Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 27 View Larger Image
  • Hillview Bungalow - Dorset - 994260 - photo 1
close

15 people have recently viewed this property

Hillview Bungalow

Burton Bradstock, Dorset (Ref. 994260)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 5

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

34 Customer Reviews

  • "Hillview bungalow is in a wonderful quiet place in the village of Burton Bradstock, only 5 minutes walk to the famous Hive Beach and a 10 minute walk into the village."

    Hillview has everything anyone could need for a self catering holiday and has loads of space for 4 adults, 2 dogs and an infant. It would have been nice if the freezer could be sited in the kitchen instead of in the garage and a dishwasher would have been useful too. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hillview and would have no hesitation in booking this property again.

    Reviewed by ChristineJun 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Hillview…it is a little basic compared to some of the places we stayed in the past but was a lovely base for visiting the area."

    Very peaceful and close to some nice walks and if you wish drives.We would have liked a bit more information as to how things worked in the property and when and how to put the rubbish out etc. so we had to rely a lot on pot luck and observation with the neighbours .We understand COVID issues in the past may have been a reason to remove these items but as things are easing perhaps these could be reinstated.Hillview however was very comfortable and ideal for our needs so should we visit the area again we would be happy to stay here and recommend.

    Reviewed by MarkJun 2022

  • "A great place to stay this was our 2nd visit and have already booked for next year Thank-you Colin n caroline"

    Reviewed by ColinMay 2022

  • "We had a very pleasant stay."

    The bungalow is very roomy. The bedroom we used is big and has a comfortable bed. The sitting room has lovely comfortable settee and armchairs. The back garden is enclosed which was exactly what we wanted for our small dog. There were no bedside lamps which we found difficult. I understand Sykes asked the owners to remove them because of covid. They were also no instructions at all for tv, refuse bins, etc as owners had been instructed to remove any paperwork. I think all these instructions should now be changed back as covid is not the problem it was. Altogether we had a great stay and would recommend this property. We would certainly return.

    Reviewed by JanetMay 2022

  • "Need a new tv remote control."

    Listed as fridge/freezer but separate freezer in garage which sadly was broken, however owner did do everything to get new unit ASAP and kept our frozen goods at his house until replacement arrived. Lovely stay in a great location, would use again.

    Reviewed by GeraldineApr 2022

  • "On negative side lacked home comforts we have come to expect (even in Covid time)."

    One loo roll for whole week, one bin bag, no cushions on lounge furniture no side lights in bedroom. No instructions for tv, oven, rubbish. We had no tv for half the week and there was no freezer (or ice box) despite being mentioned in amenities. On a more positive note it was clean and warm and in a lovely area. Feel it has been wrongly assessed-it is not worth four ticks.

    The bungalow is offered in accordance with the booking agent's Covid recommendations. The owners regard the safety of their guests as paramount. When the Covid restrictions were introduced, and bedside lamps were removed, the owners had additional new LED light ceiling fittings installed throughout the bungalow. Unfortunately, the instructions for the oven and microwave are enclosed in a comprehensive folder which had to be removed from the property when restrictions were introduced. The guests reported that the television reception was intermittent on Monday. The owners assumed that the problem was due to the satellite dish. A new dish was installed the following day. This did not resolve the problem. The owner checked the internal lounge satellite cables between the Sky receiver and the television on Tuesday afternoon. The cables had been disturbed, thus causing the intermittent signal. The connections were fixed on Tuesday, The television then worked fine, as it had for the previous week's guests. The owners have supplied a new leather suite in the lounge earlier this year. When the freezer was switched on, it did not freeze. The owners ordered a new freezer the following day, and offered to pay for any frozen products the guests may have brought. A full and part toilet roll, and two bin bags were supplied, and should be sufficient for the two guests for a week's self-catering holiday. The owner apologised to the guests, both verbally and in writing. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarilynApr 2022

  • "The Owner was wery helpful promptly sorted out timing of gas central heating for us."

    Bungalow is spacious, everything you need for short stay period. Nice location short walk to the beach and village. Highly recommend.

    Pauline and I wish to thank you for making the effort to publish your feedback. It is strange that the timing of the central heating has been altered, as there is a notice asking that guests contact us if there is any concern, rather than try to solve it. The timing has been set to late evening for many years without change. We are sorry that there was a need to contact us, and pleased that your enjoyed your holiday. It's a very,special bungalow for us as it's been in our family for several decades, and we have always enjoyed staying there. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VratislavApr 2022

  • "A comfy little bungalow."

    It seemed a little bare but we were advised by the owner that this was due to Covid regulations. Great location for exploring Dorset and East Devon. A thoroughly enjoyed le stay !

    We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and presumably found time to visit our beautiful coastal and countryside features. We also thank you for your understanding that as owners, we had to comply to the Covid regulations. Unfortunately, the character of the bungalow was changed due to adherence of the Covid regulations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MichaelOct 2021

  • "Beautiful location, lovely bungalow ( just would do with a few updates) but ..."

    Beautiful location, lovely bungalow ( just would do with a few updates) but would not stop us coming again, rally enjoyed our stay

    Many thanks Carol, we have now updated some of our assets in the bungalow, adding a new leather suite, superior LED lighting, new freezer, and refreshed the decoration. Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolSep 2021

  • "The bungalow was less comfortable than expected, no lamps etc."

    It was abit bare but probably due to covid?

    We're sorry that you were disappointed Carole. As owners, we had to comply to the Covid regulations. Unfortunately, the character of the bungalow suffers as a result. We were meticulous with our Covid regime. We aired the property during the changeover. We replaced all of the crockery, cutlery, kitchen utensils, glasses, drinking mugs, cloths etc at every changeover. Our discipline was focused to ensure that the bungalow was sanitised throughout, and safe for our guests. We considered it vital to protect our guests from contracting Covid during your stay, and delighted to report that none of our guests had Covid whilst staying in our bungalow.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CaroleSep 2021

  • "Hill View was everything we expected we will be back."

    Reviewed by ColinMay 2021

  • "The bungalow is perfect for exploring the Jurassic Coast - it is comfortable and very dog friendly."

    This was our second visit and we weren't disappointed.

    Reviewed by JaneMay 2021

  • "Great location and tidy self contained little pad"

    Reviewed by EdwardApr 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Hillview Cottage."

    We received a helpful covid briefing call beforehand from the owner Peter. The owners live in the village and are readily on hand to deal with any query. The bungalow was well kept, clean and comfortable - and just a 2/3 minute walk from the beach, perfect! The village pubs the Anchor and Three Horseshoes, and the New Inn in the next village were all well worth our visits pre-lockdown.

    Reviewed by MatthewOct 2020

  • "Owner was given incorrect arrival date so did not make contact beforehand."

    No welcome information etc with local recommendations as this was removed due to COVID and this was missed. As there was a small issue with a radiator we rang so were able to meet him. I appreciate there are COVID restrictions but this felt a bit too much. The removal of DVDs, table lamps (especially in the bedroom) etc also seems excessive and makes it all a bit sterile and less homely. Setting that aside we had a lovely few days at Hillview. The bungalow was spotlessly clean, is in a great location and we were very comfortable there and would happily return.

    Reviewed by SheilaOct 2020

  • "We had a great week at Hillview."

    The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was good. It is a very good base for exploring the Jurassic Coast although with Hive Beach and West Bay so close there is no need to travel too far! A good little find. We will be back.

    Reviewed by SallySep 2020

  • "A spacious bungalow which allowed us to have a relaxing break in spite of Covid-19."

    We were confident that everything possible had been done to ensure that the bungalow was cleaned to a very high standard. It was relaxing to be so close to the beach and some beautiful walks. It was a plus to have a sunny garden to relax in after our walks.

    Reviewed by AnnSep 2020

  • "Such a comfortable and well positioned bungalow."

    We had a lovely week and would definitely rebook - quite a gem. It may not look quaint but we certainly relaxed and felt quite a home and very dog friendly. Thank you Peter and Pauline.

    Reviewed by JaneAug 2020

  • "It was a little gem , we had a lovely time"

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2020

  • "We usually are very open minded when it comes to holiday cottages and what to expect."

    Particularly as we take our dogs and expect the property to be dog friendly which comes hand in hand with not being the high end spec you would get from none pet friendly. However, this property in reality looks very tired and in need of a clean as well as decorating. The skirting boards, kitchen cupboards, and generally all around were dirty with old dirt. Damp/mould in the bedroom and around each of the windows in the bathroom and toilet. The garden was also really not well maintained and the property form the kerb looked run down compared to the rest of the properties. The freezer situated in the garage (which has no garage door on it) was mouldy both inside and out. The light socket in the garage was loose and you could see the wires. Now, this does all sound terrible and for some people it would be. We still enjoyed our stay as we don't put these issues high on our list of priorities but it is worth highlighting them so that the owners are aware and the future customers can make an informed decision on whether to book this property

    Reviewed by JasonNov 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in an absolutely fantastic location."

    Hive Beach Cafe is a must just for the fish & chips, quite expensive but worth it! The two Pubs both serve excellent food though we found The Anchor was less expensive and had no problem in booking a table, yes you have to book a table in advance. Hillview Bungalow is in a lovely location and is quite spacious. The sofas could do with updating as I found them rather uncomfortable and a bit worn. Upon arrival, I was disappointed to note that there was no milk, not even UHT, and that mean't I had to wait for my shopping delivery to arrive before having a cup of tea, there was inadequate toilet roll provided even just for the first night, so again I was glad that I had ordered some extra with my shopping. Also there were no dishcloths, however I did leave the ones we bought so someone else can use them. So if you are going to Hillview, I would recommend that you take these kinds of provisions with you. The garden says it is enclosed and for the most part it it, however there is a gap under the side gate that my small dogs could get through, so please bear that in mind, we put the main bins by the gate so our dogs could not get out. All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend Hillview and would not hesitate in staying there again if I was in the area, these are just some minor niggles that could cheaply and easily be rectified.

    Reviewed by SallyJun 2019

  • "Hillview bungalow was in a lovely position with short walk to beach."

    Would recommend hillview at burton bradstock be nice to come back again.

    Reviewed by GeorgeMay 2019

  • "Was very happy with our stay lovely bungalow was great to find somewhere that would take all 3 dogs and was so close to the dog friendly beach and great coastal walks, the only thing that could be improved was the toilet may need a new flush as was a bit loose and a new dvd remote as it did not work, only used freezer in garage for ice pack could do with a clean but worked well."

    All in all was a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by AnitaMay 2019

  • "Fantastic location, so close to everything."

    Everywhere is so dog friendly. Hive Beach so close for the morning walk, and West Bay, Bridport, Weymouth and Lyme Regis, just a joy to visit

    Reviewed by RobertApr 2019

  • "I stayed with the owner not with your company."

    I just wanted to say how fantastic the setting is, how comfortable the beds are, how great the cottage and garden is and that it is perfect for walking around the area for all ages and dog owners alike ! We had a lovely few days in October and would love to repeat our visit again very soon. Stayed August 2017, Feedback from guests of owner.

    OwnerOct 2017

  • "Perfect location for us with lots of dog walks directly from the Bungalow, and the beach just at the bottom of the road."

    Bridport has all the shops and amenities with Lyme Regis offering the quaint Dorset village atmosphere and a must do Fossil walk from the museum – Stayed July 2017.

    Miss Nicola JamesAug 2017

  • "Basic clean bungalow, fantastic location, no need for a car and great for dogs would definitely book again and recommend!"

    Stayed April 2017

    Miss Sarah-Jane JacobsMay 2017

  • "The property is very spacious & well presented with a fully secure rear garden."

    It is in an ideal location, near the beach and we had a great holiday here with our dog. Stayed April 2017

    Miss SheppardApr 2017

  • "Very nice and clean good size - stayed October 2016"

    Mrs Penny FrickerOct 2016

  • "We found the property to be a large and comfortable bungalow situated in a quite close within 500m's of the coast."

    (This stretch of coast is managed by The National Trust). The beds were large and very comfortable as was the other furniture that was large and easy enough to cater for six. All in all Wendy, Jesse the dog and I enjoyed our holiday stay in Hillview Bungalow. Stayed June 2016

    Mr WaltonJul 2016

  • "Very comfortable property in a fantastic location."

    Stayed Dec/Jan 2015

    Ms Patricia LawrenceJan 2016

  • "Another lovely holiday."

    Stayed September/October 2015

    Mrs Linda SmithOct 2015

  • "Polite friendly efficient and Helpful"

    Mrs HeywoodJul 2015

  • "Another comfortable stay at Hillview Bungalow"

    Mrs Linda SmithDec 2014

Show more

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Large entrance hall
  • Large sitting/dining room
  • 1x 5ft kingsize double bed and 1x single bed
  • 2x twin single beds, Kitchen
  • Bathroom with bath and with shower over, hand basin
  • Separate WC.
  • Gas central heating, microwave, Gas hob, Oven, Fridge, Freezer (in garage), washing machine
  • Gas coal effect fire in sitting room
  • DVD player, Wi-Fi, Satellite free to view channels
  • Fuel and Power inc.in rent
  • Bed linen inc.in rent
  • Towels are not provided
  • Cot
  • Off road parking for three cars on a sloped driveway
  • Front garden and enclosed rear south facing lawned garden
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Welcomes 3 well behaved dogs (dogs are not allowed on furniture or into bedrooms)

The property

Hillview is a comfortably furnished detached bungalow located at the end of a quiet cul de sac of Burton Bradstock. The large sitting and dining room offers a great surrounding for all to be together.

The kitchen is bright and spacious, ideal for cooking a tasty meal for all.

The master bedroom is perfect for a couple and a young child as offering a double and a single bed which shows off views across the rolling hills of Dorset.

Twin room is comfortable and bathroom with separate WC. The enclosed rear south facing garden is lawned perfect for the four-legged family friends to run around and take in the sea air.

Located within a short walk of Hive beach, part of the Jurassic coastline, recognised for fossil hunting and The Hive Beach Cafe serving local delicacies.

The energetic person has a chance to walk into the village of Burton Bradstock where you may shop for everyday needs at the local post office, village store and garage.

A short drive to West Bay is worth a visit to enjoy extensive menus at a choice of restaurants, including fish and chips from the local pop up beach huts.

Alternatively stroll along the picturesque village lanes and view quaint cottages, river walks and find the wildlife of Dorset.

The market town of Bridport is a 10-minute car ride, with a supermarket, high street shops and restaurants offering further choice for your holiday needs.

An invigorating ramble across the cliff or inland will put the colour back into your cheeks.

Or for the keen golfers, the Bridport and West Dorset golf course is only 5 minutes away by car.

Hill View is an ideal location for families, walkers and ramblers alike.

View on map

About the location

BURTON BRADSTOCK

Bridport 2.5 miles; Weymouth 15 miles; Dorchester 16 miles; Yeovil 21 miles

A wonderful coastal village in Bride Valley on Dorset's picturesque Jurassic Coast, flanked by the River Bride. Burton Bradstock is the perfect spot for a peaceful break on England's south coast, with the South West Coastal Path running alongside for you walking enthusiasts. The village itself boasts 16th and 17th century thatched cottages as well as two pubs, a shop and a Post Office, the glistening Hive Beach is a wonderful spot to spend the summer days with the magnificent cliffs as a backdrop, there is also a lovely café to sit and relax in, once a year the Spring Tide Festival is held which would be worth lining up your holiday with! There are many attractions and activities to enjoy around here, with the stunning coastal resort of Weymouth making for an excellent day out. Alternatively, head inland to Dorchester and Yeovil for great shopping, architecture, eating and drinking.

View more holiday cottages in Burton Bradstock

Region Information

Note: The Owner respectfully explains that electric cars cannot be charged from the domestic supply of this property. There are authorised fast charging facilities available in the local area.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas