should you wish to refresh towels during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SallyApr 2023

  • "17 Burgh Island Causeway is an amazing holiday apartment with fantastic views, direct access to the beach and a leisure club with pool and gym."

    The apartment was beautifully presented and equipped to a high standard. We very much enjoyed out stay and would love to return.

    We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your feedback. We’d love to host you again and hope you are able to revisit us soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by BirgitMar 2023

  • "Comfortable and well-equipped property."

    As last year, could not get TV in main room to operate - please provide clear simple instructions. Mattress on bed in main bedroom is a bit saggy.

    Thanks for your feedback and pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit again. We’ll revisit the television instructions and try to make them clearer. We are mid-way through a complete refurbishment of the bedrooms - we hope that you will return to let us know what you think of the upgrade! Property Owner

    Reviewed by StephenNov 2022

  • "A soft close loo seat in the twin room would be nice, and some thicker duvets."

    We loved it and have booked already for next year A discount for returning guests would be great!!

    Thanks for the feedback and so glad to hear you have rebooked to visit us next year! We look forward to hosting you and we are mid-way through a complete refurbishment of the bedrooms so please let us know what you think! Property Owner

    Reviewed by SerenaNov 2022

  • "Could do with re painting, lukin worn and weary,poss change sofa, luks old and ..."

    Could do with re painting, lukin worn and weary,poss change sofa, luks old and colour of it luks mucky, but comfy, glass to windows and glass screen to balcony are mucky , need cleaning on regular basis but a very spacious accommodation, comfy beds, nice and warm and fab views

    We are so pleased you enjoyed the wonderful views. It is a constant battle to keep the glass balconies clean due to the sea breeze and salt water, we will keep trying! We have replaced all the balcony furniture as part of a big refurbishment - we hope that this will provide even more comfort to enjoy the fabulous outside space of the property! Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndrewOct 2022

  • "Felt decoration & furniture very worn, fridge not closing properly & leaking water, BBQ removed but hosing from gas tank left on decking, not very clean with +++ sand present everywhere in flat."

    As always location amazing & cafe & pool facilities very welcome.

    Thanks for your feedback. Due to overwhelming rental demand over the past 2 years the interior of the apartment has taken an unprecedented level of wear and tear due to its constant use. We have an extensive upgrade to the interior and the balcony area scheduled. We are disappointed that you did not find the apartment as clean as you would have liked and will take this up with our cleaning team. If you had contacted us to let us know during your stay we would certainly have ensured that the cleaning was updated to rectify any issues. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DagnyAug 2022

  • "Absolutely wonderful property - beautiful location with such fantastic views."

    The apartment was well equipped for all our needs and more. We loved spending our holiday here and will have many happy memories of sitting on the balcony looking across at Burgh Island and out to sea!

    Delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your time here at Burgh Island Causeway despite the stormy weather at the start of your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClareFeb 2022

  • "Lovely views."

    17 Burgh Island Causeway is in a wonderful location with fantastic views. The apartment is spacious and well equipped and comfortable. However, this was by far the most expensive property we have stayed in compared to similarly sized and located apartments at similar times of the year (not high season). Therefore, I was expecting a high level of quality of furnishings and presentation, which I didn't think was offered. For example, the balcony furniture was quite old and had definitely seen better days, as had the mattress in the master bedroom, which sagged on both sides. The cleaniness was less than perfect - crumbs in one of the cupboards, dust on the sockets & behind the bed for example. The towels smelled as though they had only been refreshed and were quite musty after only one use. I rewashed them at 90'C, then they were OK. This property was a third more expensive than the other properties, and so I had higher expectations. I wouldn't stay again as the property didn't feel value for money to me, despite the location.

    Reviewed by AlisonSep 2021

  • "We really enjoyed our stay and the people at the on-site restaurant are lovely."

    The views were wonderful and the beach was a lot of fun. Neither TV worked in the bedrooms and there was a cracked glass and broken freezer tray on arrival which we were not sure had been noted. WiFi is also very slow if you need to log on at all. We would have loved to book again but were very saddened to see that next years price for the same week has almost trebled. This has put us off using Skyes Cottages again because we feel it is exploitive to increase staycation prices quite so hugely. As a family we save all year for a holiday and it makes places like this unaffordable. The flat is set up with a single bed inside the double bedroom so it suggests the accommodation is aimed at a family. It was such a shame not to be able to rebook.

    We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and were able to take advantage of all the wonderful on-site facilities. The apartment certainly works well for families of all ages from grandparents to toddlers. Thank you for letting us know about the cracked drinking glass, our cleaning team have had many additional tasks and protocol to follow this year and therefore in this instance the item was not spotted. We are aware that the compartment door to the freezer ice tray has been broken and we are working to source a replacement. This does not affect the operation of the freezer. We were surprised to hear that neither bedroom televisions were working and will certainly look into this as a priority. If you had made us aware of this by contacting the maintenance number left for you in the apartment we would certainly have looked into this for you during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaAug 2021

  • "What an amazing apartment."

    Everything of a really high standard. The views are stunning and the location right on the south west coastal path means you can step out and walk & leave the car parked up. Having the clubhouse in the complex was a real bonus with the food served of an excellent quality.

    Reviewed by KatieDec 2020

  • "Hi, we have stayed at the apartments many times so knew what to expect."

    One of the main reasons we pay a bit extra for an apartment at Bigbury is for the swimming pool however we arrived and were told it was shut. I really feel this is something we should have been told at the time of booking or at some point in the many, many emails I received before arrival.

    Reviewed by SarahOct 2020

Show more

This property is part of the Helpful Holidays collection.
Let Helpful Holidays be in your plans for your next Holiday


  • All-one-level
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x Family room with king size and single divan with en suite bath, shower over, WC and basin, 1 x twin with en suite shower, WC and basin
  • Open plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer-dryer, dishwasher, TV with Sky sports, Blu-ray DVD player, and WiFi
  • Phone, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Off road parking for two cars in a reserved parking space
  • Enclosed balcony with seating
  • Shared use of leisure facilities including swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and gym
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Check-in time 5pm
  • Note: Leisure facilities open from 10am every day (except Christmas day)
  • Note: This property does not accept children under 14 in gym or sauna
  • Note: The club restaurant/bar is open 10am to 9pm during the High Season, reservations recommended (for all other times of the year, please contact the Leisure Centre for opening times)

The property

Apartment No17 Burgh Island Causeway occupies the prime location as the corner apartment on the first-floor.

Its position with fabulous views to the glorious sandy beach of Bigbury and far-reaching sea views make this a magnificent destination year round.

One of the highly desirable corner apartments, with wrap-around balcony provides an incredible space for dining, lounging and sunbathing as well as being dual aspect to enable not only a wonderful view across the Causeway to Burgh Island offering sun from early morning, but also a West-facing aspect offering sunshine all the way to the magnificent ocean sunset views to the West.

Furnished with loungers and seating, it also benefits from a covered lit area, which allows use of the balcony in inclement weather as well as in the evening.

The stylish and spacious, open plan living space with a bright, dual aspect is stylishly furnished with an oak floor, cool palette, plush sofas including a sofa bed.

Equipped with Sky TV including Sky Sports, DVD & Blue-Ray for an entertaining evening in.

There is a smart well equipped kitchen with and dining space for meal times.

To the rear two generous en-suite bedrooms, a king-size with a single divan and a twin, both benefitting from magnificent sea views an additional luxury of the corner apartments.

Both rooms offer matching décor and ample storage; the king-size room provides a superb bathtub whereas the twin room offers a refreshing shower for a perfect morning rinse.

For those who don't fancy cooking, room service can be ordered up to your apartment or make use of the restaurant and bar are on site.

A stay offers use of the shared facilities including the indoor swimming pool, gym & sauna.

Your daily essentials, can be found at the nearby local beach shop.

Bigbury is an iconic destination with huge possibilities for outdoor activity and with the renowned Burgh Island just a short stroll across the Causeway beach from the apartment.

Some of the most popular attractions include Bigbury beach, with its large open expanse of sand and the ability to walk across to Burgh Island, other than at high tide, when the historic Burgh Island Sea Tractor will transport you to and from the Island – a must for the kids!

The apartment development has its own private access gate (from the restaurant terrace) onto the slipway down to the beach.

Burgh Island is home to the Burgh Island Hotel, which has its own pub on the island - The Pilchard Inn dates from 1336, and offers inside and outside dining - the hotel also offers upmarket casual dining to visitors in its Nettlefold restaurant along with a delightful afternoon tea service.

Burgh Island is fascinating to explore, with numerous hidden coves and beaches, some of which can only be accessed by water, providing excellent kayak and paddleboard touring opportunities as well as good snorkelling.

The Island also offers walking and climbing itineraries, an ancient lookout at its peak with stunning views of the surrounding coast and Dartmoor, as well as being the famed setting for Agatha Christie to write many of her novels.

Bigbury and neighbouring Bantham are two of the Southwest’s finest beaches for water-sport lovers with RNLI/Coastguard patrol and opportunities for all kinds of surfing, kayaking, and stand-up paddle boarding, which has grown rapidly in popularity.The highly recommended Discovery Surf School (which is based on the Bigbury Beach car park) offers top quality tuition for most watersports as well as hire availability for most of the necessary equipment.

The Venus Café is adjacent to Discovery for refreshment from Bigbury Beach, and there is a small beach shop off the public car park open in season.The apartment development sits just below the Southwest coastal path, which offers ample walking and hiking opportunities, to the West to Challaborough and Aymers Cove and on to Wonwell (a stunning beach on River Erme estuary).

Both the Rivers Avon and Erme, as well as Burgh Island, offer interesting marine birds and wildlife.

Bigbury Golf Club is 1 mile up the hill from the apartment, and is a private members club that welcomes visitors and suits all abilities.

Other local golf courses include Thurlestone to the east, and Staddon Heights to the west, which has fantastic views of Plymouth Sound and the Plymouth Ho.There are good fishing opportunities on many of the rivers in South Devon, and the stunning Dartmoor National Park is a short drive away to the North West of Bigbury.

Kingsbridge is the main town in the South Hams local area; around 20 minutes drive away, and offers a good selection of restaurants, bars and shops with the more famed resort town of Salcombe a further 10 minutes away.

Whatever time of year you choose to stay at 17 Burgh Island Causeway you will guaranteed a holiday to remember.

Burgh Island View Apartments

Just 20 yards from Bigbury-on-Sea's big and splendid sandy beach, looking to Burgh Island Causeway, are 29 stunning, high quality apartments, of which we let a number. Within the same building are excellent leisure facilities and a restaurant. The views over the sea to the south and west, and at low tide of a vast expanse of smooth washed yellow sand reaching to Burgh Island, are outstanding. The island's jolly pub, The Pilchard, is fun to visit (long-legged sea tractor at high tide). All the apartments, which are privately owned and individually furnished, have those sensational views, and are wonderfully light, with large, airy open-plan living/dining/kitchens and glazed doors to balconies or terraces. The smallish bedrooms, at the back (without views), have good quality en suite bath or shower-rooms. The apartment building is three-storey. Most apartments have easy access (short walk from parking and between 5 and 9 steps down to the lift). The ground floor (still high above the beach) apartments have big terraces, the first and top floor apartments have very good-sized balconies. The leisure facilities, which are free for guests to use and open from 10am every day (except Christmas Day), include a fine indoor swimming pool (40' x 20' x 4'6"), spa pool, well-equipped gym (treadmill, steps, cycles, Concept II Rower and other instruments of torture) and sauna (no children under 14 in gym or sauna). There are changing rooms, a shower and disabled loo. The Club restaurant/smart bar, is open 10am to 9pm during the High Season, reservations recommended (for all other times of the year, please contact the Leisure Centre for opening times), serves excellent food throughout the day, with a popular dinner menu which varies daily and themed evenings. You can also order meals to take to your apartment. The comfy lounging area has sofas and WiFi, and the sunny outdoor terrace faces the sea.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Modbury 6 miles; Plymouth 12 miles.

Bigbury-on-Sea is located in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is ideal for family holidays. Dusted with sand and lapped by shallow waters, the beach offers safe fun for groups particularly if you’ve got children in tow. In addition, Bigbury-on-Sea beach is dotted with rock pools, so there’s plenty of entertainment for budding marine biologists. There’s also a wide and varied selection of watersports available to visitors who prefer their holidays to feature a little adrenaline rush. Windsurfing and kite-surfing are popular here, with hire facilities located right on the beach. To give you some peace of mind, there are lifeguards present at Bigbury-on-Sea beach during May to September and the beach also has a first-aid room. You can even take the dog onto the beach, although they are restricted to certain areas during the summer. Bigbury’s most famous landmark is Burgh Island, which overlooks the beach itself. The island is accessible at low tide, when the waters reveal a causeway that links it to the beach. However, when the tide is in you can still reach the island by hitching a ride on the popular and unique ‘sea tractor’. Burgh Island boasts an award-winning hotel, elegant and rather genteel, it’s an ideal romantic retreat for couples. Explore the South Devon coast with its fabulous sandy beaches and its breathtakingly beautiful coastal path or simply take time to visit some of the charming estuary towns and villages dotted throughout the area, such as Salcombe, Kingsbridge and Dartmouth. The city of Plymouth and the wild open spaces of Dartmoor are also both close at hand.

View more holiday cottages in Bigbury-on-sea

Note: The Club is open from 10 am daily and offers a selection of hot and cold food and a wide selection of beverages. Booking is advisable for the restaurant during high season and weekends.
The Leisure Club includes the indoor swimming pool and gym and is also open daily from 10 am, booking is not required. The sauna is not currently operational.
Please check The Club's closing time on Facebook or Instagram as this may vary depending on the time of year.

Note:- BBQ’s are not permitted

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Last minute