Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Hillview Bungalow - Dorset - 994260 - photo 1
close

Hillview Bungalow

(Ref. 994260)

Burton Bradstock, Dorset Show on map

4.0

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • bungalow (34)
  • lovely (25)
  • location (25)
  • stay (24)
  • our (23)
  • bed (23)

63 Customer Reviews

  • "My wife and I stayed at Hiilview Bungalow some eleven years ago and compared to that visit we were very disappointed."

    We recently found Hillview a very bare place with lots of empty cupboards and no ornaments to make the bungalow feel more like a home. To be a little more specific about some of the more negative points relating to our visit, in no particular order: The bell push at the side of the front door had been removed which left two bare wires sticking out. We found the the television most difficult to operate. No manual containing useful information on the bungalow was available. The toilet seat needed fixing and moved every time it was sat on. The radiator in the toilet needed a good clean. The oven needed a good clean. More than one curtain was hanging down at it's end where it had come off the track. On the plus side, when I contacted the owner about the television he did come to the bungalow to fix it very quickly. He also brought a folder with him containing useful information about the bungalow. Hive Close is a pleasant cul-de-sac which is nicely located close to Hive Beach.

    Reviewed by Malcolm2.2Jun 2024

  • "Very enjoyable stay at Hillview Bungalow."

    Had a small issue when we arrived but it was very quickly rectified. Could do with a small information pack with contact numbers for Doctors etc. And also info on bin day collections. Would not hesitate to book again.

    Reviewed by Linda3.8May 2024

  • "It was very disappointing that there was no information folder, meaning we had to contact the number provided to gain information relevant to a) the WIFI password and then b) access to garage and location of freezer."

    There were no instruction manuals for any other appliances including the Freesat TV and the gas fire. We had no idea regarding refuse and recycling collections days consequently the refuse bin was already nearly full on arrival and even fuller when we left. Cleaning materials were not provided e.g for mopping the floor etc The rotary line was not in situ Garden furniture was not out for use. The bungalow smelled very musty A welcome pack of milk etc would have been appreciated. No information provided re where to leave used bedlinen Scarcity of electrical sockets to allow use of bedside lamps..providing an extension lead in the double bedded room was hardly appropriate. Photos need to be updated as the lounge area furniture was not as shown. Overall this is very basic accommodation The side gate needs to be more secure to prevent dogs escaping

    Reviewed by Ann2.8May 2024

  • "We were pleased with the bungalow and it's facilities."

    It had every we needed. Holiday cottages used to provide an information folder about the property and it's nearby facilities. This would have been useful. The garden was ideal for the dog and we were pleased that the bungalow was very short walk from the lovely beach. Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Apr 2024

  • "The location of the property is excellent with the Hive Beach, Hive Restaurant and plenty of dog walking areas literally 5 minutes walk away."

    The enclosed south facing garden, with outdoor furniture available, when the sun does shine, is good. Sadly the property is very tired and dated and could do with refurbishment. As another reviewer commented there is no information pack giving any details ie suggested pubs, local attractions and emergency info such as doctors, dentists, vets etc.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth3.1Apr 2024

  • "This was a return visit for us and the owners have been busy over the winter addressing many of the points made by others in the past."

    New windows and doors , new worktop and splashback in the kitchen,a new blind in the bathroom and a new free sat box - but no dvd player now and the toilet seat still doesn’t stay up for the gents! It is a lovely bungalow just minutes from the beach and somewhere we hope to return to again.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Mar 2024

  • "Loved the bungalow."

    Only negatives bedroom curtains let a lot of light in and couldn’t find any accommodation information file.

    Reviewed by Keith4.4Mar 2024

  • "The Bungalow was very light and bright with lovely big windows we really ..."

    The Bungalow was very light and bright with lovely big windows we really enjoyed our stay and when we had a small problem with the central heating the owner came round straight away and sorted it for us The bungalow is only a short walk from the beach and we enjoyed walking there in the morning to get a coffee from the cafe by the beach We would definately stay there again

    Reviewed by Lorna5.0Nov 2023

  • "This is our 3rd stay at Hillview bungalow, the location is great as a base for the amazing walks that are close by ."

    It would nice if the owner took on board some of the comments from previous guests about various items ie bedroom door latch broken and chance of getting stuck in bedroom , toilet seat broken, kitchen tap nozzle gaffer taped up in the very tired kitchen, tv has banner across over half the screen on bbc channels, mould everywhere in very tired and outdated bathroom , drain in bath blocked leads to standing in water while showering, broken triangular mop with round mop bucket , not sure how that works? . It would be useful to know when the bin collation is because when we arrived there was black bin bags in drive because previous tenant didn’t put bins out , There is still a lack of items in property , books , games, dvds despite being out of covid restrictions for 2 years, no welcome pack , poor cleaning throughout , we have dogs so not expecting spotless but come on

    We thank you for your comprehensive feedback. We are sorry that you had to contend with the Cillian storm for several days during your stay,; the weather was most inclement especially for the South Coast! Thank you for choosing our bungalow several times for your holiday. We're sorry that you consider it is unsatisfactory this time To avoid any confusion, the bedroom door latch is not broken but we will check these tomorrow. The presence of the tv banner is produced by the BBC who have decided to terminate their standard definition (SD) service in favour of transmitting a HD service, which necessites exchanging the satelittle receiver. The banner is only displayed on the BBC 1 channel Unfortunately, having contacted HD Satelitte Upgrade, it is not possible to delete this message. The majority of our guests prefer the oak kitchen, but we accept that not everyone has the same expectations. The kitchen tap was emitting a miniscule spray. We are awaiting our plumber to exchange the tap, and in the meantime, undertook a temporary fix. We are not aware that the drain in the bath is blocked and are sorry for any inconvenience. Having checked, the mop is not broken. It is a Vileda spring mop and bucket, bought as a pair. The round mop bucket is used to spinand flush the mop. Vileda is a popular and quality brand and an efficient approach to keep the tiled floors clean. As mentioned in our response to the previous reviews, we are not allowed to offer DVDs. With regard to Covid restrictions, we take out guidance from thre booking agency. We are very surprised that our guests report that there is "poor cleaning throughout". I inspected the property just before our guests arrived. The customer is always right, of course. We will discuss this with our cleaner. I usually place the appropriate refuse/recycling bin ready for collection. I removed the black refuse bag after you left. Finally I met both of our guests at the bungalow on the fourth day of their stay. It's unfortunatre that they didn't mention any of these concerns directly to me during my visit, which would have been very helpful. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith2.5Nov 2023

  • "Location is fabulous, and the house, light, bright and airy, but empty, tired and dated."

    There are empty shelves and furniture in the living room. It has a DVD player however not a single DVD, puzzle, book, game or magazine, very unusual. Misleading info about 'separate' toilet. Be aware ... There is only 1 and it's separate from the 'family' bathroom. Again misleading use of words because they state not suitable for children. This then begs why they provide twin beds that are child sized with childrens single duvets, these were not suitable for adults. It also only had 1 toilet roll which was for 4 people for a week! Nobody expects an endless supply but 1 ?!! The tv was not working the first night and was not sorted until following day, regardless of the 'this has happened before' comment. We had to mention the bedroom door handles due to them clicking and not being able to get out a couple of times! There was mould on the bathroom ceiling and blind. The house is advertised as an enclosed garden. We had to block a gap under the gate as our dogs would have gone underneath a d out onto the deuve amd consequently the road. We stay in many cottages throughout the year and have been doing this for a number of years. This is is the first one we have booked where it was not as described or up to a standard that we would consider accepctable.

    We always appreciate guests taking time to review our bungalow. To avoid any ambiguity, we thought it prudent to reply to this review. Single beds in second bedroom. These are standard 3 foot single beds, equiped with standard bed linen. To describe them as child-sized is misleading. Although our bungalow has been a holday-let for over30 years, this has never been a cause of complaint. The guests did not mention this when we visited. Television -The guests advised us on Saturday evening. Unfortunately, we were both approximatelty 50 miles from Burton Bradstock, visiting our daughter and family. We endeavoured to resolve this issue remotely but were unable to do so. Early on Sunday morning, we contacted the guests to ask if we could check the television. They agreed and we arrived shortly after. We discovered that one of the interconnecting cable connectors for the tv, satelitte receiver and DVD was loose. This resolved the problem. The feedback at the time from the guests explained it had not been a problem for the previous evening. Our booking agents instructed us to remove the DVDs as we did not have a licence for guests to view these. Unfortunately occasionally some of our guests choose to use the television system for purposes (games etc) other than viewing the television, but fail to replace the cables correctly before they leave. Door Handles During our vist on Sunday morning, we demonstrated that the door handles worked if pressed down. Enclosed Garden The back garden is enclosed and suitable for most dogs. There is a small gap under the gate, as the garden path has a slight incline. These guests had several small dogs.Mould The bathroom is painted with mould-resistant paint, as guests don't always ventilated the bathroom. Following this feedback, we will remove any trace of mould. Toilet -We fail to see how this is misleading. There is one toilet which is seperate from the bathroom. Books etc There have been puzzles in the bungalow. There are books, an information file and a local magazine for our guests to read. We are disappointed that our guests didn't share their cocerns when we visited, They thanked us for the wine and the key tab enabling them to receive preferential rates at the local cafe. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith1.6Oct 2023

  • "Lovely to see that cushions and bedside lights have now been reinstated post covid."

    It is a lovely bungalow with comfy beds and furniture only a 5 minute walk to the beach. The dvd player we couldn’t get to play and the sky free view needs upgrading to HD as BBC has a banner across half the screen the whole time warning you to upgrade! The kitchen could do with a baking tray but otherwise well stocked

    Reviewed by Sharon3.8Oct 2023

  • "Another lovely stay at this comfortable spacious bungalow."

    All you need is there. Well fenced garden good for a dog. It’s definitely a plus as so near the sea. 5 minute walk.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Sep 2023

  • "A lovely property convenient for the beach."

    Just a couple of things - the front steps are quite steep so a grab rail along entrance wall would be a good idea. Also a bag of garden waste was left at front end of drive which a bit in the way reversing in. Not enough coat hangers in wardrobes - one of which was broken

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Aug 2023

  • "It is a shame that the photos of the property are quite old."

    They include the bedside lamps, the cushions and the books. The sooner Sykes give the owners permission to put these back the better. It would feel more like a how from home. The owner was very helpful and said he would tighten the toilet seat. If the owners do not know of any problems they cannot put them right.

    Reviewed by Elaine2.8Jul 2023

  • "We have stayed in Hillview before and in some aspects it was improved but in others not so."

    The gate to the driveway was blocked at the bottom with wood and bricks to I assume stop dogs escaping so made this unusable. Inside the property was fairly clean but basic. The property felt empty and echoed such is the lack of any home comforts. Previously there has been games and books available but there were none. As others have mentioned there are no bedside lamps which having stayed at other Sykes properties this year is not due to Covid restrictions as has been mentioned. A cafetière would be useful. The garden was secure but no chairs to sit on and was pleasant. There was no welcome pack which is unusual. For the amount charged it offered only the bare bones of what is needed. The location is great and your own parking a bonus.

    Reviewed by Carol3.4Jul 2023

  • "Excellent location, spacious property, a little tricky for reduced mobility individuals, rear entrance more suitable than front entrance."

    Needs a little bit of TLC inside along with a new teapot

    Reviewed by Sandra3.8Jul 2023

  • "Very conveniently located bungalow - good size and nice secure garden."

    Reviewed by Alan4.7Jun 2023

  • "Had a great stay in hillview we have already booked for next year"

    Reviewed by Colin4.1Jun 2023

  • "Location is great , I would suggest more large coat hangers for main bedroom wardrobe ."

    The rest was ok like last year .

    Reviewed by Rachel4.1May 2023

  • "Kitchen and bathroom need an update as looking tiered."

    Toilet seat loose. Sitting room and garden are lovely. Bedrooms are good Really needs bedside lamps. Excellent area. Enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Linda3.8May 2023

  • "Great location, clean, comfortable, well equipped."

    We took bedside lights, throw Blankets and cushions for extra comfort. Friendly host who was contactable.in arrival to answer a few questions re WiFi and TV. Would stay again

    Reviewed by Kathryn4.7Apr 2023

  • "Second visit to Hillview bungalow and as before the bungalow was lovely and clean BUT this time unfortunately some previous occupants had left the crockery, pans cutlery and glasses covered in dried on food and grease."

    Anything thing we used had to be washed before we could use it. However this didn’t stop us having a lovely week and even the weather wasn’t too bad.

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Mar 2023

  • "Still no bedside lamps!"

    So bring torch/lamp. And they don't provide any little extras (salt, pepper, tea, coffee etc) . However, great location and set up for dogs. Just a 5-10 minute walk to the beach. Garden is secure. I would recommend to dog owners, but not to non dog owners. It wasn't as clean as you would expect, still some dog hair leftover from previous visitors (so fine if you also have dogs, but not otherwise). WiFi started off ok but dropped out after a couple of days due to stormy weather. I'm sure had we contacted the owner she would have come and fixed this. Bathroom has mould on the edges and on the blind annd the toilet lid is coming off. It was wonderfully warm though, nice hot bath, and an electric fire for cosy evenings.

    Reviewed by Doreen3.4Nov 2022

  • "Lovely location, lovely bungalow"

    Hello Suzy, short and sweet, thank you very much, we really appreciate your feedback. I wonder if you realise how pleasant it is for us, as owners, to learn that our guests have enjoyed their holiday. Before we moved to the village, we enjoyed many holidays in the bungalow over the decades, it truly is a very beautiful location, with lots of facilities in the immediate area and other attractions close by. Thank you for taking the trouble to feedback your sentiments, we really appreciate it. We hope to welcome you again some time. We live in the centre of the village and have other holiday lets which may be of interest. Thank you vey much indeed, we hope that you will enjoy your future holidays, wherever you may roam. Best Wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Suzy5.0Oct 2022

  • "Bungalow lovely in a great location and we had a good week But: - no freezer as described in listing - no bedside lights - DVD player wouldn’t play - no instructions or welcome book - key box really fiddly to open!"

    Pauline and I are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. Before we moved to the village, we enjoyed many holidays in the bungalow over the decades, it truly is a very beautiful location, with lots of facilities in the immediate area and other attractions close by. Thank you for taking the trouble to provide constructive feedback to us, as the owners. There is a new large freezer which is located in the garage, which offers our guests plenty of freezer space. Each year we upgrade the bungalow to support the bungalow's choice as a holiday destination. In the last year, we have installed a new three piece leather suite, a new freezer and converted all of the lighting throughout the bungalow to LED, hoping that it would be beneficial to our guests. Your feedback should help our future guests For information, we have still not received any confirmation from the agent that we can return the bedside lamps, puzzles, books, artefacts etc to the bungalow - we're sorry. We have purchased a table and six chairs for the garden, which will be available for guests arriving in 2023. Best Wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.1Oct 2022

  • "The bungalow smelt of curry, it only wore off by the end of the week."

    The fridge had no freezer compartment and as we have itself cater for dietary reasons this wasted the frozen food I bought down. There was no information folder provided or instruction booklets ( the microwave said do not use without reading it) didn’t know when to put the bins out etc. the bedding was clean but stained with what looked like blood. The roof had a coping tile off and what looks like the start of damp patch on ceiling in the lounge. The smoke alarm went off randomly on one occasion. No cushions and no bedside lamps. On the plus side the location was excellent.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline1.9Sep 2022

  • "This is a great little property not far from the beach."

    I would have given it full marks but as in other reviews the owners have not put things such as bedside lamps back in due to COVID. The beach near the property does allow dogs. They are not allowed on the area directly in front of the car parks but from about 50 meters each way beyond this they are allowed. The beach is made up of very small stones not sand so it is difficult to make sandcastles but there are plenty of fossils available on the beach if you go looking for them. We found a great example ammonite. The property is well furnished with comfortable beds. The rear garden is enclosed well and was secure for our dog. The back garden was not overlooked by any neighbours due to it being all bungalows round there.

    It appears that you enjoyed your holiday, for which we're very pleased.. Thank you for taking the trouble to provide useful details of the beach, coupled with constructive feedback to us. Each year we upgrade the bungalow to support its choice as a holiday location. The surface of the beach changes throughout the year, dependent on the weather and tides. There is often a covering of sand. Alternatively, the beach at Weymouth is superb for sandcastles. Hopefully your feedback will help our future guests It seems that your time collecting fossils was well spent. For information, we have still not received any confirmation from the agent that we can return the bedside lamps, puzzles, books, artefacts etc to the bungalow - we're sorry. Last year, we replaced all of the lighting throughout the bungalow with LED fittings, hoping that it would be beneficial to our guests. We have purchased a table and six chairs for the garden, which will be available for guests arriving in 2023 . Best Wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola Jayne4.7Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Hillview bungalow."

    The location is perfect for walking to Hive beach and only a short walk to the local park and nearest pubs. The bungalow had all of the basics but we felt it was lacking in some essentials such as pegs for the washing line (we have left the ones we purchased for other visitors to use) and after reading the other reviews, we took our own lamps for the children's bedroom. Overall we had a lovely stay and would happily return.

    Pauline and I are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you for taking the trouble to provide constructive feedback to us. Hopefully your feedback will help our future guests It's pleasing to note that you read the reviews beforehand, and responded accordingly. We accept your comment regarding the bedside lights but we have still not received any confirmation from the agent that we can return the bedside lamps, puzzles, books, artefacts etc to the bungalow - we're sorry. Last year, we replaced all of the lighting throughout the bungalow with LED fittings, hoping that it would be beneficial to our guests. During the spell of Covid 19, we hoped that our guests could read when the bedside lights had to be removed. We have purchased a table and six chairs for the garden, which will be available for guests arriving in 2023 . Best Wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley3.4Jul 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay, The house is near the beach and some lovely walks and some lovely pubs ( I advise booking )."

    There are a few things that for us would have made the holiday more comfortable such as black out blinds on the windows as the sun comes through crack of dawn waking people up and some bedside lamps ( I understand about Covid but I’m sure they could be put back in now ) the lights in the main bedroom are too bright to have a relaxing read before bed. An outside table would also have been appreciated to enjoy a meal in the garden . Hope the feedback helps to make it even better for others. Lots of positives about this house and we would definitely return. Many thanks Gail

    Hello Gail, and hopefully your feedback will help our future guests. Pauline and I are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. Last year, we replaced all of the lighting throughout the bungalow with LED fittings, hoping that it would be beneficial to our guests. We're sorry that it's too bright for you.. During the spell of Covid 19, we hoped that our guests could read when the bedside lights had to be removed. Thank you for taking the trouble to provide constructive feedback to us, as the owners. We have purchased a table and six chairs for the garden, which will be available for guests arriving in 2023 . We accept your comment regarding the bedside lights but we have still not received any confirmation from the agent that we can return the bedside lamps, puzzles, books, artefacts etc to the bungalow - we're sorry. Before we moved to the village, we enjoyed many holidays in the bungalow over the decades, it truly is a very beautiful location, with lots of facilities in the immediate area and other attractions close by. Best Wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gail4.1Jul 2022

  • "Hillview bungalow is in a wonderful quiet place in the village of Burton Bradstock, only 5 minutes walk to the famous Hive Beach and a 10 minute walk into the village."

    Hillview has everything anyone could need for a self catering holiday and has loads of space for 4 adults, 2 dogs and an infant. It would have been nice if the freezer could be sited in the kitchen instead of in the garage and a dishwasher would have been useful too. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hillview and would have no hesitation in booking this property again.

    Pauline and I are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday. Before we moved to the village, we enjoyed many holidays in the bungalow over the decades, it truly is a very beautiful location, with lots of facilities in the immediate area and other attractions close by. Thank you for taking the trouble to provide constructive feedback to us, as the owners. We agree, it would be better to have the freezer located in the kitchen, This would only be possible with a small freezer, rather than the large freezer in the garage, which offers our guests plenty of freezer space. We have also had the debate with the booking agent - washing machine versus dishwasher, as we thought the dishwasher would be better. Alas, the agent disagreed. Best Wishes Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Jun 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Hillview…it is a little basic compared to some of the places we stayed in the past but was a lovely base for visiting the area."

    Very peaceful and close to some nice walks and if you wish drives.We would have liked a bit more information as to how things worked in the property and when and how to put the rubbish out etc. so we had to rely a lot on pot luck and observation with the neighbours .We understand COVID issues in the past may have been a reason to remove these items but as things are easing perhaps these could be reinstated.Hillview however was very comfortable and ideal for our needs so should we visit the area again we would be happy to stay here and recommend.

    Reviewed by Mark4.4Jun 2022

  • "A great place to stay this was our 2nd visit and have already booked for next year Thank-you Colin n caroline"

    Reviewed by Colin4.7May 2022

  • "We had a very pleasant stay."

    The bungalow is very roomy. The bedroom we used is big and has a comfortable bed. The sitting room has lovely comfortable settee and armchairs. The back garden is enclosed which was exactly what we wanted for our small dog. There were no bedside lamps which we found difficult. I understand Sykes asked the owners to remove them because of covid. They were also no instructions at all for tv, refuse bins, etc as owners had been instructed to remove any paperwork. I think all these instructions should now be changed back as covid is not the problem it was. Altogether we had a great stay and would recommend this property. We would certainly return.

    Reviewed by Janet4.7May 2022

  • "Need a new tv remote control."

    Listed as fridge/freezer but separate freezer in garage which sadly was broken, however owner did do everything to get new unit ASAP and kept our frozen goods at his house until replacement arrived. Lovely stay in a great location, would use again.

    Reviewed by Geraldine4.4Apr 2022

  • "On negative side lacked home comforts we have come to expect (even in Covid time)."

    One loo roll for whole week, one bin bag, no cushions on lounge furniture no side lights in bedroom. No instructions for tv, oven, rubbish. We had no tv for half the week and there was no freezer (or ice box) despite being mentioned in amenities. On a more positive note it was clean and warm and in a lovely area. Feel it has been wrongly assessed-it is not worth four ticks.

    The bungalow is offered in accordance with the booking agent's Covid recommendations. The owners regard the safety of their guests as paramount. When the Covid restrictions were introduced, and bedside lamps were removed, the owners had additional new LED light ceiling fittings installed throughout the bungalow. Unfortunately, the instructions for the oven and microwave are enclosed in a comprehensive folder which had to be removed from the property when restrictions were introduced. The guests reported that the television reception was intermittent on Monday. The owners assumed that the problem was due to the satellite dish. A new dish was installed the following day. This did not resolve the problem. The owner checked the internal lounge satellite cables between the Sky receiver and the television on Tuesday afternoon. The cables had been disturbed, thus causing the intermittent signal. The connections were fixed on Tuesday, The television then worked fine, as it had for the previous week's guests. The owners have supplied a new leather suite in the lounge earlier this year. When the freezer was switched on, it did not freeze. The owners ordered a new freezer the following day, and offered to pay for any frozen products the guests may have brought. A full and part toilet roll, and two bin bags were supplied, and should be sufficient for the two guests for a week's self-catering holiday. The owner apologised to the guests, both verbally and in writing. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marilyn2.5Apr 2022

  • "The Owner was wery helpful promptly sorted out timing of gas central heating for us."

    Bungalow is spacious, everything you need for short stay period. Nice location short walk to the beach and village. Highly recommend.

    Pauline and I wish to thank you for making the effort to publish your feedback. It is strange that the timing of the central heating has been altered, as there is a notice asking that guests contact us if there is any concern, rather than try to solve it. The timing has been set to late evening for many years without change. We are sorry that there was a need to contact us, and pleased that your enjoyed your holiday. It's a very,special bungalow for us as it's been in our family for several decades, and we have always enjoyed staying there. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vratislav4.7Apr 2022

  • "A comfy little bungalow."

    It seemed a little bare but we were advised by the owner that this was due to Covid regulations. Great location for exploring Dorset and East Devon. A thoroughly enjoyed le stay !

    We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and presumably found time to visit our beautiful coastal and countryside features. We also thank you for your understanding that as owners, we had to comply to the Covid regulations. Unfortunately, the character of the bungalow was changed due to adherence of the Covid regulations. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful location, lovely bungalow ( just would do with a few updates) but ..."

    Beautiful location, lovely bungalow ( just would do with a few updates) but would not stop us coming again, rally enjoyed our stay

    Many thanks Carol, we have now updated some of our assets in the bungalow, adding a new leather suite, superior LED lighting, new freezer, and refreshed the decoration. Thanks for your feedback, much appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Sep 2021

  • "The bungalow was less comfortable than expected, no lamps etc."

    It was abit bare but probably due to covid?

    We're sorry that you were disappointed Carole. As owners, we had to comply to the Covid regulations. Unfortunately, the character of the bungalow suffers as a result. We were meticulous with our Covid regime. We aired the property during the changeover. We replaced all of the crockery, cutlery, kitchen utensils, glasses, drinking mugs, cloths etc at every changeover. Our discipline was focused to ensure that the bungalow was sanitised throughout, and safe for our guests. We considered it vital to protect our guests from contracting Covid during your stay, and delighted to report that none of our guests had Covid whilst staying in our bungalow.. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carole3.8Sep 2021

  • "Hill View was everything we expected we will be back."

    Reviewed by Colin3.8May 2021

  • "The bungalow is perfect for exploring the Jurassic Coast - it is comfortable and very dog friendly."

    This was our second visit and we weren't disappointed.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0May 2021

  • "Great location and tidy self contained little pad"

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Apr 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Hillview Cottage."

    We received a helpful covid briefing call beforehand from the owner Peter. The owners live in the village and are readily on hand to deal with any query. The bungalow was well kept, clean and comfortable - and just a 2/3 minute walk from the beach, perfect! The village pubs the Anchor and Three Horseshoes, and the New Inn in the next village were all well worth our visits pre-lockdown.

    Reviewed by Matthew4.4Oct 2020

  • "Owner was given incorrect arrival date so did not make contact beforehand."

    No welcome information etc with local recommendations as this was removed due to COVID and this was missed. As there was a small issue with a radiator we rang so were able to meet him. I appreciate there are COVID restrictions but this felt a bit too much. The removal of DVDs, table lamps (especially in the bedroom) etc also seems excessive and makes it all a bit sterile and less homely. Setting that aside we had a lovely few days at Hillview. The bungalow was spotlessly clean, is in a great location and we were very comfortable there and would happily return.

    Reviewed by Sheila4.4Oct 2020

  • "We had a great week at Hillview."

    The beds were very comfortable and the bedding was good. It is a very good base for exploring the Jurassic Coast although with Hive Beach and West Bay so close there is no need to travel too far! A good little find. We will be back.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2020

  • "A spacious bungalow which allowed us to have a relaxing break in spite of Covid-19."

    We were confident that everything possible had been done to ensure that the bungalow was cleaned to a very high standard. It was relaxing to be so close to the beach and some beautiful walks. It was a plus to have a sunny garden to relax in after our walks.

    Reviewed by Ann4.4Sep 2020

  • "Such a comfortable and well positioned bungalow."

    We had a lovely week and would definitely rebook - quite a gem. It may not look quaint but we certainly relaxed and felt quite a home and very dog friendly. Thank you Peter and Pauline.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Aug 2020

  • "It was a little gem , we had a lovely time"

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Aug 2020

  • "We usually are very open minded when it comes to holiday cottages and what to expect."

    Particularly as we take our dogs and expect the property to be dog friendly which comes hand in hand with not being the high end spec you would get from none pet friendly. However, this property in reality looks very tired and in need of a clean as well as decorating. The skirting boards, kitchen cupboards, and generally all around were dirty with old dirt. Damp/mould in the bedroom and around each of the windows in the bathroom and toilet. The garden was also really not well maintained and the property form the kerb looked run down compared to the rest of the properties. The freezer situated in the garage (which has no garage door on it) was mouldy both inside and out. The light socket in the garage was loose and you could see the wires. Now, this does all sound terrible and for some people it would be. We still enjoyed our stay as we don't put these issues high on our list of priorities but it is worth highlighting them so that the owners are aware and the future customers can make an informed decision on whether to book this property

    Reviewed by Jason1.6Nov 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in an absolutely fantastic location."

    Hive Beach Cafe is a must just for the fish & chips, quite expensive but worth it! The two Pubs both serve excellent food though we found The Anchor was less expensive and had no problem in booking a table, yes you have to book a table in advance. Hillview Bungalow is in a lovely location and is quite spacious. The sofas could do with updating as I found them rather uncomfortable and a bit worn. Upon arrival, I was disappointed to note that there was no milk, not even UHT, and that mean't I had to wait for my shopping delivery to arrive before having a cup of tea, there was inadequate toilet roll provided even just for the first night, so again I was glad that I had ordered some extra with my shopping. Also there were no dishcloths, however I did leave the ones we bought so someone else can use them. So if you are going to Hillview, I would recommend that you take these kinds of provisions with you. The garden says it is enclosed and for the most part it it, however there is a gap under the side gate that my small dogs could get through, so please bear that in mind, we put the main bins by the gate so our dogs could not get out. All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend Hillview and would not hesitate in staying there again if I was in the area, these are just some minor niggles that could cheaply and easily be rectified.

    Reviewed by Sally3.4Jun 2019

  • "Hillview bungalow was in a lovely position with short walk to beach."

    Would recommend hillview at burton bradstock be nice to come back again.

    Reviewed by George4.7May 2019

  • "Was very happy with our stay lovely bungalow was great to find somewhere that would take all 3 dogs and was so close to the dog friendly beach and great coastal walks, the only thing that could be improved was the toilet may need a new flush as was a bit loose and a new dvd remote as it did not work, only used freezer in garage for ice pack could do with a clean but worked well."

    All in all was a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Anita4.1May 2019

  • "Fantastic location, so close to everything."

    Everywhere is so dog friendly. Hive Beach so close for the morning walk, and West Bay, Bridport, Weymouth and Lyme Regis, just a joy to visit

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Apr 2019

  • "I stayed with the owner not with your company."

    I just wanted to say how fantastic the setting is, how comfortable the beds are, how great the cottage and garden is and that it is perfect for walking around the area for all ages and dog owners alike ! We had a lovely few days in October and would love to repeat our visit again very soon. Stayed August 2017, Feedback from guests of owner.

    OwnerOct 2017

  • "Perfect location for us with lots of dog walks directly from the Bungalow, and the beach just at the bottom of the road."

    Bridport has all the shops and amenities with Lyme Regis offering the quaint Dorset village atmosphere and a must do Fossil walk from the museum – Stayed July 2017.

    Miss Nicola JamesAug 2017

  • "Basic clean bungalow, fantastic location, no need for a car and great for dogs would definitely book again and recommend!"

    Stayed April 2017

    Miss Sarah-Jane JacobsMay 2017

  • "The property is very spacious & well presented with a fully secure rear garden."

    It is in an ideal location, near the beach and we had a great holiday here with our dog. Stayed April 2017

    Miss SheppardApr 2017

  • "Very nice and clean good size - stayed October 2016"

    Mrs Penny FrickerOct 2016

  • "We found the property to be a large and comfortable bungalow situated in a quite close within 500m's of the coast."

    (This stretch of coast is managed by The National Trust). The beds were large and very comfortable as was the other furniture that was large and easy enough to cater for six. All in all Wendy, Jesse the dog and I enjoyed our holiday stay in Hillview Bungalow. Stayed June 2016

    Mr WaltonJul 2016

  • "Very comfortable property in a fantastic location."

    Stayed Dec/Jan 2015

    Ms Patricia LawrenceJan 2016

  • "Another lovely holiday."

    Stayed September/October 2015

    Mrs Linda SmithOct 2015

  • "Polite friendly efficient and Helpful"

    Mrs HeywoodJul 2015

  • "Another comfortable stay at Hillview Bungalow"

    Mrs Linda SmithDec 2014

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.

Summary

  • Large entrance hall
  • Large sitting/dining room
  • 1x 5ft kingsize double bed and 1x single bed
  • 2x twin single beds, Kitchen
  • Bathroom with bath and with shower over, hand basin
  • Separate WC.
  • Gas central heating, microwave, Gas hob, Oven, Fridge, Freezer (in garage), washing machine
  • Gas coal effect fire in sitting room
  • DVD player, Wi-Fi, Satellite free to view channels
  • Fuel and Power inc.in rent
  • Bed linen inc.in rent
  • Towels are not provided
  • Cot
  • Off road parking for three cars on a sloped driveway
  • Front garden and enclosed rear south facing lawned garden
  • Sorry no smoking
  • Welcomes 3 well behaved dogs (dogs are not allowed on furniture or into bedrooms)

The property

Hillview is a comfortably furnished detached bungalow located at the end of a quiet cul de sac of Burton Bradstock. The large sitting and dining room offers a great surrounding for all to be together.

The kitchen is bright and spacious, ideal for cooking a tasty meal for all.

The master bedroom is perfect for a couple and a young child as offering a double and a single bed which shows off views across the rolling hills of Dorset.

Twin room is comfortable and bathroom with separate WC. The enclosed rear south facing garden is lawned perfect for the four-legged family friends to run around and take in the sea air.

Located within a short walk of Hive beach, part of the Jurassic coastline, recognised for fossil hunting and The Hive Beach Cafe serving local delicacies.

The energetic person has a chance to walk into the village of Burton Bradstock where you may shop for everyday needs at the local post office, village store and garage.

A short drive to West Bay is worth a visit to enjoy extensive menus at a choice of restaurants, including fish and chips from the local pop up beach huts.

Alternatively stroll along the picturesque village lanes and view quaint cottages, river walks and find the wildlife of Dorset.

The market town of Bridport is a 10-minute car ride, with a supermarket, high street shops and restaurants offering further choice for your holiday needs.

An invigorating ramble across the cliff or inland will put the colour back into your cheeks.

Or for the keen golfers, the Bridport and West Dorset golf course is only 5 minutes away by car.

Hill View is an ideal location for families, walkers and ramblers alike.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

BURTON BRADSTOCK

Bridport 2.5 miles; Weymouth 15 miles; Dorchester 16 miles; Yeovil 21 miles

A wonderful coastal village in Bride Valley on Dorset's picturesque Jurassic Coast, flanked by the River Bride. Burton Bradstock is the perfect spot for a peaceful break on England's south coast, with the South West Coastal Path running alongside for you walking enthusiasts. The village itself boasts 16th and 17th century thatched cottages as well as two pubs, a shop and a Post Office, the glistening Hive Beach is a wonderful spot to spend the summer days with the magnificent cliffs as a backdrop, there is also a lovely café to sit and relax in, once a year the Spring Tide Festival is held which would be worth lining up your holiday with! There are many attractions and activities to enjoy around here, with the stunning coastal resort of Weymouth making for an excellent day out. Alternatively, head inland to Dorchester and Yeovil for great shopping, architecture, eating and drinking.

View more holiday cottages in Burton Bradstock

Note: The Owner respectfully explains that electric cars cannot be charged from the domestic supply of this property. There are authorised fast charging facilities available in the local area.
Note: Dogs are not allowed into the bedrooms.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas